Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.6(708 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 maximax88 on 2/1/2015 12:27:00 PM more reviews by maximax88

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Grey    

I bought this during a sale, so i got 2 for $7.
First off, the formula is really wet, but i like that because it allows me to apply multiple coats before becoming flaky like other mascaras.
Second, this is not a fiber mascara. I initially thought it was because i read somewhere, but it's just like any other mascara. it has not fibers to lengthen. However, it does lengthen your lashes as well as give them volume, which is why I like it so much.
I also like the design of the wand. It's a curved shape that allows me to get my outer corner lashes that are always left uncoated and uncurled for whatever reason.
This mascara gives my lashes a very wispy look, which I really like, because it opens up my eyes.
I experienced with many other masacaras as well that the mascara gets better with age. After initial application, you find this mascara to be too wet, don't use it for about a week-2 weeks and use it again. i assure you it'll apply better. there's no science to prove this, but in my experience, it's worked.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KeliQ on 1/31/2015 10:18:00 AM more reviews by KeliQ

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So shocked to like a Maybelline product over L'Oreal!! But I love the formula in this mascara. It really does make your lashes look fuller and longer, and it lasts me through my 12 hour work days! Will continue to invest in this one. I wear contacts and it doesn't affect or bother them at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* judy46970 on 1/28/2015 7:59:00 PM more reviews by judy46970

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Just not impressed with this mascara, I first have to use too many coats and then it fakes or usually I just use a mascara primer then a coat of this, but it does not impress me at all...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 timelessface on 1/28/2015 9:39:00 AM more reviews by timelessface

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this mascara last week and I have been wearing it everyday since then. I mainly bought it because makeup you-tubers have been giving it good reviews. This is a dry formula which has not been an issue for me. I think the dry formula is great. I have naturally curly eye lashes so wet formulas tend to splatter on my eye lid when i apply. The want is curved which allows me to reach the outer edges of my lashes. Typically, with other mascaras, when I take the wand out of the tube i end up having to wipe the bristles off on the insides to get rid of the excess. With Falsies i didn't have to do that. I could apply right away. There was no clumping. After wearing it from 7am - 6:30pm at work, i did not notice any fall out. I really really like this mascara! It was less than $7 at Target and for makeup in Toronto, thats a good price since our prices tend to be a bit higher than in the states. It removes well. I use the Ponds Cold creme all over my face then use a warm wash clothe to remove it and it does fine. The only con is that I really have to work my lashes to get it to come off well, but I dont spend more than like 30 seconds rubbing gently with my finger tips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 trishalubo on 1/18/2015 1:20:00 PM more reviews by trishalubo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I honestly really like this mascara. Yes it would clump, but you just have to be careful at applicating this. When it says water proof, it really is water proof. I have a hard time removing this even with w make up remover. I would have to scrub my eyes many times before it actually comes off.

It holds a curl very nicely. I have unnoticeable lashes and this really makes them much thicker.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 carrajay on 1/18/2015 10:54:00 AM more reviews by carrajay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

After seeing all the rave reviews, I felt like I had to see what the hype was all about and picked up a tube. At first, I really didn't understand what everyone was so impressed by - the mascara seemed really dry, clumped up my lashes so they looked thin and uneven, wouldn't layer properly and didn't hold a curl. I felt like the mascara wasn't really adhering to my eyelashes, maybe because of the brush.
After many months of neglecting it, I took the Falsies out again for Project 10 Pan. This time I was determined to get it to work, so I applied it with the tip of the wand before using the sides and WOAH. This actually gets a lot of mascara on, and allows it to build up wonderfully. I don't get that much length or volume with this but it's probably the best mascara I've found for holding a curl. It does give a false-lash look, in a way, because the look comes out quite feathery and defined. Right now, the only issues I have are that if I'm not careful, the fibres (I think?) can build up quite unevenly between each eye, and that it sometimes flakes, but that could be because my tube is old and almost dried out.
This is pretty cheap and has turned out to be reliable, so I would buy it again :3 Hope this is helpful for anyone who hasn't been able to make this product work for them!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 klittlefield on 1/10/2015 6:30:00 PM more reviews by klittlefield

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know why people say it doesn't hold a curl? I have stick straight Asian lashes and this holds my curl BEAUTIFULLY.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 l0vebuzz on 12/12/2014 3:26:00 PM more reviews by l0vebuzz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I love this mascara! I previously tried the Falsies Flared and The Rocket by Maybelline which were really disappointing. But this one gives a lot of volume and length. Like A LOT of length. I don't think I've tried any other mascara that's made my lashes look this long. It also holds a curl pretty well. It's not the most natural look but that's the point I guess - "falsies". The only down side is that I don't like the spoon shaped brush, I feel like the side you're supposed to brush with doesn't have a lot of bristles so I kind of use all sides.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 one_teaspoon on 12/12/2014 8:14:00 AM more reviews by one_teaspoon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Terribly clumpy out of the tube but did not smudge on me. If you can get over the clumpiness it's not so bad, as my lashes didn't clump and not smudging was a big win for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nekkun on 12/11/2014 8:19:00 PM more reviews by nekkun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I actually really like this mascara, which is surprising because most Maybelline stuff doesn't work for me (irritates my eyes, etc). This holds a curl well and adds some length/ volume to my lashes after 2-3 coats. The waterproof claim is accurate because I've taken showers in this, slept in it (!) and it remains on. However, I wouldn't repurchase because I feel like waterproof formulas are too harsh for my lashes. This is tough to remove even with baby oil and I feel like more of my lashes come out because of the extra rubbing this takes. Otherwise, a solid purchase for those who need a waterproof mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products