Ouidad Double Detangler Comb

3.8

10 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am surprised by all the glowing reviews. I have middle-back-length, extremely thick ringlet curls and have been a wide-toothed-comb-in-the-shower person since high school. I kept seeing this comb at Ricky's with its promise of faster detangling due to two rows of teeth. It seemed questionable but eventually my curiosity got the better of me.

I do not find that this comb does a better or quicker job of detangling. It's not necessarily worse than any of the other wide-toothed combs I've used over the years, except that it's heavy and unwieldy, which adds to the challenge of getting it through all my hair. I don't find that it makes quick work of the tangles; combing all my hair typically takes anywhere from 10 to 20 minutes (depending on how long I've gone since the last combing) and this comb hasn't improved on that time. When I have a stubborn tangle, I in fact have to use this comb exactly opposite of how it is intended, by zeroing in on the clump with a single row of teeth. If I tried to blindly yank the two rows through a tangle like that, it would just rip out a giant knot of my hair (which no one would be able to tell, because I have so much hair to start with, but I don't like doing this unless I really have absolutely no choice).

I am still trying to figure out a way to use it that makes it work better but for now my rating is a solid "meh."



on 4/6/2014 1:28:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This comb seems totally stupid--it's really heavy, and it's awkward to figure out where to store it because it's so big (I stack mine in the shower caddy). But I became fascinated by it and determined to try it out. Once I did, I was hooked. It slices through curly hair like nobody's business. In the shower with conditioner, it just eliminates any tugging or knots, and it works on dry hair, too. My hair was quite curly when I bought this. I still find myself turning to it just as much now that it's suddenly become wavy. It has broken one tooth from falling so many times in the shower but it still works just as well as ever.


on 2/7/2014 1:12:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am the aunt to two little girls who both have tremendously curly, tangly hair. For Christmas, I got them each this comb because I loved it so much. (Don't worry, I got them more fun presents as well, obviously.) But I thought it was essential for them to have it, because it really does a beautiful job of detangling without the pulling and tearing out of hair that they're so used to. And the really nice part is that it doesn't disrupt your curl pattern like so many other combs do. I know I sound like a Ouidad fangirl (and let's be real, I am) but this line is such a revelation to me after a lifetime of trying product after product, none of which were designed with my hair in mind. None of which worked with my hair type, all of which leave it a crunchy and/or greasy and/or frizzy mess. It's so great to find a line where they all just WORK and do exactly what they promise. Ouidad is not cheap, but Hautelook has it on sale frequently. And it is definitely worth a look if your hair at all tends towards the curly/wavy/kinky end of the spectrum.


on 11/9/2013 7:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For people that have long, curly hair, this comb is a must. I love how it has two rows of "teeth" and how the "teeth" are very widespread. This allows me to not disturb my curl pattern and detangles with only one pass of the comb. However, this comb is pretty heavy but it is hardy enough to sustain being dropped on tile.


on 11/24/2012 7:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this months ago and just used it for the first time a few days ago. My waist length hair is thick and wavy, but very fine which means it tangles easily and takes me a long time to detangle after washing.

With this? It took maybe 8 minutes. Seriously. 8 minutes. All this hair. Now, starting out with non-tangled hair before washing, cleansing well, and using a good conditioner helped cut the time down as well, but it wouldn't normally be cut down that far.

It is a bit heavier than a normal detangler, but that's a 'duh' for me because it's a double detangler. Two of anything is heavier than one. That would be like complaining that a double cheeseburger has more calories than a regular cheeseburger, well...

The weight and size take a minute to get used to, but it isn't impossible.


on 2/24/2012 2:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is wayyyy too heavy!!! I have almost waist lenght fine in texture but thick wavy hair and I loved the idea of this comb for detangling in the shower, but it was to heavy and big and I kept hitting my head with it :(


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This comb seems to pull and tug at my hair and makes a horrible snapping sound like my hair is being pulled out from the roots.


on 11/30/2010 2:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This comb isn't just for those with super curly or kinky hair. I was skeptical about spending $24 for a comb, but I have tried nearly every type of detangler spray, leave-in conditioner, hair mask, etc. but everytime I wash my hair it is such an ordeal and so time consuming to struggle getting out the tangles. My hair is mid-back in length, wavy to straight, each hair is fine in diameter but I have loads of hair and it tangles quickly into knots - especially on the back crown of my head and underneath by the nape of my neck.

Where I used to need to spend more than 15-20 minutes fighting to try and get out the tangles (usually just giving up and letting the mini "dreadlock" by the nape of my neck stay where it was), this comb makes quick work of getting rid of the tangles & knots. I have even been using the comb without first having to spray any sort of detangler or leave-in conditioner in my hair before the comb out and I have been able to successfully comb through everything in less than 3 minutes.

I saw the chief complaint among users on Sephora.com was that the comb is very big and heavy. Yes, the comb is large and because it's like a double rake with 2 rows of teeth, naturally it's going to be heavier to hold than a traditional wide tooth comb. It would probably be too awkward for a 10 year old girl to hold, but any normal adult could hold this comb up to detangle their hair. And if I was a mother with kids that had snarly, tangled hair, I would think this comb was a godsend at helping get the kids out the door for school. Wish there had been something like this available when I was young! I only give it 1 lippie off because of the initial $24 cost, but if I am able to continue getting this comb through my hair without having to spend money constantly on detangler sprays, then this $24 comb is worth it's weight in gold and will pay for itself very quickly with repeated use.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2010 7:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This was expensive for "just a comb", but I have been dying to try it, so I finally got it from Sephora today. I think it's totally worth it. I just detangled my completely-dry hair and it still looks fabulous. No pulling or snapping, it just somehow detangled all my hair. The detangler feels really high-quality. I like that it's heavy. It didn't hurt my scalp at all.

I have thick, wavy/curly Sicilian hair that is past my shoulders. It gets tangled far too easily so this detangler is a godsend. Another winner from Ouidad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/30/2010 10:46:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have waist length, curly hair, which I like to straighten.

I have a hard time combing through my hair, esp. when wet. I could not belive the difference in using this comb!!

It works awesome , esp. on wet hair, I could not believe how much quicker it was!!

This comb is a tad pricey, $24.00, but well worth it.




Back to Top