Alberto Vo5 • Strawberries n' Cream Smoothing Shampoo/Conditioner • Hair

rated 3.7(71 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 socalgirl01 on 10/5/2011 4:25:00 AM more reviews by socalgirl01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have thick hair that is also damaged and this was by far the worse shampoo I have ever used, it made my hair feel greasy and it was as if I had not washed it the conditioners did nothing for my hair either, they were super cheap and I wanted to try something other than Suave, thanks but no thanks, I'll stick to suave, when I am too broke to buy anything else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DollParts7 on 7/23/2011 10:10:00 AM more reviews by DollParts7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Wonderful line. I can't say anything better about it. I have nothing bad to say at all! Delicious smell, cheap, good quality, and they don't even test on animals.

Win. Win. Win.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LaceyH on 5/6/2011 2:18:00 PM more reviews by LaceyH

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

my hair:
2b, thin, fine-medium, previously color-treated with chemical dyes, but now use henna. i have dandruff and hair used to tend to get oily rather quickly. the top layer if my hair i have no problem with, but the underneath part is frizzy and dry.

that is, untill i adopted my current haircare routine.
i used to shampoo every day with a dandruff shampoo (tried all different kinds). what i got was a really oily scalp by thenext day, and no real improvement for dandruff, as well as really dry hair, despite religious use of a conditioner.NOW, i use selsum blue, diluted by about 50% once every 6 days or so, followed by a deep conditioner (garnier 3 minute for shine and fortification-- protein free). the rest of the time i condition-only wash. i use a TiGi thick conditioner thats protein free from the ears down, and then Vo5 on my scalp, and really massage it in. i do the rest of the shower stuff, and then rinse, making sure to part the hair in several places so the water can get to my scalp to wash away the dirt and conditioner. since Vo% has gentle sulfates (as do most conditioners) it acts as a gentler shampoo, and isnt overly drying. an regular shampoo has harsher sulfates and dries the scalp too much, which is what makes it produce more oil. also, since Vo5 has no silicones, it doesnt weigh down the roots of my hair. the conditioner i use from the ears down, however, does have silicones. The once-a-week mild dandruff shampoo run-off is enough to remove buildup.

and for this purpose the Vo5 works perfectly! i still need the deeper/richer conditioner for the ears down, but for CO washing this works great! (thanks, long hair community forum!)

the only thing i want to mention is that i know my hair doesnt need more protein (when i use protein my hair gets really dry on the ends), and this strawberry smoothie Vo5 SAYS on the front that it has protein. however, in the ingredients protein is never mentioned. of course, i'm not an expert on ingredients by any means. for that reason, i have switched to a different Vo5-- the orange one (Papaya and something?)

at 80-ish cents a bottle, you cant beat this, and can use as much as i want at a time without feeling bad for "wasting" it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maurakennedy11 on 1/17/2011 9:26:00 PM more reviews by maurakennedy11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Just the best. My hair doesn't ever feel gross and greasy midday the way it used to after years of using products such as Suave, Aussie, Pantene, L'Oreal, and really any other drugstore brand. I've tried them all. Nothing compares to this amazing little secret in the $0.79 bottle. I simply can't rave about it enough.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 feelingcold on 3/18/2010 3:27:00 AM more reviews by feelingcold

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I started using these when I was 18 and too darn poor to buy anything more expensive. They worked fine and smelled SO GOOD.

I stopped using them when I started bleaching and dying my hair unnatural colours because they stripped the colour too quickly.

I recently started using the conditioner to co-wash. It leaves my hair shiny, and doesn't drag down my curls. It is heavy on protein and low on moisture, so you need to switch it out with a moisturizing conditioner if your hair is getting dry. Overall this product is great for the price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* browneyedelise on 1/3/2010 2:08:00 PM more reviews by browneyedelise

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Other reviews kind of freaked me out about this--I was expecting hair breakage, clumps of wax, tons of buildup, frizz, static, swine flu when I stepped in the shower armed with a bottle of the shampoo and conditioner each. But I've been using it for a while, and I quite like it. I've noticed no buildup--it makes my hair a little limp but my hair's been kind of limp anyway lately (dry air in heated buildings, I suppose). I was also getting some static on the lower part of my hair, but that remained the same even when I used some Alba Botanica shampoo and some Suave Clarifying for a couple of weeks. Point is, I don't think there's anything wrong with my hair after using this that isn't wrong with it with any other product. I just have to assume that winter sucks and my nice hair will be back with summer along with inordinate amounts of sweat and sunscreen buildup (hurray). Strangely enough my hair kind of gets a weird chocolatey smell if it gets wet, though. Whatever. It doesn't leave that nasty post-high fructose corn syrup aftertaste in my mouth, so it's all good. EDIT: This does really tangle my hair up. Boo.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dreamcrusher86 on 11/11/2009 1:15:00 AM more reviews by Dreamcrusher86

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love the smell just like I seem to do with all the other Vo5 products.This doesn't really make my hair any smoother,but it sure does make it soft!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jenn09 on 6/14/2009 9:32:00 PM more reviews by Jenn09

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this shampoo and conditoner because of the smell. It did leave my hair soft and made tons of bubbles in the bathtub, normally I use up all my shampoo and conditoner in a bottle before buying something else but with this I found myself wanting something different. Dont get me wrong its a good shampoo but just not for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* namissaas224 on 2/4/2009 5:44:00 PM more reviews by namissaas224

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

Pretty good shampoo and conditioner for a dollar each.The conditioner could be a bit more moisturizing but its still pretty good.I usually use more expensive stuff,but this is basically just as good.Plus it smells DELICIOUS! I'll keep buying,but Im going to have to keep on using a deep conditioner!

**UPDATE**
I decided that im going to keep on using the shampoo but use a heavier conditioner.I like the conditioner,but I need something with more moisture

**UPDATE**
My hair is SO soft and shiny using this.I've used this twice so far and now my hair is just as soft after I use a deep conditioner.My bangs are usually frizzy and rough,but not anymore!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 royal_bee17 on 4/18/2008 8:44:00 PM more reviews by royal_bee17

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

For starters this shampoo/conditioner set smells ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!!!! I can't stop smelling my hair! The conditioner left my hair VERY easy to brush and it left my hair soft. I have wavy hair with a couple of curls I have ALOT of it, so I'm prone to frizz. Sadly this did nothing to help it, BUT I think it would work great on ladies with thin hair. Would re-purchase again because it smells GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alberto Vo5 products

More Hair products