Clairol Natural Instincts Rich Color Creme in #31 Coffee Creme

4.8

12 reviews

100% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/12/2015 11:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This shade is perfect for those seeking a deep, deep brown with no red undertones. My natural color is a light/medium brown and very ashy so I can pull off a deeper brown as long as it's cool toned. For some reason most dyes that are dark pull some warm tones, but not this one! Also it smells so good, I was most surprised by that! I leave it on 20 min, because 10 just isn't long enough to do anything. I don't have any grays either so I can't speak to how it performs in that regard. Another positive, this rinsed out so easily! With most "dark browns", I have to rinse, and rinse, to get the water to run clear, and then they continue to bleed for the next several washes. But this rinsed out easily and does not "bleed", although it will lighten after a few washes from an almost black to more of a natural dark brown. Love this shade and that it's less damaging than permanent color. Will be my go to from now on!



on 3/26/2015 2:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I read a lot of reviews on here about this being great, and I've been having my hair professionally done for years. I've been afraid to try a box but everyone said how natural it looked and made their pale skin tone look nice and not too red, so I gave it a shot! Wow! Wonderful results! I only needed one box (my hair is fine) and it was super easy, and not runny or messy. Seriously, it looks like my normal $60 dye jobs but for $4 (there are often online coupons and I used one).

This is great and I highly recommend it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/27/2013 12:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

I decided to buy this after reading the reviews on here and the CVS website. I wanted a locally found semi-permanent to darken my hair a bit but mostly to cover white hair (I have a lot in the front unfortunately!) This seemed to be the only color of this brand that had consistently good reviews, so even though I thought it would probably be too dark and wash me out I got it. I'm pretty pale and cool skinned but get redness in my face, so I really wanted something that would be neutral toned and NOT give me red hues at all (because Every dye seems to). Also, in the past couple years no drugstore hair dye will dye my whites, at most turning them kind of golden. I was excitedly surprised when I washed this out to find that my whites were dark, and when it dried, I was happy to see that it wasn't really too dark for me, and had No Red Tint to it in any light I've been in so far! So I'm pretty stoked, and glad I don't have to start getting hair dye from Sally's, which is 30 mi. away, and was my initial plan before I said I can't go another freaking day with my hair this way. Pretty cool!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 3/20/2013 8:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

For those who miss the old NI formula, this is a lot like it! After ages of loyally using the old formula, the new one made my hair brassy, unnatural-looking and uneven. Thankfully this formula goes on smoothly, doesn't have any brassiness, lasts well and makes my hair look healthy. It really does look like the shade on the box. I hope they don't stop making this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/11/2012 11:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

A deep brown, but not quite black. Works like most other hair colors, so not much difference in usage, but it doesn't smell bad, and works quickly. My hair came out soft and conditioned and the exact color I wanted. There is a color treatment pack that you're supposed to use after two weeks to deposit pigments back into the hair. In my case, the color still looked good after two weeks, except for the greys, which always fade more quickly, so I used it. I'd say it deposits some pigments back, but its not like colouring your hair again. The grey strands became more like highlights. I will buy this again for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2012 11:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is one of my favorite products because it's inexpensive and non-permanent. Plus, NI appears in the Sunday coupons more than any other hair dye, so if you use one and buy during a sale, you save big.

My natural shade is your garden variety middle-of-the-road light brown, but I tend to prefer either a darker brunette or a deep auburn. So for part of the year, I like to go reddish, and lately my favorite shade for that is "Cherry Creme," also by NI. But when I'm in the mood to go "dark and mysterious," of course I want to cover up any of the remaining brassiness. I was very pleased the other day when I covered my old red with this shade, and it did just that--nice and dark, and the brass is gone.

I have used this shade before and it definitely does come out a bit too dark, initially (so much that it washed me out quite a bit), but I know not to worry because it fades just enough to a nice deep coffee shade even after the first shampoo. If you're at all concerned about it being too dark, though, and have never tried this shade then I'd suggest trying the next lightest shade, which is "Nutmeg" or "dark brown," before deciding if you want to go darker. Also, it should go without saying (because some people do it anyway, against the recommendations on the box), but do not use on blonde hair; stick closer to your natural shade range if using NI. For someone with light brown hair, though, I've found my hair to be a good canvas for this type of demi-permanent dye and have liked all the NI shades I've tried. I haven't had any over-the-top results as some reviewers have had with some shades, I think because I don't go too far outside my natural hair color range. As for "Coffee Creme," it's one of my favorite shades. I like the deeper brunette with no real commitment (it eventually fades closer to your natural color).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2011 11:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I usually dye my hair with Clairol's Nice n' Easy because my mother does and I always had fantastic results with any color I chose. However, I went to my local Walmart and did not find the color I was using (131, by the way which says: rich dark brown). So on a whim I purchased this color because it seemed pretty much the same. WOW I can't believe how gentle this dye is! No harsh chemicals and it left my hair very shiny and soft. I could have used 3 bottles to completely cover my whole head but I managed with two (I have very thick and coarse straight hair that goes past my shoulders now). Overall I would buy this product again and eventually I would test out different colors from this line whenever I get bored. But I definitely say this is my HG color product :)


on 11/27/2010 6:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I dyed my hair around two weeks ago.

My hair before the dye:
- medium brown with warm redish brown tone
-long hair (goes a little pass the bra strap at the back)

I wanted:
-I wanted the dye to basically get rid of that warm tone
-My natural hair color is a dark cool brown
-My roots were coming out and well because my hair isn't as warm as the pervious hair dye I wanted to basically cover it up to make the grow out phase a little nicer.

Results:
My hair ended up looking like the box and I loved it.
My hair overall before the dye was in pretty good condition. The hair dye just made it look even more shiner.
I had to use two boxes but I'm sure I could've used two and a half boxes. (My hair is long and thick)
Because i dyed it myself (usually my sister does it for me) I think I missed some spots under the hair but it didn't look noticeable.
Overall I loved the color.

After a little over two weeks (I don't wash my hair everyday and also use sulfate free shampoo)

I've noticed that it's fading, I wish it stayed on longer but yes it's a demi.
I can start to see more warmth to my hair because of the previous dye. I wanted more of a cool tone that's why I dyed it this shade. The hair dye is such a nice color though, just wish it would stay in my hair longer like others seem to claim.

Overall I would buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/28/2010 10:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

just dyed my hair with this color. it is definitely the exact color on the box. my only concern is that maybe i didnt color evenly.. in some areas it appears a bit lighter but i think that just might be the glare because it is so soft and shiny!! :) so far i think i love it! the color is a very very deep brown. from a distance it almost looks black but still is not quite as harsh and maintains the softness and warmness of a brown.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/23/2010 10:00:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Black

I'm writing this review for my mom since she doesn't have a MUA account.
SO my mom has maybe 20% grays now and she's been using this semi-permanent stuff that would wash out in 4 washes and I recommended this brand to her because I have used the colors rosewood and nutmeg and I had great results with each of them so she was worried but took the plunge and decided to dye her hair this color.
She said that she ran out of hair dye while dying her hair (maybe the creme comes with less dye because she has short hair like me and I had tons of product left with the original natural instincts dye....hmm...) but she ended up spreading it out so she could dye her whole head and it turned out great!
The color is EXACTLY like the box on her and 99% of her grays are covered (she missed a spot on the top of her head but it's barely noticeable).
She is thrilled with the results and will definitely be using this again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Clairol Products

image

Shimmer Lights

330 reviews
Back to Top