Cover Girl • Smokey Shadowblast in Citrus Flair • Eye Shadow

rated 1.6(8 reviews)

Average Rating.1.6
Would buy this product again.12%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 xoxobellamarie on 3/11/2013 12:13:00 PM more reviews by xoxobellamarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Piece of crap!!


No matter how much I blended in, I looked like I had a god-awful eye infection.


You've been warned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JoSummers on 9/10/2010 5:29:00 PM more reviews by JoSummers

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I hated this in more ways than one. First, the green color was super sheer so I had to apply a ton for it to show at all. Second, it was super greasy and creased almost instantly. Third, the bronze stick broke off almost immediately-- poor craftsmanship. At least it was cheap, and for that, I give it 2 lippies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fihe on 8/4/2010 2:36:00 PM more reviews by fihe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

the reason why I give this a 3 is because I have found that it fades off and creases too quickly if I use it alone. unfortunately part of the bronze side (pointed-tip side) broke off, but I stuck it back on and it seems to be ok for now. but I don't think the lime green and bronze go together at all! however, I do like to use these as eyeshadow bases. they do crease a bit that way but they still work to intensify the eyeshadow colors. still, I don't think I'd buy it again though. :(

UPDATE 09/29/10: the entire bronze side broke off -_- so I guess now I only have a lime green stick for a base. oh well

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Dancer7824 on 7/16/2010 4:45:00 PM more reviews by Dancer7824

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used BronzeFire... bottom line this shadow is GREAT for beginners or people who aren't as serious about makeup or the performance of products. I LOVED the colors and how well they came out, however this product can come off easily and the eyeliner end does eventually dull. I would buy this eyeshadow again because I'm a beginner when it comes to eyeshadows and I don't really care if it creases and such.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kiskadeett on 6/15/2010 2:41:00 PM more reviews by kiskadeett

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am a BzzAgent and I received this COVERGIRL product for free to do an honest review.

Let me just say that I'm no expert when it comes to eyeshadow application and the last time I attempted to do a smoky eye, well it did not go very well. So I jumped at the chance to try the Smoky ShadowBlast that promised to give beautiful smoky (and colorful!) eyes for noobs like me. I read the instructions and watched the videos so I would understand how to apply the shadows and it all seemed very simple. But of course, this product did not deliver results.

The problem with the ShadowBlast is the shadows itself. As other reviewers have stated, it felt greasy. It went on sheer, which I like because you can always build up the color, and it blends with minimum effort, but it never stayed put on my lids even with a primer and it smudged every time I blinked. It left an ugly, cakey line on my crease and I would have to constantly try and erase it only to have it appear again.

The colors in Citrus Flair are very beautiful....when worn on their own. There was no way for me to blend these two together without getting a sort of fecal color. I find the orangey copper color to be prettier and longer lasting than the green. The formulas also seem to be different.

The idea of the ShadowBlast is great but if the shadows are impossible to wear without constant touchups I don't see the point in purchasing this product.

So this product is a big 'NO' for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cloverforall on 6/6/2010 5:57:00 PM more reviews by cloverforall

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a huge disappointment. As a bzzagent, I recieved Citrus Flair. I have no clue who could carry off this garish color combo. The color payoff was nonexistent and it just left my eyelids feeling greasy. Save your money!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mogget on 6/5/2010 3:45:00 PM more reviews by mogget

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I loved the colors in this (sort of a lime green and a rusty copper) but when I put them on, they were so greasy it was impossible to ignore. I wear contacts, so greasy eyeshadow is not an option. I put it aside and revisited it recently, and found that after sitting for a month the color had gotten chalky somehow. I don't know how they put greasy and chalky in one tube, but it is not a winning combination. Also, the colors smear, they don't blend. If you want a smeary, smudgy mess, buy this. If not, stear clear of this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bellsoflondon on 6/4/2010 1:35:00 PM more reviews by bellsoflondon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

-Price. Most junkies would be all over something cheap even if it was crap because price plays a huuuge role in choosing stuff. The suggested retail price for this is $7.99USD and it’s currently going for just under $10USD at my local drugstore (CVS). Honestly, I think this is a little too high for something “bargain” and way too high for the quality.

-Packaging. Bulky plastic. Caps are thick and fall off easily, one cracking the first time I opened it. Looks overall…cheap :(
Formula. I looove the colours together, but they
a) don’t compliment each other’s finishes; one has a super shimmery finish and the other has metallic finish.
b) don’t last long – this should be easily fixed with some primer, but for someone who needs their shadows pre-coordinated the probability of using a primer looks pretty slim
c) go on sheer – not bad for a wash of color, but for those looking for a little more “oomph” this will disappoint

-Application. One is a rounded tip that is darn near impossible to get into the corner of eyes and under the lower lash line, and the other is a slant tip that smears into anything its being layered over. For the pressure you need to get this on, you are better off using fingertips.
So my overall experience wasn’t exactly positive. While I do like how it is great for a “fun” day, for more serious grown-up makeup I’d look elesewhere.

I did share this with my little sis and she liked it. With light, fair skin and balck hair, this made her brown eyes pop out. As a newby to makeup, she didn’t mind the sheerness or short wear, either. But I still think we could have seen much, much better here!
swatch: http://img.makeupalley.com/9/2/1/1/1659032.JPG

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Cover Girl products

More Eye Shadow products