American Apparel • Nail Lacquer (All Shades) • Polishes

rated 3.7(25 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 franneh on 4/19/2014 5:15:00 PM more reviews by franneh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in Summer Peach and I always get compliments when I wear it. The colour pay off is amazing as it goes on very opaque. You really only need one coat, but I like using two. I would give it 5 stars but it chips pretty easily, so I recommend using a very good top coat to seal it in. Otherwise, it's a great polish. They come a ton of shades too, but my favourite is by far Summer Peach.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alexandra0107 on 1/29/2014 8:32:00 AM more reviews by alexandra0107

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Grey    

I bought the neon yellow and it drys matte, doesn't apply evenly and just looks terrible. I'm also a qualified nail technician so know how to apply nail varnish no this was the worst id ever tried. Pretty colour but awful formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yasssssx3 on 11/13/2013 9:19:00 AM more reviews by yasssssx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Reviewing the Berry nail color... This isn't the worst polish I've ever experienced and it isn't the worst. The color is really rich which is deff a plus but the consistency of the polish is pretty watery. It takes quite long to dry (even with a quick-dry top coat). And if you don't use a top coat the colors dry matte. Also the brush on these polishes suck. They don't spread the polish well at all. But over all the colors are good and the prices aren't too bad either especially to be bought from American appeal. You just have to move a little slower while painting and wait a little longer to dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 clarissa90 on 8/24/2013 11:42:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

American Apparel has a great selection at an affordable price. I believe the quality is as good as OPI or Essie.I will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LolaBlue on 6/27/2013 3:11:00 AM more reviews by LolaBlue

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Somehow or other I've ended up with a fair number of AA polishes. Pinto, Peacock, and Malibu Green all have separate reviews. The other colors I have are Cotton, Pink Ladies, MacArthur Park, and Passport Blue. The one thing I love about these polishes is that they come in a great selection of colors, but are all basic creme polishes. Of course they have a line of glitter polishes, but it's separate and I appreciate that because sometimes I just want a good creme polish in a funky color. Secondly, the formula on these are amazing. The only color I've ever had to do more than 2 coats on was Cotton, which I fully expected because it's such a light color (and even then I only had to do 3 coats). Normally, if I want to get more than 3 days of wear out of polish (I'm really hard on my nails) I have to use Orly Bonder basecoat, but with AA I don't have to do anything special. Cotton and MacArthur Park I took off on day 6 not because they was wear and/or chipping, but because I was bored. Lastly, I love the packaging. Simple, square bottles that easily fit into my storage containers unlike odd-shaped bottles (NOPI - hate those bottles).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LindaAnn on 8/5/2012 4:41:00 PM more reviews by LindaAnn

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I must first start by saying that this company has THE most amazing colors ever and the brush is THE best on the market as well giving an effortless application. The shine is incredible too. I had absolutely nothing negative to say abot this polish EXCEPT>>>>>>>>> that it chips very very quickly, like on day 3. I have good nails and wear my polish, unchipped, for a week or more. This polish must have a formula that is not chip resistant and that is the reason I gave it a 3 out of 5 on overall rating. Just really annoying that I have to change the polish so quickly. It stayed beautiful for two days. NOT NEARLY LONG ENOUGH!. Does not compare to the wear of ESSIE polishes. But I must say they do win on the colors and shine and ooh laa laa, that brush. Please American Apparel, tweak your formula. You almost got it right!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wathenem on 6/17/2012 8:27:00 PM more reviews by wathenem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My favorite thing about AA polishes are 1.) the colors, and 2.) the packaging! There are some really unique and pretty colors in their selection, including in their NEON and Glitter lines. Some stores don't carry all the colors, so look at the full selection online! The packaging is really unique and definitely is a plus, and i'm not usually a sucker for packaging. Check them out! Its good to support products made in the usa!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JasmineJolene on 6/10/2012 6:32:00 PM more reviews by JasmineJolene

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

UPDATE: Wear on these polishes is good, no budging at all on my toes. I did use Passport Blue on my fingernails the other day, was disappointed that it had started chipping the next day. I have bought three more though, African Violet, Mount Royal and Smoke Dazle which is a fabulous holographic dark silver. I applied it on Saturday, and today (Monday) it still looks amazing. I actually can't wait to redo my nails!


I am in the UK, and hadn't actually heard of this polish until I went into the store a few days ago. The clothes are, well, not for me - but the polishes are!

I bought American Denim (light blue), Palm Springs (nude), Passport Blue (navy) and a Meteor Shower (gold glitter). They are 17 for 3 in store, 7 each (9 each and 23 for 3 online!) and Palm Springs was a bonus at 3.50 as it is being discontinued.

Today I have used American Denim and Meteor Shower on my toes, I will update on wear on a later date but so far I am very pleased! I like the packaging, don't have a problem with the slim brush (although I do prefer a fatter one) and the coverage is awesome. I definitely could have got away with one coat, but I still did two.

I will be going back once payday arrives!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kali205 on 2/18/2012 6:28:00 PM more reviews by kali205

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This polish lasts quite well. I easily got a full week out of it with minimal tip wear, using Seche Vite top coat. I'm not sure what it's dry time would be without Seche. I'm not a fan of the packaging. The brush is long both in stem and bristles, the bristles don't fan well and are skinny. The formula is quite thin. You need to apply carefully as the brush will want to pick up lots of the product which will then want to run down and flood your nails. I call it a two coat application because the first coat goes a bit streaky. I'm sure it would be a one coat application if the brush was better. I'd tolerate it for a unique colour, but wouldn't go out of my way to buy it otherwise.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leGingbot on 1/17/2012 3:44:00 AM more reviews by leGingbot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought my first three AA polishes in Butter, Dynasty, and Passport Blue (and I have my eye on a couple more).

The Good:
1. Pigmentation. The three I bought each had incredible pigmentation. Seriously. If you are careful, you can get away with one coat.
2. Application. They applied quite smoothly, excluding Butter (but such is the nature of yellows). They also dried relatively glossy.
3. The bottle. I love the shape! They're slim, rectangular, and are great for storage because they take up such little surface area.
4. Colors. There are quite a few pretty ones to choose from, but be warned-don't go by the color swatches on the AA website. (And as a sidenote, Passport Blue is INCREDIBLE. It really changed my mind about blue polish; I was convinced that blue looked terrible on my nails and avoided it like the plague. Who knows why I ordered Passport Blue, but I'm so glad I did-it's so deep and rich and sophisticated. It was my 'gateway' blue-I've gone from a loather of blue polish to a VERY picky blue polish lover! :D)
5. Price. $6. Awesome.

The Bad:
1. The brush. Good lord, I hate the brush. It's long, it's floppy...it makes application such a chore. I hate the AA brushes more than I hate those horrid O.P.I. ProWide brushes. I like the brush head to be short and slim and somewhat firm-I feel like I have better control with those, but the floppiness of the AA brush makes clean-up with acetone essential (for me anyway).

Overall:
Despite all the good things about these polishes, I am giving them a 3 because of the craptastic brush. I'm tempted to try and cut them shorter myself-we'll see. If they improved on the brush these would be a 5, hands down.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More American Apparel products

More Polishes products