Thierry Mugler • Womanity • Fragrances

rated 3.3(171 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 FruitDiet on 1/22/2015 12:17:00 PM more reviews by FruitDiet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Five years after its release, I feel Womanity's time has come. When it came out, everyone was either underwhelmed that it wasn't as weird as the brief made it sound or thought it was fishy and repellent. I love the bizarre, humorous marketing and bottle that no one knew what to make of; in the 80s Mugler's (and Claude Montana's) designs were considered misogynous and unwearable, classic cases of homosexuals using the fashion industry to bind and enslave women, therefore it's a scream that he rolled out this fragrance with a satirical marketing campaign that parodies modern body-positive feminist self-help rhetoric. Remember the kooky website where women were supposed to connect with women and talk about the unshakable threads of Womanity stretching across the world? On top of this, the juice is pink (symbol of frou frou conventional femininity), evokes vagina stank with a nice salty oily Secretions-lite accord, and is topped with a terrifying metallic Geiger mask that brings to mind the cover of Naomi Wolf's The Beauty Myth, held on with a chain. The fragrance itself is sporty and fresh and highly wearable while also being ashy and gray and somewhat staid. This is high art; this is satire; this is a true transgressive statement done in the capitalist mainstream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ktxoxo on 1/5/2015 4:37:00 PM more reviews by ktxoxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The bottle for Womanity is beautiful, when you run out of the perfume it would be a great ornament. The perfume its self is so unique its hard to describe but it certainly reminds me of the ocean. its very strong for the first 10-30 minutes until it settles down on your skin and it loses the strongness then becomes a beautiful feminine smell. i recommend spraying it 2-3 times at first and spraying it once again after about 5 minutes for it to last longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bagonzalez9 on 12/19/2014 1:12:00 PM more reviews by bagonzalez9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased the samples from ebay, the one with 15 samples and I feel so dumb for buying that one instead of the one with 4 samples because I hate it!! I thought I was going to like it since I love Angel and Alien, but I can't stand this smell, it gives me a headache :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mhubbard on 9/2/2014 6:58:00 AM more reviews by mhubbard

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I purchased an ebay lot of 20 samples of this for a song as I wanted to try it after reading about the controversy. I am on my second sample bottle now and I must say this is growing on me. It was an immediate like, but I usually only have time for perfume "loves". Nevertheless this seemed to suit my mood and match the weather perfectly yesterday, a late summer day. This perfume evokes the bittersweet feeling of the end of the summer and the early part of fall, filled with both good-byes and new beginnings. It smells like the beach in September, nice to visit but too cold to swim. I don't find it anywhere near as powerful as Thierry Mugler's other concoctions, but I would hesitate to wear this to work as it seems to have so many haters. This is definitely worth a try for folks who aren't afraid to step out and be just a little different. The price is also not bad at all. I would probably not repurchase simply because I think it's unlikely I will ever run out of my samples. I am not likely to wear this more than very occasionally, but it is perfectly suited to September.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anormansyah on 9/2/2014 5:44:00 AM more reviews by anormansyah

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm in love at the first sniff.

So fresh, the figs linger for hours and hours and I only bought the body lotion and a free mini sample from House of Fraser. Big love and will be buying the big bottle...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 snkatha on 7/12/2014 7:21:00 AM more reviews by snkatha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This perfume is really strange in a good way! It's an aquatic fresh perfume but what makes me like it is the saltiness you get. It's savory & this savory quality tones down the aquatic bit and makes me think of sweaty, clean skin. It's like you sprayed yourself in the morning with one of those regular colognes that are touted as being an "aquatic" "clean" perfume, went for a jog around the block & your sweat has mingled with the cologne to create this salty tinge, with the slightly metallic tang of a sweaty body. I then get a sweet fig, that is tempered by the salt in this perfume. It manages to be sweet, savory & fresh all at once.It has that "lived in" feel i like in a perfume. The dry down on me brings the sweet fig to the foreground & it loses that salty edge that drew me to it in the opening so it loses a lippy for that. Otherwise, I love this perfume. As with all Thierry Mugler fumes this one has staying power & quite the sillage!
By the way, I can see this perfume being carried off very easily by a guy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 4/24/2014 12:58:00 PM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a coconuty, scent. That is strong and lasting. If I try and pull apart the notes I can sense spicey ginger, figs, salt, aquatic hints, a smooth base of light powder, vanilla, resins, and a light pepper bite. Some days the ginger/vanilla mix for me replicates the fizzy scent of coca cola, mixed with an aquatic like Davidoff Cool Water, and a helping of spicy ginger oat biscuits (cookies).

So well blended and distinctive, it reminds me of a higher end concoction! It could be described as "accessible" but this is no negative, its very well done and I really appreciate its not too hard to get.

Comes in an amazing quality bottle that you can buy refills for if you get the refillable ones that unscrew the top. I like this concept as you can always keep the original actual bottle someone gave you if you want. You never have to throw away or run out of perfume, just refill it! I like to think this keeps all the memories of the person who brought it for you or time you brought it intact with the bottle. I brought this blind because of the good price and the refillable bottle thinking if I didn't like it I could always put another perfume in it, but ended up really liking it.

Love the contrast of warm, spicy and fresh elements, each stands out individually yet seamlessly fits together. My only warning is, as with all aquatic and sharp peppery notes, it can be headache inducing to some people especially in warmer weather. I wear weekends, not for the office or enclosed spaces like a movie theatre or cafe. On occaison it bothers me or a sensitive friend is coming over I simply wash it off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Geerat on 4/23/2014 12:46:00 PM more reviews by Geerat

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Grey    

This perfume is extremely unique and smells very "wood" like.
I agree with other reviews that it is a mysterious scent.
It is very strong like most thierry mugler perfumes, and has great longevity, however it smells much nicer one it has settled!
I prefer this perfume once the bottle has been open for a while and the fragrance has matured.
I don't think i would repurchase this and think it may be more suited to a more mature lady, its too much of a strong and powerful smell for me.
All of muglers perfumes are unique and strong, i'm a regular Alien user and much prefer the floral scent of it!

This perfume would suit a very strong woman, to match the title of the perfume and the strong scent!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sherrywijaya on 4/23/2014 11:40:00 AM more reviews by Sherrywijaya

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Oh and he lasting power and strength is very good or maybe too good..might be good or bad,depends

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kblimm on 2/17/2014 12:26:00 AM more reviews by kblimm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Short and sweet: I was shopping at Lowes one day. A nice man stopped me and told me he purposefully walked past me three times so he could smell my perfume. Love how it smells mysterious and unique. I am also a big fan of Angel, and I have worn it for years. I like to alternate between the two of them depending on my mood for the day!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Thierry Mugler products

More Fragrances products