Too Faced • Lip Insurance • Lip Treatments

rated 3.0(41 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monvai on 6/19/2014 9:10:00 PM more reviews by monvai

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Hmmm. I read the reviews for this before I purchased it so my expectations were set low. I have to admit that it does make a bit of a difference with this primer as my sheer lipstick from Estee Lauder lasted about 2 hours longer with this. But that's not enough for me. If there are better lip primers out there, I'd try it. Didnt dry out my lips like other reviewers though - but I do make a point to moisturise every night with a lip balm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emjanetemp on 5/9/2014 9:23:00 PM more reviews by emjanetemp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

When I went to Sephora for my first time I had asked the worker there what lip primer she would recommend for me, and too faced lip insurance is what she told me she loved. So I decided to take her advice and purchase this product. Though this product seemed to work pretty well and also dried very fast, I found it VERY very drying, sadly it was so drying that it made my lips look very chapped. I will not purchase this product again, and soon after discovered MACs prep n' prime lip primer which I now love love love!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 4/28/2014 3:11:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been on the hunt for a lip primer for years. I came across this and since I LOVE Too Faced, I figured, yea I am gonna go for it. Bleh. It's ok, it's somewhat sticky when applied and kinda stays that way.

It did make my lipstick last longer as a whole, but not by significant amounts to justify the price. I found the old tricks with powder and lip pencils did the same thing. Warning if you use this, it will mattify anything you use. I was bummed out this because I love MAC cremesheen and it canceled the entire cream part out, leaving my lips very dry and my Cream Cup looked very matte and weird.

I would skip this honestly and save the big price tag until someone comes out with something better. For now, I move back to my lip pencils and powder tricks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 krissyjolene on 4/7/2014 8:46:00 PM more reviews by krissyjolene

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

LOVE this product! I haven't tried it with any dark colours yet but with my lighter ones it works so great! I used the MAC lip primer for years but my lips would always feather when my lipstick began to wear off during the day. It was so bad that sometimes they would peel too... Not a good look at all. At the end of the day my lips are always soft and feel super conditioned when I use this. I am an avid lipstick girl and apply multiple times throughout the day....love this product and I only apply it in the morning. Could be a bit cheaper but I'm still on my first tube so I will see how long it lasts before judging the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 12/28/2013 11:50:00 AM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've tried this with several of my lipsticks. My main focus was to use this in conjuction with my 2 urban Revolution colors Cat Fight and F-bomb and my Revlon Va Va violet lip colors which can bleed and feather horribly if you don't prep properly. My usual routine is to exfoliate, balm, color powder color, powder etc. So I took a giant leap and used this alone with lip pencil the first day I went to work with Cat fight.

The consistancy is a lip glossy clear application. It does dry concreate firm for me. So I need to make sure I've exfloiated and balmed up before using. I added my UD jilted pencil but didn't fill it in and then added cat fight. I went to work ate dinner and drank water throughout the evening. It was only 5 hours. I did get slight feathering but not as bad as I could have and the color didn't budge. I had some creamyness but it was like having a matte lipstick so it wasn't a smooth creamy but my lips still felt hydrated and protected and I didn't feel the need to re apply.

Bottom line yes I will keep this on hand for my higher pigmented colors. I think I need to use the lip pencils to fill in as I am finding I get better wear less feathering. And for a high intensity eatting/drinking evening or I know I may not have time to touch up frequently I will use this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MissNostalgia on 11/14/2013 8:11:00 PM more reviews by MissNostalgia

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I feel very yes and no about this.

I mean, I like the application, it's consistency is just about right, but once you put on your lipstick and it sets, it becomes very, very dry.

This might be on account of my addiction to rather dry matte lippies, but it seems to be a pretty common complaint, so it's probably not just me.

But yes, it lasts, it definitely increases the lifespan of what I'm wearing, but by the end of the day I end up with dry, sad, flaky lips.

Looking for something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shauneexo on 11/14/2013 11:57:00 AM more reviews by Shauneexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this lip primer! It feels a little weird when it dries, but as soon as I put on my lipstick, lip liner, etc. it loses the weird dry feeling. It makes lip products go on so smoothly and opaque. Honestly, I've noticed it makes it last longer than without any primer. I will definitely keep repurchasing!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shoewhore on 11/12/2013 1:50:00 PM more reviews by shoewhore

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this over the past couple of weeks with different lipsticks to see how effective it is before reviewing it.

After I apply this, I let it dry completely before applying my lipstick.

I've found it works awesomely with creme lipsticks. One day I drank a cup of coffee, ate a protein bar, & drank some bottled water & my lipstick was still intact!

It's less impressive when used with frosted lipsticks for some reason.

Some ppl have said they find this drying. I haven't had that experience.

I might buy it again, but only on sale. I wouldn't pay full price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 10/6/2013 2:20:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This was my first experience with lip primer, but I do not know if it is really a necessary step. I used it in conjunction with a moisturizing lipstick but it seemed to suck the creaminess right out of it. The color looked mattified and did not give the impression that I was going for. In the end, I do not think that I would repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 andraealynne on 9/5/2013 9:28:00 AM more reviews by andraealynne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this primer! It works best for me if I apply lips last while doing my makeup-- I do everything else with a thick coat of a moisturizing balm on my lips, then wipe the balm off and apply an ample coat of primer. Let the primer set, then apply lip liner and lipstick. I've been using it with my UD Revolution lippies and it grips them amazingly, even making it a bit difficult to remove lipstick at the end of the day! My only complaint is that the packaging feels kinda cheap to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More Lip Treatments products