Ponds • Clarant B3 Normal to Oily Skin • Moisturizers

rated 3.9(55 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Kalady on 7/20/2014 10:08:00 AM more reviews by Kalady

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

PROS: Effective at moisturizing and pigmentation-fighting, not too heavy, cheap, comfortable
CONS: Can feel strangely drying if layered too much, heavily fragranced (which I personally don't mind)

This is an HG moisturizer for me. I use this in conjunction with 2 other moisturizers, but this one is definitely my favorite.

The Clarant B3 was my introduction to the Ponds line. As someone with combination + acne prone + lazy + sensitive + hyperpigmentation-prone skin, I was looking for something simple and gentle that could tick off a lot of my skincare-need boxes. I was particularly attracted to this moisturizer's claims of diminishing dark spots.

This moisturizer is my number one stop for all my needs. The lightening abilities of this are nice and natural, and it has been particularly good at making my initial scars lighter when I first get them as well as treating old scars. The moisturizer itself is an excellent texture for people with combination or oily skin- it is not overly hydrating and is almost a drier formula, but its ability to retain moisture/plump the skin is still present. Lastly, the feeling of this is very comfortable, so during the day I don't feel drowned in it.

My routine: 1 part this, 1 part Ponds Rejuveness Anti-Wrinkle Cream, 1 part Clean&Clear Morning Burst Moisturizer. This beats my hyperpigmentation and has a lovely texture, the Rejuveness provides a ton of moisture and anti-aging benefits, and the Clean&Clear one sheers out the heavier textures of the Ponds creams and melds the products into my skin. I highly recommend this for anyone who wants a very gentle, effective, multipurpose, and comfortable moisturizing routine to get healthier skin.

Overall, this is my HG moisturizer. I love the Ponds line and recommend it to anyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lizzielizay on 6/27/2014 10:02:00 PM more reviews by Lizzielizay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

It didn't do anything for my skin but make me breakout and irritate my skin by turning red. Hasn't even "corrected" my dark spots. I also noticed everytime I applied this cream, that I would get pimples.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Adrianlu on 5/8/2014 4:19:00 PM more reviews by Adrianlu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great moisturizer for oilier skin. I have used both this and the normal version of the product depending on the season. It goes on matte, does not cause breakouts and does cause improvement in skin tone/ dark spots. The formula has niacinamide and sunscreens although no SPF level is listed on the product. My skin has become drier so I wont repurchase but I do have the regular version on hand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 skuper on 5/7/2014 10:13:00 PM more reviews by skuper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

First time using this product. I didnt expect it to have so much fragrance. It is a very thick cream which i love but it makes my skin feel sticky and is drying

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mfguille on 4/23/2014 3:10:00 AM more reviews by mfguille

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

*****I uploaded to pictures of my skin, one of me facing right, and one facing left. both cheeks have shown improvement, my cheek on picture 2 used to be a lot worse than my cheek in picture one. Sorry I didn't have before pictures!*****

This is my second jar. And I feel its about time I gave a review.
I have light/medium skin (NW 20 for reference) and I have uneven skin tone and several dark spots due to previous acne. I am still acne prone, not as much as before, and my skin is not too sensitive. I bought a jar of this because I wanted a (1) good moisturizer for my oily skin (2) even my skin tone and hopefully lighten any dark spots.

I must plead guilty of not having used the first jar religiously and as instructed. Its suggested that you use it in the morning and at night, but I would only use it at night and sporadically--I was not necessarily consistent with my skin care routine. But once I started college my skin changed drastically, so I went back to Pond's Clarant B3.

I used the last third of the moisturizer consistently from fall into winter and early spring of this year (seriously a jar will last you a year or more) and I can testify it is probably the only thing I'll put on my face.

OILY SKIN: Aca-mazing. Seriously. My skin is considerably oily, especially since I wear glasses and have bangs, and it only gets worse in the spring/summertime. This moisturizer is amazing. It balances my skin perfectly. It gives my skin enough moisture but doesn't leave it greasy. It has a matte finish (not drying matte, more like perfect, normal skin matte) which makes it great if its the only thing you'll be putting on your face or as a primer--seriously I've tried it both ways and it works.

LIGHTENING: So I wasn't planning on buying this again, not because I don't love it, but because I am the kind of person that even though something works I can't help but keep trying other stuff. And it was $12 at Walgreens. But I kept doing research and checking how my skin was doing over time. Niacinamide is awesome for any skin type: it's great for aging skin, it improves elasticity, is great for evening skin tone and lightening dark spots--but as long as you protect your skin from sun exposure. And Niacinamide is the fourth ingredient on the list! Usually the order of ingredients is listed from greatest quantity to least, so being fourth on the list is great! Especially for the price ($9-$12). And I HAVE noticed a noticeable difference from the beginning of this school year (September 2013) up to now.

-Less acne (since I've started using it I've only gotten breakouts if I don't wash my face or during my period
-Less redness
-more even skin tone, seriously, I wish I had taken before pictures to prove it
-not as oily skin (somehow its diminished the amount of sebum produced)
-minimized pores
-smooth, even texture

NOTICE: The new jar I purchased is completely new and updated from the first jar, and if possible, I think it's so much better! It's like mousse, and it's light and amazing. The scent is different (yes it's scented) from the first jar. The first jar I had was all pink and the scent was heavier and more powdery/floral (I liked the scent), the new scent is much lighter, fresher, cleaner smelling. I would also prefer a pump dispenser but the jar form is definitely not a deal breaker it only means making sure your hands are clean before applying it to your face but its the same rule for any other moisturizer!

OVERALL: I'd recommend anyone this moisturizer as long as they have oily/combo skin, dry skin might find it lacking in moisture. The price to amount ratio is great, and I find it delivers successfully on everything it's meant for. Seriously love this stuff.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goodcreams on 4/5/2014 10:48:00 AM more reviews by goodcreams

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is great stuff....you would never guess looking at it but it is. For those that say it's a BLEACHING cream, go learn about product ingredients!!! There are NO bleaching ingredients in this product...LOL!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinkmouse09 on 2/27/2014 10:14:00 AM more reviews by pinkmouse09

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was skeptical since it isn't one of the "high dollar/quality" brands but I was wrong! I have always struggled with dark circles and lately my skin had been acne prone. I got the trial size for about $2 about a month ago. WOW! My acne scars are gone and I have much more even skin tone. Dark circles have lessened dramatically. I really don't need to use much either. I hardly even wear makeup anymore, my skin looks that great. THANKS PONDS!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Zuleykka on 1/12/2014 5:19:00 PM more reviews by Zuleykka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very nice product that keeps my oily skin moisturized and thus very soft. It also accomplishes what it says it will, brighten your skin. I have to say though, that it has not clear completely some marks that I have on my face due to birth control pills. I'm on my third bottle, the first two ones were small travel size bottles and the third one is the big jar. But nonetheless I will continue to repurchase because its light, nice, moisturizes and makes my skin look bright and taken care of. I use it in the morning and in the night I use rejuveness. It's a cool duo!

I only wish they add some SPF to it!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BeatFaceBeauty on 1/10/2014 3:01:00 AM more reviews by BeatFaceBeauty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First things first, I have brown skin and this was one of the first products I brought to try to treat hyper pigmentation due to occasional breakouts. I picked up a teeny tiny little baby food sized jar first just to test it out, needless to say it ran out quickly so I purchased a medium sized jar, I used it once a day and this stuff irritated and burned my skin for like the first four days I wore it, and I don't have sensitive skin at all. It does not treat dark spots or give you a radiant complexion this stuff makes you white! Oh no, I can't be having none of that, white ghostly pale face and a brown body, don't sound cute does it? I finally noticed what this stuff was doing to my skin about two wks later and tossed it. This stuff is basically a skin bleaching cream :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Chelle95 on 1/10/2014 12:11:00 AM more reviews by Chelle95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've repurchased 2 times and it's a pretty good moisturizer. It is intended to help with dark spots. So I noticed that after a month my skin started to get lighter. It didn't reduce dark spot appearances, but rather made my overall face white looking. I apply foundation over it so it doesn't really bother me. The only con is that the packaging is horrible. It's unhygienic because you have to dip your fingers in every time and it's worse if you have long nails most of the time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ponds products

More Moisturizers products