Smashbox • Photo Finish Targeted Pore & Line Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.7(49 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 LimaLim on 7/12/2014 9:15:00 AM more reviews by LimaLim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It was okay. I used this product as my last ditch attempt effort to wear liquid foundation and stop it breaking apart on my skin. It didn't really do anything specific though but was a nice primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Havemore on 4/24/2014 10:41:00 PM more reviews by Havemore

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is just okay for me. I have tried this different ways and I really don't see much of a difference on my pores, I know a tiny bit is all you need, but it doesn't seem to do too much for me. Rather expensive for doing the same thing, but not as well as the Revlon primer / filler does.
I know some folks rave about this, but for me, it really isn't worth the money it cost so I will not be purchasing again. As for the brand Smashbox...I really love their products so that's why I wanted to love this one. I guess we can't love everything in a line.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Btays on 4/21/2014 2:40:00 AM more reviews by Btays

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I tend to have the same problem as many women- the dreaded oily T-zone. I bought this stuff to counteract the oiliness and it really works. A little goes a long way so this stuff lasts forever, I just use a little on my nose, cheeks and forehead and this keeps the oil away all day,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ladypamela1 on 11/21/2013 8:42:00 AM more reviews by ladypamela1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This was a waste of hard earned money. What little it did never lasted long. At the time I purchased this, all I was looking for in this product was to reduce pore size around my tzone ( instead of treat the skincare issue and adjust my diet which by the way can and does make a huge difference) It made no significant difference in prolonging the makeup I wore on top of it either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blaqkwidow on 10/21/2013 2:08:00 AM more reviews by blaqkwidow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this for ice pick acne scars (I had been using Clarins Instant Smooth for over a year and just wanted to try something different and possibly better). This stuff is very hard to work with...it's almost too thick. This weekend I tried it when I had more time to really work with it, before and after foundation, and it really can cover up amazingly well. I just don't have that sort of time before work in the morning. It might be that I need to practice applying it.

It's a good product for its purpose. The price is ridiculous for a little tube, but it's what I'm used to paying for a tiny jar of Instant Smooth (except Smashbox has more product/oz.). It's a price I will pay for something that really works, but that will depend on whether or not I can learn to apply this more quickly and how long a tube lasts me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mihaela1 on 2/27/2013 7:15:00 AM more reviews by mihaela1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have pretty severe acne scars(pocks and rolling scars) and I bought this hoping to hide them. Unfortunately, I did nothing for me. Other reviewers had more success with it, but it didn't hide or camouflage any of my scars, not even partially. It's comparable to Monistat gel. Oh well, the search continues...

Edited to say that it does work great on pores.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GentleReader on 1/24/2013 7:01:00 PM more reviews by GentleReader

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

HG product!!! I have a chickenpox scar just above my right eyebrow, and a few rolling scars from past acne on my cheeks. This primer fills them in like a dream--if you look closely in real life, you can still see the slight indentation in my skin--but for photographs, it makes my scars like they're not there. The key is in taking a very small amount, and applying it INTO the pitted area at a 90-degree angle to sort of spackle it in place. I use a bent eyeliner brush (Sephora Pro eyeliner #23 if I remember correctly) and sometimes the eyeliner brush provided in my L'oreal Infallible Gel eyeliner to do this. I let the primer "set" for a few minutes, then apply my makeup in very, very light stippling motions so that I don't displace the primer.

Like others have said, this is a TARGETED primer, only for use in trouble spots. It's so thick I couldn't imagine using it as an allover face primer. I've had the best luck on medium/largish indented areas--it doesn't do much to make my overall pore size appear smaller, and if I apply it to my "laugh line" area, I still get makeup collecting in those lines. One lippie off for that.

I like that it comes in a squeeze tube--easy to dispense just the right (tiny!) amount and keep it hygienic. And while it may seem like a lot of money to pay, you really only use such a small amount that I can see the tube lasting a year or more, easily. Plus, considering the semi-miracle that occurs to my scars when I use this stuff, I consider the $34 I spent for it to be worth every last cent.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Apollo94 on 1/2/2013 12:10:00 AM more reviews by Apollo94

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Well, let me just start this out by saying I'm a guy, and I'm straight. It takes a lot to make me come to a makeup site just to publicly review a product I have used, but I really couldn't let this pass. I suffer from an anxiety disorder, and recently my acne scars have been the biggest topic of my worries. I have been embarrassed and stressed out about going out in public. I have a dermatologist appointment in 4-5 months, but I was desperate to find something that could help me and my confidence until that time comes. Smashbox Photo Finish Targeted Pore & Line Primer has done just that. I am astounded watching as my acne scars are just filled in and disappear! My biggest reason for writing this review is because I was one of the many people that surf the web desperately searching for something that can help me out. I noticed that this product has quite a few negative reviews, and I was almost shaken on my decision to purchase it. I am very happy I decided to buy it. I don't know what people are being so critical about, but coming from a guy, you could probably consider me a metrosexual at that if that tells you anything; I would recommend this product if you wish to fill in/hide acne scars and/or oversized pores. It has given me hope in my confidence again, and I am thankful.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glitterific on 11/17/2012 1:44:00 PM more reviews by glitterific

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this as I saw an MUAer say this was their HG oil controlling primer. I use it on my forehead, next to my nose and my chin and another primer elsewhere. It controls my oil for 8 hours which hasn't happened with any other product or skin care regimen change. I have to use enough on my fingers to warm it enough to spread. I use BE and haven't had uneven texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ktemly on 11/11/2012 11:30:00 PM more reviews by ktemly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I got a generous sample of this product at the Smashbox counter at Myer, as in Australia it's a pricey $60 per tube.
I was so excited for this to work well on me as I have been searching for something to help reduce pore size on cheeks and help with oilyness towards the end of the day.
Unfortunately I really didn't like this. I tried it for a solid week in all sorts of ways (under makeup, over makeup, a little, a lot, leave to set, dont leave to set) and it did absolutely nothing for making my pores look any smaller. In fact, I think it actually made them appear larger.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Primer/ Corrector products