LUSH • Oatifix Fresh Mask • Masks

rated 3.7(59 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 GlassPink on 10/24/2014 4:09:00 PM more reviews by GlassPink

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Let me just start off by saying that this mask is gorgeous. It smells heavenly and once you have it on it just kind of sinks into the skin and wraps you up is a warm sweet buttery scent.

So the main ingredients of the mask are Glycerin, Oatmeal, Fresh Bananas, ground almonds, and kaolin clay. Aside from smelling good bananas contain a ton of vitamin C and B6 which helps boost the elasticity of the skin. The vitamin A helps to provide the skin with deep moisture. The glycerin acts a a natural humectant constantly drawing moisture from the air to keep you moisturized. And the oatmeal is made to soothe and calm the skin while giving genial exfoliation and moisture at the same time. Lush also throws in a little kaolin clay to detoxify and deep cleanse the skin without stripping it.

To apply it I like to start with a clean face. I always exfoliate before I put any mask on. I feel like if you exfoliate first you get a chance to get rid of all the nastiness on your face and reveal new skin and instantly nourish that new skin through a mask. It really allows the mask to sink into the skin better.I use ocean salt another product by lush as my exfoliator. Then I work the mask on. I just take a little on my fingertips and then slowly kind if work it over my face. It is a little solid at first from the fridge, but then it sort of just melts onto your skin. I just do a thin layer, and I usually leave it on for about thirty minutes to an hour. I personally love leaving this specific mask on for a whole because it's so soothing and moisturizing that I just want to soak up all the benefits. After I have let it sit on my face I just rinse my face with warm water , pat my face dry with a towel, I do not rub, and then apply moisturizer.

My skin is more on the combo side, normal/oily. Usually skin tends to be oily because it is lacking moisture, so your skin produces oil in an effort to try and moisturize itself. Hence why I use this mask. It is intensely moisturizing especially after exfoliating. The moisture from the mask helps to balance out the skin so that it doesn't have to overcompensate with oil.

Overall this mask does exactly what it is supposed to. It softens the skin with bananas and calms it with the oatmeal. All of the ingredients work together to give the skin a really soft moisturizer finish that isn't too heavy feeling. It all just sinks in leaving you with delicate skin.

For those of you looking for something to brighten this isn't for you, this isn't meant to brighten. It is just meant to smooth and moisturize the skin. I love this mask and I think that everyone's skin could benefit from this no matter what type.

I only give this four stars because I feel like you could make this at home, it would not smell nearly as good and would probably expire faster but I feel like you could DIY this at home.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 georgiap1996 on 10/23/2014 12:53:00 PM more reviews by georgiap1996

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This was bought for me as a gift by someone who knew my skin type - dry, red and sensitive. Exactly what this face mask claims to tackle.

This mask smells absolutely amazing, however it does look a little like vomit smeared all over your face once on which I found amusing! It can be a little messy but eh... nothing some water and a cloth won't clear up.

The first time I used this mask I left it on for 10-15 minutes as advised in the instructions. Once removed my skin felt/look no different. Perhaps a little smoother but no real difference.

I recently used the mask a second and a third time, this time leaving it on for half an hour or so in order to let the mask actually get deep into my skin and do it's thing. Once I removed the mask, my skin felt sooo soft. All the dry flaky patches I had on my skin were gone and this provided a perfect base for make up application!

The mask does claim to remove redness which I feel this did not happen at all which is a shame as I suffer from quite red skin. I do not think I would repurchase this product, as even though the softness is and feels amazing, the mask does not have a stand out quality which would draw me into buying it again.

If it helped with redness, I think I would. If you have dry skin I would highly recommend this product to aid with dry and flaky patches on the skin. I cannot see this being an ideal mask for those with oily skin as it is extremely moisturising.

I would give this product 4/5 as it does assist with dryness and flakiness. I would not give 5 as it does not help with redness like it claims.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SDnicole on 9/21/2014 7:23:00 PM more reviews by SDnicole

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is honestly the best face mask I've ever tried. I have very acne-prone skin, and I've been using quite a lot of topical products to help tone it down (which it has), but it's left my skin really dry and flakey. When I put this mask on, it leaves my face feeling SO soft and luscious! it literally feels like a baby's bum, and all of my dry, flakey areas are gone! another upside to it, is that most hydrating products do hydrate my face, but they break me out, since most acne-prone people have oily skin. This face mask did NOT break me out or anything; it soothed my face, made it feel soft, and got rid of ALL my dry areas! Definitely repurchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Simonenybroe on 8/7/2014 9:50:00 AM more reviews by Simonenybroe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I have oily/combination skin, and my skin does not need all that moisture, that this really gives. It felt like there was a huge layer of oil on my skin. But I knew that this was very moisturizing when i bought it. So this was not for my skin type.

But i am sure that people with dry skin would love this.

I love the smell of it. It smells sooooo god. Like vanilla and bananas. Simply amazing.

The price is very affordable. I just wish the product would last longer (all lush's face masks)

I hate the packaging - i don't like tubs. But thats just a personal preference.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Holly90 on 8/7/2014 9:15:00 AM more reviews by Holly90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I beyond love this product! My skin gets really flaky and dry in winter ( I'm from Australia ) and this has been the only product that keeps my skin NORMAL the way my skin feels, smells and looks is amazing! It repairs your skin from just one use! Love love love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luxlisbon15 on 7/28/2014 3:20:00 PM more reviews by luxlisbon15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

This is my favorite LUSH face mask, it is perfect for dry irritated skin! It really soothes irritation and moisturizes the skin. It feels really nice on your skin and it has a nice smell. Overall, it is a great product. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sdalbey on 7/23/2014 2:12:00 AM more reviews by sdalbey

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is honestly the best face mask I've ever tried. I have very acne-prone skin, and I've been using quite a lot of topical products to help tone it down (which it has), but it's left my skin really dry and flakey. When I put this mask on, it leaves my face feeling SO soft and luscious! it literally feels like a baby's bum, and all of my dry, flakey areas are gone! another upside to it, is that most hydrating products do hydrate my face, but they break me out, since most acne-prone people have oily skin. This face mask did NOT break me out or anything; it soothed my face, made it feel soft, and got rid of ALL my dry areas! Definitely repurchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amswtr on 6/22/2014 6:20:00 AM more reviews by amswtr

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using Lush bath products for years but I had yet to try any of their skincare items. I went to a Lush in Las Vegas and decided to pick up the oatifix mask because it's for dry, sensitive skin. I am in my mid 30's and my skin is dry around my nose and chin and I have a lot of redness. I kept it in the fridge as was recommended. When I pulled it out, it was cold and a bit hard to spread over my face. I was able to get it on. At first I felt a slight burning around my nose area. After a few minutes it went away. I left the mask on for 10 minutes as directed and rinsed off with warm water. My face felt soft and there was no tightness. I followed up with my moisturizer. I liked that it made my face feel hydrated without being greasy. I didn't break out which is nice since more times than not, I will have a few breakouts when I try anything new on my skin. I don't like that you have to keep this stuff in the fridge and it's hard to spread onto the face. Some of it fell off my skin while I was applying. The smell is amazing, it smells like banana nut bread but I am on a ketogenic diet and the smell was torture for me. I haven't eaten a banana or bread since January. The whole time I had this on, I wanted to lick it off. I do like the mask overall and would recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shaunan on 6/10/2014 4:54:00 PM more reviews by shaunan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I swear whenever i put this stuff on my face im tempted t just eat it off. it smells so delicious, like fresh oatmeal and bananas. ive been using it consistently recently because they do expire after about 2 weeks, and my skin feels so nice and moisturized after. i dont know if its this product or something else im using right now, but i also feel like this helps a huge amount with post acne marks. i love love this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mayyami on 5/16/2014 9:28:00 PM more reviews by mayyami

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I was suffering from dehydrated dry cheeks and this helped them bounce back. Lush Oatfix promises to moisturise and I think it did that. When you wash off the product, my face did not feel tight, it left a light moisturising layer on.

For some background, because of a strong mask I used, it left my cheeks very dry and rough. Lush Oatfix was one of the things I used and I really felt that it helped bring moisture back to the area.

It's a bit gunky so you have to work it into the skin so that it sticks and stays there. It also looks like you have vomit on your face.

I don't really like the small amount of time you have to use it. Especially when the product may have been sitting in the store for a week before you buy it - always check the expiry and pick the freshest one possible!

But, the mask did it's job and I would repurchase if I was in another dry conundrum.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Masks products