Avon • Smooth Minerals Lipstick SPF 15 (All) • Lipstick

rated 3.8(16 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 sindoodoo on 9/17/2014 9:30:00 AM more reviews by sindoodoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My mom gave me this lipstick in Bronze. It was too shimmery but also dull and totally washed me out. Probably would work better on much darker skintones, for a bright pop of color on the lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BerkeleyChick on 5/17/2011 8:00:00 PM more reviews by BerkeleyChick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in Pinkberry and Cranberry. Pinkberry is shimmery and doesn't really suit my coloring. However, it goes on smoothly and looks like it would be a lovely shade for women with lighter hair. Cranberry has a beautiful sheen to it and looks very sophisticated. It is quite pigmented, so a little goes a long way. Overall, these are wonderful lipsticks. I just wish that the color swatches on the website were larger. Oh, well. I got them on sale, so it's not a big deal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 minerva1 on 4/10/2011 6:42:00 AM more reviews by minerva1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this lipstick in Rosy Brown. It's a gentle warm brownish red shade on my lips. It's lovely and smooth. It's quite pale on first application - but a second application darkens it and strengthens the colour. It is a great price - because I only ever buy it when it is on sale in the Avon catalogue. I am so impressed with it that I am going to try other colours in the range.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 3/11/2011 10:23:00 AM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my new favorite lipstick brand/type. I swear these things have contributed to my silky smooth lips recently.

Here's my take on the colors I have:

Island Pearl - a nice medium nude color with a hint of golden shimmer.
Pink Quartz - bright true pink color with slight shimmer
Malted Mineral - a darker nude color with bronze shimmer
Cranberry - a true cranberry color that can be worn as a light flush of color or built up for a more dramatic look
Apricot Glow - a warm peachy-pink color with gold shimmer
Plum Craze - a nice dupe for MAC Syrup, but a bit darker
Crystal Coral - my favorite so far!!! If NARS came out with an Orgasm lipstick, it would be this color. That's the best way I can describe it.

I'm going to get the rest of the line because I love these so much. They are very sheer but buildable. They make my lips smooth & hydrated. Only complaint is the packaging kinda sucks. Avon has issues with their lipstick tubes because some of them don't twist the product up very well, or at all. Other than that, this is an A+++ in my book.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 3/7/2011 9:12:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The melting glossy demi-sheer texture of Smooth Minerals lipsticks are delightful, similar to Clarins. Sheer to average pigmentation, can be built up slightly with several layers.

Most shades look and feel moist and smooth on lips for hours, but there are 4 shades that are rough feeling on my lips and give me the icky sensation that my lips are drying out and make them pucker into wrinkles like an old lady. I do not recommend Pinkberry, Crystal Coral, Island Pearl, and Pink Quartz if you have sensitive lips.

Apricot Glow - Shimmery apricot-pink. Doesn't go into lines. Feels smooth on lips.

Bronze - reddish tinged brown with pink & gold shimmers, luxurious on tanned skin but washes out lighter skintones.

Chocolate Kiss - glossy milk chocolate/mid-brown with a golden beige undertone. Looks great on medium skinned older women as an easy to wear neutral that brightens eyes and makes teeth look whiter. Washes out young bright skintones.

Cranberry - Glossy sheer strawberry red. Smooth and moist like a silky balm, shiny like a lipgloss. Pretty on fair skin.

Crystal Coral - peachy pink frost, like NARS Orgasm. Looks a bit crusty and aging on my lips and the shimmer feels rough.

Island Pearl - Soft apricot-tinged creamy light nude beige. Very moist, with luminescent, glowing shimmer. Does not go into lines. Made my teeth look whiter. The shimmer particles felt a bit rough on my lips.

Plum Craze - Purplish beige with a slight blue reflect. Might suit tanned or darker skin? I looked like a corpse in this shade, there was too much grey.

Pinkberry - Sheer neutral pink. Has rough chunky shimmer that exfoliates my lips and makes them feel scratchy, sore and sensitive. I hate this lipstick.

Pink Quartz - Glossy bubblegum pink. Love this color but feels slightly rough on lips as though there is fine powdered sand in it. Those with sensitive lips will notice it, while others will swear its not there at all - it is subtle!

Rose Garnet - Creamy Plum-Rose. Smooth feel, some shimmer. Has a hint of blue reflect that would suit medium skins but looks awful on my very fair warm toned skin.

Rosy brown - lighter brown than Bronze, with a strong purple/blue reflect in some lights.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 adamsboo on 11/15/2010 7:46:00 PM more reviews by adamsboo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Great every day lipstick - subtle but noticeable. I bought the color - Apricot Glow....looks fab. w/my skin tone (warm).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 amwatson on 11/7/2010 3:20:00 AM more reviews by amwatson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in "pink radiance". It is a frosty shade and super creamy formula so I apply it to may fingertip and stipple it onto my lips. Really nice effect, makes my lips look dewy and full. However the stick itself broke the fist time I used it so I have to be careful when I twist up the tube. BOTTOM LINE: nice formula, horrible packaging

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maashi on 8/25/2010 5:06:00 AM more reviews by maashi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As the reviewers below say, I got sucked in by the spf15. I have this in Apricot Glow. Colour is a nice MLBB shade, which is good for me to use at work. It is, however, a bit too frosty for my liking, and it isn't moisturising enough (despite the contradictory reviews below... I am finding it shows up dry bits). Sure it is buttery but I can manage that with some care. I guess that also means you use more than you may need... so the lipstick finishes quickly, if that sort of thing matters to you. I am using it up when I am at work, but I don't think I will buy again. Happy to have tried it though at such cheap prices.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* incognito on 8/17/2010 12:57:00 AM more reviews by incognito

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this l/s a lot. It's not drying at all (and I have dry sensitive lips), and it lasts a reasonable amount of time. My only complaint is the colour selection/swatches in the catalogue. I got 2 colours: Apricot Glow and Rose Garnet. They looked to be about the same colour intensity in the catalogue - i.e. light shades, which is what I need for my fair skin (anything bright/dark really washes me out). Well, Apricot Glow is beautiful - a soft peachy MLBB colour. Rose Garnet was a garish bright shade of no, not rose, but coral (WTF?). So try to get samples or test these out before buying!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 8/4/2010 5:43:00 PM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am sorry, but my experience with Smooth Minerals 'Pink Quartz' lipstick did NOT agree with the reviewer's below mine.
I received Pink Quartz as a sample & it applies so creamy smooth I was amazed. This is a SHEER lipstick. The pink is very soft & subtle with a touch of coolness to it & very flattering. (I would classify 'Plum Craze' in the same way, just a bit more mauve-y to live up to its plum name.)
This lipstick is NOT glittery. What the reviewer below me meant is that it has a shimmer or iridescence it it, which gives a soft moist sheen to the lips & is NOT garish. It just looks very natural on the lips & lightly dressed.
Doesn't dry out my lips, in fact it leaves them feeling moist & dewy (as well as looking that way). I don't think this lipstick emphasises anything except lovely lips.
Yeah, the consistency is very buttery, so just be careful when using. That's not too hard to do even for a busy woman.
Now I am going to go ahead & buy the full-size versions of these two colors & maybe check out some others......
Yeah, the consistency is very buttery, so just be careful when using. That's not too hard to do even for a busy woman. Just don't swivel out the lipstick all the way up.
I think I'm the only person who considers this lipstick a winner. (I like sheer, moist lipsticks.)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avon products

More Lipstick products