Spectro • Spectro Jel 609 • Cleansers

rated 4.2(151 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 lucyschenk on 5/3/2013 3:37:00 PM more reviews by lucyschenk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to wait a month before I wrote a review on this product, but, I couldn't help myself I had to write a review earlier. I have combination, sensitive, oily, acne-prone skin. Most acne products make my skin dry out, very red, and in some cases break out more. spectro jel is gentle but effective. It's only been a week, but my skin has cleared up nicely so far, doesn't dry out my skin at all. So far, so good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 redlucy07 on 3/21/2013 12:29:00 PM more reviews by redlucy07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this stuff for years and it is pretty great. It is very gentle, non-drying and works very well as a makeup remover if you put it on dry and wipe off with a tissue. If you are expecting a deep cleaning, foaming soap-style cleanser this is not it. It is a gel that does not foam at all and it does take a good massage to really get into your skin. This is the trade-off for something so gentle and non-drying: sometimes it just doesn't give you that squeaky clean feeling that you want. But it is very good at balancing out combination skin and gentle enough for very sensitive skin. It is a very good deal for the amount of product that you get. The packaging is great on the larger bottles that come with the pump, and a little tricker on the smaller squeeze bottles as the product tends to dry up in the spout and then you have to squeeze/explode it out. It is unscented though it does have a distinct smell that some people might be put off by though I don't really mind it. Everyone with acne, combination, or very sensitive skin should give this a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 libbylou972 on 9/2/2012 2:57:00 PM more reviews by libbylou972

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I had tried Spectro on and off when I was a teenager and really didn't like it. I wanted a cleanser that was foamy, felt like it was getting down and deep cleaning my pores, drying out my acne and scrubbing it away. I wanted it to be medicinal and maybe even sting a little on my acne to 'feel' like it was working. I loved cleansers that left my skin feeling tight after, and I didn't want to use some 'gel' like solution that didn't feel like it did anything to my skin at all. For people who suffer from acne, I think we get so angry and frustrated with our skin we just want to aggressively scrub all the bad stuff off. I stripped my skin for years believing that was how to get rid of my acne. I didn't give my own skin enough credit to take care of itself and had no idea that what I was doing was probably just making the problem worse. It's no wonder my breakouts used to be so bad.

For the last couple years I have learned to be a little more gentle to my skin, but my cleansers still contained some harsh ingredients. When I ran out of face wash a couple weeks ago, I went to the store and decided to try something new. And what do ya know, Spectro was on sale! The cheap devil on my shoulder couldn't resist even though I knew how much a hated it in my teens. Well, long story short, I'm so glad I gave this another try. My skin has been so dry for so long and after using this it is so soft and moisturized. Even my red areas are not so noticeable and I think it's because I have greatly reduced all the irritation I have been subjecting my skin to. I've decided to put my faith back in my skin to do the work for me with out stripping its natural barrier everyday. No pimples since I've been using this, yay! I think the philosophy is working.

Also as a side note. One of the things I didn't like about Spectro is that I didn't feel it was removing my make up. A good tip I read from someone else was to massage it into your skin with out water and then wipe off all the make up with a tissue. Then go back in and clean with Spectro again as normal with water. It takes a little extra time but I only have to do it at night and because it's not messy at all, I can just remove my make up in front of the tv and then go wash my face when I'm ready. Hope this helps :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 couterbridge on 8/9/2012 10:10:00 AM more reviews by couterbridge

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The best cleanser I have ever used! (and believe me, I've tried many!) I believe what makes this cleanser so special is that it really does protect your skins moisture barrier. Preventing dryness prevents breakouts and leaves your skin glowing. Such a great product. I use this along with St. Ives facial exfoliator and my skin is the best its ever been, hardly ever get a pimple :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 7keno7 on 7/24/2012 12:48:00 PM more reviews by 7keno7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

So first off this is a good price for the quantity you get.

It was impossible to find any cleanser that could combat my acne, I was angry that I couldn't find a way.

I have used spectro in the past but I gave up within a week or two because if felt like nothing was happening but this time I really stuck to it after reading reviews and it was worth it!

I have only been using spectro for a month now and 95% of my acne is gone. If I do get breakouts they are tiny and go away quickly and I'm sure with prolonged use they will completely disappear. My skin feels so much better and I am more confident now! Its easier to go out with friends and not worry about my face.

You might not get drastic results fast but you really need to give spectro a chance. It really does work and my skin doesn't dry out at all. It seems like it does nothing when you use it but it really does help a lot! So don't let the fact that it doesn't take make up off well or foam like soap or smell super great put you off. Just get something else to get the makeup off then use spectro. Its the best product out there for fighting acne and I'm so glad I bought it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 beautynerd123 on 7/21/2012 12:46:00 PM more reviews by beautynerd123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

alright, so this product is pretty good for combination skin ( which i have). the thing is that at first i thought it was working pretty well with my skin, but after a few weeks i felt as if it never actually "CLEANED" my skin in the morning; especially in the summer, with all that oil from the nights' sleep. you could use this in the winter, because you get drier skin then, but the best part of this cleanser is that it DOES NOT DRY OUT MY SKIN. amaaa-zing! also, i find that the "pump bottle" is better than the one that you have to squeeze to get the product*
pro:
- does not dry out
- no scent or harsh chemicals
- it's a gel ! it is meant for combination/ oil skin

con:
- you may feel as if it doesn't clean as much ( in the summer;) )

-

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bloodmage3 on 6/7/2012 2:56:00 PM more reviews by bloodmage3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

PROS
-Highly cost-effective
-Dermatologist recommended
-Free of “irritating ingredients”
-Does not dry out skin (hooray!)

CONS
-Gel can feel discomforting and gooey
-Only available in Canada

VERDICT
Spectro Jel is a good starter cleanser for any skin care regimen or for anyone wanting a cheaper and no-frills substitute. The product delivers medium effectiveness at a very attractive price range. In addition, I can testify that I’ve never experienced dryness or irritation from using Spectro Jel.

ADVICE

Get free samples from your dermatologist if you have one. Otherwise, start off with the smaller 200mL version available in grocery stores. The last thing you want to do is buy the large format only to find out it’s not for you. For greater cost savings, go with the 900mL version available only at Costco. For greater convenience, Well.ca offers the 500mL format for $11.91 with free shipping in Canada.

To see my full review go to bit.ly/Mgz5sK

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rko2020 on 6/6/2012 11:51:00 PM more reviews by rko2020

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Its a good basic cleanser but after 2 years i felt it stopped working for me. Even after a 30 sec cleanse my face would still feel a little oily especially near the t-zone area. Also, i developed these white under skin pimples that never came to head unless i extract them. It didn't really help with acne either. Still a good cleanser for normal and dry skin though. Its cheap and you get a lot for the bottle. It never irritated or made my skin red but its just not right for me anymore. Cerave foaming wash has been a lot better since i switched.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Libertyanne on 6/1/2012 6:41:00 PM more reviews by Libertyanne

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Bottom line, give it time.
When we use many other commercial cleansers they strip your face of all oils good and bad that can cause signs of early aging...yuck!
When you use those harsh cleansers your skin will over compensate and often produce more oils and you'll feel the need wash more often. Also the feeling of dry tight skin can be associated with the feeling of being clean and it's really not the case you'll just have a face of drying chemicals. Aka benzoyl peroxide
I'm not saying all other face washes are bad but many just perpetuate the problem. No matter what you use the two most important things are...Balance meaning moisture and cleansing. And last but not least Routine...our skin is like a
Nickel cadmium battery. Charge it when it needs charging but not every chance you get or it will work like crap. Simple and consistent wins the clear skin race. Love this stuff, dare I say it changed my life.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xelodiexx on 4/8/2012 3:00:00 PM more reviews by xelodiexx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I like this product and i don,t like it at the same time , it wash my face but it don't prevent/remoce pimple sometime I think they are worst sometime i think they are better , and it don,t let my skin soft so that why I don't really like it but when im out of my other face cleaner i use this one and I think its great , thats why i will buy this again .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Spectro products

More Cleansers products