Alba Botanica • Very Emollient Sunblock SPF 30 • Sunscreen

rated 3.7(11 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 whatever1399 on 9/14/2013 11:29:00 AM more reviews by whatever1399

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Skin Background: Very fair, combination skin (oily around t zone, normal/slightly dry around cheeks), some blemishes.

Skincare (morning) routine: Burt's Bee's Acne Cleanser, Rosewater, Rosehip oil serum, Grapeseed oil, Avon Nutura moisturizer, and Alba Botanica sunscreen.

I know it's a lot of moisturizing. But in my eyes, moisturizing is one of the key components to healthy, fresh, young skin. I love to moisturize. I love the feeling of moisturizer on my skin. This is part of the reason that I love this sunscreen.

It's a very thick, white sunscreen. I take the tiniest amount (like the size of a dime) and rub it into my skin; since it is composed of mineral sunprotection, it will leave a white cast for a few mintues. I find that if I keep rubbing it into my skin, it disappears after a few minutes.

It's also pretty ilbased, which I love since I love natural oils. This being said, your face will look shiny after applying. I usually just blot my skin down with a tissue and I"m all set.

To be blunt, if you love moisturizing and you love thick moisturizers/sunscreens, this is for you.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KellyLee1988 on 8/2/2013 1:57:00 AM more reviews by KellyLee1988

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Love. I wish it weren't so expensive, but mineral sunblocks always are for some reason.

I use this daily on my face. It's very moisturizing, it goes OK under my makeup (let it soak in for a while first!). It's white but not very...I've actually noticed that after about 5 or 10 minutes the white cast mostly disappears on my face and I don't see it. It does not break me out or irritate my skin at all.

I also use this on my body when I'm going to be outside for long periods of time (I only wear sunscreen on my face daily, the rest of me as needed!) That makes it multi-purpose, which I love!

It says water resistant for 40 minutes...I'd say it's a fair bit longer than that because the stuff is very difficult to remove! It requires soap and scrubbing. I actually changed face cleansers because my old one wasn't cutting it. I don't mind that though, because it does its job so well I don't want to give this sunscreen up.

One word of caution, DON'T over apply this stuff. Too much of it and it's impossible to rub in! It's difficult to rub in anyway, for some reason it seems to separate on skin but with a little effort, it applies evenly and gives good sun protection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shelvedfiction on 6/4/2013 1:09:00 PM more reviews by shelvedfiction

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have combination skin: dry cheeks, large pores, oily to normal in T-zone, and acne-prone on my chin. I bought the Mineral Protection Fragrance Free version (green tube) at Target for around $8-9, however, I have not seen it there since.

I try to find reasonably priced day time moisturizers that are made for dry skin, have at least an SPF of 30, animal cruelty-free, fragrance free, and recyclable. This sunscreen seemed to fit the bill.

I added this sunscreen to my daytime skin care routine: Cleansing with Yes to Cucumbers Gentle Milk Cleanser, exfoliating with Clean & Clear Oil Absorbing Treatment, and then I applied this sunscreen. I used a quarter sized amount of the product each day. The consistency of the product is a little grainy and oily. I found the oil in the product almost to separate (?) if that makes sense. You also have to really rub it in to get rid of the white cast.

Unfortunately, it often made my face look oily (it does contain aloe, dimethicone, glycerin, shea butter, sunflower seen oil, jojoba seed oil, and grape seed oil), but did not make me break out. It smells like sunscreen, but it is not overpowering. I found it to be very moisturizing for my skin, even in winter.

The tube packaging is convenient for travel. The tube probably lasted my about 3 months.

Summary: Very moisturizing sunscreen that is chalk full of natural emollient ingredients, cruelty-free, fragrance free, and recyclable. However, individuals may not like the grainy texture and oily presentation the product leaves after use. Also, the product is difficult to find in stores, but can be purchased online. I will not be repurchasing this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jskellis on 12/26/2012 10:43:00 PM more reviews by jskellis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in the green fragrance free version.


This is probably the worst mineral sunblock I've used. I'm very pale and it leaves a terrible white cast with 1/4 tsp. Worst of all, it's so tacky that it never sinks in and makes my makeup brush stick to my face instead of gliding along top of my skin.


My foundation which I normally love sank into my pores and got patchy and cakey and just looked terrible.

The ppd is on the lower end of pa+++ with 14.5 percent zinc but I would never ever wear this without being selfconscious the whole time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ishhara on 5/19/2012 5:59:00 PM more reviews by ishhara

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this as I was rushing off to a day long road trip and needed sunscreen ASAP. This was on-sale at the local health food store for $6. My other choice was Badger's sunscreen, but I chose AB's not only because of the price but because of the consistency and the lack of smell.


So far, I'm pretty impressed. For natural sunscreen with non-irritating/harmful ingredients, it blends in pretty well and has decent protection. According to Alba Botanica's website, they don't use nanoparticles, which is a plus. I greatly prefer mineral sunscreens opposed to the chemical stuff, as long as the particle size isn't small enough to be harmful.


To those who have never used natural sunscreens before: don't expect it to be like the chemical stuff. It will take a little bit of time and rubbing for it to melt into your skin. It feels like a slightly greasy viscous lotion. Not as bad as Badger's (which looks like dried toothpaste when I tried it at the store), but it won't be as liquid as the traditional drug store types. At first, there will be a pale sheen on your skin due to the minerals, but that will go away in a few minutes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Laski on 5/11/2011 3:48:00 AM more reviews by Laski

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

A very good mineral sunscreen with great antioxidant ingredients, and it is even moisturizing! Of course, at first there is a very witish cast, but that disappears entirely after rubbing it in thoroughly, I need about 2 minutes for this. As I realized last year that my skin acts up when I use chemical sunscreens, this is well invested time for me. It doesn´t irritate my skin, I can even use it in the eye area (no burning or watering eyes) , moisturizes very well and protects really good. Also recommended by Beautypedia for Rosacea-victims, if I remember correctly. Great product - though I can imagine that on really hot days, it will be a bit too rich for my skin. For the rest of the time, I find it almost perfect!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 luckygreenclover25 on 3/30/2011 8:31:00 PM more reviews by luckygreenclover25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have the Mineral Protection, Fragrance Free version of this sunblock (the one in the green tube). The ingredient list is impressive, which is the main reason I bought it. It is a purely physical sunblock, which is not easy to find. However, I was disappointed. It is greasy, sticky and the consistency is super thick (like toothpaste). This makes it difficult to blend. If this is meant for the entire body, the tube seems too small (only 4oz). I've read you need at least one shot glass full of sunscreen to cover your entire body properly, which is 1oz. So technically this only provides 4 applications. I will use up what I have, but I wouldn't repurchase or recommend this product.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RoseMe on 1/20/2011 4:01:00 AM more reviews by RoseMe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Amazing quality sunscreen. One of the most under-rated gem in the sun protection skincare.

You can buy it for less than $6 at iHerb.com.
You can use coupon code HIH374 for $5 off, making it less than $3 including shipping.

You really can't buy a better sunscreen than this. Non-oily, smooth, feels luxurious on both face and boy. Love!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 queenstar on 1/2/2011 1:50:00 AM more reviews by queenstar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like this product. One of the best sunscreens I ever had.I have acne prone skin and this product does not break me. It is non-greasy, rubs in clear and has very light fragrance which I like.I will definitely purchase again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CatEye5 on 7/2/2010 12:40:00 AM more reviews by CatEye5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I used this all-physical sunscreen for several weeks as a body sunscreen for exercise in the sun. The color is slightly off-white with a pinkish beige tone; it rubs in clear. It's very thick and stayed on well through vigorous exercise in heat. I'm quite pale, and after a few weeks I think I tanned very slightly wearing this; I never burned.

Downsides for me: It has a sweet fragrance that I consider stronger than desirable; some may enjoy it. The texture is too thick and the finish not fine enough for me to use as a facial sunscreen.

Here's package label info:
New and Improved (purchased in spring 2010)
Alba Botanica very emollient Sunblock
Mineral protection aloe vanilla SPF 30

Ingredients: Zinc oxide 12%, Titanium dioxide 1%
Aqua (water), caprylic/capric triglyceride, dimethicone, ethylhexyl palmitate, sorbitan sesquioleate, glycerin, Butyrospermum parkii (shea butter), glyceryl isostearate, polyglyceryl-3 polyricinoleate, Vitis vinifera (grape) seed oil, Aloe barbadensis leaf juice(1), Camellia sinensis left extract(1), Chamomilla recutita (matricaria) flower extract(1), Echinacea purpurea extract, Ginkgo biloba leaf extract, Magnesium sulfate, polyhydroxystearic acid, Sodium chloride, Tocopheryl acetate, Benzyl alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Coumarin, Fragrance (Parfum). (1) = Certified organic.

Cruelty free: Leaping bunny on tube."100% Vegetarian Ingredients. No Animal Testing."

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alba Botanica products

More Sunscreen products