Wet 'n' Wild • Mega Last Matte 904B Rose-Bud • Lipstick

rated 4.4(24 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tricyclesinskirts on 10/21/2014 1:09:00 AM more reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I sort of hate the terms MLBB and HG. They are played out and overused in reviews, but I'll be damned...this $1.50 lipstick might sucker me into using both of them. (Granted, it was on sale, but still.)

Anyway, regardless of the low price (and the STILL shoddy packaging,) i totally adore this extremely wearable shade on my NW20 skintone. It's crazy good. The only reason I bother with a mirror is because I have to be careful opening it in the first place...but it wears so well there's seriously no need for one afterwards.

Plus it's always nice to see how cute you look after a fresh coat of a new lipstick, even if it does apply as easily as this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hayleyelwick on 9/30/2014 6:58:00 PM more reviews by hayleyelwick

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

******PLEASE read this in a 50's detective voice. You know, really dramatic like. Preferably the scenes are in black and white, and I look like Marilyn Monroe. I'm also wearing a trench and a detective hat.******

The year was 2013, when my grandmother handed me a lipstick. She said it was her favorite, but she thought it would look great on me. The lipstick is Arabella Stuart's polished lipcolor in "Damask Rose" The packing looked dated- pale pink, with silver accents. The off white label, which used to be a pure white, was worn around the edges. It only had about 1/2 an inch left in the tube, and I remember thinking "Well gee, if this looks good on me, I'm gonna be screwed because there's no way I'm gonna ever find this lipstick anywhere"

And well, here we are, ladies and gentlemen.

These days, no one has even heard of Arabella Stuart, and even those who have know that "Damask Rose" is a shade that's long gone. Discontinued some time ago, the lipstick I own is probably expired. However, I don't care in the slightest.

Everytime I use this lipstick, I am faced with the tragedy that someday soon, it will be gone. I have looked high and low for dupes, but for a time, I could find no such dupe. .

I searched relentlessly for a color match. Everywhere I went, I couldn't find anything that compared. MAC consultants, Sephora employees, the grumpy old man at the dollar tree- none of these makeup experts could help me find a shade quite like my beloved Damask Rose. I took the lipstick with me everywhere, in attempt to find a dupe, but to no avail.

After an exhausting year of searching, I hung up my coat, put away my badge, and stuck Damask Rose back into the bin of lipsticks on my vanity. My search was over. I accepted my fate.

Life wasn't quite the same after that. With every day, I grew closer and closer to the end of that precious lipstick tube. Every time I needed reapplying, I sweat bullets, knowing the end was nearer and nearer. While this lipstick was on my lips, no relatives received kisses on the cheek, for it was far too valuable to simply be wiped off with a wetnap. Every time someone complimented me on my lipstick, tears welt up in my eyes, because I knew there would come a day when I would no longer get compliments on the lipstick that so perfectly brought out every good feature on my face.

One fateful day, however, as period cramps plagued my body, I limped into Walgreen's. I needed Midol desperately, but before I even went to pick up medication, I had to check the makeup section, as I always do. I walked somberly over to the Wet n Wild Halloween display, because I had been eyeing an eyeshadow palette for some time. Suddenly, out of the corner of my eye, I spotted something too good to be true.

"Could it be?!" I thought to myself. It couldn't be. It looked similar sure, but if I took it home, I'm positive it would be way different.

I picked up the shade "Rose Bud" from the display. Even with paralyzing period cramps, I was still excited beyond belief. Just the possibility that I may have found a dupe made me want to cry- partly out of happiness, partly because I felt like my insides were going to literally explode.

It was at that moment that I remembered what I had left in my purse- Damask Rose. I slowly unzipped the side pocket on my bag, reached inside, and grabbed my beautiful lipstick. As I compared the two, I stood in disbelief.

At long last, I had arose victorious. I had found my dupe- and at a mere $1.50!! No one was able to share my happiness, but I didn't care.

I have since purchased a multitude of back ups for Rose Bud. The shade is hard to find, but certainly not as hard to find as Damask Rose. The colors are so similar, I can wear one on the top lip, and the other on the bottom, and not a soul can tell the difference.

These days, this detective is retired. I am no longer searching for that perfect dupe, but I still long to see the day when Damask Rose is brought out of her retirement. Until that day, Rose Bud will always be there, as the perfect substitute.

~~The End~~

Now, for your viewing pleasure, I've added some photo attachments. Please enjoy these swatches and comparison photos of Rosebud and Damask Rose.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Alliecat333 on 8/2/2014 6:08:00 PM more reviews by Alliecat333

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Favorite every day just need to look pretty shade. I love this color so much it's unbelievable. In the tube it's ehh, on the lips it's omg. It's super hard to find though only kmart in my area carries the full line, but everyone else likes it as well because it's hard to find not sold out.. I have warm skin and this is perfect. I have tried many of pinks/ roses to no luck.this color would look bomb on everyone though. This is my best friend for real
You can check out my full review on all the colors I have and formulation

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mkinthecity on 5/24/2014 10:28:00 PM more reviews by mkinthecity

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Sooooooo hard to find! And when I did, it did not disappoint! Beautiful perfect flush for the lips. A natural color that is a must. MLBB that leans pink (instead of brown like most MLBB shades!) which makes it look like a more youthful touch of color. Also makes my teeth look whiter:) Very girly and demure (dabbed on!) I love that there is no fragrance and it lasts. You do need a lip balm but I always wear one anyways.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AMSClassic on 2/15/2014 2:20:00 PM more reviews by AMSClassic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I just ran back to Walmart and bought every tube they had in this shade. Earlier this morning I had thrown it in the shopping cart while grocery shopping, thinking it would probably most likely end up in my used-only-a-few-times lipstick graveyard. I went home, put away my groceries, and decided to try out the lipstick. OMG. This is the medium pink lipstick I have been looking forrrreverrrrr for. From low end to high end. I literally got right back in my cat and went back an bought what they had left. HG for real!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kayben on 7/17/2013 3:24:00 PM more reviews by kayben

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Highly pigmented medium pink that does not clash with warm-toned skin. Formulation is thick and needs to be applied with care, then blotted . This is not a slap-it-on and go lipstick.

The packaging for my particular lipstick is laughably bad, comes apart; the swivel mechanism is like the bum wheel on a shopping cart, but I absolutely would buy this color again and will be looking at other matte shades for fall.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nahlaelkadi on 4/3/2013 3:38:00 PM more reviews by nahlaelkadi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite lipstick EVER!!!!!! Seriously I can't find any other color like this lipstick ... It's a pink color that's quite on the bright side. I wear it day and night the color is s pigmented and u can build the color as intense as u like . I've been also combining this color with the Revlon Matte lipstick in the shade SKY PINk and OMG I love the color that they both give me .... U should definitely try this combo

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* husserl on 1/15/2013 3:13:00 AM more reviews by husserl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow! What a great day-time pink! I'm usually a total sucker for super hot pinks during the day (think MUFE 36, Chanel Super, MAC Candy Yum Yum) but I really needed something just a bit more conservative for work.


I didn't want to throw down the big bucks while I was still experimenting to find out what kinds of daytime colors I'd like. I definitely didn't expect that this would be such a little gem in the process! Not only is this is a really a flattering color for me, I'm really blown away by the formula. How can something that costs the same as my cafe latte stay on so well, be so pigmented, and have a really pretty semi-matte finish? I don't need to know. It just works.


I do find these about as drying as any other matte shade (maybe slightly less), so I like to top it with a bit of chap-stick or Aquaphor.


One huge draw back is the packaging, though. There is a LOT to be desired there. Maybe that's how WnW can afford to keep the cost down. I don't feel too comfortable twisting these lipsticks up and down. I get the sense that they could just break off easily. Other than that, I think there's a really great product inside what is otherwise lame packaging!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Maryangels96 on 12/14/2012 3:23:00 PM more reviews by Maryangels96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE THISSSSS!!! The main reason i bought this was to try it out as if it was my natural lip color, and when you kinda dab it one, it looks sooo natural but if you want a bold color for a night out, just swipe it on directly....i wore it both ways and wow!!!
I dab it on for a natural look and at night when im going out with my friends, this bold baby helps my look sexy and beautiful at the same time!!!
The only con is the packaging where it broke 2-3 days later..where the lipstick tube separated from the part it was actually stuck in to..
But other than that i love it and it is an amazingggggg lipstick!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MadchenRogue on 9/29/2012 7:09:00 PM more reviews by MadchenRogue

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

**this is a review I posted on my blog**

Let me tell you, I had the longest day. Seriously. I thought I was going to give myself a break. But since I applied the lipstick for the day, I thought it would be a good opportunity to tell you what I thought about it. Ok...on with the show! *lol*

I bought the lipstick last night. I actually thought it looked like a pretty pink lipstick. Wet n Wild is one of those brands (it used to be...not that much anymore) that there would be a "hit" or "miss" product. In other words, they either had some great items and some that were not worth the money. But at $2.14 with tax, I wanted to give this shade a chance. The color took me by surprise! It is a really pretty matte pink shade. Like a carnation color! So, if you are looking for an opaque Pink color, this shade is right on the money!
According to Wet n Wild official website (wnwbeauty.com) this is what they describe the Megalast lipsticks in general. " Lips take center stage! This 4-hour, longwearing lip color leaves a semi-matte, crème finish in one stroke. Glides on easily with rich, velvety color that doesn't cake, feather, or bleed. Made with hydrating skin-care ingredients: Hyaluronic Microspheres provide extraordinary adhesion to lips, an exclusive polymer complex offers cushion-like feel and texture, and natural marine plant extracts Coenzyme Q10 and Vitamins A & E help smooth lips".
Okay here are my thoughts. They are 100% correct in saying that it is semi- matte, because its true and only so slightly it leans creme. So if you LOVE matte shades or lipsticks in general, you will enjoy this formula. My lips did not dry out, so there was no discomfort experience when wearing this particular lipstick. In fact the photo you see of me with my lipstick on is in fact taken after 3 hours of wear time!!! No touch ups at all!! And also let me just say this is a very pigmented lipstick, so pigmented I had to use my fingers just to glide the lipstick on the side of my lips. SERIOUSLY! For a 2 dollar lipstick the pigmentation is phenomenal. I did not experience any feathering.
So the bottom line is: this lipstick ROCKED!!! I love it, completely love it and I encourage you to try it out.

**Positives**
Complete opaque lipstick
Comfortable Matte formula
Lipstick color flattering
Affordable ++++!!!

**Negatives**
Availability

Wet n Wild is just one of those brands that are available in the USA. A pity since I am sure many people regardless of their country of origin would love to give this brand a chance. HOWEVER, there are good news! There are places online which you can purchase it!

So would I recommend this lipstick? 110% HELL YES!!!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Wet 'n' Wild products

More Lipstick products