Silk Naturals • -Super Serum • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.8(15 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 kmk3s on 3/13/2014 5:42:00 PM more reviews by kmk3s

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

(Sigh) I really wanted to love this product! I think that Silk Naturals is a great company, and there are great ingredients in this serum, but I was still disappointed. I've used one other C product (ROC multi correxion night cream) and it gave me a really nice glow! I was surprised that I didn't get that from this product. In fact, I didn't notice really any changes at all. (I was hoping it would brighten, boost and even out my complexion). This does last the entire 3 months shelf life very well - I've had mine for 3-4 months, and I'm just finishing it now. One other tricky point is when to put it on. I've read that c serums are better for the day, but this formed a film on my face that sometimes made my dry skin a bit drier and flakier, so it wasn't always easy to just throw it on under makeup :( I am still curious to try other Silk Natural products and serums, but this just wasn't the vitamin C serum for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MbMinx on 9/10/2013 4:41:00 PM more reviews by MbMinx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I tried four of the Silk Naturals serums and Super Serum came out on top for me. It's a thin serum - not watery, but liquidy, if you get where I'm going. The bottle is nice enough - nothing fancy - with a pump top. I'm a "more is better kinda" gal so I use about three pumps to cover my face and down my neck. Even with that, the bottle has lasted me a couple of months.

I like that it is a stable C serum. L-AA sounds great, but I'm just not that motivated to make serum every few days. The MAP is much more stable and it seems to work quite well. OK, I'm not seeing a HUGE difference, but antioxidants like that are about preventing damage more than they are about fixing problems. That said, this serum has been evening out my skin tone and healing my blemishes. My skin loves niacinamide and it also loves the sulfur. I don't notice any smell to this at all.

I don't find it to be moisturizing at all, which is fine for my combination/oily skin. I can always moisturize over it. In the hot, humid summer air, there's no need for that.

One note of caution - niacinamide reacts to acids, which can (and does) cause flushing. I can use this with my morning BHA IF I wait a few minutes for the BHA to dry down. Wash my face, BHA, brush my teeth, get dressed, apply Super Serum. With that routine, I've had no problems at all.

I heartily recommend this serum. It's a very nice, stable, reasonably priced C serum, with added anti-oxidants and niacinamide. It even has a bit of sulfur, which can be helpful for fighting acne. I would definitely buy it again.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loveableqtpie212 on 5/13/2013 4:19:00 PM more reviews by loveableqtpie212

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've used bha's and aha's for years, and they've been great to keep my skin clear and pretty even, however something was missing. This has been the missing ingredient in my skincare regimen. It is my first vitamin C serum and I am extremely pleased with it. I have acne-prone skin and so far am not having any negative reactions. I've been using the serum daily for about 3 weeks and my skintone has never looked this even before. No more splotchiness or redness, no more dullness. Words can not describe how happy I am with this serum, not to mention how affordable it is for a product that truly delivers.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blairXwitch on 4/8/2013 8:54:00 PM more reviews by blairXwitch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I had high hopes for this serum, but as it turns out, I am allergic to it and can no longer use it.
I bought the full size, and used it twice. The first time, I didn't notice anything wrong with my face, however the following day I saw I had a strange rash on my right hand (the one I apply product with), but I had no idea what had caused it.
Fast forward to 2 days ago, I applied the serum again, and because the bottle squirts it out unevenly, some of the serum went down my arm. Lo and behold, yesterday once again I noticed the same rash had developed on my hand, and it also followed the pattern on my arm where the serum drop had traveled down my arm! Also, this time my face feels itchy and looks red, like I have a sunburn, so unfortunately it's obvious, I am allergic to this product.
Other than that, it didn't break me out and my face does feel softer...but of course I won't use it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rose1234 on 3/20/2013 12:44:00 PM more reviews by rose1234

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am finishing up the sample of this serum which was often recommended on the skincare board.


If you read my long winded skin history below, you can see that I had my skin back on track from a worrisome bumpiness/acne-like reaction to dehydration. But, up until now, I have never had lines around my eyes and I am just turning 35. Also, my forhead is starting to show a few tiny creases and the bridge of my nose seems a bit crinkly. I wanted something beyond moisture. I got a sample of this serum and a few others for super cheap and my skin has shown a lot of improvement. I am ordering the full size as I type in another browser!


I feel like this serum makes my skin glow and calms it down so that any residual redness and puffiness is gone. I am using this and the Facelift serum together (one at night, the other at day), so it is hard to pin point which one is doing what, but my dark scars are fading and I feel like very slowly the fine lines around my eyes are getting a bit better.


I like the description of actives that are on the website since they make me feel like I am doing "something" to combat ageing and I LOVE that none of it irritates my skin in the least. I am putting my $$ where my mouth is and ordering a full size for me and a sample size for my mother in law.


My skin history: I was having issues with my skin after being acne free for about 5 years (I used to have large cysts that lasted for months and then left nasty dark scars that eventually turned into pits. I cleared my skin by researching acne.org and using green tea toner, tea tree oil, burts bees radiance serum (discontinued), purpose redness reducing lotion spf 30 (discontinued) and slept with calamine lotion mask (pink stuff) at night. It took several months, but the calamine lotion especially really helped to reduce the cysts. I would highly recommend.). Recently, was having skin colored bumps, not really fully blown acne, but they were persistent and made my skin quality look terrible. So, I tried the list of stuff that worked before and it was not quite working. I had added several new products since my old stuff was discontinued and everything new did not work, made it worse, or only worked for a day or two. Finally, I just put some of my cetaphil cream on my face one night and expected to wake up with a face that looked like pizza. Image my surprise when my face was so much better in the morning. Then I got it -- it was not acne -- my face was super dehydrated and my pores were enlarged trying to produce enough oil to hydrate my face. Coming from a background of acne and trying to reduce oil, I guess it makes sense I would not recognize dehydrated skin if it (literally) smacked me in the face. From then on, I have been using Cetaphil lotion day and night but I wanted to add something to help especially with overall firmness, the dehydration lines around my eyes, some crinkliness at the bridge of my nose, and the appearance of very fine lines in my forehead. Nothing honestly anyone would notice, except maybe around the eyes when I smile, but I have had NO lines until now and I am not happy about the change.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 spinacha on 3/8/2013 11:17:00 AM more reviews by spinacha

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I read great things about this serum, so I decided to order it online. I was on the search for a serum that was good for acne-prone, clog-prone, sensitive-reactive skin, and this serum came highly recommended.

The packaging for this serum is great. Itís made of hard plastic, so no worries about the bottle breaking if you drop it. It comes with a convenient pump; I had no trouble with the pump at all. The bottle is tinted dark blue, which is great for maintaining the longevity of the active ingredients contained in the serum.

The downfall Ė this serum broke me out practically immediately. After my first use, I woke up the next morning with painful, red and inflamed cystic acne on my chin. I waited a few days to try it again, and sure enough within Ĺ a day of using it, I broke out badly again. I know it was the serum that caused the reaction, as it was the only thing I had done differently in my routine.

Given the reviews Iíve read, Iím sure that this serum can work well for others, but itís not for me. I will not repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Vickybliss on 3/3/2013 1:30:00 PM more reviews by Vickybliss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Lovely serum, ultimately broke me out in those dreaded little white bumps along my forehead. It smells nutty to me, not the most pleasant of scents but not overpowering. I wanted to try this out because of the nice price, no added synthetic fragrances, and fairly minimal ingredients. I'm glad I just got the sample, I do think it's fantastic that SN offers samples on so many of their products. I wish more companies did that! Less waste if it doesn't work. I've been mixing it with my body lotion, to use it up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brownclown on 12/13/2012 1:45:00 AM more reviews by brownclown

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Dear Silk Naturals,

Thank you for creating the best acne treatment I have ever used, and keeping it clean and affordable. Your customer service is stellar. A++

Sincerely,
Roberta

P.S. The packaging is less super, but I forgive you.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 corviddreams on 9/9/2012 2:33:00 AM more reviews by corviddreams

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

SN's Super Serum has done amazing things for my skin. I had some dark patches from sun damage forming on my forehead and after a couple months of use, they are all but gone. I have fewer fine lines, and my skin is brighter too. In addition, I was just diagnosed with Rosacea, and my dermatoligist said that the niacinimide in the Super Serum would help my skin recover faster. My skin is ridiculously sensitive and I have a lot of allergies. I am pleased to have found a reasonably priced product that doesn't make my skin freak out, and does what is says it would.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mo98103 on 8/27/2012 12:13:00 AM more reviews by mo98103

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

In an effort to switch my last remaining "dirty" skin care product, Biologique Recherche p50, which changed my skin from super oily, clog prone and dull to moderately oily, perfectly clear and even toned. This serum has kept me in that state, and it's inexpensive and easy to use. I have had exactly one small pimple in the two months that I have been using this product, and I have no problem leaving the house with just a touch of concealer around the nose and under the eyes and a light dusting of powder. Super Serum has become my #1 most important product. The only thing that I would change is the pump - liquid products aren't great in pumps so I transfer mine into a glass dropper bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Silk Naturals products

More Treatments (Face) products