Chanel • Soft Touch Eyeshadow - 87 Taupe Grise • Eye Shadow

rated 4.7(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bassetmomma on 4/22/2012 6:40:00 AM more reviews by bassetmomma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I'd heard about this shade before but I took the plunge when it was mentioned in this month's "Best of Beauty" section of Instyle magazine. It was recommended as the shadow to have for fair skinned beauties, along with Nars "O" blush and "Honolulu Honey" lipstick. Anyway, my major problem with this product is the name. There is nothing "taupey" about this shade at all. It is a deep plummy-grey with subtle shimmer. The shade is, in my opionion, too dark to use all over the lid unless you are looking to do a smokey eye. I used it only in the crease and it took some blending to make it look subtle. It is densely pigmented. It should have been called Plum Grey or something like that, not taupe . For blue eyes, I much prefer Chanel Safari. Taupe Gris would probably look great on hazel eyes. Not a bad shadow, just not what the name implies.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 2/25/2012 8:05:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Well, now I know what all the fuss is about! I received a $20 off coupon from the department store that carries Chanel here in my city and decided it would be the prefect opportunity to get another Chanel shadow and I wanted the iconic Taupe Grise. Now, I already own just about every taupe and taupe grey shadow known to woman kind so I wondered if I would be pleased by this shadow or if I should get another colour (Safari, Fauve and a Khaki of some name were others I was thinking of) but I figured "stick with the icon". And all I can say is I am delighted. Many others have already described the colour far better than I can but suffice to say, it's a plummy sort of taupe that can go just about any which way depending on what you are wearing or what other shadows you put with it. Texture is the best, pigmentation and blendability, ditto. And who doesn't feel like she's "arrived" when she's holding anything from Chanel? I have to say, though, that I don't like the packaging at all. The case is a bit fiddly to open and it just feels like the "release mechanism" could easily break. The sponge applicator is useless. And the fake velvet (it's cheap velveteen that I doubt is even cotton) pouch is just serged together at the edges - to anyone who sews, it just looks cheap. Better not to have included any pouch at all, IMO.

The long and short of it is that I'm pretty much sold on Chanel shadows (I've already fallen for the delights of the Illusion d'ombre shadows) and plan to try out one or 2 more.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupaddict76 on 1/6/2012 9:13:00 AM more reviews by makeupaddict76

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Yes I feel crazy spending $30 for a single shadow but I don't regret buying this at all. I purchased Taupe Grise along w/Safari, my first Chanel eyeshadows, exciting! This shadow is amazing, it is all that, what people rave about, the texture, pigmentation, beautiful taupe shade w/purple undertone. And best of all, I wore this w/out a primer for 10 hrs w/out creasing and mind you I have oily lids. Amazing! I don't know if I will repurchase any more chanel shadows due to price, not unless someone can convince me again...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalaland on 12/27/2011 3:00:00 PM more reviews by lalaland

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure how I can justify paying almost thirty bucks for a single eyeshadow, but I really love it and do not feel guilty about it as I would other expensive purchases. A palette would run close in price but I don't think I would the love every single one as much as I love this eyeshadow. I got this along with the prelude quad for Christmas and they are both the only Chanel products I have. The texture is different form my MAC, Urban Decay, and Too Faced eyeshadows. I can see why people describe it as buttery and silky, but pigmented. It definitely is more sophisticated than my other shadows when applied, probably because it is soft, smokey and so blendable. I personally prefer darker eyes and this is dark enough for me but also light enough for day and work. I really love it and would possibly buy some more, maybe fauve?

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beautybud on 12/5/2011 3:06:00 AM more reviews by beautybud

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

this line from chanel is probably the best eye shadows i have come across to date. Taupe Grise is a beautiful grey shade with an undertone of purple. i don't think it does much for my eye color, and it does look a bit muddy on my lids depending on the lighting. also, there is a bit of fall out with this eye shadow, and this is probably because it is so soft. however, it is easy to blend and does not fade by the end of the day like most of my other shadows. lovely packaging.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nelson2 on 6/8/2011 2:43:00 PM more reviews by nelson2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

the best colour for my eyes. i dont know how it woks or what it does but its deffinetly the eyeshadow to bring out my eyecolour!! i cant go without this anymore. i did not expect from this colour to do such wonders.


scince i know this colour i can not use any other eyeshadow! because no other makes my eyes look so beautifull -so i just stick to thisone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babykitten9 on 5/14/2011 3:39:00 PM more reviews by babykitten9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Where do I start? :-) It's a lovely mauve-ey grey taupe. It changes it's shade depending on the light. It does have shimmer but it won't be obvious unless you are in a direct sunlight or artificial light. I wear it both all over the lid and as a crease color in case I wear something lighter as a main base lid color. You can combine it with right about any other eyeshadow and it'll be gorgeous (I have tried multiple combinations and they were all great!). One lippie off for the staying power. I have the same problem with all Chanel eyeshadows - they crease on me (this one is no exception) despite my eyeshadow bases etc. But I love this eyeshadow nonetheless! UPDATE Why, oh why, haven't I tried it with UDPP? It stays on the whole day! Back to 5 lippies!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ilorietta on 1/20/2011 3:43:00 AM more reviews by ilorietta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very disappointed. Thsi colour is quite flat on the eye lids. It almost looks mat. I have to apply something more shiny on top to make it more lively. For such an expensive item i was expecting so much more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cosmaniac on 11/18/2010 12:13:00 PM more reviews by Cosmaniac

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a shadow addict. I must have hundreds of shadows but I keep reaching for this one. It can be paired with just about any other shadow color you have. It is expensive but I think that it is so versatile that you could easily justify the cost. Currently I use Benefit Skinny Jeans creaseless shadow as a base (they are similar in taupey-ness). Then top with Taupe Grise lashes to crease. Lately I have been using the NARS Isolde due (copper/rose gold) to slightly line bottom lashes and gently enhance the crease. Finish with a matte grey liner on the inner rims and instant day-time glamour for work. My fair skin hazel eyes with this combo always gets comments "Love that shadow - what is it?". This grey-taupe combo is a must-have and could work with just about anything in your arsenal (navy, lavendar, rose, black, gold, green, olive, copper). Give it a chance gals - and have FUN with it...play around, you never know what gorgeous combo you will discover.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MadameFabulina on 10/30/2010 7:08:00 PM more reviews by MadameFabulina

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I hate to be the naysayer here, but...I didn't like this. It's beautiful in the container, but the shimmer stopped there. It just ended up looking dirty and smudgy to me once on; there is no creaminess to this at all.


Mine is now awaiting its return to Nordstrom. Bummer, 'cos I really wanted to like this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Eye Shadow products