The Body Shop • Big and Curvy Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.6(33 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.30%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ThePinkReview on 7/23/2014 11:30:00 PM more reviews by ThePinkReview

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara is the best I've tried. It makes my lashes a brilliant black, and long and thick. The small brush allows every lash to be coated, which makes my large eyes appear even bigger. The only downside is it's difficult to remove.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Xyzzie on 5/31/2014 5:16:00 AM more reviews by Xyzzie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have very short straight eye lashes and this mascara makes them really longer and more noticable, But I have to use a curler first.
When it was new there was a bit too much mascara on the brush, but now I'm using it for 3 months and it's still good while others mascara's are already empty after that time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Aimansaeed on 5/27/2014 6:47:00 PM more reviews by Aimansaeed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

This is the worst mascara ever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hazelbeth on 3/17/2014 7:34:00 AM more reviews by hazelbeth

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I am a religious buyer of The Body Shop's aloe vera cleanser and toner, so I thought I'd branch out and try their makeup too. This mascara claimed to do exactly what I wanted, make my lashes more volumised, but I didn't find this to be true at all. I have very dark lashes and so I bought the black mascara; I found it clumpy and very difficult to apply successfully. In my opinion the brush is too chunky and so it's very hard to get a clean swipe through your lashes as it picks up too much product and doesn't spread it out, applying more coats makes it even worse. I have tried to get on with this mascara multiple times as I love The Body Shop as a brand, but I really dislike the clumpy effect that it leaves on my lashes. the only positive that I have found from this mascara is that it doesn't flake or smudge throughout the day. Unfortunately, I won't be repurchasing it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ALF1969 on 1/21/2014 6:32:00 PM more reviews by ALF1969

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

OK, it's not the best mascara out there but I can make it work. 3 thin coats in quick succession (wiggle the first coat on near the roots for extra volume). But the thing I love about it is it doesn't flake, no flaking, in fact it needs some work to get off - not too bad but definitely needs an extra swipe of whatever cleanser I am using (EVOO, foaming face wash, etc). It stays put from dawn til dusk and my eyes are not irritated or red. Big plus. It's also cheap, £10 full price but there is always a sale at TBS. My 2 HG mascara are clinique high impact mascara extreme volume and Benefit They're Real, but these are almost twice the price. I change my mascara every 3 months so this is a consideration!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jessica24601 on 12/6/2013 1:32:00 PM more reviews by Jessica24601

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

RATING 2.5**.5
Lately, everytime I've been removing my mascara I've been losing lashes. So I bought this in hopes that it's not as toxic. It cost me $18.50 but b/c Body Shop always has deals, I got an eyeliner and an eye shadow for FREE. Lets just say I'm glad I got those items for free as I really do not like this mascara all that much. I've been using their Super Volume one for years (in the dark packaging) so just wanted to try something else. This mascara is OK at best. It took me about 3 generous coats to see any va va voom effect and while I do notice volume, the mascara did not distribute on up evenly to my (or rather on my) long lashes. So most of the product looks like it's stuck at the roots. The formula is not a rich black either. And lastly, my lashes feel dry and brittle and far from "nourished" or soft like it would from Maybelline's Mega Plush for example. This is a perfect example of how price is not everything and also how I got sucked into the pretty packaging. Love Body Shop products and will always re-purchase certain items, just never this paticular mascara again.
UPDATE: Ok, after a week or so it seemed to have applied the way I like, plumped up my lashes and after drying and a whirl with my eyelash curler (I know you're supposed to do it before hand blah blah blah) I got nice curled close knit looking thick lashes. So great for a day look as no va va voom still, but nice lashes non the less.
UPDATE: OPENED DEC 6th 2013 & GARBAGE JAN 17th 2014. Neglected it for a few wks in opt for my many others I love (like CG Lash Blast, Mega Plush, etc) & the formula was UN-usable, totally clumped / gooey up at surface of tube and too much product in the brush. Waste of ner $20 as I used it maybe four times. Never re-purchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 chizzlewizzle on 7/1/2013 9:21:00 PM more reviews by chizzlewizzle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am so unhappy with this product I just had to sign up to review it.
I decided to go for this mascara on a 2 for 3 deal at the BodyShop, so I didn't have to pay full price thankfully. I would NEVER pay the full amount or even buy this product again for that matter.

All the reports about it being clumpy are true. It left rock-solid clumps on my lashes which I could not remover with my makeup remover for days. It was so frustrating not being able to remove this glue-like mascara that I tried to gently ease a clump off one of my lashes with my fingertips which (I suppose rather predictably) resulted in me pulling lashes out. My lashes have not looked so sparse for a long time, they are all falling out.

In addition to this, the clumps seem to fall out into your eyes easily when the wind blows. It is not only annoying and painful having clumps stuck in your eyeball but when you've taken the time to do your makeup before going out its frustrating having to then rub your eye to get the clump out, rubbing your eye makeup off.

I have used this mascara a few times a week for a month and a half and I am fed up. I would have stopped using it sooner but I like to give things a chance/am on a tight budget.

Summary: red eyes, falling eyelashes, very very very very unhappy. Don't but this mascara, the formula is cheap and nasty and the wand is terrible. It does not make your eyelashes big or curvy, it just irritates your eyes. My experience with other mascaras from BodyShop has been OK, I would just steer clear of this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Meech25 on 5/28/2013 9:10:00 PM more reviews by Meech25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, so i was about to write a good review about this mascara because i really like how it makes my lashes look and how well it holds a curl. Until i read a few of the reviews about the smell!
The funny thing is when i got ready this morning and was ready to leave the house i noticed sensitivity in my nose, there was a sent somewhere on me that was not making my nose happy. I couldn't figure out what it was, i thought maybe it was my new lotion, or my lipgloss! well now it makes sense..its the stupid mascara!
Such a disappointment considering the formula is actually decent.
I will return this asap, the smell is awful!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tanjit101 on 5/3/2013 2:23:00 PM more reviews by Tanjit101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Well this produt is really good it makes my lashes very long and voluminous. One thing I hate about it is that when u take it out the mascara is all just clumped onto the brush. Overall I really like this mascara and I think that u shuould buy it. I relly love to make my lashes big so I live for this mascara

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Berty on 1/27/2013 5:20:00 AM more reviews by Berty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Horrible stuff! The worst thing is the smell: it has an awful, awful fragrance that you can still smell hours later. That in itself makes it a no from me. As for the product, it's ok but not great. I quite like the brush - it's small, so I can get right into the corners (my eyes aren't huge, and my lashes are short and straight). It curls a little, but is a strange consistency. Wet and clumpy at the same time, if that makes sense. It's also really hard to remove. I'll probably use this up because I got it free, but would NOT repurchase. Back to trusty Maybelline.

EDIT: after a couple of weeks the smell faded and it got a little drier, and I've come to love this. The best thing, IMO, is the small brush, which enables you to apply easily if you don't have huge eyes or lang lashes. It's quicker to apply than a lot of other mascaras, holds the curl really well, and looks good. Have repurchased.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Mascara products