Sally Hansen • Complete Salon Manicure - Midnight in NY • Polishes

rated 3.7(16 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 babypinky on 10/15/2014 1:46:00 AM more reviews by babypinky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Well the formula is the worst i have seen. It's like some sort of glue, impossible to lay it on nail properly. So you need to use too much, and it gets too thick and does not dry for hours. Also the color is dull contrary to what you see in bottle. There are great blacks out there, i don't think i will use it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cindi33 on 9/16/2013 12:14:00 AM more reviews by Cindi33

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Polish Love. This is one of my oldest bottles, but also one of my most used polishes ever. It is a gorgeous black creme with micro-tiny multicolored sparkles. This isn't a glitter polish though. Sadly, they don't show up on the nail as well as they do in the bottle. You have to be in strong light for them to show. The glitter seems to take the harsh edge off the flat black creme and adds some softness and makes this oh so girly. This polish brings to mind Butter London's The Black Knight. Same color, same sparkles, only these are micro. This is a simply gorgeous polish. I have fair skin and a lot of dark colors are too harsh for me and wash me out or give me lobster hands, well not this one, this polish is a warm toned black and it looks simply fabulous on me! This was a little patchy on the first coat but it is opaque in 2 coats and glides on very smoothly. I do like the flat paddle type brush it is much easier to wipe excess polish with only 2 sides. The brush is short and stubby with a tapered tip but it works okay. I have 19 (shocking- I know. I shouldn't have counted, I thought it was like 9 bottles) black polishes and this is The One I reach for over and over. I love this polish. Even though I haven't seen this polish in stores for a couple of years now, it is still readily available on line for purchase. Yay! I love this pretty polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondbunny on 3/14/2013 10:53:00 AM more reviews by blondbunny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Not impressed with this at all its to thin for a start which means more added coats the finish is ok color is pretty but I expected more as it looked amazing in the bottle but the worse thing I hate the most about this nail varnish is how long it takes to dry its ridicilous who has that kind time on there hands 0_0 first and last sally hansen nail polish this was a total flop...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TopNote on 11/9/2012 7:59:00 PM more reviews by TopNote

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

wow i can't believe the bad reviews this got. It took only 2 coats for full color for me. Love the multi colored glitter in this polish, its nice and subtle. dries to a shiny finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 9/11/2012 3:13:00 PM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Takes at least three coats to look good. It is streaky, glumpy and the brush is too thick and just awful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 loveking on 5/29/2012 12:22:00 AM more reviews by loveking

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

What a disaster. Looks great from the outside, but horrible on the nail. Sure it takes 3 coats for maximum opacity and the glitter looks great when wet but after a good quality top coat (seche vite) in hopes of sealing that 3d glitter effect ... kabloom .. disappointment.

The shine is absolutely gone, it has an almost velvet finish and is streaky upon the first application. The glitter is barely noticable.

It's an almost black varnish with green, red, purple, blue and gold glitter runny through it. The brush is similar to Dior's and I personally hate it on my thumb but it's not a bad tool for the rest of my fingers. It doesn't chip as fast as other varnishes so staying power is alright.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 olithea on 12/22/2011 3:28:00 AM more reviews by olithea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

In search of a black creme that I could buy in my neighborhood, I struck out several times before deciding to get this color. I like the packaging and the brushes for Complete Salon, but I hesitate over the $8 price tag every time.
The formula is decent and dries fairly quickly, with two coats giving me even coverage. I'm not wild about the glitter in the color, but it's not really noticeable indoors. Black nail polishes can sometimes lean too cool and look sort of flat, but this seems to be a warm black with some depth to it. I used two coats of Sally Hansen Mega Shine over this.
I'm hard on my nails, but I got two or three days worth of wear out of it before I really damaged the manicure, most of the initial tip wear on my dominant hand from hard typing.
Of the black polishes I bought recently, this has been the only one that's worth holding onto and will likely be a go-to color for me. It's not a holy grail or anything, that glitter is going to bother me every time I see it, but it will hold me until I find a new workhorse black polish.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeeBonnet on 11/14/2011 3:39:00 PM more reviews by BeeBonnet

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

While watching a beauty guru who's around my age (40's) on youtube raving about this one... I suddenly remembered I had gotten this last year, put it away without trying it out! So I dug it out of hiding and finally put it on. OH WOW!!! SIMPLY GORGEOUS!!! Subtle micro-"glimmer" looks very classy and yet takes the harsh edge off plain black. I found this to apply easily and streak-free with 2 coats and is wearing very well even though my hands are in water very often throughout the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 decemberbaby03 on 6/5/2011 7:06:00 PM more reviews by decemberbaby03

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've never been a big fan of Sally Hansen nail polishes, and this particular line is no exception. First of all the Complete Salon is way too pricey. Sally Hansen polishes tend to become thickened in the bottle just after a few uses. I absolutely hate the new brush. It's way to wide for my nails and absorbs way too much polish. Plus if you look closely the bristles aren't cut evenly. The biggest problem I've always had with this brand is the drying time. You better set aside at least half an hour to let the nails set enough to go on about your business. Oddly enough I have better results with the much cheaper Wet-N-Wild polishes. They also have a much better selection of colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yoyocanary on 2/14/2011 4:10:00 AM more reviews by yoyocanary

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a black cream polish with loads of multicolored glitter suspended in it. It is opaque in two coats. I have tried this with and without a base/top coat, and it lasted the same amount of time either way. Because it is part of the Complete Salon Manicure line, one should not have to use a base coat or top coat with it. The glitter shows through better, though, if I use a shiny top coat. It lasts about four days on my nails with no signs of wear, and on the fifth day I'll start to get tip-wear, etc. The only thing I dislike about this is the shape of the bottle: I much preferred the old Complete Salon Manicure bottles that were square. The new ones are just an awkward shape. This polish is gorgeous, and I will definitely repurchase it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Polishes products