Skinn Cosmetics DermAppeal Microdermabrasion Treatment

4.4

8 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/7/2015 9:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really love this product. I've used it for years. I found for me it works best in the shower when my skin is wet and pores are open. I do have to be careful around the eyes as the menthol can be a bit heavy. They have new packaging and it comes in a stand up tube instead of a pot which may work better. I haven't tried it yet but since I will buy it again, I'll let you know.



on 3/19/2015 11:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

OMG absolutely loveeeee this product and how fresh and smooth my skin feels after I use it!!! Not only does if exfoliate, but it leaves my skin feeling super clean!!! It opens my sinuses due to the minty smell as well!!! I used to use a different exfoliant and set this aside for awhile. I revisited it and forgot how wonderful it is! A definite must have for people who like super gritty exfoliation treatments!!!


on 8/19/2014 12:05:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I won't ever be without this! I got it as part of a kit with the cleansers (also must haves) and couldn't be happier! My face and neck are smooth and feels amazing after using it. I love the minty scent and when I massage it in, I just imagine keeping those fine lines and wrinkles being kept at bay!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2014 1:40:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I will absolutely never be without this product if I can help it. I purchased it as part of a kit. I was actually purchasing the kit for the other products, and wasn't familiar with this at all. For some reason, I thought it would be a mask instead of a microdermabrasion scrub. It sat in my drawer for a couple of weeks before I got around to trying it. I have been using Boots No. 7 Microdermabrasion scrub for a couple of years, and THOUGHT I was satisfied with it. It was comparable to some very expensive brands I had tried samples of in the past. And THEN...there was THIS. This is an unbelievably effective microdermabrasion scrub. Yes; it has a minty scent. It improves circulation and makes your skin feel fresh. Yes; it is "gritty." (It's a microdermabrasion scrub for petes' sake!). It may seem a little irritating at first if you are not used to using a scrub of this quality. Scrub gently. Do not dig into your skin, pushing the product too hard against the surface. Also, on days when you use it, skip your acid products (alpha and beta) for at least a few hours. BE GENTLE, and GLOW!!

I love you, Dimitri! You have made my skin look wonderful again. I had tried so many things. Love this product and the cleansers that came with the kit too. Great quality! Will try more Skinn products in the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2014 5:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I just got this in a set I got off TSC, which included the Sulphate-Free am cleanser, the Olive and Enzyme pm cleanser, the Collegenisis Facial, and Eye, Serums, and the Enriched Softening Essence toner.

After getting the set, I tried the scrub right away after using the cleansers. It's a dense, faded denim blue colour scrub in a pot (I use a cosmetic spatula for potted products). I used about an almond-sized amount.

I could feel right away this was a very strong grit and I was a bit nervous about continuing to massage it in for 1-2 minutes as per the directions. I'm used to dermabrasion products, but this was kind of scary feeling. So instead, I gently massaged it for less than 1 minute. One of the issues I had right away was the overpowering peppermint smell. It was so strong my eyes were watering and my face HURT from it. So I removed it with a facecloth and water and was almost gasping at how icy cold it felt (from the peppermint) - fantastic for hot grimy days; a little uncomfortable for cold rainy evenings. However I am pleased to say that my skin felt fantastic - soft and plump, and not irritated at all once it was off. It worked really well at polishing my skin. The icy cold feeling of the product really refreshed my complexion and I had a nice glow. I will continue to be cautious about over using this, but am looking forward to my next use to see if I get used to the peppermint experience.

UPDATE: OH POOH. I have to send the whole set back, as I've found the set is not working for me in the long run. I've used them daily for two weeks. The day cleanser, which I used to love, is now too harsh for my skin - my skin is tight and dry, red and irritated after using it - looks exactly like I have rosacea (I don't). The other treatment products, while lovely, are not providing the moisturizing and calming properties that I need, especially after using the cleanser, or the scrub. My skin is bumpy and feels irritated. Too bad for me! Hope others enjoy them though.


on 6/6/2011 8:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is the BEST exfoliating facial treament I have ever used. I have post-acne hyperpigmentation and by using Dermappeal they are almost all faded! :) I'm very pleased with this product! It is expensive runs about 30.00 on ShopNBC, if you buy it alone. You receive about 2 oz. of product. I reccommend using a popcicle stick or plastic spoon or spatula to remove the product from the jar because it becomes "active" with water. Way better than St. Ives apricot scrub, there is nothing like this product. If you do decide to purchase anything from Skinn cosmetics, purchase this product!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/13/2011 1:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this treatment at TSC in Canada as part of a showstopper. The kit came with this AM cleanser, the PM cleanser, the wrinkle soak mask, and dermapeel treatment all for $50 canadian including taxes. I also got the kit on auto delivery every 2 months. Which in my mind quite frankly is a steal for such high quality products.

In this kit the Skinn DermAppeal Microdermabrasion Treatment came in a 2 ounce size container with a screw top. The treatment is a blue, greyish color. Is like a paste. With dry fingers I scoop out about a quarter size amount and spread over my face and neck. I massage it in lightly for 1min, and then let it sit for another min before washing it off in the shower.

The smell is very refreshing like peppermint. It works wonders for exfoliating all the dead skin. Helping with acne marks or scars. Fine lines or wrinkles are less apparent. It does not make me break out either. I use this three times a week. Probably my favorite out of the whole package.

My skin type is oily in areas and acne prone. I have spent probably thousands of dollars and many years in skin care over the years to get my skin to look just healthy. It could be that I am growing out of my acne but I know these products certainly have helped my skin.

Yes you do have to buy the stuff on tv or via his website. But the products and a good value for your money. They do work. He keeps water, sulphates, and parabens out of his products. I think I am hooked. I have yet to try any other products from the line but will be shortly.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2010 2:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I was looking for an alternative to aluminum oxide crystals to use for my at home microdermabrasion treatments. Skinn DermAppeal uses magnesium oxide crystals in a natural base of oils and antioxidants. The crystals are nice and fine grade, giving my skin a radiant smooth appearance after use. I use this once a week or so, scrubbing each section of my face in small circles for about a minute per area. Contains peppermint and tea tree oils. The only downside is that it has a strong peppermint tingle on the skin which I don't really like. Comes in a 2 oz container from HSN.com for $25.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top