Avon • Smooth Minerals Lipstick SPF 15 (All) • Lipstick

rated 3.8(16 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 sindoodoo on 9/17/2014 9:30:00 AM more reviews by sindoodoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My mom gave me this lipstick in Bronze. It was too shimmery but also dull and totally washed me out. Probably would work better on much darker skintones, for a bright pop of color on the lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BerkeleyChick on 5/17/2011 8:00:00 PM more reviews by BerkeleyChick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in Pinkberry and Cranberry. Pinkberry is shimmery and doesn't really suit my coloring. However, it goes on smoothly and looks like it would be a lovely shade for women with lighter hair. Cranberry has a beautiful sheen to it and looks very sophisticated. It is quite pigmented, so a little goes a long way. Overall, these are wonderful lipsticks. I just wish that the color swatches on the website were larger. Oh, well. I got them on sale, so it's not a big deal.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 minerva1 on 4/10/2011 6:42:00 AM more reviews by minerva1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this lipstick in Rosy Brown. It's a gentle warm brownish red shade on my lips. It's lovely and smooth. It's quite pale on first application - but a second application darkens it and strengthens the colour. It is a great price - because I only ever buy it when it is on sale in the Avon catalogue. I am so impressed with it that I am going to try other colours in the range.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 3/11/2011 10:23:00 AM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my new favorite lipstick brand/type. I swear these things have contributed to my silky smooth lips recently.

Here's my take on the colors I have:

Island Pearl - a nice medium nude color with a hint of golden shimmer.
Pink Quartz - bright true pink color with slight shimmer
Malted Mineral - a darker nude color with bronze shimmer
Cranberry - a true cranberry color that can be worn as a light flush of color or built up for a more dramatic look
Apricot Glow - a warm peachy-pink color with gold shimmer
Plum Craze - a nice dupe for MAC Syrup, but a bit darker
Crystal Coral - my favorite so far!!! If NARS came out with an Orgasm lipstick, it would be this color. That's the best way I can describe it.

I'm going to get the rest of the line because I love these so much. They are very sheer but buildable. They make my lips smooth & hydrated. Only complaint is the packaging kinda sucks. Avon has issues with their lipstick tubes because some of them don't twist the product up very well, or at all. Other than that, this is an A+++ in my book.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 3/7/2011 9:12:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The melting glossy demi-sheer texture of Smooth Minerals lipsticks are delightful, similar to Clarins. However, while most shades look and feel moist and smooth on lips for hours, I have found the 3 rougher textured shades give me the icky sensation that my lips are drying out and puckering into wrinkles like an old lady. I know that heard mineral pigments can be drying, so that may the cause despite all the yummy shea butter they put in to counteract it. I would say definitely avoid Pinkberry if your lips are sensitive to the feel of shimmer, and perhaps Island Pearl and Pink Quartz too if very sensitive like I am. Here are the colors

Apricot Glow - Shimmery apricot-pink. Similar to Island pearl but darker, redder and even more shimmery. Doesn't go into lines. Feels smooth on lips.

Cranberry - Glossy sheer strawberry red. Smooth and silky, melts on contact. Shiny like a lipgloss, moisturising and smooth feeling like a balm. Not sticky. Pretty on fair skin.

Island Pearl - Soft apricot-tinged creamy light nude beige. Very moist, very luminescent, glowing- I thought it made my teeth look whiter. Does not go into lines. I thought I could feel a hint of roughness in it a bit like Pinkberry.

Malted Mineral - ooh I've never tried as its not available in my country, but I love the creamy caramel beige look to the online swatches, like a malted milkshake it looks delicious.

Plum Craze - Purplish beige with a slight blue reflect. Might suit tanned or darker skin? I looked like a corpse in this shade, there was too much grey.

Pinkberry - Sheer neutral pink. Full of horrible shimmer that feels rough on the lips. Not smooth shimmer it really is chunky pieces of glitter that exfoliate my lips and makes them feel scratchy, sore and sensitive.

Pink Quartz - Glossy bubblegum pink. Love this color but feels slightly rough on lips as though there is fine powdered sand in it. Not as bad as pinkberry, but those with sensitive lips will notice it, while others will swear its not there at all - it is subtle!

Rose Garnet - Creamy Plum-Rose. Smooth feel, some shimmer. Has a hint of blue reflect that clashes with my very pale, warm toned skin.

Shades I haven't tried are Crystal Coral, Gilded Rose, Rumberry. We also have the 3 brown toned shades Bronze, Rosy Brown and Chocolate Kiss here in the New Zealand catalogue that aren't on the US Avon website. Bronze is the darkest. Slight reddish tinged brown with pink & gold shimmers, its quite a luxurious shade. Rosy brown is slightly lighter, and it has a strong purple/blue reflect in some lights. Chocolate Kiss is a glossy milk chocolate. Its a lovely mid-brown with a golden beige undertone, rich but not overpowering or corpes like. Similar shade to the discontinued "Chocolate Filling" shade sold here 5 - 10 years back. My Mom says Chocolate Kiss is a very wearable, neutral color that somehow brightens her eyes and makes her teeth look whiter.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 adamsboo on 11/15/2010 7:46:00 PM more reviews by adamsboo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Great every day lipstick - subtle but noticeable. I bought the color - Apricot Glow....looks fab. w/my skin tone (warm).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 amwatson on 11/7/2010 3:20:00 AM more reviews by amwatson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in "pink radiance". It is a frosty shade and super creamy formula so I apply it to may fingertip and stipple it onto my lips. Really nice effect, makes my lips look dewy and full. However the stick itself broke the fist time I used it so I have to be careful when I twist up the tube. BOTTOM LINE: nice formula, horrible packaging

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maashi on 8/25/2010 5:06:00 AM more reviews by maashi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As the reviewers below say, I got sucked in by the spf15. I have this in Apricot Glow. Colour is a nice MLBB shade, which is good for me to use at work. It is, however, a bit too frosty for my liking, and it isn't moisturising enough (despite the contradictory reviews below... I am finding it shows up dry bits). Sure it is buttery but I can manage that with some care. I guess that also means you use more than you may need... so the lipstick finishes quickly, if that sort of thing matters to you. I am using it up when I am at work, but I don't think I will buy again. Happy to have tried it though at such cheap prices.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 incognito on 8/17/2010 12:57:00 AM more reviews by incognito

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this l/s a lot. It's not drying at all (and I have dry sensitive lips), and it lasts a reasonable amount of time. My only complaint is the colour selection/swatches in the catalogue. I got 2 colours: Apricot Glow and Rose Garnet. They looked to be about the same colour intensity in the catalogue - i.e. light shades, which is what I need for my fair skin (anything bright/dark really washes me out). Well, Apricot Glow is beautiful - a soft peachy MLBB colour. Rose Garnet was a garish bright shade of no, not rose, but coral (WTF?). So try to get samples or test these out before buying!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 8/4/2010 5:43:00 PM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am sorry, but my experience with Smooth Minerals 'Pink Quartz' lipstick did NOT agree with the reviewer's below mine.
I received Pink Quartz as a sample & it applies so creamy smooth I was amazed. This is a SHEER lipstick. The pink is very soft & subtle with a touch of coolness to it & very flattering. (I would classify 'Plum Craze' in the same way, just a bit more mauve-y to live up to its plum name.)
This lipstick is NOT glittery. What the reviewer below me meant is that it has a shimmer or iridescence it it, which gives a soft moist sheen to the lips & is NOT garish. It just looks very natural on the lips & lightly dressed.
Doesn't dry out my lips, in fact it leaves them feeling moist & dewy (as well as looking that way). I don't think this lipstick emphasises anything except lovely lips.
Yeah, the consistency is very buttery, so just be careful when using. That's not too hard to do even for a busy woman.
Now I am going to go ahead & buy the full-size versions of these two colors & maybe check out some others......
Yeah, the consistency is very buttery, so just be careful when using. That's not too hard to do even for a busy woman. Just don't swivel out the lipstick all the way up.
I think I'm the only person who considers this lipstick a winner. (I like sheer, moist lipsticks.)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avon products

More Lipstick products