Tom Ford • Private Blends Lipstick in Cherry Lush • Lipstick

rated 4.0(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laumar27 on 9/23/2014 1:19:00 PM more reviews by laumar27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Totally overrated!!!!!!!!!

I finally splurged and purchased this after keeping it on the back burner of my cosmetics wish list for the past two years. I had to order via Nordstrom's website as they don't stock it in store at my nearest location, and after applying it once, it is going right back! First, the color is pretty and flattering, but not the knock your socks off shade of red I was expecting. And even worse, once faded, it looks like a muted bright pink. Second, the finish is very mediocre. One can find the same or similar quality from L'Oreal, Maybelline or any drugstore brand for that matter. Third and finally, the packaging was rather ugly and masculine in my opinion, and didn't look as luxurious in reality as it did in the pictures online. I'm disappointed and outraged that this is being sold for 50.00USD. WTF? Ladies, don't buy into the hype. I would recommend Clarins, Joli Rouge lipstick in shade 716 (Clarins Red) which is similar in texture and color to TF Cherry Lush but much, much better and for nearly half the price!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 strobegirl1 on 1/25/2014 5:07:00 AM more reviews by strobegirl1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Please believe me when I say this is PERFECT. Lasting 6+ HOURS without touchups, amazing finish and beautiful colours, what more could you want.
Mr.Ford you are a god!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jaimee on 1/5/2014 4:14:00 PM more reviews by Jaimee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty but expensive lipstick. When you initially put it on, it brightens your face. When it fades, it turns bright pink on me. Not my favorite look. I do like the application and the vanilla flavor.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cara_M on 11/19/2013 4:00:00 PM more reviews by Cara_M

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I hate to rain on the parade here, but this lipstick feels a bit like the emperor's new clothes to me (look it up if you don't get the reference). I wonder if people aren't hyping this up so much because they paid so much that they want to love it. I prefer the packaging from Guerlain, the formulation from YSL and the colours from Armani. And at this price, I'm glad I wasn't a fan. Don't get me wrong - it's not a terrible product, just there are so many better options out there at this price point, I won't be buying another Tom Ford lipstick. In fact, I'd return this one if I could as I'm so underwhelmed (plus it looked way better on me in the store lighting than at home), but sadly we can't make cosmetics returns in the UK so I'm stick with it!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NYgoldengirl on 10/30/2013 9:40:00 PM more reviews by NYgoldengirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

A beautiful indulgence! Gorgeous true red color, neither orangey or blue tint on my lips, just a pure bright red. Red being one of the most difficult colors to match to your skin tone, this is one I will always keep in stick.
Price is stratospheric, even though packaging is beautiful the price is set so high by company because they can. Either you pay the crazy price and love the lipstick or you look for a cheaper version.

Highly pigmented one good firm swipe can give good coverage, so precise in application you don't need a lip liner. Sort if matte finish, not overly moisturizing but not drying either. Lips felt very comfortable. Staying power: I put on lip slip conditioner before hand,so not that long lasting on me. Don't use foundation but applying foundation before hand might increase staying power.
I love this color!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 indiangirl on 5/4/2013 5:52:00 PM more reviews by indiangirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My fav Tom Ford lipstick. Amazing colour, I get so many compliments. For reference I am NC30 of Indian origin. TF makes the BEST lipsticks next to Suqqu. Despite having cartloads of Channels, Diors etc. once I tried TF I cannot look at any other brand again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 harper1804 on 3/21/2013 1:14:00 PM more reviews by harper1804

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love the creamy creamy texture of the lipstick, love the beautiful packaging! Never tried a lipstick this smooth before and I'm glad to say that my money was actually well spent. It was indeed expensive but I haven't tried a lipstick like it before (tried Chanel, Dior, Nars, Giorgio Armani, Mac, Estee Lauder). Nonetheless, does anyone know the 'period after opening' for TF lipsticks in general? Looked all around the box and the lipstick itself but I just couldn't find anything that states its life or PAO! Anyone knows?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 senkidala on 1/18/2013 3:22:00 AM more reviews by senkidala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Firstly, the packaging is my favourite of all my lipsticks, it is incredibly sturdy but elegant. Secondly, this is probably my favourite lipstick that I own. I'd heard good things about Tom Ford lipsticks and finally picked one to try... and it's like Cherry Lush was made for me.
It is pigmented, creamy and glides on beautifully with a bit of a sheen (not super glossy). It feels quite moisturising. And it has staying power. I applied one coat of Cherry Lush (with no lip liner or lip primer) and went out to dinner and checked afterwards - it looked pristine.
I have since found that if I apply it then eat something needing larger bites, that a little bit of the lipstick does transfer onto my chin (my lips are quite full). Usually, if I blot my lip a bit beforehand, it won't transfer.

Cherry Lush is a gorgeous colour, very true to its name and a great red for those that want to wear a red without going too bold and matte. It's also incredibly easy to apply - a lip brush is not necessary if in a rush, as it just glides on so smoothly.

It is on the expensive side (twice the price of my Illamasqua and MAC lipsticks), but definitely worth it as a luxury item. When I run out, I will be buying another one.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 OlMagnolia on 8/3/2012 6:00:00 PM more reviews by OlMagnolia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I tried two Tom Ford Lipsticks and I'm rather thankful I hated both of them. One was Cherry Lush and the other was Pink Dusk. Both were awful and I promptly sent them back. The CL was so drying. The Pink Dusk was totally differently - like apply clay to my lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lizzyroo on 10/6/2010 5:46:00 PM more reviews by Lizzyroo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

The formulation of this lipstick is very opaque and smooth. It is not drying and last for 3-5 hours even through eating. The color itself, is a flattering strawberry red. The color is flattering on both warm and cool skin tones. for example, I am an NC35 in MAC. The packaging is very beautiful and looks and feels expensive. The price is a bit steep for me but the color is so flattering. I also found that this red lipstick DID NOT BLEED! i wore it without lip liner all day and it did not budge. It also fades to a very beautiful stain and is not patchy or awkward.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tom Ford products

More Lipstick products