Avon Smooth Minerals SPF 15

3.6

16 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: OCTINOXATE 7.50% INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: GLYCERYL TRIACETYL HYDROXYSTEARATE TRIISOSTEARYL TRILINOLEATE POLYGLYCERYL-2 DIISOSTEARATE CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE POLYETHYLENE POLYBUTENE STEARYL/PPG-3 MYRISTYL ETHER DIMER DILINOLEATE OZOKERITE MICROCRYSTALLINE WAX/CIRE MICROCRISTALLINE C10-30 CHOLESTEROL/LANOSTEROL ESTERS CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE BARIUM SULFATE POLYGLYCERYL-3 DIISOSTEARATE PETROLATUM PHENYL TRIMETHICONE BUTYROSPERMUM PARKII (SHEA BUTTER) SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE ALOE BARBADENSIS LEAF EXTRACT THEOBROMA CACAO (COCOA) SEED BUTTER GLYCINE SOJA (SOYBEAN) SEED EXTRACT SACCHAROMYCES/COPPER FERMENT SACCHAROMYCES/MAGNESIUM FERMENT SACCHAROMYCES/ZINC FERMENT SACCHAROMYCES/MALACHITE FERMENT SACCHAROMYCES/TOURMALINE FERMENT ISOSTEARYL ALCOHOL SILICA CAPRYLYL GLYCOL DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE TRIETHYL CITRATE TRILINOLEIC ACID TOCOPHERYL ACETATE RETINYL PALMITATE TIN OXIDE ALUMINA TOCOPHEROL CERAMIDE 3 MAY CONTAIN: MICA/CI 77019 TITANIUM DIOXIDE/CI 77891 IRON OXIDES CARMINE/CI 75470 BISMUTH OXYCHLORIDE/CI 77163


on 9/17/2014 9:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

My mom gave me this lipstick in Bronze. It was too shimmery but also dull and totally washed me out. Probably would work better on much darker skintones, for a bright pop of color on the lips.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have this in Pinkberry and Cranberry. Pinkberry is shimmery and doesn't really suit my coloring. However, it goes on smoothly and looks like it would be a lovely shade for women with lighter hair. Cranberry has a beautiful sheen to it and looks very sophisticated. It is quite pigmented, so a little goes a long way. Overall, these are wonderful lipsticks. I just wish that the color swatches on the website were larger. Oh, well. I got them on sale, so it's not a big deal.


on 4/10/2011 6:42:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this lipstick in Rosy Brown. It's a gentle warm brownish red shade on my lips. It's lovely and smooth. It's quite pale on first application - but a second application darkens it and strengthens the colour. It is a great price - because I only ever buy it when it is on sale in the Avon catalogue. I am so impressed with it that I am going to try other colours in the range.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/11/2011 10:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is my new favorite lipstick brand/type. I swear these things have contributed to my silky smooth lips recently.

Here's my take on the colors I have:

Island Pearl - a nice medium nude color with a hint of golden shimmer.
Pink Quartz - bright true pink color with slight shimmer
Malted Mineral - a darker nude color with bronze shimmer
Cranberry - a true cranberry color that can be worn as a light flush of color or built up for a more dramatic look
Apricot Glow - a warm peachy-pink color with gold shimmer
Plum Craze - a nice dupe for MAC Syrup, but a bit darker
Crystal Coral - my favorite so far!!! If NARS came out with an Orgasm lipstick, it would be this color. That's the best way I can describe it.

I'm going to get the rest of the line because I love these so much. They are very sheer but buildable. They make my lips smooth & hydrated. Only complaint is the packaging kinda sucks. Avon has issues with their lipstick tubes because some of them don't twist the product up very well, or at all. Other than that, this is an A+++ in my book.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Sheer to medium coverage, fairly long lasting. The lipstick has a soft melting texture, which is nice on lips in winter but its an SPF product so you really want it in hotter weather, but then the lipstick melts and breaks off in the tube. It doesn't really work. I got reeled in by the SPF and brought a ton of shades then got rid of the entire collection.

The other thing that doesn't work for me is the condition they leave my lips in and the frostiness of some of the shades. At first they feel moisturising but after using them for a day my lips would always look chapped and peeling, so I found them very drying. I've found that with alot of mineral based makeup, I think it works better on young oily skin. Also, 4 shades in particular aren't very flattering in my opinion. They are rough feeling on my lips and give me the icky sensation that the moisture in my lips is being sucked out - and I swear they make my lips visibly puckered into wrinkles like an old lady! These are Pinkberry, Crystal Coral, Island Pearl, and Pink Quartz - I don't recommend if you have sensitive lips.

Apricot Glow - Apricot-pink shimmer, smooth and doesn't go into lines.

Bronze - reddish tinged brown with pink & gold shimmers, luxurious on tanned skin but washes out lighter skintones.

Chocolate Kiss - glossy milk chocolate/mid-brown with a golden beige undertone. Looks great on medium skinned older women as an easy to wear neutral that brightens eyes and makes teeth look whiter. Washes out young bright skintones.

Cranberry - sheer glossy strawberry red, pretty on fair skin.

Crystal Coral - peachy pink frost, like NARS Orgasm. Rough feeling shimmer, looks crusty and aging, highlights chapped dry bits.

Island Pearl - apricot-tinged creamy light nude beige with moist, with luminescent, glowing shimmer. Does not go into lines. Made my teeth look whiter. The color I love but shimmer particles felt a bit rough on my lips as well as drying them out the more I wore it.

Plum Craze - Purplish beige with a slight blue reflect. Might suit tanned or darker skin? I looked like a corpse in this shade, there was too much grey.

Pinkberry - Sheer neutral pink with chunky rough shimmer that exfoliates my lips and makes them feel scratchy, sore and sensitive. Too little color payoff with glitter chunks, I hate this kind of lipstick.

Pink Quartz - Glossy bubblegum pink. Lovely color but feels slightly rough on lips as though there is fine powdered sand in it. Those with sensitive lips will notice it, while others will swear its not there at all - it is subtle!

Rose Garnet - Creamy Plum-Rose. Smooth feel, some shimmer. Has a hint of blue reflect that would suit medium skins but awful on my very fair warm toned skin.

Rosy brown - lighter brown than Bronze, with a strong purple/blue reflect in some lights.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/15/2010 7:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Great every day lipstick - subtle but noticeable. I bought the color - Apricot Glow....looks fab. w/my skin tone (warm).


on 11/7/2010 3:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have this in "pink radiance". It is a frosty shade and super creamy formula so I apply it to may fingertip and stipple it onto my lips. Really nice effect, makes my lips look dewy and full. However the stick itself broke the fist time I used it so I have to be careful when I twist up the tube. BOTTOM LINE: nice formula, horrible packaging


on 8/25/2010 5:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

As the reviewers below say, I got sucked in by the spf15. I have this in Apricot Glow. Colour is a nice MLBB shade, which is good for me to use at work. It is, however, a bit too frosty for my liking, and it isn't moisturising enough (despite the contradictory reviews below... I am finding it shows up dry bits). Sure it is buttery but I can manage that with some care. I guess that also means you use more than you may need... so the lipstick finishes quickly, if that sort of thing matters to you. I am using it up when I am at work, but I don't think I will buy again. Happy to have tried it though at such cheap prices.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/17/2010 12:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I like this l/s a lot. It's not drying at all (and I have dry sensitive lips), and it lasts a reasonable amount of time. My only complaint is the colour selection/swatches in the catalogue. I got 2 colours: Apricot Glow and Rose Garnet. They looked to be about the same colour intensity in the catalogue - i.e. light shades, which is what I need for my fair skin (anything bright/dark really washes me out). Well, Apricot Glow is beautiful - a soft peachy MLBB colour. Rose Garnet was a garish bright shade of no, not rose, but coral (WTF?). So try to get samples or test these out before buying!


on 8/4/2010 5:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am sorry, but my experience with Smooth Minerals 'Pink Quartz' lipstick did NOT agree with the reviewer's below mine.
I received Pink Quartz as a sample & it applies so creamy smooth I was amazed. This is a SHEER lipstick. The pink is very soft & subtle with a touch of coolness to it & very flattering. (I would classify 'Plum Craze' in the same way, just a bit more mauve-y to live up to its plum name.)
This lipstick is NOT glittery. What the reviewer below me meant is that it has a shimmer or iridescence it it, which gives a soft moist sheen to the lips & is NOT garish. It just looks very natural on the lips & lightly dressed.
Doesn't dry out my lips, in fact it leaves them feeling moist & dewy (as well as looking that way). I don't think this lipstick emphasises anything except lovely lips.
Yeah, the consistency is very buttery, so just be careful when using. That's not too hard to do even for a busy woman.
Now I am going to go ahead & buy the full-size versions of these two colors & maybe check out some others......
Yeah, the consistency is very buttery, so just be careful when using. That's not too hard to do even for a busy woman. Just don't swivel out the lipstick all the way up.
I think I'm the only person who considers this lipstick a winner. (I like sheer, moist lipsticks.)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
187 Reviews
Provocalips
64 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top