Formula 10.0.6 Seriously Shine Free Mattifying Moisturizer

2.6

62 reviews

37% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Aloe Barbaden Leaf Juice, Caprylic/Capric Triglyverides, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceterarth-20, Glycerin, Alcohol Denat., Lecithin, Epilobium Angustifolium Extract, Trapaeolum Majus Extract, Terminalia Chebula Extract, Porphyridium Cruentum Extract, Hydroxyethel Ethylcellulose, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Bambusa Arundinacea (Bamboo) Stem Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Slicylic Acid, Sodium Salicylate, Tocopherol, Echinacea, Angustifolia Extract, Pathenol, Fragrance/Parfum, Cyclopentasiloxane, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Linalool.


on 1/21/2015 1:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This isn't a horrible product, just not good for my skin. Yes, it does leave the skin quite matte but I don't think it's moisturizing at all. I need to use a lot of product so my skin doesn't feel dry. I have normal/slightly oily skin and I wouldn't recommend this unless you have very oily skin.



on 1/7/2015 10:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

It surprises me to see so many bad reviews on this product, but I suppose it is just proof that everyone's skin is different.

I have very, very oily skin, so perhaps, that is why it worked so well for me. I don't have a spot of dry skin on my face. It has taken me years of trying different makeup combinations for me to finally find something that doesn't slide off my face in an hour. So, when I say I have oily skin, do not take that lightly.

Upon first using the product I did notice that it had a thinner consistency than most moisturizers I typically use, but I would never classify it as "runny", and I have never had it simply fall out of the tube. I have also never noticed a bad smell, but I have a deviated septum and have experienced lack of proper smell since I was young.

The first time I applied the product to my face it was very cooling and fresh. It reminded me of cucumbers; I think it is the Aloe. I use this directly after a toner which makes me skin slightly tight, and this takes away most of that tightness to where my skin feels like I just had a facial--healthy tight.

It really does keep my face matte all day. Even if I don't do my usual primer, foundation, powder routine, and just throw a BB Cream on, I notice a significant decrease in oiliness.

Since this product takes me excessively oily skin to fairly normal, I can see how anyone that has any slightly dry areas may be irritated by this product.

For me, however, it is a miracle product. I honestly love it. I feel like I have tried every mattifying moisturizer on the planet, and it is such a relief to finally find one that works.

I highly recommend this product to anyone with very oily skin that has tried several mattifying products to no avail

To anyone with dry areas of skin, I do not know if this product would work for you as it very well might dry out your skin.

As for the consistency and smell, that is something personal that I think affects people different ways.


on 9/29/2014 10:29:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Let me preface this review by saying that I have extremely oily skin, and I don't mind if my face feels tight and dry. This moisturizer does not really give much moister. It actually sucks any sort of oil from my face. The product itself is rather liquidy, and runs all over the place. That being said, a little goes a long way and you wouldn't need anymore than a pea size anyway. I really liked this product because it kept me shine free for a good 7-8 hours, which is more than any other product I've tried. But if you have even the slightest bit of dry skin, STAY AWAY. It will emphasize every flake.


on 7/16/2014 9:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought this because I generally need something to control the oil on my face during the summer. This product caught my eye at Ulta. I bought it and brouht it right back the very next day. Why? BECAUSE IT SMELLED LIKE BABY VOMIT!!!!! I put it on before my primer and immediately noticed the awful smell. I wanted to give it a chance for the smell to go away though but it never did. A couple of hours later I thought the smell was gone but as soon as I started sweating I smelled it again. Other reviewers are saying it's a strong aloe smell but I've never had a problem with the smell of aloe. I've even used fresh aloe on burns and such and have never had aloe smell like baby vomit. I actually happen to like the smell of aloe. This did not smell of aloe. It smelled horrid. Perhaps, I bought a bad batch but I sure won't be buying this stuff again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/7/2014 5:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'm one of the few that likes this moisturizer. I'm on my third bottle. I don't use it so much for a moisturizer solely. I use my actual Olay moisturizer first, let that sink in, and then apply this, and I only use it for day. It really mattifies my skin, just like it promises. I have never broken out because of it, I don't feel overly dry, and it doesn't sting my eyes. However, I'm with other reviewers on the smell. It doesn't smell perfumey, but more industrial. We're probably all just smelling the ingredients since there isn't a perfume to cover it. The smell doesn't linger, and I like this product too much to let that temporary smell stop me.

Now, the formula is runny. It's the same with the Best Face Forward cleanser from the same brand. It's watery and takes a little more concentration to make sure it doesn't spill out. A little of this goes a long way, but the consistency sometimes leaves me with a lot more in my hand. However, I found a solution for that actually. I had an empty spray bottle (it was a Stay All Day setting spray, but I used it up). I washed that out and put the moisturizer in there. It's liquid enough to spray through the nozzle without clogging, and it's easier to control. Now it's like a mattifying setting spray plus moisturizer. I just close my eyes and spritz my face, then rub in with my fingertips. It has been much easier to control this way versus trying to find the right tilt angle to keep from losing mass amounts of product. If your only beef with this product is the watery formula, give the spray bottle solution a try.

I will buy this again. The price is phenomenal for a moisturizer, especially because there is so much product. Plus, it leaves me shine free. With a little inventive alteration to the packaging, this is my go-to forsure.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I don't notice an offensive scent, but I agree that the product is liquid. That's probably because there aren't any thickeners in it, and most creams/lotions have those in order to keep that thick and rich texture. I mostly bought it because I hate the feeling of moisturizers in the summer, and I need a t zone mattifier. It works and does the job, so I could care less if it's runny.


on 3/16/2014 5:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

while this product delivers what it claims (mattifying oil-y areas of my face), the formula of the product is too runny. upon opening the product, the moisturizer drips out.

I have been using this product for a week now and I haven't had any breakouts.

as for the scent, my roommate absolutely detests the smell of the product, but i think it's okay. however, if a fragrance-free version were an option, i would purchase that over this one.

i would not purchase this product again because the viscosity of the product ticks me off.


on 3/15/2014 11:23:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product isn't all bad I guess, It does keep my skin oil free (in summers I become oily on T-zone). It is very runny, so be careful when pouring it out because you might get too much. Also I've read some reviews saying how some people have applied it to the eyes... On the packaging it says to "AVOID EYE AREA" in capital letters. Overall I'd say this product is okay, It does help with oilyness, make sure you rub it well into your skin. But I won't be repurchasing due to poor packaging.


on 11/9/2013 4:10:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This moisturizer broke me out badly after several uses. The packaging was messy. The moisturizer was so runny. Put it away and never look back it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2013 12:25:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It doesn't work for me! First I used this to moisturize my face then I applied the No7 Beautifully Matte Make Up Base and then No7 Beautifully Matte Foundation.3 mattefying products I used and my face still oily & had to blot after couple of hours. Oh well...I have to stop believing in any products that claims mattefying, because it never works for me :(.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1265 Reviews
Strobe Cream
428 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top