Too Faced • Lip Insurance • Lip Treatments

rated 2.9(38 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 krissyjolene on 4/7/2014 8:46:00 PM more reviews by krissyjolene

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

LOVE this product! I haven't tried it with any dark colours yet but with my lighter ones it works so great! I used the MAC lip primer for years but my lips would always feather when my lipstick began to wear off during the day. It was so bad that sometimes they would peel too... Not a good look at all. At the end of the day my lips are always soft and feel super conditioned when I use this. I am an avid lipstick girl and apply multiple times throughout the day....love this product and I only apply it in the morning. Could be a bit cheaper but I'm still on my first tube so I will see how long it lasts before judging the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 12/28/2013 11:50:00 AM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've tried this with several of my lipsticks. My main focus was to use this in conjuction with my 2 urban Revolution colors Cat Fight and F-bomb and my Revlon Va Va violet lip colors which can bleed and feather horribly if you don't prep properly. My usual routine is to exfoliate, balm, color powder color, powder etc. So I took a giant leap and used this alone with lip pencil the first day I went to work with Cat fight.

The consistancy is a lip glossy clear application. It does dry concreate firm for me. So I need to make sure I've exfloiated and balmed up before using. I added my UD jilted pencil but didn't fill it in and then added cat fight. I went to work ate dinner and drank water throughout the evening. It was only 5 hours. I did get slight feathering but not as bad as I could have and the color didn't budge. I had some creamyness but it was like having a matte lipstick so it wasn't a smooth creamy but my lips still felt hydrated and protected and I didn't feel the need to re apply.

Bottom line yes I will keep this on hand for my higher pigmented colors. I think I need to use the lip pencils to fill in as I am finding I get better wear less feathering. And for a high intensity eatting/drinking evening or I know I may not have time to touch up frequently I will use this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MissNostalgia on 11/14/2013 8:11:00 PM more reviews by MissNostalgia

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I feel very yes and no about this.

I mean, I like the application, it's consistency is just about right, but once you put on your lipstick and it sets, it becomes very, very dry.

This might be on account of my addiction to rather dry matte lippies, but it seems to be a pretty common complaint, so it's probably not just me.

But yes, it lasts, it definitely increases the lifespan of what I'm wearing, but by the end of the day I end up with dry, sad, flaky lips.

Looking for something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shauneexo on 11/14/2013 11:57:00 AM more reviews by Shauneexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this lip primer! It feels a little weird when it dries, but as soon as I put on my lipstick, lip liner, etc. it loses the weird dry feeling. It makes lip products go on so smoothly and opaque. Honestly, I've noticed it makes it last longer than without any primer. I will definitely keep repurchasing!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shoewhore on 11/12/2013 1:50:00 PM more reviews by shoewhore

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this over the past couple of weeks with different lipsticks to see how effective it is before reviewing it.

After I apply this, I let it dry completely before applying my lipstick.

I've found it works awesomely with creme lipsticks. One day I drank a cup of coffee, ate a protein bar, & drank some bottled water & my lipstick was still intact!

It's less impressive when used with frosted lipsticks for some reason.

Some ppl have said they find this drying. I haven't had that experience.

I might buy it again, but only on sale. I wouldn't pay full price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 10/6/2013 2:20:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This was my first experience with lip primer, but I do not know if it is really a necessary step. I used it in conjunction with a moisturizing lipstick but it seemed to suck the creaminess right out of it. The color looked mattified and did not give the impression that I was going for. In the end, I do not think that I would repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 andraealynne on 9/5/2013 9:28:00 AM more reviews by andraealynne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this primer! It works best for me if I apply lips last while doing my makeup-- I do everything else with a thick coat of a moisturizing balm on my lips, then wipe the balm off and apply an ample coat of primer. Let the primer set, then apply lip liner and lipstick. I've been using it with my UD Revolution lippies and it grips them amazingly, even making it a bit difficult to remove lipstick at the end of the day! My only complaint is that the packaging feels kinda cheap to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 foxlooseinnyc on 6/12/2013 10:34:00 AM more reviews by foxlooseinnyc

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This dried my lips out, which is not the norm for me. It made my lipstick look flakey on my lips, even when I use a brush. My lipstick did feather more with this product, than if I had used a lip pencil. For the price I am very unsatisfied. I wouldn't recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 6/7/2013 4:35:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Too Faced Lip Insurance Lip Primer is a "unique, creamy formulation created for application all over the lips to promote suppleness and lock in lip color so it will not feather, fade, or transfer. Our paraben free, Vitamin E enriched formula pampers lips while powerful pigment binders protect colors in the most challenging lip conditions and from pout imperfections." On top of being paraben free, this lip primer is also vegan friendly. I got a 3.5g (.12 oz) sample of Lip Insurance in the Beauty Editors Darlings value kit, which I bought at Ulta for $19. The full size of this lip product contains 4.4g (.15 oz) and sells for $19. Too Faced products can be bought through the brand's website, Sephora, and Ulta. Too Faced does not test on animals. This product was made in the USA.
Too Faced Lip Insurance comes in a pretty Tiffany blue tube. The front of the tube features the Too Faced logo and product name. The cap twists off to reveal a regular doe foot applicator. I really adore the color of the tube. I believe the full size has similar to identical packaging.
Too Faced Lip Insurance is a clear to off-white balm like lip primer. Application is like that of any product with a doe foot applicator. At first, Lip Insurance feels very thin, light, and moisturizing on the lips; almost like a watered down Vaseline. As this lip primer sets, it takes on more of a velvety feel. Lip colors apply with slightly more ease. While I can't really speak for how well this primer prevents feathering (not really a problem I experience),I can say for sure that Too Faced Lip Insurance significantly increases the wear time of lip products. For longer wearing lip products, this primer barely extends wear, but for creamy, moisturizing products like Maybelline Color Whispers or Revlon Lip Butters, the wear is doubled. Lip products seem to stay on my lips shorter than average, so I find Lip Insurance really helpful.
Too Faced Lip Insurance Lip Primer is really good. I had my doubts about a lip primer, but if you have products keeping your lip products on like I do, they might be something worth looking into. Too Faced's lip primer helps keep on even the most fleeting of lipsticks. This product also feels awesome on the lips. I likely won't purchase the full size of Lip Insurance, $19 is a bit much for an unnecessary (but nice to have) product like a lip primer. If you need help keeping your lipstick put and don't mind a bit of a splurge, but all means check out Too Faced Lip Insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mbat on 5/26/2013 6:41:00 PM more reviews by mbat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

For this price it should live up to its claim. I tried it with bright pink. The color faded in my lips within 2 hours to an unflattering color. It's going back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More Lip Treatments products