Ellis Faas • Skin Veil • Foundations

rated 4.1(47 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 ipakis on 12/13/2014 5:34:00 PM more reviews by ipakis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I live in Turkey. Because of the taxes, cosmetic prices are higher than most of the other countries. Anyway I paid a little fortune - 240 turkish liras- , I had enough faith that its gonna work. Maybe my expectations were too high I dont know. My skin color is nc15-20( not that yellow, on the neutral side). I bought the color 101.This color is peachy neutral undertone. Because of the little peachiness it brightens up my complexion.The problem about this foundation are
1) it doesnt last. REALLY. I can only manage this work max 5 hours. It slides off after a while. I cannot make this foundation to stick to my face. I used different primers and powders. I tried with cargo hd primer - haurglass skin veil primer - cicaplast - porefessional. None of them make any difference. I also tried nars light reflecting setting powder - kryolan transparant - givenchy prisme libre - la praire cellular powder treatment - too faced invisible. The best manageble combo is hourglass primer and nars light reflecting setting powder.
2)It feels like you cannot spread this because of thickness. But somehow after you rubbed into the skin, it melts on the skin so much and you realize you need to blend more and more. Eventually you end up with overblending . Therefore getting good coverage becomes difficult. First you think 1 pump probably wont be enough, but then you realize nearly half pump is enough to cover your entire face. By the way applying with beauty blender cause so much product waste. You should apply it with your hands first. Then you should use bb to get hd effect.
3) It oxidized a little. You dont look like orange but you look definetely a little bit darker.

Dont get me wrong it is a good foundation. Look like a skin. It gives a beautiful glow to the skin. Unfortunately, it didnt wow me. You can get the same effect with
1) rimmel wake me up (if you can get a good color match)
2) armani designer lift ( only gives same effect if you apply little amount. Remember less is more.)
3) skin79 bb cream (espeacially the pink and gold ones)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joy2uandme on 12/8/2014 11:05:00 AM more reviews by joy2uandme

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

For once I was smart and asked Ellis Faas for samples and waited the nearly 4 weeks. They finally came and I expected a ton from this foundation. It sounded like it would tick all of my boxes but sadly it did not.

Coverage: On me was almost non-existent. I get better coverage from tinted moisturizers.

Texture: Goes on super light but as the day wore on I felt I could scrape this off of my skin with a fingernail. It felt pasty and looked powdery after 8 hours of wear.

Colors: I received the 1st four colors and could wear 02 and 03. 02 looked too light on me at first but oxidized to probably the better color choice. Comparing the two side by side, 02 is more peachy in the tube. 03 looked better initially but did not wear on my skin as well, color wise. I am NC 25, Chantecaille vanilla, L'Oreal nude beige, MUFE 20.

Wearability: Lasted all day on me but like I said above I wanted to remove it after 8-10 hours but I made myself wear it all day until bed so I could really see what it was all about.

Finish: A lot of people talk about the luminising qualities of this foundation but I didn't experience that at all. I didn't see any minimizing of flaws, any betterment of the look of my skin. Nothing to speak of. I look better with just concealer, and I like and wear foundation most days.

Skin Reaction: This made me break out! Haven't done that in awhile to a makeup so pretty surprised.

Thank God I got samples first. I was so ready to jump on this band wagon but this just was no good for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rbkh on 12/6/2014 3:07:00 AM more reviews by rbkh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

As a makeup fanatic, I'm always on the lookout for the latest and greatest, so when I learned about Ellis Faas and her makeup line, I tried out a bunch from her line, including the raved about $90 foundation. At this price point, I was really expecting perfection, so I had high expectations to begin with. For reference: I am NC 18-20, neutral to cool undertones and 102L is my match (surprisingly, I have seen this shade match several people lighter and slightly darker so it actually covers the light to light-medium range well. For fair choose 101, for medium range near NC25 recommend 103)

Starting with the PROs, this medium to full coverage foundation applies smooth and lighter than you expect for the coverage ( but still heavier than you see with sheerer formulas that give lighter coverage), and does a good job wearing like your-skin-but better with a medium luminosity (doesn't require a highlighter mixed in or radiant primer to achieve). Instant love. Films beautifully. SPF 15, no flashback. Ideal for normal to dry and combination skin in fair weather. Texture leans to creamy consistency but more like you expect in a light gel formula (even though it's not). This formula will slip in excessive heat, but I actually do expect that in any liquid formula so I don't take points off. I have combination skin with some dry patches and this did not accentuate pores, did not sink into fine lines, did not cling to dry patches, and did not oxidize noticeably-- all key factors for judging a good foundation. Good for year-round use except for extreme heat/humidity.

CONs would be that this formula has limited longevity, which is unacceptable at this price point. With my normal/combination skin, my T-zone can get shiny, but usually can get away without blotting or minimal blotting until 8th or 9th hour. With this foundation, I had to blot and powder by the 5th hour...and it was much oilier than normal. The rest of the application did not have any issues under normal (fair to cold) weather conditions but the T-zone was noticeably oily despite testing use with primers, powders, setting sprays, or finishing powders. (This could be perfect with a mattifying primer for oily skin types, but I do not like matte primers so I did not try) Provided average lasting power around my typical problem areas like redness around nose. Also limited shades which can be a problem for those who require more than neutral undertones or deeper shade ranges.

Does this beat Lancome, Nars, Aucoin, YSL, Guerlain, Chanel, and Armani? In my opinion, yes. But! At this price point, I do expect much more...even at $60 (where most of the comps range) I want to see better longevity in the formula given there are so many good alternatives priced more competitively. But the wear and coverage is good enough that I will continue to wear this until it runs out , and just make sure to blot and powder consistently. As this is EF's first and only foundation on the market (she has the same formula in her signature pen tube -- but this costs even more per fl oz so unless you require for travel I highly recommend the full bottle). This is a good foundation debut, but for the cost, I will wait for the next latest-and-greatest to hit her collection instead of purchasing again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* michelle888 on 11/26/2014 8:56:00 PM more reviews by michelle888

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have come out of reviewing retirement to write about this particular foundation. It is like NONE other that I have ever tried. It is without doubt, alchemy in a bottle. Most liquid (and really any formula) foundations always oxidize on me, so it's exteremely frustrating to shop, as, when I apply something in the store, almost always it changes colors within 1/2 hour! As predictable as the sun following the moon! Even a sales lady at Nordstorm was astounded watching another well known liquid turn orange on me before her very eyes a few weeks ago! (NB, I had no primer on, and vary primers at home, so what's underneath is not the culprit). So, I usually buy one shade lighter than what matches me in the store, or sadly, two shades, to mix, which is a gamble in practical use, because I have a chance of it not oxidizing enough and can look ghostly in public!

Anyway, after reading other reviews on this extremely expensive stuff, I begrudgingly tried it on in shades 101 and 102 ( the former seemingly more yellow toned and very very light, while the latter was more of an NW20 shade on me). I walked around the store, and tried to wait the required 1/2 hour for orange-turning, and WHAT? It did not happen! Instead, my face looked absolutely fantastic, lit, awake, energized, and fresh! NO oxidation, and NO glitter, but an UNBELIEVEABLE luminesscence looked back at me!

I used unbelieveable restraint, and waited to purchase this infernally expensive product. Instead, I went out, went home, and waited at least six hours to review and re-think whether I wanted to spend 90 bucks on make up when shoes are on sale! (Please note, I am not interested in the trendy pen-type applicators, so the full bottle was my only consideration). I looked in my home mirror and was absolutely thrilled at my complexion. Not only did both shades completely conform into my skin, they both looked seamless, true-to-my-neutral coloring, and I was absolutely dazzled that my skin was even, "lit-from-within" and glowed (with NO sparkles!)

I am addicted to this stuff, and will repurchase it til the end of time! Please try it, it may save you a lot of frustration and money wasted on finding your holy grail, which you will not only love, but USE!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 suzwana on 11/19/2014 4:59:00 PM more reviews by suzwana

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation glides on beautifully, but for me it only lasts an hour or two and then it's disappeared. I have a little trouble blending the colour into my jawline without it standing out. It has a beautiful finish and it really does look natural, but for me it doesn't last long enough to warrant the expensive price tag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sarasotagirl on 11/5/2014 4:41:00 PM more reviews by Sarasotagirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A medium-coverage foundation that really does blend to look like bare skin.

The YouTube gurus are right: This is a game-changer that hits the sweet spot of good coverage, great blendability, excellent wear and supreme undetectability. I don't know what chemists Ellis Faas is using, but they've knocked it out of the park with both the concealer and the foundation in her line. (Not so much with the click pens; get this in the bottle.) Use a damp Beauty Blender to get this to glide like buttah.

So, any quibbles? Price: $90 an ounce. Ouch. If you have good (unlined, unblemished) skin, you might not need this level of technology. But if you're old and speckled, as I am, $90 almost doesn't seem like too much. I wear S101 on my pale (NC10 or so, Color IQ 3Y01), neutral-to-warm skin.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Narsfanatic on 9/17/2014 6:46:00 AM more reviews by Narsfanatic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't like their click pen system so I bought the glass bottle one. Although im a bit obsessed with foundation, this is the only one I've been using consistently. It's pricey, but it works for my dry skin. I don't have blendability issues like others and I tend I use my fingers or mac's oval brush when I want to layer for more coverage. The finish is dewy but not overly so, very natural, didn't emphasize pores either . Coverage? I'd say medium coverage and buildable

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 addkg777 on 8/25/2014 10:08:00 PM more reviews by addkg777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

its kind of ironic because right before i recieved this foundation, i had sworn off foundations for good. i couldnt find the right color, texture, long wear, and most importantly for me, not break me out. and im one of those who have tried ALOT of foundations. from the cheapest to the high end. admittedly, i swapped for this so i didnt techincally pay the 90$ but i will once i run out. which will take forever because i have the glass frosted bottle.

the reason i swore off foundation before this is because i have old acne scars and noticable pores. they are very mild and only noticable in certain lighting but when i was wearing a full face of foundation (especially dewy moisturizing) it amplified my scars times a billion. it was horrifying.. so i gave up and decided to stick with concealers. until this came along.

now on to the actual review lol (sorry)
this changed my way of thinking and it is now a holy grail because the finish is TRULY skin like. not dewy. not matte. not semi matte. not satin. if i had to pick, it would be closest to dewy but thats only because its not drying in the least. it literally looks just like my skin.

it last all day on me but since my skin leads oily in the summer time, my natural oils start to break through and honestly i love it. it stays true to color. no oxidation and s101 is perfect for my fair skin. some of the reviews below said they noticed it turn a little pink on them. for me this was not the case at all. its very neutral on me.

it does not amplify my pores or small scars in any lighting. and trust me ive checked haha. it just looks extremly natural! it doesnt make me break out and i always wear a new foundation on one half of my face for a few days just to be sure :)

the texture isnt runny and its not creamy. i cant think of another foundation texture to compare it to but this blends seamlessy and effortlesly. i only apply this to flaws or discolorations on my face and blend it into my skin with sephora multi tasker brush

the coverage is a light to medium. i dont think its like a tinted moisturizer at all. if i need a little extra coverage, i can apply one more light layer and it does the trick! no cakiness ever.

all in all, even with the expensive price tag, i will always own this :) having nice looking skin is very important to me and this has given me a confidence in myself that no other makeup base has ever given me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iceburger on 8/18/2014 6:21:00 AM more reviews by iceburger

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favourite foundations of all time. For reference, I am an NC30 with strong olive (green) undertones and have combo/oily skin. I don't have acne or any major scarring. I need foundation to even out my skin tone and make it look smooth, polished and pretty. This foundation fits the bill very well.

Before we start, another variable I feel compelled to include in this review is my skin prep, as it will very likely affect the performance of this foundation. At the time I used this foundation, I always prepped my skin with Kiehl's Ultra Facial Moisturiser and Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Cream SPF50. The latter makes all of my foundations last 10+ hours, so keep that in mind.

SHADE: None of the shades match me perfectly. 104 has strong yellow undertones but is too dark for me. 103 is a better match depth-wise but is too pink.

PACKAGING: The bottle is very practical in design: the pump dispenser is very easy to use and you can easily control the amount of product dispensed. I have never dropped my bottle, so I have no idea how fragile it is. The plastic cap, however, is very flimsy.

TEXTURE/CONSISTENCY: This reminds me of Chantecaille Future Skin. It is a very thick gel foundation. Although viscous, it is very lightweight and easy to blend into the skin. It doesn't spread well due to its thickness, so I would recommend either dabbing a bit all over your face before you attempt to blend.

COVERAGE: I use one pump and I would say it offers light-medium coverage, which is perfect for my needs (described above). You can build it up to a solid medium coverage.

FINISH: In between dewy and satin. It is very luminous and skin-like but not greasy or oily. The finish is very refined, and the foundation is undetectable on the skin, even in natural lighting. I hate it when foundations look obvious on the skin and look like 'makeup'; this foundation is not like that at all. My skin still looks like skin but 10x better. It is great at optically blurring my pores and other textural imperfections. My skin looks so smooth with this but never fake or made up. A word of caution though: When my skin was flaking heavily due to starting Differin usage, it emphasized my flakes.

LONGEVITY: The selling point of this foundation in my opinion is that it is both luminous and long-lasting. When I think of long-lasting foundations, I tend to think of heavy, full-coverage, matte foundations like Estee Lauder Double Wear or Revlon Colorstay. I'm not a fan of those and it frustrates me because I have oily skin, so I need something that's tenacious. This foundation blows my mind. I've worn this clubbing in summer. Lots of dancing and sweating was involved but this foundation stayed put, even though I didn't use my usual sunscreen (since it was night time). Sweat still breaks though and I'll get shiny, but this foundation won't slide right off, or become patchy or cakey like many luminous foundations do. It doesn't last as long as MAC Pro Longwear though, which is the most tenacious foundation I have ever used. That one lasts 14+ hours on my oily skin, rain, hail or shine.

PRICE: At AU$110, this is the most expensive foundation I have ever purchased.

FINAL VERDICT: This is a fantastic foundation, but it's not worth the price in my opinion. The reason being that I have tried other foundations that look even better (especially Armani Luminous Silk and Designer Lift) and are cheaper. It isn't flake-friendly, so if you have such a skin issue, stay away from it. Furthermore, I have no shade match in this foundation. I would actually give it a 4.5 if I could.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RJDJ54 on 6/13/2014 10:13:00 AM more reviews by RJDJ54

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my HG foundation.
Ellis Faas skin veil foundation i love you!

I am in Mac terms a NW20(winter)/NW25(summer) and have used the foundation pen in S102 and now i have the bottle in S103


At first when i got the pen i hated it, it was a struggle to get anything out, but then i watched the video on the website and i did everything wrong :-)
i used it on a part of my face and i got scared, it looked very pink and milky but when i buffed it futher on it seemed to addapt to my skincolor and it looked as if i had nothing on my face but made me look so amazing.

Just a awsom dewy medium coverage foundation that really looks like skin (but better)

i do have the bottle now because of the price and content (that is cheaper) It is pricey but it is so worth it.

I use the expert face brush by real techniques and/or the sigma f82 to apply it. And you only have to use one pomp and it covers your entire face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ellis Faas products

More Foundations products