BRTC • Jasmine Water BB Cream SPF 30 PA++ • BB Cream

rated 3.5(48 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AlohaPandaXOXO on 11/16/2013 9:34:00 PM more reviews by AlohaPandaXOXO

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Dry patches are so frustrating to deal with when it comes to foundation and as I'm currently using Retin-A, dryness and redness are commonplace side effects so I decided to try this out and see how much it'd help my skin. Overall, I'm impressed, but this product is pretty tailored to a specific skin type and even more limited by it's color.

Color:
I am NC15-20 and this is a smidge lighter than that and leans pink. Once blended out I find that the pink undertone doesn't matter much. I like that it doesn't have a grey cast like other BB creams. The pale shade limits who can use this though, so unless you're more on the Conan O'Brien side of fair, this isn't going to be a great match.

Texture:
I do like how moist this feels, unlike my Skin79 Hot Orange BB Cream, this feels more like a traditional foundation albeit more gel like. It blends out nicely and has enough runniness/slip to not feel like you're pulling on your skin when applying it with your fingertips which is extra important to me right now as I'm trying not to irritate my skin any more while I'm using Retin-A.

Wear:
Sometimes this settles into my pores and other times it doesn't, I think setting this with a bit of powder or using a primer before helps enhance performance. I like that it doesn't oxidize into a different shade once on my face and washes off with ease.

Treatment:
The ability of this BB cream to heal dry patches/moisturize appears to be true from my use. I really like using this on healing blemishes and flaky skin, it gives me the coverage I need during the day and I find at night the skin sloughs off easier and the new skin underneath isn't irritated/red. It's not going to fix chronically dehydrated skin by any means, but it does do a good job of helping heal the skin and didn't make me break out.

Other details:
The scent of jasmine is refreshing but not overly cloying, some people may not like it though. SPF 30 seems to be doing it's job as well. The price is kind of steep and I was concerned when I got my 35g bottle that it was going to run out quickly because it felt half empty. I've been using this since April and while I feel I'm always about to run out, it's now nearly December and I'm not finished with the tube. Maybe the air in there is doing something to regenerate the product, ha! I'd recommend this BB cream specifically to pale people who are prone to redness, especially during the winter months.

UPDATE: I found this was causing a lot of my unexplained clogged pores and breakouts that Retin-A wasn't treating. Since stopping the use of this, my skin has cleared up considerably. I really liked this product, but if you're prone to acne or using something like Retin-A or another exfoliant, do a test patch before using this all over your face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* IrynaHarpy on 9/20/2013 2:11:00 AM more reviews by IrynaHarpy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this over last summer, along with my Gowoonsesang (Dr. G) BB cream. Suffice it to say that my Dr. G has only about a week's worth of applications left, while the BRTC is three-quarters full.

I vary between NC15 & an NC20, although I'm leaning towards NW20 as the strange combination of greyness and sallowness of my skin at 54 leaves me looking various shades of dead nowadays. Couple that with having to tone down the rest of my makeup to more neutral shades and my face just looks like a sickly blob with only a hint of any features on it.

This product is definitely for the very pale. I would possibly have been able to carry it off in winter with bold lipsticks and eye colours but, having left it for winter to experiment with, it was still far too ashy white to work. I did experiment with a few other BB creams over that time which were too dark (most prominently yellowish) for me and used this to mix them down. Ultimately, the other BB creams were plain awful and I have no use for it so I've now binned it.

PROS:
- For those of us who prefer lighter coverage (particularly as we age and start looking baggier and saggier around the eyes and jowls), it's nice to get a bit of skin evening without the mask look. This fits the bill and can be built up as a concealer where needed. Bear in mind, however, that my complexion is still quite reasonable and I don't have any call for heavy-duty coverage.
- I don't have dry skin and still suffer from extreme oiliness around the T-zone, i.e. much mad blotting of the forehead, chin and particularly the nose is needed throughout the day, followed by liberal dustings of setting powder (sound like a recipe for baking a golden, crispy chicken!). This didn't break me out - something which has become a bigger problem for me post-menopause than when I when young - or aggravate the oil pooling, although it didn't do anything to diminish the oilies, either.
- Doesn't make your skin look too shiny or have any metallic/glittery particles which seem to be fashionable with young girls, although I still need to use a setting powder to mattify it a little.

CONS:
- Very, very pale.
- I need to use a primer to spackle my pores and crepey lines, otherwise this product settles straight into them.
- Even with a good primer, the white rides into pores and wrinkles over the progress of the day. It does the same without a primer.
- Moisturiser is essential before primer or direct application as it tends to dry the normal skin (while not really assisting in keeping the oilies at bay on oilier areas?!!).

All in all, it really isn't a particularly good BB cream unless you need something to lighten up a darker BB cream (half a pea-sized quantity of the BRTC cream to half a pea-sized quantity of your other BB cream). Frankly, I couldn't be bothered.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 daisymay81 on 8/18/2013 9:13:00 AM more reviews by daisymay81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have had this bb cream for over a year. Whenever I wear my husband always comments on how beautiful I look. I am pale so the shade suits me better than other bb creams. It does make your skin look a lot better after wearing it. I don't wear it everyday because I try to not wear makeup a few days out of the week which does wonders for the skin. Plus I have other foundations that I like to use. Whenever I go back to this one I am surprised by how good my skin looks. I naturally have quite good skin and I just want a bb cream to even out my complexion. I have dry skin and I have not experienced the dry patches like others have. However, if you wear too much of it I find it settles into the sides of the nose which isn't a cute look. In the summer I don't use a primer (but a setting spray) and it seems to last well. Winter I use a primer. It does not look as good when you use to much. If you are someone who needs a lot of coverage and have to use a lot of foundations, bb cream or tinted moisturizer this probably is not the best product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Misspoiltes on 6/14/2013 1:06:00 PM more reviews by Misspoiltes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is worth the buy if you are pale. Like, really pale. It only comes in ONE SHADE, and is made overseas. People in Asia really adore fair skin, and their cosmetics are perfected to fit the shades of pale people. On the other hand, America perfects cosmetics for tan people, so this buy for me was great. It's unlike any other BB Cream, it's an actual BB Cream (not a knockoff tinted moisturizer!!) It leaves my skin hydrated and glowing. No redness with this product, my skin looks porcelain and pretty!! One of the best makeup purchases and I'll continue to buy in the future!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 clouiewind on 4/24/2013 8:51:00 AM more reviews by clouiewind

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I first purchased this product about a year ago in the form of samples for next to nothing (Around $2.50 for three samples) off eBay. The samples were very small, but I used the cream under my eyes, on my nose and to cover up any blemishes and found they lasted for months!
The SPF 30+ has been perfectly suited for daily use, on top of my Neutrogena SPF 15+ moisturiser, and the tint matched my pale skin very well. I usually find it difficult to seek out foundations and tinted products that suit my skin tone, but I was very pleased with this.

This being said, I would definitely recommend using this product with a trusted moisturiser and/primer to aid the longevity of the BB Cream, because I found that when I applied it directly to my clean skin, it does dry it out a little during the day and seemed to not last as long.
I haven't broken out as a result of the product, which I usually find with foundations, and it isn't particularly oily, though it does do a good job at keeping my skin moisturised.

I have finished the samples and have purchased a 35g bottle of the product, and I am pretty sure I will keep using it in the future. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Himezakura on 3/24/2013 2:59:00 AM more reviews by Himezakura

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It does say this is for sensitive and dry skin, so...
Nobody has mentioned any of the other advertised effects, just talked about coverage, moisturization, and etc... like any other bb cream review, I suppose...

This is supposed to provide spf, brightening, and antiwrinkling effects...

I had this on for about 8 hours, and at about four hours in, I noticed the skin above my upper lip tightening every time I smiled, which I thought was really strange, but thought it would go away once I took the bb cream off.
I didn't realize what it did until I took the bb cream off after 8 hours with it on, and noticed that when I smiled, one side of my face had a deep smile wrinkle, and the other side only had a small one near my lips. I didn't know what was going on, since I had always had these smile lines, until I remembered that the bb cream supposedly had anti-wrinkle properties.
I found when brushing my teeth that the smile line on the diminished side hadn't disappeared, but superbly diminished, and looking at myself while brushing my teeth was soo strange, because one side had this deeep smile line (in comparison to the other), while the other had a barely perceptible one.
This unevenness is probably because I had a small breakout on one side of my nose, and had applied much more bb cream to cover it up... I think my skin tone was fine on the other side, so I didn't apply much to it.
I need to apply more to the other side of my face tomorrow to make my face symmetrical again.
THIS IS SO INTERESTING.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 2/11/2013 12:26:00 PM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've tried my fair share of BB creams before and none of them really wowed me. This one has to be my favorite out of all of the ones I've tried. I wear it in the winter when my skin turns extremely dehydrated and finicky. I love how it locks in moisture without turning me greasy or shiny throughout the day. The color is a decent match for my NC25-ish skin albeit a tad light. Does not feel cakey or mask-like which is a huge plus in my book. Coverage is on the more sheer side, but that's ok because I don't like full coverage anything. I like to have a bit of my natural skin peeking through.

Overall, very pleased with this product and will repurchase for the winter months.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 megg15 on 1/4/2013 5:50:00 PM more reviews by megg15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The color is perfect for my fair skin and blends well. I don't think the scent is too strong- it's nice. Has decent coverage. The only thing is that it doesn't last a long time. It looks GREAT when you first apply it, but it doesn't stay that way for more than a few hours for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MoMoAnn on 12/12/2012 2:10:00 AM more reviews by MoMoAnn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I would prefer applying this BB cream with the sponge, it blended well into the face than doing it with the fingers.

The coverage of the BB cream is okay, but if you are having big red pimples and deep dark circles on that very day. You will need to conceal it.

It leaves a clear hydrated look on the face after applying it, but at the end of the day, it looks different. The face look oily and fade (fade not sure of the correct word to use. It looks like you got yourself caught in the rain).

I do not really like the jasmine smell, as I find it abit too strong. I also find it hard to remove even using the makeup remover wipes and makeup remover cleanser. I can feel the BB cream is still there after using these and washing the face with facial wash. It does make me breakup the next day but not much, most of the time is on the forehead.

I will not be purchasing it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sooji13 on 12/5/2012 5:56:00 PM more reviews by Sooji13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My face broke out everywhere after using this. When you first apply it on your face, it looks and feels great. By the end of the day, my face was covered with small white, flaky patches and looked completely unnatural. By the next day, my face had small red splotches everywhere. I have used several other BB creams from Korea and never had this reaction!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BRTC products

More BB Cream products