Schwarzkopf • Palette • Hair Color

rated 3.4(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 TiyaFab on 10/25/2014 12:34:00 PM more reviews by TiyaFab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I used palette for the first time in 2012. I wanted to go a few shades lighter without using bleach. I used the shade 'ash blonde A-10" on my previously dyed hair, it turned my hair to a beautiful light ashy brown. Of course i didn't expect my hair to turn ash blonde since my hair is naturally very dark. This color has ammonia in it so it can lighten up to 3 shades. My natural hair color is level 2 darkest brown and I was really surprised that my hair didn't turn orange, there was a little brassiness on the hair that was previously dyed but it wasn't noticeable unless my hair was in direct bright sunlight. My hair was not damaged, it went a little dry but one deep conditioning treatment fixed it! I was very happy with the result.
it lasted for about 4 months, after that the color started fading. Overall, I'd say this is a great product. I'm gonna purchase it again when I wanna go lighter.
(I shared my photos of the result, top left was taken on the day I used this product, bottom left and right were taken 2 weeks and one month later respectively.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Markella1 on 8/17/2013 11:24:00 AM more reviews by Markella1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

BURN!!! Now that i got your attention, yes, this dye burned my scalp on some places. I now have small little scabs all over my scalp!!

I got the shade 10.1 which admitedly is a very light shade, but hey, i've been using shades this light or EVEN lighter for years, from many different brands, without ever having this kind of reaction! My skin is NOT sensitive,so i obviously blame this specific dye.

Color-wise, the outcome was very good, light and ashy as i like it, without yellow undertones,true to the packaging..... but i obviously WON'T repurchase!
If you are looking for a cheaper dye, try out Garnier. Smells a lot more pleasant too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 8/13/2013 10:26:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Unfortunately using this hair colourant caused my scalp to react badly and my hair to shed and break off. I have been colouring my hair myself for the last twelve years, on average once every six weeks to cover my greys, and I must admit to already experiencing slight thinning and breakage with other dyes previously but not noticeably so. But this dye was so strong it left a bald patch almost a centimetre across and my hair is now visibly thinning. My scalp is very tender to the touch and itchy. I am now treating the damage by pre-shampooing with Amla oil 3 times a week, avoiding SLS/SLEs so as not to irritate my scalp further and avoiding all dyes with ammonia. Shame as the colour was great (Mocha)!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SaraCee07 on 7/26/2013 11:09:00 PM more reviews by SaraCee07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

When I was blonde I would use Clairol Nice N Easy and that worked perfectly for what I needed. Now that I've gone back to being brunette I've found this is the best dye to use. I tried out several different brands and shades until I found the right one for me, and this is it! I used Napro Palette Natural Colours 4.0 Medium Brown. I wanted a dark brown, but whenever I would buy the dark brown shades it would turn out black, others washed out too quick, or made my hair dry and brittle. This gives the perfect dark brown shade without looking black and has minimal red tones which I like. It was at the lower end of the price scale which makes it even better. Left my hair feeling soft and shiny and healthy, covered the small amount of greys I had, and was easy to use and smell not TOO overpowering. 5 out of 5 for me and I will be using this next time I need to dye my hair!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 greeneyesies on 3/15/2012 5:47:00 PM more reviews by greeneyesies

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I used #500 (chocolate brown) on my medium/dark brown hair to enrich the colour and cover some bits of grey.

Pros:
Overall, I can't fault Palette for colouring. The colour turned out exactly as it said on the box, covered all my grey hairs and didn't dry my hair out at all. The formula is thick and doesn't drip at all so application is easy and it causes less bathroom mess than my usual hair colouring adventures.

Cons:
Another reviewer mentioned the strong chemical smell. She's right; this forumla contains ammonia and you get a blast of it when you first apply the colour. It made my eyes water a bit and I had to open a window to get some air in. Sadly, while it was gentle to my hair it was actually quite irritating to my scalp and caused itchy, dried out patches which have been bothering me for several days since application. I do have a sensitive scalp prone to SD and dryness though, so possibly this wouldn't affect other users as much. The other peeve was the disgusting synthetic fruit fragrance added to the conditioner which followed me until my next hair wash, which I did not appreciate. This isn't unique to this product though - I've found that most boxed dye manufacturers feel the need to make their conditioner this way for some reason.

Conclusion: even though the colour result was great, I wouldn't buy this product again because of the scalp irritation issue.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 blondyyy on 10/22/2011 4:37:00 PM more reviews by blondyyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

THIS IS WORST DRUGSTORE HAIR COLOR. I bought hair color in shade 218 Silver blonde. My hair was OLIVE GREEN!!!!!! Dont buy it, unless if you want green hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Marianthoula on 9/19/2011 10:16:00 AM more reviews by Marianthoula

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It is my most favorite hair dye that I've been using for about 2 years.
I use it in 6.665 (Dark blonde very intense red) and although this is intended to colour light blond to dark blond hair into red, it works very well in by brown-dark brown. I just do not expect to get the shade it shows on the box.
What I do get is dark red hair, with high gloss and shine for about 1 - 1 1/2 week. Then the shine fades, but it is still a gorgeous, rich red. And when they catch light... beautiful...
I find that the colour does not last much on me, I want to re-apply on 3 weeks and MUST reapply on 5, but I hear red fades the most so I cannot blame it much.
I take care on the first-second wash, because in summer if I do get sweaty in sleep I might have some colour transfer in pillowcase. But it is really no problem, there are so many "ifs" and "mights" that on the occasional colouring I just normaly wash the cloth and the dye is gone. I never had colour transfer on the clothes I've been wearing.
I see in the previous reviews a cream/conditioner being mentioned. In the Greek product there is no conditioner, just the cream, the developer, a pair of gloves and the direction sheet. The price is 4.85 Euro and is the cheapest for the results I get (there are cheaper than this, but of unknown brands, at least Schwarzkopf is a name I know).
Overall I am very, very satisfied and I keep buying it for years.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 slivka81 on 9/13/2011 3:03:00 PM more reviews by slivka81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

It is the best selling color in Europe, that is true. However the range in the UK is pretty basic, there are loads more shades available on the continent, reds, blonds, browns you name it.I tried so many different colors, from drug stores as well as professional ones but this is far the best out there. I use ruby red shade (R15) and have been using it for the past five years.Reds are notoriously difficult to keep. Every time I get my hair cut, hairdressers tend to ask me what is the color I use, as it's last for ages and doesn't really fade, even after weeks. I was stopped on street a few times and asked what color I use. Once I even had to write its name down for one hairdresser!I emailed to Schwarzkopf asking whether they plan to start selling the whole range, only to be told no, not at the moment. I don't understand why as they sell their other colors. So for now, every time I travel to Europe, I just buy loads to last me for months!It's cheap, costs about 3.50 Euros.I wish Schwarzkopf changed their mind. On plus side, nobody else has the color and I get all the compliments:-D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bennodalove on 12/28/2010 2:05:00 PM more reviews by bennodalove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

It is cheap and quite a good dye - I've tried out soft black and dark brown. The dark brown colour is nice and rich, doesn't turn out black but it is a *very* dark brown. I wasn't impressed with the soft black shade as it left a very dull flat black colour which was pretty ugly to be honest. The dyes - in my experience - do not come out looking 'true to the box' as this dye is advertised as being. My hair doesn't feel too damaged after using but I don't like the conditioner it comes with at all as I don't feel it provides any moisture and hydration to my hair whatsoever. The shade selection isn't that wide and is very basic...I wish they had more colours available.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Adriana265 on 7/3/2010 8:11:00 PM more reviews by Adriana265

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Best dye I've used - and it's dirt cheap. I got it for 2.50! This claims to be the 'best selling dye in Europe' aswell.
My hair is naturally black but over the years I've bleached/highlighted/dyed it...just before using this, my hair was a dull medium brown colour and I wanted to go darker. I got this dye in #500 Dark Brown.

This is one of the least damaging hair dyes I've tried (along with the L'oreal casting creme); no dryness or straw-like strands of hair after using this! The conditioner it comes with is pretty good too. Left my hair looking shiny and smooth.

The worst thing about this dye, however, it the smell. It's very strong, and my eyes were watering like crazy for the whole 30mins I left it on my head. Even with 2 windows wide open. Not pleasant!

Anyway, I was really happy with the results it gave me. It was a little dark at first (which I was expecting, because my hair is really porous) but after 1-2 weeks, it went to almost the exact colour shown on the box. It's a really dark brown, but definately dark brown. The colour is gorgeous and all my friends have complimented it.

The colour lasts super well. I've had it for about 4-5 weeks now and it hasn't faded much. I'm going to redye it tomorrow though, because I'm going on vacation soon.

I really like this dye...it'll probably be the only dye I ever use from now on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Schwarzkopf products

More Hair Color products