LUSH Colour Supplement

3.8

144 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Fresh Rose Petal Infusion (rosa damascena), Soya Oil (glycine soja), Titanium Dioxide, Rice Bran Oil (Oryza sativa), Stearic Acid, Talc, Gylcerine, Triethanolamine, Cetearyl Alcohol, Colour 77491, Colour 77499, Colour 77492, Methylparaben, Propylparben.


on 8/4/2015 11:45:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I found this little unassuming product on a tiny display platform as I was trying to escape from the combined odors of Turkish Delight and Granny Takes a Dip. I purchased this in Dark Yellow and in Charisma. This is an oil-based foundation the comes in a little glass screw-top jar. I apply it with a teardrop-pointed foundation brush, and I use it over my whole face as my foundation. In MAC Face & Body Foundation my shade is C4, and Dark Yellow blends into my skin as well as C4. Dark Yellow is deeper than most yellow correctors (i.e.Koh Gen Do Maifanshi Yellow Color Base), I can apply it everywhere and it doesn't make me look weirdly pale. Dark Yellow is closer to Ben Nye Yellow NP-6...but on my skin it looks just like my skin but better!

I also use Charisma Color Supplement. I thought Charisma was the same formula as the Dark Yellow but in a dark apricot color, but it's not at all. Charisma's formula is much thinner, and it's really a glittery bronzer. It doesn't add much color to my skin, but it could provide a "glow" if I ever needed any extra shimmer. I tried it on my lips, but it dried up, and the color didn't show. It's an excellent and much less costly replacement for Face Atelier Ultra Sheer Bronze.



on 6/16/2015 4:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Im in the shade Yellow (Don't ask why) ...it's universal for all types of asian Skin.

Anyways the product itself is not recommended for oily skin...it's oil based so it looks dewy on me so I love it...

Make sure to blend well with a foundation brush and it could also be your concealer :)


on 5/5/2015 11:04:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this as I saw it in store and thought that it looked really versatile. It is a lovely texture that can be mixed with moisturiser or used directly on skin. I bought light yellow and it is the perfect colour for my skin tone. It goes on smoothly and while lightweight gives a nice even finish which I followed up with a light dusting of mineral powder. However I was very disappointed to find that it contained parabens. I usually always check ingredient listings but as I was in Lush I presumed that they did not use any synthetic preservatives. I have since read Lush's statement about the use of parabens and I understand that some products need preservatives for safety reasons. Lush state that they use a minimum level of parabens and the product is otherwise natural. It is a lovely product however knowing that I can buy paraben free alternatives I won't repurchase this. I will however try to colour match it with another product as the colour is perfect.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2015 11:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I use the light yellow colour supplement and it's nice! I mix it with a SPF moisturiser as a base for my foundation. This product evens out my skin tone and as a result I wear less foundation. It could even be used instead of foundation if you don't need much coverage. Will definitely repurchase :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/28/2015 10:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

ok so this went way far and above my expectations.
lets start here, value: this stuff looks little but I'm telling you it goes SO far (like all lush products) its smooth as silk and feels more like a tinted moisturizer.
i AM coverage picky, i go to the chanel counter and I'm like, this isn't full coverage...and they're like giiiirrrllll you don't need that you have such nice skin....and I'm like ok but thats what i want? so i recently moved to a much more humid area and had to adjust slightly, I've had to look for thinner formulas, formulas that still give the coverage i want but BREATH so i usually do clarins or tarte then i decided ok I'm a lushaholic, i use EVERYthing lush i don't own any bathroom products anymore from anywhere else so why not just attempt their foundation at least?? SO GLAD I DID my face looks and feels and smells flawless, you can still see some of my summer freckles (barely) but it covers and evens with the best of them! this is my go to for now on! as light and airy as it is i keep good coverage all the way into the night! i just adore it! if coverage is your concern just go for it!


0
Full Size Image

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 4/26/2015 11:39:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have a lot of broken capillaries right on the sides of my nose, which is bad because my nose hates any and all forms of concealer. Jackie Oates is honestly the first concealer-type product I have ever used that didn't flake and cake in the sides of my nose on contact. It doesn't hide everything but it does so much to even out my skin tone that it's become a HG product for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really wanted to like this product as it is very hard to find tinted moisturizers and concealers that aren't loaded with a bunch of unnecessary cr*p. But this really disappointed me. If I used it over a moisturizer (and I tried several) it shifted around and separated. If I used it without, it left my skin chalky. So that eliminated its use as a concealer. As far as using it as a color supplement, I felt I had to use more of it than the moisturizer I was mixing it with to see any benefit from it whatsoever. I think part of my failure is I got it at The Mall Of Georgia and the store was hotter than h*ll and every product in there was separating, and the one I got was bad. I think for the price there are other cosmetics out there far better, and Lush should stick to just their soaps and original products.


on 3/4/2015 8:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I adore this product! At a time when my face just hated everything, (im talking like i could barely put moisteriser on it without a breakout) this stuff was a lifesaver!
I mixed it with the tiniest little bit of my cetaphil moisterising lotion and a tiny tiny bit of Lush's feeling younger tint and it worked out beautifully as a tinted moisteriser.
I had read alot of reviews and watch youtubers claim that it is full coverage if you put it on as is, unfortunately that wasnt the case at all for me. Light coverage at best. (it aint no double wear girls!) I found putting it on as it made it sink into my pores alot more, making them more visible, so I wasnt stoked.
It is a very tacky, shiny base so I would definitely recommend a translucent powder or normal powder over the top if you dont want it sliding. I believe Lush sell one but im yet to try!

Would I buy it again?
Yeah! Its a great tinted moisteriser, good for me when I go to the gym or play sport, or if im too lazy to put on makeup, quick mix, slather on, translucent over the top, done. Fantastic for people who have sensitive skin, acne prone skin or love a light coverage!

COLOUR: the colour range is limited, i feel like the colour i chose was right for me.
PACKAGING: i dislike the tubs so much. none of my makeup brushes fit in there and its messy and unhygienic for me.
COVERAGE: light. at best.
TEXTURE/CONSISTENCY: it's quite a thick mousse, but so light.
SMELL: it kinda smells like oats :)
PRICE: $15.50 - LUSH Australia

Quick about me:
Skin: I have oily t-zone, very oily around my nose, large pores, breakouts only on my jawline and occasionally on my chin. My skin is sensitive and hates pretty much everything!
Diet: I have just recently stop consuming dairy products and reducing my meat intake to see if that effects my skin. I also have increased my fruit and vegetables and water intake. Water has made a huge huge huge difference!!!
Lifestyle: gym goer, big lover of sports and outdoor activities.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2015 11:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I am a true LUSHie, as several of my can't-live-without products are black and white pots- including this little wonder! The Colour Supplements are meant to do just that; supplement healthy skin. If you are used to having a full face of makeup become your norm, it may be time to change up your skin care routine (and I hope you find the perfect products for you!), but the Colour Supplements are a beautiful, mutable, perfectly pigmented and well-blended multi-tool. My favorite ways to use it are to mix with LUSH's Vanishing Cream on the back of my hand and apply it lightly with clean fingers, making a thicker application for under eyes/light scarring, and fully mixed for a tinted moisturizer. It's a great discreet little pot that can easily live in your purse for those emergency situations (like an unplanned sleepover), and if you have healthy skin that just needs the occasional touch up and concealment, the Colour Supplements will be a nice weapon in your arsenal. Make sure you ask one of the salespeople to help you match your Colour and to give you a free skin care consultation, or if you're up for it, a complimentary facial regiment, from cleansers to moisturizers to makeup. It's like a surprise trip to the spa! I think the price is just right, as daily use of this pot, along with other products, can last me 5-6 months. The base is incredibly gentle, but I have found will dry out slightly if you don't use up the pots by the recommended time (which is 14 months from date made), so best to treat yourself to a handmade, fresh cosmetic treat for your face, with soothing oatmeal and jojoba oils.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/6/2015 4:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really love this. I bought this with no expectations, but have been using it on a pretty regular basis. This has more pigmentation/coverage than I expected by far. I tend towards full coverage foundations due to melasma/spots/uneven skin tone, but have a hard time with full coverage products generally because of super-dry skin. I wouldn't call this product full-coverage, but it has a surprising amount of pigmentation considering it is not "technically" a foundation. I use it as a foundation, or as one would use a tinted moisturizer if one needed a lot more coverage. I have places on my face where I need considerable evening; broken capillaries on the sides of my nose and the front of my cheeks, on my chin and forehead and of course the front of my nose. This has a creamy, mousse like (but not dry) texture, it pats on nicely, don't rub if you want any coverage. This doesn't give 100% coverage, but it somehow makes the flaws I have blend in, even in; smooth out, it is surprisingly effective and happily dry skin friendly. Its kind of what I hoped IT Bye Bye Redness would be, while that product is far too dry. I'm very happily surprised and will stockpile this. Give it a chance if you have grevious skin flaws but are dry or don't like full-coverage foundations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top