Too Faced Lip Insurance

3.1

44 reviews

45% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Silica, Talc, Ethylenediamine/Stearyl Dimer Dilinoleate Copolymer, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Isobutyl Methacrylate/ Trifluoroethylmethacrylate/Bis-Hydroxypropyl Dimethicone Acrylate Copolymer, Acrylates Copolymer, Disteardimonium Hectorite, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Jojoba Esters, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Trihydroxystearin, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Triethylhexanoin, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Tribehenin, Propylene Carbonate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sorbitan Isostearate, o-Cymen-5-oL, Ceramide 2, PEG-10 Rapeseed Sterol, Portulaca Pilosa Extract, Sucrose Cocoate, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-38, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Mica.


on 5/9/2015 11:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is my first lip primer. I can't believe I ever wasted my products all these years, this primer is a miracle worker. It sets my lippy for hours, no matter how much coffee (or wine ;D) I drink, my lip color stays put.

It is a bit pricey, I got it for a deal on EBay so I probably didn't pay as much as some other people have. For those who are worried about not getting the bang for your buck, I'll point out that you can use those products that otherwise-slide-off-your-face-but-you-loooooove-that-color, even those cheaper drugstore products, they will all stay put. You invest in this, you can wear more budget friendly colors. To me that makes it worth it- I use this under all of my lipwear, from Smashbox to NYX, and it always looks great.

The product is white, cloudy, and odorless, but applies clear. It made my lips feel slightly tacky (but not in an unpleasant way) and I have no dryness issues. When I put my lip product on the tackiness goes away and my lips adopt whatever texture my lipstick or gloss is. I like using glossy colors but I mostly use mattes, this is a must for all my matter lippies. Color looks velvety but not dry and cakey.

I will definitely buy this product again... or one similar. I'm open to trying others but so far this one suits all my needs.



on 3/26/2015 9:03:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought this after seeing it presented on HSN as part of a kit with products I didn't really need.
I am at an age where I need a lip liner or primer to stop feathering if you KWIM ☻, anyway so I went to Sephora and bought it.
It is fabulous! Lipstick doesn't go anywhere and lasts longer.
In the pipeline from TFaced a similar product for glosses which I can't wait to try


on 2/2/2015 8:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought Too Faced Lip Insurance and I love it!

Too give you a bit of an idea of my make-up history, I never use to wear any colour on my face. But lately something inside me was screaming to try bold lip colours - so I did!
What I learnt quickly with nothing underneath the lip colour, the colour would fade and feather.

So I tried lip insurance. It's a silky/velvety consistency that glides on the lips with great ease.

It is light and thin on the lips, no heavily coated feeling.

When I let that dry I then applied my lip liner and lipstick. instantly I felt a difference with just the application of my lip liner and lipstick. It glided on my lips much smoother - no slight snags on the creases of my lips.

What I noticed next was the vibrancy of the colour I put on (Jordana Lipstick - Creamy Berries). The colour was more bright and even along my lips! And even better, it lasted a lot longer than without any primer underneath!

I wore it to a club where it did get very warm inside, and the lipstick only slightly faded (that was from drinking from a straw - only that one part was faded). It lasted for a good 6+ hours on me.

In normal light (when I got home) the only thing I noticed was the lipstick did pool together slightly in the corners but nothing very noticeable - and besides, that may be just the lipstick not the too face lip insurance treatment.

At the end of the day, I am very happy with the product! I would recommend it to other people - In fact I have recommended to a few of my friends =P


on 6/19/2014 9:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Hmmm. I read the reviews for this before I purchased it so my expectations were set low. I have to admit that it does make a bit of a difference with this primer as my sheer lipstick from Estee Lauder lasted about 2 hours longer with this. But that's not enough for me. If there are better lip primers out there, I'd try it. Didnt dry out my lips like other reviewers though - but I do make a point to moisturise every night with a lip balm.


on 5/9/2014 9:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

When I went to Sephora for my first time I had asked the worker there what lip primer she would recommend for me, and too faced lip insurance is what she told me she loved. So I decided to take her advice and purchase this product. Though this product seemed to work pretty well and also dried very fast, I found it VERY very drying, sadly it was so drying that it made my lips look very chapped. I will not purchase this product again, and soon after discovered MACs prep n' prime lip primer which I now love love love!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/28/2014 3:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have been on the hunt for a lip primer for years. I came across this and since I LOVE Too Faced, I figured, yea I am gonna go for it. Bleh. It's ok, it's somewhat sticky when applied and kinda stays that way.

It did make my lipstick last longer as a whole, but not by significant amounts to justify the price. I found the old tricks with powder and lip pencils did the same thing. Warning if you use this, it will mattify anything you use. I was bummed out this because I love MAC cremesheen and it canceled the entire cream part out, leaving my lips very dry and my Cream Cup looked very matte and weird.

I would skip this honestly and save the big price tag until someone comes out with something better. For now, I move back to my lip pencils and powder tricks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

LOVE this product! I haven't tried it with any dark colours yet but with my lighter ones it works so great! I used the MAC lip primer for years but my lips would always feather when my lipstick began to wear off during the day. It was so bad that sometimes they would peel too... Not a good look at all. At the end of the day my lips are always soft and feel super conditioned when I use this. I am an avid lipstick girl and apply multiple times throughout the day....love this product and I only apply it in the morning. Could be a bit cheaper but I'm still on my first tube so I will see how long it lasts before judging the price.


on 12/28/2013 11:50:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've tried this with several of my lipsticks. My main focus was to use this in conjuction with my 2 urban Revolution colors Cat Fight and F-bomb and my Revlon Va Va violet lip colors which can bleed and feather horribly if you don't prep properly. My usual routine is to exfoliate, balm, color powder color, powder etc. So I took a giant leap and used this alone with lip pencil the first day I went to work with Cat fight.

The consistancy is a lip glossy clear application. It does dry concreate firm for me. So I need to make sure I've exfloiated and balmed up before using. I added my UD jilted pencil but didn't fill it in and then added cat fight. I went to work ate dinner and drank water throughout the evening. It was only 5 hours. I did get slight feathering but not as bad as I could have and the color didn't budge. I had some creamyness but it was like having a matte lipstick so it wasn't a smooth creamy but my lips still felt hydrated and protected and I didn't feel the need to re apply.

Bottom line yes I will keep this on hand for my higher pigmented colors. I think I need to use the lip pencils to fill in as I am finding I get better wear less feathering. And for a high intensity eatting/drinking evening or I know I may not have time to touch up frequently I will use this.


on 11/14/2013 8:11:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I feel very yes and no about this.

I mean, I like the application, it's consistency is just about right, but once you put on your lipstick and it sets, it becomes very, very dry.

This might be on account of my addiction to rather dry matte lippies, but it seems to be a pretty common complaint, so it's probably not just me.

But yes, it lasts, it definitely increases the lifespan of what I'm wearing, but by the end of the day I end up with dry, sad, flaky lips.

Looking for something better.


on 11/14/2013 11:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I love this lip primer! It feels a little weird when it dries, but as soon as I put on my lipstick, lip liner, etc. it loses the weird dry feeling. It makes lip products go on so smoothly and opaque. Honestly, I've noticed it makes it last longer than without any primer. I will definitely keep repurchasing!!!!!!


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
Baby Lips Lip Balm
1541 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
Prep + Prime Lip
180 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
Beeswax Lip Balm
3622 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Back to Top