TiGi • Catwalk Curls Rock Curl Amplifier • Styling Products

rated 3.7(258 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 tsth on 7/21/2014 3:27:00 PM more reviews by tsth

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Wow, this is my first TiGi product and I am sold. Got it on sale for half price, but knowing how little you have to use, I would purchase at full price. My hair is naturally curly and silver/graying. Bought this product to help w/curl and tone down frizz. It fits the bill perfectly. Really curls my hair well w/o frizz and w/o crunchiness. I would have given 5 stars, but feel it could be a little bit more hydrating. The product is very concentrated. I have shoulder length hair and only use a small pea size blended with a bit of water and it is plenty. The water really emulsifies it and helps w/the distribution throughout the hair. I am very impressed w/this product and will definitely purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PaleInComparison on 4/12/2014 1:30:00 AM more reviews by PaleInComparison

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am such a ditz I had this review on the wrong product from this line, problem solved now!

One of my absolute essential hair products. At first it is hard to work with and you really have to be careful with how much you use- my best advice is to see how much comes out in one full pump. When you figure out how much to work with, rub it through your palms to distribute through hair. I don't recommend using this on your roots, because it can be stiff and you will lose volume, but it does tame fly aways well if you just smooth them with what is left on your hands. This works great for those who air dry!

If you want a quick apply and go product-this is not for you. You can achieve soft curls with this but it requires both the right hair type and the right amount of product. However, once it dries you can easily scrunch curls and get a soft, bouncy curl. It holds style well and your hair will be shiny and beautiful! Too much though and you will have crunchy white chunks in your hair :( I am never without a bottle and I got super excited when I recently got several half price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SarahMcD on 2/13/2014 4:11:00 PM more reviews by SarahMcD

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for years and stray from time to time to try something else, but so far this remains the best gel/cream/lotion I've tried. I have mostly 3b with some 3a curly hair, and for me this works very well. Best applied when wet, but will use a little on dry hair to tame my hair. I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because 1)it's hard to find the perfect amount to use and using too much can have ugly, icky textured consequences and 2)you can't really get all of the product out of the container. Nevertheless, it gives me well defined but non crunchy curls, and for that I am very thankful, so I continue to repurchase - usually when Ulta has a B2G1 sale. Smell is a bit strong but I like it (and it does fade).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vwterry on 1/13/2014 8:39:00 AM more reviews by vwterry

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very frizzy, fine hair, and this product is very good at controlling frizz. I smooth it on wet hair without scrunching and either air dry or use a diffuser, either way without touching my hair until it's very close to dry. Result: almost straight on top, wavy on the bottom. (My hair is just below chin length with long bangs.) Second day: flat iron on top; maybe wet the ends if wave has fizzled overnight. If I want curl, I can work the product through my hair and scrunch before using one of the same drying methods. (I haven't had good experience with second-day curls with this product.) I like the weight of this product--mousse or light gel just don't cut it for reducing frizz for me. Similar to but not quite as heavy and devolumizing as Kenra Curl Defining Cream, which I tend to go to in the summer when I need even more serious frizz and volume control. Packaging is a little annoying because it is difficult to tell when you are almost out of the product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jpe020 on 10/7/2013 1:11:00 PM more reviews by jpe020

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Got this product from a friend who also didn't like it - she has wavy hair and said it didn't work at all to help her curls so would probably be better for me as I have curlier hair. My hair is super thick and quite frizzy and poofy, I have tried sooo many different curling creams, gels, mousses etc. Unfortunately, this was just plain out rubbish.

It was like a thick glue! I have no idea if I got a defunct bottle, but it was soo hard to spread through my hair and was so sticky and made my hair all hard and static after it dried. Just awful. I have tried this product many different ways, with a diffuser, without, distributing a teeeny amount and in all increments up to two pumps (which some other reviewers said they did, which I think seems like A LOT). Anyway, I won't be buying this product or recommending it to anyway. I use Redken Fresh Curls (Curl Refiner) and it is amazing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 greykat on 7/13/2013 3:39:00 PM more reviews by greykat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

After years of flat-ironing my color-treated hair (it's normally coarse grey), I decided to go natural to minimize further damage, since I don't intend to stop coloring anytime soon! Normally this results in a mound of frizz. But after experimenting with a few styling products, and a good cut to 'release' my curls (I told my stylist I wanted to go natural), this product was the finishing touch for the look I was going for. I'm still experimenting with the correct amount to minimize crunching (my hair is thick and bra-strap length), but am absolutely sold: glossy, thick waves that don't quit! Best of all, I only have to apply once after shampooing. On off days, I just damp my hair with a few squirts of water and the curls pop right back. Amazing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Phira on 6/30/2013 9:37:00 AM more reviews by Phira

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I just got my hair permed a week ago and have been hunting down a product that does not make my hair crunchy. I combed through tons of reviews and this was the product I settled on. I searched high and low at all the salons in my area and had no luck. I took a trip to Walmart (I hate Walmart) because I was going with my second choice Tresemme Hydrating Cream. Couldn't even find that... depressed I was about to leave when something told me to look up..BAM! There it was... At WALMART?? Anywhoozle.

I couldn't wait to try it and based on the reviews I followed the suggestion to put a little moroccanoil in my hand then one pump of the curl cream (I have thin hair) and distribute through wet hair. Turn the head upside down and distribute it throughout the hair. Grab the diffuser and on low, scrunch and blow dry (while hair is upside down) to get that curl set in place. Do not dry hair thoroughly. Just enough to get the hair damp and then let it air dry. If the hair is slightly crunchy after it's dry, turn your head upside down and lightly run your fingers through the hair to soften the hair. I followed this up with NUME Finishing serum and OMG my curls where gorgeous. Soft and defined. Would definitely buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupjunkee on 5/2/2013 10:14:00 PM more reviews by makeupjunkee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This product gives structure to my 3B curls. I use it under Curly Hair Solution's Curl Keeper. I let my hair air dry, then scrunch it out when it's dry - which takes care of the slight crunchiness it leaves.

I only gave 4 lippies because it can build up, which can be a problem for those of us who don't use shampoo frequently.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mal1910 on 3/27/2013 2:15:00 PM more reviews by Mal1910

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this product off and on for years. My hair is long (mid-back), fine, and has been chemically processed numerous times. I've tried many other products (Paul Mitchell sculpting foam, Ouidad, DevaCurl, Carol's Daughter, Living Proof, Moroccanoil products, etc.) and I always come back to this (Ouidad is the only one I will use as backup). Do not buy the new black bottle. They changed the formula and it's not the same. I use the blue bottle that you can get in packs of two at Target or Rite Aid. I don't apply to my roots, and sometimes I mix with an oil depending on the season. The trick is to apply to VERY wet hair, let it air dry, and DON'T touch your hair. Once it's dry, I gently massage the "crunchiness" out of my hair. My hair is bouncy, shiny, soft and has no frizz when using this correctly. I've yet to try it with a diffuser (I don't use heat on my curls).

I don't like how I cannot see how much is left in the bottle, but I do like that it dispenses the perfect amount for my hair. I seem to get almost's two months use out of one bottle (I use everyday).

I've taken a point off because of the crunchiness (in a perfect world I would prefer a styling cream that did all of the above minus the helmet head) and for breaking my skin out. I noticed that I have acne on my shoulders where my hair rests and sometimes on the side of my face.

Overall, I will keep using until I find my "true" HG styling cream for my curls. I just hope I can keep finding the old bottle until then.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CurlyGirl83 on 12/6/2011 1:14:00 PM more reviews by CurlyGirl83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I SWEAR by this product.
I have used many different mousses, gels and sprays over the years and this is the perfect product for curly hair. I use 2 squirts and run the product through my hair, a quick spritz with some hair spray (any brand) and a head shake then I'm set for the day!
Also use in conjuction with Morrocan Oil Curl Control Cream to make your hair smell extra nice!
The new bottle gives more product, I just wish I could see exactly how much was left!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More TiGi products

More Styling Products products