St.Tropez • Self Tan Bronzing Mousse • Bronzers

rated 4.0(97 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 supragurl7 on 7/20/2014 12:22:00 AM more reviews by supragurl7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've used about half of the bottle and have some knowledge of how best to use it. Before this product I've been using the Shiseido Bronzing Gel (several bottles) I decided to try St. Tropez because many people say good stuff about it. At first I didn't bother to use the mitt because I didn't want to hassle with washing it afterwards. The application was still fine. However, one day I decided to use the mitt and have never looked back. The application was so much FASTER and easier to spread! So you must use the mitt and wash it after with use. What I've come to learn is I can't put on more than 3 applications, the 4th application will make me look orange. I only use this products on the legs and my legs are really pale. It takes me 3 application on different days to achieve my desired color. Although, you can see color with just one application. I also learn that you must wash it off. I only use it after shower in the evening and then rinse it off in the morning. Before I didn't know, I would put lotion on my legs after 4 hrs, not a good idea. I was simply doing what I normally do when I use the Shiseido one. Before travel I would use St. Tropez and during travel to maintain the color I use Shiseido as the latter is easier to travel with since I can transfer to a small bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MacAddict0 on 7/15/2014 4:21:00 PM more reviews by MacAddict0

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really love this product. If someone asked about my 10 favorite beauty products, this has got to be one of them-it's kind of a miracle product. When I use this, I exfoliate one day in advance, apply lotion to only knees, feet, ankles and elbows and smooth the mousse in with the applicator mitt (critical). It's easiest to sleep in it, then shower in the morning. I found no streaks or blotches whatsoever and am really happy with how it turned out. Great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Tashy1212 on 7/14/2014 8:07:00 AM more reviews by Tashy1212

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have to say this bronzing mousse has proven to be quite the disappointment. I will use the remainder of the huge bottle I have, but will not be repurchasing. No matter how evenly I apply or how well I exfoliate, I am always left with flaky splotches on the creases of my mid arms. It ends up looking dirty so I scrub it away only to be left with paler middle inner arms and a circle where I scrubbed. I'll then apply a tiny bit more self tanner where I scrubbed to try to even everything out and the cycle starts all over again.

The color is natural on my medium-tan olive skin, but it's not buildable. I get about two shades darker and stay the same shade for a day. Second day I notice fading and by the third day it's almost completely gone. So, because this stuff is not cheap, the value of the product just is not there for me.

I am currently on the hunt for a nice self tanner that won't flake or fade unevenly. I am less about a super dark tan and more about a natural looking tan that won't drive me crazy when I don't apply it for a day. I don't like feeling bound to a tanning routine as I have with this. Will be giving it away once I've found a better replacement.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Beccac88 on 7/13/2014 1:25:00 PM more reviews by Beccac88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have really funny skin when it comes to tan, over the years I've tried most tanning products on the market! I usually use the tropez bronzin mousse as its tinted and you can see exactly where your putting it! I find it easier to use latex gloves rather than a mit as I can get my tan more precise and blended in better! It gives me a nice glow and I tend to use it once before a night out! It is quite pricey as a small bottle is Ł20 and after one application I find it does rub off especially round where your shoes have been on a night out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valentina555 on 6/3/2014 9:33:00 PM more reviews by valentina555

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

REVIEW UPDATES AT BOTTOM!

Firstly the Canadian markup for this product is ridiculous. It's $51.50 at Shoppers which is 20% more than the USD price.Glove is $8 vs $6.50… again 20% more.

Okay, my review.

COLOR: The color is good I am what I guess is NW20, maybe 25 in the summer (gleaned by google image searching NW 20/25) and this developed into a "more melanin" version of my skin. It didn't add an orange or yellow undertone.

APPLICATION: I suggest looking up offical St Tropez tutorials online. With the mitt it wasn't what I'd call hard, but there were definitely "oh cr*p! I f*d up!" moments. We're talking about my first time, so I fully assume it gets easier with practice.

SMELL: it smells. Period. That terrible suffocating self-tanning smell definitely developed on me after about an hour. I waited til 5.5 hours to shower it off -- I COULDNT TAKE IT -- but I'd hoped to last the full 8.

The thing is, I'm not sure how to mitigate The Smell. Applying before bed means my husband gets treated to a night of aroma I don't want to be associated with. Luckily I'm currently working at home so I suppose I could apply first thing in the morning? But then, you know, things can go a bit haywire if you sweat or it rains, and I live somewhere that rains a fair bit and is getting humid. Frankly, the amount of planning going into "not smelling" has, for the moment, made this a no-repurchase for me. I am thinking that maybe the mitt is the big sell, and the product is just average.

I will update this review after my next application, WHEN will that be?….

UPDATE:

I applied a second coat, this time before bed (husband's outta town woohoo). By morning the smell was definitely there, but this was a good way to avoid having to deal with it too much.
Right now I am starting my second day post-2nd application and there is some patchiness around my inner arms and elbows. This could be user error; I'm still trying to figure out how to best "fade" the product out on areas that would naturally be lighter.
Bottom line at this point: not a foolproof product, but I don't think I'm walking around looking ridiculous. Winning!

FINAL UPDATE:

I've changed my re-purchase response to yes. I applied to my arms with more confidence and the blending is seamless (takes a bit of getting used to - NBD). Do not expect an odor free product and be ready for some practice, and this is worth buying. I find the color a bit less natural than Vita Liberata (review to come) but am overall definitely pleased.

FINAL FINAL UPDATE:
Since using this regularly, I noticed the smell has basically gone away. And I don't think that's just me getting used to it. Perhaps my skin's pH adjusted to the DHA. Now when I use it, it's essentially undetectable. REJOICE!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 5/21/2014 5:32:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok, I'm a complete novice with self tanners so keep that in mind when you're reading this. I used a Jergens self tanner about six or seven years ago and other than that short stint I've just embraced my paleness year round. But lately I've gotten into powder bronzers for a little healthy color on my face so I thought I'd give a body tanner a try. I did a lot of research before purchasing and realized that I wanted a few very specific things before I'd take the plunge:

1. A formula that didn't require lots of rubbing in.
2. Quick drying time.
3. No funky smell.
4. A natural color that wouldn't translate as too dark or have any orange tone.
5. Instant color results since I don't want to mess with a gradual tanner.
6. An easy to fix factor in case I need to wipe off mistakes or work more color into too light areas.
7. A formula that's gentle on my super sensitive skin.

I've been using this for a little over a month and so far it's great. I exfoliate with a body scrub and use my Lubriderm body moisturizer beforehand, then I start at my feet and work my way up to my neck. I dispense a couple pumps into my hand and just sort of rub it in quickly like I would any moisturizer and because it deposits color right away its easy to see where I'm applying it. The mousse is really lightweight and spreads fast and evenly without a lot of fuss and sinks in almost immediately. I can apply it to my entire body in only a minute or two, and then I wash my hands right away. I let it dry for a couple minutes before I get dressed and I haven't had any issues with it transferring onto clothes or furniture or anything. My skin looks a shade or two deeper and very naturally sun kissed. I do have to go back once in awhile after applying and touch up a couple spots here and there but for the most part this works out so beautifully and evenly.

The day after I apply it I notice some fading when I shower but after that it wears about three more days before it disappears completely. So that's a good wear length for me since I don't want to commit to anything longer. It has a fragrance that smells somewhat perfumey at first but it's not offensive or overly strong and it fades after a few hours so I can live with it.

When I first starting using this I was so taken aback every time I glanced down at my arms or legs and saw golden tanned skin where there's usually ghostly paleness. I actually felt summery for the first time ever, it's a pretty nice feeling.

I never thought I'd get on board with self-tanners but this has converted me, at least for summertime. I really recommend it to anyone who's new at this, like me, or who's just looking for a quick and believable touch of color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Wendijoe on 5/3/2014 4:36:00 PM more reviews by Wendijoe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

What's the deal? Did they change the formula? I bought this last year and it worked fine. The problem this time is longevity! It lasts one day! No, it's not the one night only product they make, I have that too. This literally washes off next day with normal showering. Will not buy again. Paid less for Vichy at SDM and love the results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jalala on 3/28/2014 9:47:00 AM more reviews by jalala

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

In a nutshell, after my first use yesterday here's my honest review:
Smell:
There's a definite smell especially after it dries and the perfume scent goes away. It's the same self tanning smell you get with all others and just as strong in my opinion. Don't know why most reviews say there's "no smell" ??
Streaking:
It's possible to streak if you're not absolutely careful to cover well. Good news is you can go back and put more on to somewhat fix it even after it dries. I'm a newbie at this product but I've never streaked with most other products I've used.
Colour:
Quite natural. There's a green pigment in it that safeguards against Oompa Loompa Syndrome.
Price:
Extremely high but I got mine free using my SDM points (Shoppers Drug Mart in Canada)
Pro:
Instant tan. No waiting for colour. For this reason alone I would buy again.
Drying process:
Although it feels dry almost instantly, be careful not to get wet (by sweat or water) for the 4 hours they tell you. Good thing is if you over did it in one area, you can get a damp tissue and wipe off access. I did it before bed.
Application:
A breeze with the glove. Draw a short line in the centre of the glove with the product, fold in half and wipe on from head to toe. I did it in this order: 1) face, shoulders & décolleté 2) Left arm to back shoulder blade 3) Right arm to back shoulder blade 4) belly and back 5) Right lower leg 6) Right upper Leg 7) Left lower leg 8) Left upper leg. I got the bigger bottle so maybe I was liberal in my application but I felt I needed to in order to cover it all and I even missed a few places (under my arms and my inner thighs).
Would have given it an overall 5 rating if there was truly no smell and it truly didn't streak. I've given it full marks for longevity but I really don't know yet till I've showered. (just applied it last night and did touch ups this morning). Hope this helps.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misanders on 3/24/2014 6:49:00 PM more reviews by misanders

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Just got a sample of this from Sephora. Not really a self tanner person, but thought I'd check it out. Used it last night with a mitt. I liked that it had a tint, but I found it hard to rub in. I don't know if it was the mitt or the mousse, but it didn't glide easily over my skin. The good thing about this is it dried fast, did not transfer to my robe or my sheets, the smell was fine. Nothing like the drugstore self tanners I've tried. My favorite part was that it was not sticky. That is why I never self tan, I hate the stickiness of it. The next day after my shower I noticed that I did have streaks. So this is something you should experiment with. The reason I will probably never use this again is because it is not natural. This is orange on me. My skin screams fake tan! When I get sun my skin turns brown. This is not brown at all. Not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MichelleChambers on 3/4/2014 11:04:00 AM more reviews by MichelleChambers

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

This is one of the best self tanners I have tried thus far. I love the feel of the mousse, it's so soft and light, which makes it really easy to apply. The color is pretty good too, not extremely dark, but not too light. It was the perfect shade of sunkissed! I had a few friends comment on how tan I looked after wearing this product. One of the best things about this product is how fast it dried. I hate waiting around feeling sticky, and this one didn’t make me feel like that at all. I did find that it faded pretty quickly though, which is unfortunate. I recommended this product to a friend who went to Hawaii on vacation and she ended up loving it just as much as I do. Being a mother, it’s hard to find time for beauty, but this product is so easy and convenient, it only takes a few minutes to apply before bed. Oh and it smells awesome too!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More St.Tropez products

More Bronzers products