MAC • Splashing - To the Beach (LE Summer 2010) • Lip Gloss

rated 4.4(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 SabrinaWoods on 3/18/2011 12:14:00 AM more reviews by SabrinaWoods

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love this lipgloss, very pigmented and gives a beautiful finish to any look :) Hope MAC repromotes it soon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Annita84 on 1/20/2011 11:54:00 PM more reviews by Annita84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love this color! It such a flattering color on my NC20 skin, despite it being a cool toned pink. I need to find a backup soon because mine is running out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hannahbby2 on 1/17/2011 2:17:00 PM more reviews by Hannahbby2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is such a beautiful pink gloss. It definitely is a cooler toned pink, great over lipsticks like Creme Cup and Angel. It's pigmented enough to wear on it's own. I love it! I hope MAC repromotes it soon so I can get a backup!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* marwaf on 11/15/2010 3:19:00 AM more reviews by marwaf

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm very sad that this was LE & sadder still that I hadn't picked up a backup. Beautful mauvy pink with strong pigment. Looks so pretty yet sophisticated.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CharismaSL on 10/6/2010 8:44:00 AM more reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Great colour but i don't like the sticky and thick formula of this lip gloss. I think I'll stay away from MAC lip glosses from now onwards even though they are so economical when compared to my HG lipglosses from Shu Uemura.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sv on 8/4/2010 4:26:00 PM more reviews by sv

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this color. It's just bright enough on me without being over the top. I've found that it is a lot like Revlon ColorStay mineral lipglaze in Perennial Pink. PP is just a hair brighter. My only dissapointment is that I have not had Splashing for long at all and it has seemed to turn on me. It tastes bad and smells funky, not the MAC vanilla scent I am used to. I don't leave my things in a hot car or anywhere sun could hit it so maybe I just got a bad batch? Never had this happen to any other MAC lipglosses. Dunno.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 stephyrm12 on 7/23/2010 2:59:00 AM more reviews by stephyrm12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

when i layer this over a lipstick, its WAY too purple. i must use this alone on my super pigmented lips to just give it a nice pinky light purple color. although its great alone, i would not buy this again even if it was permanent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VioletBick on 7/13/2010 5:49:00 PM more reviews by VioletBick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Can't beat Flauntit's review but I will say it's a fun summer color if you like pinks although sometimes I feel like I raided my grandmas make-up bag. It's a color I remember her wearing! My big problem with it is that it's heavy feeling & just a thicker formula and I tend to notice it more in the summer. No way will the color do in fall or winter but I like it now with my tanned skin & green eyes. Overall due to the formula, and the fact I am not in love w/ color would not repurchase and chances are I am not going to even use this up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flauntit on 6/19/2010 7:42:00 PM more reviews by flauntit

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first MAC lipglass I instantly liked. :) I know it isn't getting as much hype as the other two lipglasses released in the To The Beach collection, but this is the one I wanted the most.


Color:
This is great for pink lipgloss lovers. This is a pretty neutral shade, I'm NC25 but I can see both warm or cool toned ladies wearing this really well. I have pigmented lips so Splashing goes on pretty dark, but it will appear lighter on less pigmented lips (I'm assuming). When I wear it alone it stands out on my lips but it isn't too bold, it can go with different types of looks. If you pair this with a lighter pink lipstick, it will really pop while it will add definition to a darker pink lipstick. It slightly reminds me of a Barbie pink.
I did hear from the person at the MAC counter that this shade is similar to MAC's Cultured lipglass, if you have that one maybe you don't need Splashing. Although this might be good for Splashing fans, as it means you can find a pretty similar dupe from MAC once this is hard to find!


Texture:
This is thick like other tinted lipglasses, but it applies much more evenly than my MAC 2N lipglass. It doesn't sink in my lips, but I still recommend exfoliating and moisturizing your lips before putting on lipgloss anyway. It is a little sticky, so if you can't stand any sticky texture in lipglosses, pass on this one. I also find this one a bit more moisturizing as well (not too much, though.) There is a little bit of shimmer, not enough to label it sparkly though. Not gritty at all either, you don't feel the shimmer at all.


Smell:
It still has that dessert smell, it's subtle and sweet. Love it! Normally I'm not a fan of fragrances in makeup (it usually makes me nauseous) but this is quite pleasant.


Packaging:
This has the TTB packaging, I actually really like it. I love the seahorse on the top and the bright orange. I like the combo of orange and pink, maybe because it reminds me of summer (not for fashion though, just here).
In normal MAC fashion, the detail is simple and clean. The size is travel friendly. You get 0.17 oz of product. It doesn't come with a lot of product, compared to some 0.50 oz lipglosses I have, but I have come to accept it. I love the name Splashing, it fits quite well for a summer-themed collection.


Longevity:
Lasts me about 3 hours without eating. Nice but nothing incredible.


Overall:
+ Pink lip fans should check this out
+ Cute packaging
+ Applies evenly
+ Lovely scent
- Still pretty thick for a lipgloss
- A little pricy for the amount of product you get


I have included some pictures, press continue to see!


A swatch and pic of the lipgloss (came out much darker than it really is)


(outdoor lighting. This is more true to the color)


(indoor lighting. This is a bit darker than real life)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mommy2avarose on 6/11/2010 2:54:00 AM more reviews by mommy2avarose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my second fav lipgloss in the to the beach collection, flurry of fun wins by far. This is a pretty pink with little shimmers. I would definitely purchase this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lip Gloss products