Almay • Non-Oily Eye Makeup Remover Pads • Eye Makeup Remover

rated 3.6(471 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 carissytine on 11/27/2014 6:35:00 AM more reviews by carissytine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

These oil-free eye makeup remover pads are effective for gently removing my eye makeup while also not drying out the skin. They are unscented and safe to use when I have lash extensions on. My makeup just seems to dissolve so quickly with one gentle swipe, which is great because I never have to tug at my skin. My skin has become increasingly sensitive over the past few years, but fortunately I've never experienced the negative side effects that other reviewers have described. Sometimes in a hurry I'll use these wipes to clean my face (not sure if that's bad or not!) and I've never had a reaction. In terms of packaging, the container remains intact while loose in my handbag, and the wipes have always stayed moist and not dried out. They come in a convenient 80 count ($5) container which is small enough to keep in my handbag, and I refill it from the 120 count ($7) container which I keep at home. I find the product itself to be a bit pricey, but until I find something else that is competitively priced and gives me the same results and convenience, this one is a keeper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hayleyelwick on 11/10/2014 12:09:00 PM more reviews by hayleyelwick

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

•○•○•○•The year is 2014. You have accepted the challenge to use Almay Non-oily makeup remover pads. Many have tried before- all have failed. But not you. You want to give up. You have never experienced pain like this. Makeup removing demons are infiltrating your eyeballs. Being stabbed 106 times in the war of 2005 was a pleasant experience compared to this. Still you do not back down. Your eyelids are red and parched from moisture. The whites of your eyes are now as red as the spilled blood of your enemies. Hot tears are streaming down your face. Every bone in your body wants to give up, but still you will not yield. You will not succumb to the pain. Finally, at long last, every iota of eye makeup is removed. You slowly lift your head to look in the mirror. You carefully touch the irritated skin surrounding your eyes. The battle is over. You have conquered. You are a warrior. •○•○•○•


Only the greatest makeup warriors out there will be able to handle the pain that these makeup remover pads are instilled with. After using these for 1 week, my eyelids are sore, red, dry, and scaly all the time. I have had to use Visine 3 times a day to conquer my red eyes. My eyes are more watery than ever before, as they are trying to compensate and bring back the moisture that has been lost. My poor eyes have never been through so much agony, and I refuse to make them go through it any longer.


If your vision and the overall wellbeing of your eyes is not important to you, and you think you can handle the pain, you need to go out and buy this product right now.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ladycaroline on 10/1/2014 8:25:00 PM more reviews by ladycaroline

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have yet to use an eye makeup remover that burns my eyes. Until today that is. While this removed my eye makeup fairly well, it is certainly not worth the intense burning that soon ensued. Even simply using it on my lids with my eyes tightly closed made the skin burn and my eyes water-not to mention the pain I felt when working this into my eye lashes. Ouch! My eye area is not particularly sensitive, I can even take my acid toners around the orbital bone, but as soon as I opened the packaging I noticed this eye makeup remover smelled extremely chemically; quite like rubbing alcohol. I honestly might have experienced less burning with rubbing alcohol. Essentially, if you have eyes don't even think about using this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 antiguru on 9/30/2014 11:28:00 PM more reviews by antiguru

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Not the most effective formula but I love the ease of use. It doesn't remove all my eye makeup, especially waterproof mascara. I find these very valuable for removing mistakes while I'm doing my makeup and I use them to clean up the undereye area after I'm done with my eyeshadow. For that purpose, they're awesome. No stopping to get a Qtip or cotton square, getting a bottle of remover, you know the drill.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ironicsymphonic on 5/11/2014 12:53:00 AM more reviews by ironicsymphonic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've tried all kinds of natural options for getting my eye makeup off - olive and jojoba oil on a cotton pad, for example - and it just doesn't work as well. I've tried a few "unnatural" (man-made?) options, like other big brand names, and they burn and sting my skin, leaving it feeling like I've swiped alcohol on it.

These are gentle and make quick, clean work of getting off all my eye makeup - and I wear a lot of it, with lots of mascara and eye primer underneath it all. No irritation to my skin, eyes or contact lenses. They're also cheap and available everywhere. I even found a "travel size" mini jar in the bins of miniatures at Target. I saved it and refill it from bigger jars to throw in my bag for overnights and traveling, which is a really nice little bonus. Simple enough - works for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jenglund on 4/29/2014 10:06:00 PM more reviews by jenglund

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Used these for years. Bought a new pack and suddenly they're burning my eyes. What's up with Almay re formulating everything that worked so well as is?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PatentlyPink on 3/8/2014 10:57:00 AM more reviews by PatentlyPink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I still need to use cleanser and scrub a bit because I use liner and mascara daily, but this is great as a prep for nightly cleansing of the face. I wear contacts also and rarely do I feel any burning or stinging. Gets rid of 80% of the makeup. I use 2 nightly- one per eye. It's also great for the morning if I mess up and have to re-do or touch up somewhere. I'm not a big fan of the jar, and that they tend to stick to one another. But the price is good, they often go on sale. I do prefer the Almay brand over the drug-store knockoffs because they stay a bit more moist over time. I've tried liquids before, and I think they are a waste of money after buying cotton pads, and time consuming. This is worth the money for convenience.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CJCJ on 12/30/2013 8:13:00 AM more reviews by CJCJ

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Horrible product. Burns the area around my eyes, leaving them red. But the WORST thing? Doesn't remove the makeup. This product did NOT remove eyeliner (powder), one base shade of eyeshadow (powder) and one coat of non-waterproof mascara. WTH?! Had to use ANOTHER eye-makeup remover and then saw what this product left behind. Waste of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AlohaPandaXOXO on 11/17/2013 3:14:00 PM more reviews by AlohaPandaXOXO

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using these for years to take off my makeup and won't be changing anytime soon. Anytime I've tried a more expensive makeup remover like Clarins or Lancome, I've gotten irritated skin but these work wonderfully on my sensitive, dry skin. The packaging/name for these have changed recently, but the formula seems to be the same.

This is a pretty straightforward, simple product where the you can just hold this against your eyelid and your eye makeup will dissolve onto it. With these I like that I can lay them onto my eyelid and don't need to do a whole bunch of tugging and pulling to take everything off. They've never irritated my eyes nor caused me to break out in milia like the non-oil free version did, but since they do have citric acid in them I can see why other people may have reactions to this. Make sure to read over the ingredients here because this one seems to not be universally hypoallergenic.

Other tips for these is that if you're wearing minimal makeup or just want to be extra frugal, you can cut these in half and use one side for each eye and double your amount of removal pads. Also, if I notice that the pads on top feel a little less moist, I just flip the stack over to move the removal liquid back through everything.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* baby_grazi_x05 on 11/4/2013 11:03:00 AM more reviews by baby_grazi_x05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I keep these in my gym bag to take off my eye makeup before I go running and I really like them! I don't have a problem with the skin around my eyes burning, and it takes off my makeup without too much tugging or pulling. I just hold it over my eye for a few seconds, and then wipe everything away. Very nice!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Eye Makeup Remover products