Sigma • SS168 Large Angled Contour Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 3.5(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 hanknelmer on 2/7/2014 7:12:00 PM more reviews by hanknelmer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've had this brush a couple years , mine has the old numbering on it. The ferrule has always been super loose, which I find really annoying, but it hasn't fallen off yet. It's too large for contouring or highlighting, I would not recommend it for that. I am now in the market for something better but not yet sure what to buy. Mine does not stink or shed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Laurennnuhhh on 3/10/2013 9:17:00 PM more reviews by Laurennnuhhh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got this brush included in the Make Me Cool kit. I don't use this for blush but I do use it for my bronzer. It's not really that great of a brush, to be honest. I rarely use this brush but when I do I notice that my bronzer actually stains the hairs on the brush. When I washed it for the first time, the hairs went in all crazy directions and now they are permanently like that. The bronzer stains also did not wash out and now it's like tinted brown. Some of the hairs are going one way and some the other, even with a shaper on it. I'm really disappointed in this brush, I was expecting more since I paid over $100 for the kit. I would not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Themonsunxxx on 4/29/2012 5:16:00 PM more reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Lovely for highlight and blush. My only gripe is that the ferrule was obviously not made very well. It was loose when I received it so I have to be very careful with this brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* channingto on 4/10/2012 3:27:00 AM more reviews by channingto

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I'm pretty much in love with this brush. I use it for contouring or blush (I place them in almost the same places, the blush just a little higher but not on my apples).. it's perfect! It grabs the perfect amount of color and I can easily control it to be lighter or darker and it blends my contour shade SO easily! I've really enjoyed using this brush! (I use it with my elf bronzer from the bronzer/blush duo)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 wongo2011 on 4/4/2012 9:26:00 AM more reviews by wongo2011

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was one of the first sigma brushes that I bought along with the round top kabuki brush. I really wanted to try this out because I saw Jen frmheadtotoe use it. I have to say I'm really disappointed in this brush when I first recieved it, it smelt absolutely horrendous but after a few washes it kind of went away. This brush does not pick a lot of product, it has some individual hairs which pricked my skin and it does blend my blushes or contour powder very well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lilblue10 on 3/5/2012 9:53:00 PM more reviews by lilblue10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This brush is awesome ! I think its my most used brush of all the brushes I own. I use it for blush,highlighter,contour,powder. I actually love it so much that I got 2 of them . It never sheds, and it's just so soft and perfect !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mybeadifullife on 11/19/2011 10:33:00 PM more reviews by mybeadifullife

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to blush brush for every day. In my opinion, its too fluffy for contouring. It distributes blush however, very nicely over the cheeks. i also use it for all-over bronzer and powder when travelling.

it feels very soft, and is an excellent price. it doesn't shed, and i have had mine for almost a year now, and it still looks great.

for that reason, I am purchasing a second one to put in my travel makeup bag--i put all my favorites/double duty products in a bag for the gym and work touch-ups.



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 8/23/2011 5:12:00 AM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is called the F40 now that Sigma changed their brush names. I was also disappointed with this. I wash my brushes before the first use and this didn't hold it's shape very well afterwards. It's not ideal for contouring because the bristles spread too far apart losing it's density. The bristles were soft though and didn't feel scratchy. Overall, I don't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 gingersparkles on 2/21/2011 2:43:00 PM more reviews by gingersparkles

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

This brush is nothing special. The bristles flay out when I try to contour, getting product all over my cheek instead of in the crease. It doesn't pick up much product but what it does pick up streaks on the face. I have a Sonia Kashu angled brush that is just as good as this one. Very disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MsFuzzyBuddy on 2/16/2011 11:21:00 PM more reviews by MsFuzzyBuddy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Again, the numbering clearly indicates that this brush is to be compared with the MAC version. As such, a comparison is warranted. I purchased this brush as an inexpensive alternative to the MAC version, and yes, it is similar and does the job of applying blush or any other face product probably just as well. However, this is much scratchier than the MAC version, is bigger and the bristles splay much more too. I went into a MAC store and to pick up some blush and the MA used her 168 on me and I was shocked at how soft it felt on my skin compared to my Sigma brush. I hadn't intended to buy a brush at all but I did so to save my skin. After all of my experience with Sigma brushes versus MAC brushes, I wish I had saved my money on the Sigma brushes, and bought fewer MAC brushes with the same money in order to get quality. Sigma offers quantity versus quality; you should decide which you want before you buy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sigma products

More Makeup Brushes products