Maybelline Shine Free Oil Control Loose Powder

4.0

26 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/28/2015 9:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Works great and is pretty translucent. A good go to loose powder from the drugstore. It has replaced my Covergirl loose powder.



on 6/7/2015 2:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have very oily/acne prone skin with occasional dry spots. I bought this to use as a setting/oil control powder over my liquid foundation, so that is how I am reviewing this.

PROS:
-Affordable
-Did not break me out or clog my pores
-Very light, not heavy, finish
-Does not cake very easily
-Did not cling to dry spots

CONS:
-Didn't help control my oil for more than an hour
-Did not help my makeup stay in place at all

OVERALL: This was not a bad powder, but I would not repurchase this since it did not work the way I hoped it would. If you have dry-normal skin this would probably work well for you. But if your face is a grease monster like mine is, this is not the best powder for you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/26/2015 2:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have this in the pressed powder .It keeps oily skin matte with just a bit of blotting in the afternoon. This powder has made my skin look even, matte, and free of breakouts!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/2/2014 5:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this product for quite a while, since I was 16 and have enjoyed it ever since the first time purchasing.

It does go unnoticed because it is usually hidden at the bottom shelf in drugstores and can be found at most supermarkets. It only has 2 shades so I'm not able to use it if I've been tanning as the medium shade is too orange and dark and the light shade is too light. It doesn't go on cakey, however, it doesn't last very long, usually 2 hours for me maximum, especially in summertime.

I don't recommend it if you have really oily skin, it doesn't absorb oil as much as some better higher end brands, it's only $5.00 so it's cheap, but it's cheap for a reason.

The packaging is dreadful, don't throw it in your purse or you'll most likely have a powder mess (which is never fun)

Bottom line, it's worth a try but it isn't the best for everyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2014 7:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

This needs to be more finely milled & less orange. It will oxidize on my oily skin & become greasy after a couple of hours. It's alright but not something I don't know if I'd want to rebuy because light is too light & medium is too dark & orange. The puff it comes with is nice. The packaging is bulky. If you are going to get loose powder for oily type skin get the Coty Airspun loose powder instead.


on 3/4/2014 7:20:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a pretty good loose powder. It does take the shine away but I wish it would take it away longer. Overall I would buy again. Really good amount that it comes with & colour range is good.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Other

A HG powder for me. Sets perfectly on my skin. You get plenty of product in the container, which is great too.


on 8/16/2013 9:10:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

great powder, lasts a very long time and i think it would be good for any skin type. the packaging is not good at all.


on 6/13/2013 6:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

It's a fine setting powder, but it doesn't control oil much and it makes skin slightly lighter. For someone as pale as me I cannot afford to look anymore pale. For someone with mild oiliness and doesn't mind looking a bit more fair, it's a decent product, but you could probably find better.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This powder is lovely for my oily skin. I'm glad I decided to try it out. I apply this over my foundation to set it. It gives a nice matte appearance and as for oil control - it lasts around 2-4 hours for me. Don't expect too much. It's a cheap drugstore loose powder, but for the price, it is excellent and does its job! It does not appear cakey and blends in just perfectly on my medium tan skin. I bought my current tin of powder almost 6 months ago and even after daily use, I'm only close to 1/2 way through. It'll last a very long time. The lid on the packaging is very loose though! Don't make the mistake of putting it in your purse without a rubber band over.


Back to Top