Clairol • Natural Instincts Rich Color Creme in #31 Coffee Creme • Hair Color

rated 4.8(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 elc33 on 4/27/2013 12:56:00 AM more reviews by elc33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

I decided to buy this after reading the reviews on here and the CVS website. I wanted a locally found semi-permanent to darken my hair a bit but mostly to cover white hair (I have a lot in the front unfortunately!) This seemed to be the only color of this brand that had consistently good reviews, so even though I thought it would probably be too dark and wash me out I got it. I'm pretty pale and cool skinned but get redness in my face, so I really wanted something that would be neutral toned and NOT give me red hues at all (because Every dye seems to). Also, in the past couple years no drugstore hair dye will dye my whites, at most turning them kind of golden. I was excitedly surprised when I washed this out to find that my whites were dark, and when it dried, I was happy to see that it wasn't really too dark for me, and had No Red Tint to it in any light I've been in so far! So I'm pretty stoked, and glad I don't have to start getting hair dye from Sally's, which is 30 mi. away, and was my initial plan before I said I can't go another freaking day with my hair this way. Pretty cool!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigergirly on 3/20/2013 8:20:00 PM more reviews by tigergirly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

For those who miss the old NI formula, this is a lot like it! After ages of loyally using the old formula, the new one made my hair brassy, unnatural-looking and uneven. Thankfully this formula goes on smoothly, doesn't have any brassiness, lasts well and makes my hair look healthy. It really does look like the shade on the box. I hope they don't stop making this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Radchickee on 11/11/2012 11:33:00 PM more reviews by Radchickee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A deep brown, but not quite black. Works like most other hair colors, so not much difference in usage, but it doesn't smell bad, and works quickly. My hair came out soft and conditioned and the exact color I wanted. There is a color treatment pack that you're supposed to use after two weeks to deposit pigments back into the hair. In my case, the color still looked good after two weeks, except for the greys, which always fade more quickly, so I used it. I'd say it deposits some pigments back, but its not like colouring your hair again. The grey strands became more like highlights. I will buy this again for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paulamarie on 8/15/2012 11:31:00 PM more reviews by paulamarie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of my favorite products because it's inexpensive and non-permanent. Plus, NI appears in the Sunday coupons more than any other hair dye, so if you use one and buy during a sale, you save big.

My natural shade is your garden variety middle-of-the-road light brown, but I tend to prefer either a darker brunette or a deep auburn. So for part of the year, I like to go reddish, and lately my favorite shade for that is "Cherry Creme," also by NI. But when I'm in the mood to go "dark and mysterious," of course I want to cover up any of the remaining brassiness. I was very pleased the other day when I covered my old red with this shade, and it did just that--nice and dark, and the brass is gone.

I have used this shade before and it definitely does come out a bit too dark, initially (so much that it washed me out quite a bit), but I know not to worry because it fades just enough to a nice deep coffee shade even after the first shampoo. If you're at all concerned about it being too dark, though, and have never tried this shade then I'd suggest trying the next lightest shade, which is "Nutmeg" or "dark brown," before deciding if you want to go darker. Also, it should go without saying (because some people do it anyway, against the recommendations on the box), but do not use on blonde hair; stick closer to your natural shade range if using NI. For someone with light brown hair, though, I've found my hair to be a good canvas for this type of demi-permanent dye and have liked all the NI shades I've tried. I haven't had any over-the-top results as some reviewers have had with some shades, I think because I don't go too far outside my natural hair color range. As for "Coffee Creme," it's one of my favorite shades. I like the deeper brunette with no real commitment (it eventually fades closer to your natural color).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 samy12586 on 1/30/2011 11:43:00 AM more reviews by samy12586

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I usually dye my hair with Clairol's Nice n' Easy because my mother does and I always had fantastic results with any color I chose. However, I went to my local Walmart and did not find the color I was using (131, by the way which says: rich dark brown). So on a whim I purchased this color because it seemed pretty much the same. WOW I can't believe how gentle this dye is! No harsh chemicals and it left my hair very shiny and soft. I could have used 3 bottles to completely cover my whole head but I managed with two (I have very thick and coarse straight hair that goes past my shoulders now). Overall I would buy this product again and eventually I would test out different colors from this line whenever I get bored. But I definitely say this is my HG color product :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babieedoll on 11/27/2010 6:20:00 PM more reviews by babieedoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I dyed my hair around two weeks ago.

My hair before the dye:
- medium brown with warm redish brown tone
-long hair (goes a little pass the bra strap at the back)

I wanted:
-I wanted the dye to basically get rid of that warm tone
-My natural hair color is a dark cool brown
-My roots were coming out and well because my hair isn't as warm as the pervious hair dye I wanted to basically cover it up to make the grow out phase a little nicer.

Results:
My hair ended up looking like the box and I loved it.
My hair overall before the dye was in pretty good condition. The hair dye just made it look even more shiner.
I had to use two boxes but I'm sure I could've used two and a half boxes. (My hair is long and thick)
Because i dyed it myself (usually my sister does it for me) I think I missed some spots under the hair but it didn't look noticeable.
Overall I loved the color.

After a little over two weeks (I don't wash my hair everyday and also use sulfate free shampoo)

I've noticed that it's fading, I wish it stayed on longer but yes it's a demi.
I can start to see more warmth to my hair because of the previous dye. I wanted more of a cool tone that's why I dyed it this shade. The hair dye is such a nice color though, just wish it would stay in my hair longer like others seem to claim.

Overall I would buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alittle722 on 8/28/2010 10:34:00 PM more reviews by alittle722

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

just dyed my hair with this color. it is definitely the exact color on the box. my only concern is that maybe i didnt color evenly.. in some areas it appears a bit lighter but i think that just might be the glare because it is so soft and shiny!! :) so far i think i love it! the color is a very very deep brown. from a distance it almost looks black but still is not quite as harsh and maintains the softness and warmness of a brown.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jcdiva1 on 8/23/2010 10:00:00 PM more reviews by jcdiva1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Dark   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed   Eyes: Black    

I'm writing this review for my mom since she doesn't have a MUA account.
SO my mom has maybe 20% grays now and she's been using this semi-permanent stuff that would wash out in 4 washes and I recommended this brand to her because I have used the colors rosewood and nutmeg and I had great results with each of them so she was worried but took the plunge and decided to dye her hair this color.
She said that she ran out of hair dye while dying her hair (maybe the creme comes with less dye because she has short hair like me and I had tons of product left with the original natural instincts dye....hmm...) but she ended up spreading it out so she could dye her whole head and it turned out great!
The color is EXACTLY like the box on her and 99% of her grays are covered (she missed a spot on the top of her head but it's barely noticeable).
She is thrilled with the results and will definitely be using this again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 littlebird246 on 7/28/2010 10:42:00 PM more reviews by littlebird246

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This color was so mysterious. There was only one review here, and only one on the clairol site, which was completely unhelpful although I'm convinced that the reviewer LOVED the product. Why, I don't know because she made no mention of what it did to her hair..just loved it because "it worked". Hmmm.

I am a big fan of Natural Instincts. and have used it for years. I love Midnight and how it looks on me(it's in my profile pic). I know it looks black in my pic, but it isn't.it's more like a really dark charcoaly brown.

I have done blue black, and it looked absolutely hideous on me, despite the fact I wear black all the time... and love it on other pale girls. But the Midnight is lightened enough to be genuinely flattering and not so stark.

Unfortunately Midnight is several shades darker than my natural color, and seeing as I am pretty lazy about keeping up my haircolor, and totally DIY, what I do now is use a mix of "Clove" with a big "glug glug" of "Midnight" just so I don't have such obvious growout(lighter...which looks so much worse than dark roots!!)

So I saw this new coffee creme color..Ah..would this be my holy grail? Could I stop buying 2 bottles of color and portioning them out? I had tried Ebony Mocha, but it was much too gold for me. I prefer an ashy shade.

The photos on the box were vague. the black and brown hair, before and after, looked exactly the same to me not only side by side but before and after. I pored over the box, and my hair, for days, as I didn't want to waste my time like I had with the ebony mocha (having to dye it again...torture for the lazy and long haired)

The information online was cryptic(except the first review here, which I felt was helpful!)

Finally I decided I just needed to take one for the team and do it! How bad could it be.

So, I did. I was prepared to write and say that I don't like it, but I am pleasantly surprised! It is a nice, neutral, minky, dark brown. Maybe a smidge lighter than if I mix the clove and midnight. It is definitely NOT black. It covered my 5-10% grey well, and left my hair glossy. I also left it on for 20 minutes, longer than the 10 recommended.

It is quite dark though, and I could see that a lot of people might think it is too dark, or describe it as "black". I also think the color doesn't penetrate my hair much as it is not very damaged. It might end up darker if you have highlights or have lightened or permed your hair. It does look pretty much exactly like the color on the box...but my skin tone is lighter than the model on the box so it looks a little darker on me.

My hair is almost long enough to sit on, fine and wavy, and in good condition. I only wash it about twice a week, and I only dye the roots about every 6-8 weeks(LAZY)as its fairly dark to begin with(med/dark ash brown), the leftover dye stain from the prior dye applications is enough to color the length permanently.

ok, thats it! sorry about the long description of my hair, I know that those are the details I want to know when I research hair dye here(ie...what is the natural color...is it damaged...etc) as it really affects the results!

Oh..I'm not sure if this is my HG. I'll have to repost in a few weeks when it starts to fade. I'm happy to say it could be!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hebamo on 5/30/2010 7:50:00 PM more reviews by hebamo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I needed to colour my roots (dark brown and gray) but didn't want to go down the unsatisfying route of Nice N Easy Root touch up. I've used it a few times before and it barely covers my grays and comes with almost no product. Instead I picked this up at Wal Mart for about $11.00 CAD because I read that Nutmeg has red in it, and my hair picks up red like nobody's business. I was afraid that the Coffee Creme might run dark (which it doesn't) but I figured it would fade if it did end up being that way.

Instead of going all in, I did a strand test first. I mixed equal parts of the cream colour and the developer in a mixing bowl and applied generously on a patch of my hair on my scalp and left it for about 8 minutes. I washed it off and it didn't cover that much, but I saw that it didn't leave my hair inky looking, so I saw that it was safe to use a bit more and to leave it on for a bit longer.

I did a second strand test on another patch of hair and left it on for about 10 minutes. I rinsed it and saw that it did a really good job of covering my grays, leaving the rest of my brown hair looking natural and undyed. I mixed a bit more of the two products and dyed the rest of my roots and left it on for about 12 minutes. After rinsing and drying, I saw that my grays were adequately coloured (I wasn't completely taken aback by the results) but I was satisfied. I was also relived that it didn't run too dark and matched my hair completely. I also like how it didn't smell bad and that it left my hair very soft, even though I didn't use the conditioner.

I could see myself using this quite a bit instead of going to the salon every couple of weeks, which could be really expensive and being a student, the more I save, the better. I didn't even use the whole box and plan on using the rest in a few weeks time.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Clairol products

More Hair Color products