Sigma SS168 Large Angled Contour Brush

3.5

17 reviews

41% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/7/2014 7:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I've had this brush a couple years , mine has the old numbering on it. The ferrule has always been super loose, which I find really annoying, but it hasn't fallen off yet. It's too large for contouring or highlighting, I would not recommend it for that. I am now in the market for something better but not yet sure what to buy. Mine does not stink or shed.



on 3/10/2013 9:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I got this brush included in the Make Me Cool kit. I don't use this for blush but I do use it for my bronzer. It's not really that great of a brush, to be honest. I rarely use this brush but when I do I notice that my bronzer actually stains the hairs on the brush. When I washed it for the first time, the hairs went in all crazy directions and now they are permanently like that. The bronzer stains also did not wash out and now it's like tinted brown. Some of the hairs are going one way and some the other, even with a shaper on it. I'm really disappointed in this brush, I was expecting more since I paid over $100 for the kit. I would not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/29/2012 5:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Lovely for highlight and blush. My only gripe is that the ferrule was obviously not made very well. It was loose when I received it so I have to be very careful with this brush.


on 4/10/2012 3:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Black

I'm pretty much in love with this brush. I use it for contouring or blush (I place them in almost the same places, the blush just a little higher but not on my apples).. it's perfect! It grabs the perfect amount of color and I can easily control it to be lighter or darker and it blends my contour shade SO easily! I've really enjoyed using this brush! (I use it with my elf bronzer from the bronzer/blush duo)


on 4/4/2012 9:26:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was one of the first sigma brushes that I bought along with the round top kabuki brush. I really wanted to try this out because I saw Jen frmheadtotoe use it. I have to say I'm really disappointed in this brush when I first recieved it, it smelt absolutely horrendous but after a few washes it kind of went away. This brush does not pick a lot of product, it has some individual hairs which pricked my skin and it does blend my blushes or contour powder very well.


on 3/5/2012 9:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Silver, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This brush is awesome ! I think its my most used brush of all the brushes I own. I use it for blush,highlighter,contour,powder. I actually love it so much that I got 2 of them . It never sheds, and it's just so soft and perfect !


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my go-to blush brush for every day. In my opinion, its too fluffy for contouring. It distributes blush however, very nicely over the cheeks. i also use it for all-over bronzer and powder when travelling.

it feels very soft, and is an excellent price. it doesn't shed, and i have had mine for almost a year now, and it still looks great.

for that reason, I am purchasing a second one to put in my travel makeup bag--i put all my favorites/double duty products in a bag for the gym and work touch-ups.




on 8/23/2011 5:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is called the F40 now that Sigma changed their brush names. I was also disappointed with this. I wash my brushes before the first use and this didn't hold it's shape very well afterwards. It's not ideal for contouring because the bristles spread too far apart losing it's density. The bristles were soft though and didn't feel scratchy. Overall, I don't recommend it.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This brush is nothing special. The bristles flay out when I try to contour, getting product all over my cheek instead of in the crease. It doesn't pick up much product but what it does pick up streaks on the face. I have a Sonia Kashu angled brush that is just as good as this one. Very disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/16/2011 11:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Again, the numbering clearly indicates that this brush is to be compared with the MAC version. As such, a comparison is warranted. I purchased this brush as an inexpensive alternative to the MAC version, and yes, it is similar and does the job of applying blush or any other face product probably just as well. However, this is much scratchier than the MAC version, is bigger and the bristles splay much more too. I went into a MAC store and to pick up some blush and the MA used her 168 on me and I was shocked at how soft it felt on my skin compared to my Sigma brush. I hadn't intended to buy a brush at all but I did so to save my skin. After all of my experience with Sigma brushes versus MAC brushes, I wish I had saved my money on the Sigma brushes, and bought fewer MAC brushes with the same money in order to get quality. Sigma offers quantity versus quality; you should decide which you want before you buy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Makeup Brushes


Core Collection
207 Reviews
Stippling Brush
260 Reviews
Buffing Brush
110 Reviews


Back to Top