Dermalogica Pure light spf 30

3.0

12 reviews

33% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS



on 3/17/2015 9:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

PROs:
It really does work! I had a much more even skin tone and goodbye pigmentation spots! It really did protect my skin during the day as well

CONs:
Just like the Chroma white TRx Pure Night, I found that Dermalogica is good for fixing a skin problem but it creates another which makes it hard to repair. I used to have oily skin and after finishing the bottle, I had noticed that my skin had become very dehydrated. I have a strict skin routine and use quality products that are suited for my skin, however, no amount of serum, intense moisture, facials, etc can repair the damage. It has been well over a year since I used it and my skin is suffering for some hydration. It also had a slight white finish on my skin, which is unusual for Dermalogica because I love all their other SPFs that I have used.



on 8/31/2014 12:42:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used another Dermalogica moisturizer before, that left my face matte, and I loved it. I knew I was not buying the same thing, but I thought it would be the same quality. I wanted a moisturizer to use during day time, with some SPF.
The results are similar to others' commenting here. First my face is very sticky and shinny. I have to even wash my hands to remove (wish soap) a layer of oil/wax, so my face is also covered by that. The fact that goes on white it doesn't bother me, because that goes away eventually... but that does happen. But the worst part is the end result: a face so dry that skin peels off. How is that possible?!
I see there is another thread to review this product under sunscreen... So what I will try is use a moisturizer with no SPF (Clinique never fails me) and then this on top. I will at least make it so it is not money gone to the trash.


on 9/13/2013 12:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Although I have combination skin, it dried out my skin so bad that my skin was tight all day long. Will definitely not wear it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/31/2013 5:32:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I live in an Asian country. I have combination oily skin and uneven skin tone. For day care , I often apply moisturizer under sunscreen and finally finish with loose powder. That takes me much time before hurrying to work in the morning and I feel thick on my skin. Recently, I've found Pure Light spf 30. I've been using for a week . I just apply the Pure Light spf 30 before loose powder. I like it because its three - in - one : moisturizing , sunscreen and base. I feel smooth, soft, and my skin tone is more even. The one thing I don't like is its high price. I have to buy it at $135 in my country. Very expensive ! I will buy it again.


on 8/9/2012 10:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this. I have sensitive skin--I noticed that some other reviewers complained of irritation, but totally opposite for me, thank goodness. The texture is smooth, not gritty or too thick, as some moisturizers with SPF can be. It applies so smoothly and even if you pile it on, it won't lay thickly on, resisting blending. The SPF factor is good, and I always top my moisturizer with an SPF foundation (arbonne currently--but it sucks) or powder (clinique almost powder) anyway. I would HIGHLY recommend it. I hope it brightens over time, but every day i use this, my skin feels very soft, bouncy, and moisturized. Does NOT make me look ashy, despite SPF--i have medium to tan skin, and lots of SPF stuff make me look horrible--this doesn't. I REEEALLY love this.
.
I would recommend that you get the sample sachets of it, if you're unsure, before splurging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2011 7:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was so excited to splash out and buy an expensive moisturiser for once and assumed it would lighten the pigmentation on my forehead. Unfortunately this product dried out my skin and made me look matte and white no matter how dark my foundation was! It also made my skin peel and did little to nothing for my pigmentation-so sad.
I am trying other Dermalogica products now though to give the company another chance and the Age Smart moisturiser is good. I like that they don't test on animals too!


on 7/24/2011 12:46:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This product is fantastic for my skin type. I am very fair and have blemishes and red patches on my nose and the pale skin seems to highlight this even more. I have been looking for a moisturiser with the added benefit of an spf for ages and this seemed to be what I had been looking for. When the pure light moisturiser arrived, I was impressed by the packaging and the moisturiser itself is so easy to apply. Other people have mentioned that pure light can make your face dry, however, I haven't experienced this at all. I feel that the moisturiser is perfect for me as it doesn't make my skin too oily or dry. I did notice a slight improvement in the appearance of my blemishes and my skin did appear to be more radiant after I used this. I think if you had the whole chroma-white range, then, the pigmentation will improve even more, as, all the products in the range will be working together. The moisturiser is also great as a base before putting on make-up. I have tried other moisturisers before which have made the application of make-up difficult and I appeared to have a 'waxy' look. However, this is great as a make-up base as I didn't appear 'waxy' or 'greasy' at all and my skin stayed soft and hydrated all day. Needless to say I will be repurchasing this product as it is a godsend!


on 5/27/2011 7:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using Pure Light for 4 weeks now. I was recommended this product by my Dermalogica skin care specialist as I have asian skin and very typical hyperpigmentation spots all over my cheekbones.

I did not like this moisturizer very much at first - as it was not really moisturizing much and was showing (instead of hiding) all dry patches on my face. I recently learned about moisturizing benefits of jojoba oil and how this oil can be mixed with any moisturizer for the boosting effect. Well, I tried it with Pure Light and it worked PERFECTLY for me!
I use 4 pumps of Pure Light (pumps are really small - so little goes a long way) with 2-3 drops of jojoba oil, mix it in my palm and apply to my face and neck. My face feels really smooth and moisturized for the whole day.

I love micro sparkles and sheer in this moisturizer which give my face an instant glow. I also notice that my dark spots are slowly fading (unfortunately it takes some time to see "unpigmentation" effect) but the skin tone already became brighter and more even.
One lippie off for the price.

P.S. I posted the same review on Dermalogica site and they rejected it - because I dared mentioning a non Dermalogica product on their site! I then emailed Dermalogica requesting to publish my review so they did. But still left a sour aftertaste being treated like this.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2010 5:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I was on the lookout for a moisturizing sunscreen with physical filters, and this one seemed to fit the bill. The website states that it is for all skintypes, but it is definitely nothing for drier skintypes. On the contrary, I feel that it sucks all the moisture out of my skin, leaving it parched, and I can only wear it on top of a heavier moisturizer. Also, it leaves a very sticky surface which I'm not too keen on. So I obviously won't repurchase. Dermalogica is my favourite skincare brand, but I find many of the newer/specialist products to be quite unimpressive, unfortunately.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2010 3:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This sunscreen burned and stung me immediately. I looked at the ingredients and discovered two irritating ingredients: Ylang Ylang (which is disguised as another name on the ingredients list), and linalool (which is a derivative of lavender and is very irritating to some people). I am confused as to why a company so dedicated to preserving and caring for the skin would use irritating ingredients. Even in small amounts these ingredients drive my skin wild. The price was outrageous and the pump bottle was useless. Will not purchase again.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1284 Reviews
Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
441 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
200 Reviews
Back to Top