Pantene • Flat to Volume • Hair

rated 2.6(20 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 beechgirl223 on 10/28/2013 2:17:00 PM more reviews by beechgirl223

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutley LOVE this shampoo. Unfortunately I am only able to purchase the travel size, and
that only at CVS . I've compared ingredients to the "Fine" and "Volume" formulas,(different from" Flat to Volume" ingredients), bought
and used both however they're not the same.
I written to P&G twice asking why this is available in travel size only but didn't receive an
answer either time.
I hope someone has an answer. I'm nervous that one day I won't be able to get the travel size and I'll return to the flat haired woman I used to be.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LacyDoll on 7/11/2011 5:45:00 PM more reviews by LacyDoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

OMFG!!!!
I have finally found my HG volumizing hair product! And that's saying a lot, considering I rarely give 5 stars for anything.
This product (Pantene Medium-to-Thick Hair Solutions Shampoo, Flat to Volume) volumizes my hair so well that my hair looks like a model's! Whenever I walk, my hair gets that kind of "bounce-and-flounce"; whenever I'm under lighting, my hair reflects the shine like glass; whenever I use this product, it boosts my self-confidence!
Jeez, whenever I use this product, I get so many compliments it's not even funny!
"Raina, I love your hair!"
"OMG, Raina, your hair looks gorgeous!"
"God, Raina, what do you use to make your hair so beautiful?"
"Raina! Your hair looks so soft and shiny!"
Once, this person reached out to touch my hair to feel if I was wearing any Bump-Its (LOL!!!!!!). Another time this chick thought I teased my hair everyday. Wow...I have never--and I mean NEVER--received so many compliments--honestly, being a "nobody", I rarely get any compliments at all.
Not to mention the price! Just nine bucks for a slice of heaven? Um, yes please!!!!
The only downside to this product is the packaging. Not that the snap-the-cap-on type of bottle is bad, but I prefer bottles with pumps (I've realized that lately, hair care brands have gone from bottles with pumps to bottles with caps...I want the pumps back!). Also, the nature of the bottle makes it difficult to get the last of the product out. So when I'm almost out, I have to twist off the cap and stick in my fingers to swipe it off the sides. Not very pleasing.
Also, another thing: I don't use the conditioner because this product tends to make my hair oily (a lot of hair products make my hair oily)--I stray away from conditioner at all costs. Within two hours, conditioner can turn my hair from fresh-and-clean to oily-and-flat. I use this Pantene Flat to Volume Shampoo with Head & Shoulders Classic Clean Shampoo to prevent oiliness.

BOTTOM LINE: Great product! Gives the ultimate shine, bounce, boost, and most importantly, volume! I hate the bottle (I prefer a pump rather than a cap, and the design makes it hard to get the last of the product out), but considering it's only $5.00-$9.00, totally worth it!

UPDATE 12/19/11: This product turned from amazing to lame. Now this product FLATTENS my hair and makes it extremely oily. Never going to purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Tooomanycolours on 2/18/2011 3:03:00 AM more reviews by Tooomanycolours

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Okay. I got an account here just so I could warn everyone: do NOT buy this stuff. I am 25, very healthy, and do not dye or even blow-dry my long hair. My head started itching around the half-way empty mark on the bottle, and by the time it was empty I had full-on crazy embarassing dandruff. I didn't link it to this bad shampoo till I began using Aveenos new line. My dandruff was gone after one wash. Spare yourself and pay for something good, okay?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ceriseangel2 on 2/13/2011 3:16:00 AM more reviews by ceriseangel2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The shampoo dried out my hair and the conditioner made my hair oily near the end of the day. The scent is what I dislike about this line. It smells like artificial vanilla.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* asiawall on 2/1/2011 more reviews by asiawall

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Horrible shampoo, dried my hair out completely. Would never use again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 vleibold on 11/5/2010 1:46:00 PM more reviews by vleibold

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this shampoo and conditioner because a mag said it was one of the "best new products". Too good to be true at $4 a bottle you get what you pay for. If you have color treated hair don't buy this. It adds volume by stripping your hair of all moisture making it very difficult to get the cuticle to lie down when you dry your hair. Thank goodness I added some of my old conditioner also to the ends of my hair or I would have had to re-wash it. If your hair is un-treated and VERY healthy, I suppose you would like it...but everyone else beware.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 terei on 10/29/2010 2:23:00 PM more reviews by terei

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this flat to volume for fine hair. I am starting to use less and less product while I am growning my hair out into a long bob. I have extremely fine, limp hair with medium thickness. I liked how this gave some fullness to my hair and for the price, it worked as well as some very expensive shampoos that I have. I will try the conditioner as well if I can find it in a smaller bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jbeck14 on 10/18/2010 11:42:00 PM more reviews by jbeck14

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I actually really liked this shampoo. I had been using the new Flat to Volume Spray Gel and Mousse and I liked those, but I was using some Tresemme shampoo that just barely did the job. I bought a bottle of this and tried it out, and I loved it! I can't really say for how it would volumize by itself, as I used it with products, but it made my hair feel really clean and smelled GREAT all day long. my hair felt unusually super duper soft (i straighten and blowdry every morning-my ends are always nappy) and i couldnt stop touching it (BAD!)
it was a really good hair day for me, and i hope this stuff keeps working. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jessamay on 9/30/2010 2:24:00 PM more reviews by jessamay

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have very fine, thin hair so I have tried every volume shampoo out there. I am not a fan of Pantene as their other volume products never delivered and also left my hair like straw. They finally got something right. This really does add a fluffy, light volume that give my pathetic, wimpy locks body which is nothing short of amazing. Some reviewers are stating that the volume did not last long but for me, it does last pretty much all day. Heck - I would take an hour with some body in my hair. I took one point off as Pantene seems to always leave my hair dry and not conditioned feeling. For the price, this is what I will be using until they take it off the market.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 miriamdeering on 9/26/2010 5:12:00 AM more reviews by miriamdeering

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been a die-hard Pantene user for the past five years, but no more, since they made the decision to change their formulas. There are two kinds of "Flat to Volume" shampoo: one for fine hair, and one for medium-to-thick. I fall into the latter category, and so, I decided to try it out, seeing that my hair could use the volume boost.

I don't know what Pantene did, but after two uses (along with the frizzy to smooth conditioner), my hair looked terrible. The ends were fried, and the roots were greasy after one day. I was left with totally unmanageable hair, that made me look rather witchy. I always had shiny smooth hair with the old Pantene line (Smooth, green label), so this was a shock.

Needless to say, the shampoo and conditioner went back to the store (where the quest for a new brand began). Pantene has lost a long-time customer. Sorry guys, you should've followed the old saying: if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pantene products

More Hair products