Neostrata Oil Free Matifying Fluid

4.2

22 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/18/2015 7:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Absolute holy grail for oily skin. I found this at the pharmacy and it's been an absolute game changer. It keeps my skin matte and helps decrease the amount of oil my skin produces throughout the day. There are times where I'll still have to blot my skin a little, but this is definitely something I would recommend for those struggling. It's a little on the pricier end, but it's worth it!



on 9/16/2014 3:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I think this is a wonderful product. I find it is very unique. I never came across anything like that.
First of all, it works and how many matifying products you can name that can keep you matte for longer then half an hour. Second of all, i cannot name any disadvantages. It doesn't break me out (i have extremely sensitive acne prone skin), it doesn't dry me out, it doesn't mess up my make up.

The way i use it: i put it on top of my make up in the AFTERNOON (when my face becomes oily and shiny), dust some powder, voila. I don't use it as a primer. I never put it over the make up in the morning (i tried that, it was bad, it didn't spread evenly and left streaks on my foundation). Basically, it absorbs oil (like nothing i've seen before) and for it work you need an oily face (disgusting i know).
I didn't buy it actually. I got a set and the cream was a part of a gift. Amazing deal. I will re-purchase if i run out.

Btw, if you suffer with acne, Neostrata has some excellent products: Toners (I prefer level I, was using it for years), Oil-Free Moisturizer (very very good, never broke me out, saved my skin once), their Peel solution is very good too, but expensive. Their AHA creams and cleansers didnít work for me though.


on 5/30/2014 1:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have combination fair skin. I would say generally very oily in the T zone area, however the rest of my face is somewhat normal. I have tried every product under the moon to try to control the oil. I use also clean and clear oil absorbing sheets to help when the oil is excessive. Neostrata oil matifying fluid is a real LIFE SAVER. It is THE ONLY product that has EVER worked for me. It really sucks all the oil and controls it nicely. I would recommend this product without hesitation to anyone that struggles with the same issue. It is a bit pricey, however it's worth every penny!! LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PRODUCT. PLEASE GIVE IT A TRY YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!!


on 2/5/2014 5:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this on and off, on my nose only as it is the area that is most oily. On the first day (after a while of not using it), it mattifies my nose beautifully and I almost don't need to blot. However, after using it for 3 or 4 days in a row, the skin on my nose starts peeling! Needless to say, this makes makeup application a nightmare since all the dry patches and peeled skin are much more noticeable under foundation. Oil control also seems to be less effective. As soon as I stop using this fluid, my nose goes back to its normal, non-peeling (but unfortunately still oily) state. I feel like this may be too harsh for me, which is unfortunate because if I could get the first day effect all the time, this product would be a HG.


on 1/25/2014 4:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It took me a while to try this. My friend gave me a sample and I never got around to trying it since I'm not a big primer person. I might have been apprehensive to wear a primer because I don't want to put too much on my face because I'm scared for it to get too heavy or cause a breakout but I was pleasantly surprised when I tried this! I struggle a lot with my skin - it can get very dry and flaky but once I manage to get rid of that it can get really oily. Right now I'm going through an oily phase, and this does a great job of controlling it. I apply it on top of my moisturizer to the areas that need it underneath my makeup. After an 8 hour workday, my face usually gets pretty oily and I will need to blot. When I wear this, my face only gets that way after 16 hours. Packaging is pretty standard. Price is a little on the high end normally (32$ CAD) but it goes on sale at Shoppers Drug Mart/Pharmaprix (up to 30% off) every so often so the price is not so bad.


on 2/20/2013 9:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

My cosmetician gave me a full size of this awesome product (and other products after me buying over 125$ of cosmetics)I enjoy it and I feel it has helped controlling the oily skin I'm stuck with one some place, on others it's always dry. So I use this lotion on the T of my face (front, cheeks, nose and chin.

Been using it for 2 and a half weeks daily and I ADORE it.



on 2/17/2013 5:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm very skeptical of any product that claims to absorb excess oil. I've struggled with acne since my mid-teens (I'm 30 now), and even when my skin is clear, it's super oily (I tend to get very shiny within a half hour of washing my face). I decided to try this product based on the other reviews here and so far I'm impressed! I couldn't wait to try this after buying it, so I applied it to my face mid-day. It literally sucked up all the oil on my skin! It's too soon to tell if I'll have any kind of averse reaction (I'll definitely repost if I do), but it feels nice and light on my skin. As other reviewers have noted, it makes any dry patches flakier, so keep that in mind. It's definitely pricey for a small amount, but I noticed in the first application that a very small drop is all that's need to cover my cheeks, forehead, nose and chin, so I think it will stretch a long way. Just like any other NeoStrata product I've tried, this does what it claims to do!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/3/2012 11:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is FANTASTIC. I really only use it as a makeup product so I can't comment on how it works for acne but it works amazingly well as a primer. There are a lot of foundations that I can't use because my oily skin will break it up and make it look splotchy within a few hours. I really like light coverage foundations but I find the lighter the coverage the worse the staying power and the less they hold up against my oily skin. But with this stuff I can use any foundation I want! Because I use this as a primer I apply moisturizer first, let that sink in, and then use this, let that sink in for a bit, and then apply the foundation. My makeup lasts all day. I'd highly recommend it. It's pricey but it really lasts a long time.

I saw a few people say they use it on top of foundation, I'll be trying that next!


on 9/20/2012 2:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Grey, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

If it wasn't for the fact that I had tried OC8, I would probably be raving about this product, as it's the best of what I've tried over the last few years. It does its job for about 4-5 hours but compared with OC8 it's more difficult to apply and does not work (nowhere near) as long as OC8 does, at least for me.
It's also quite expensive so I'd rather get the OC8!


on 7/27/2012 12:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I received this product as a gift with purchase for another neostrata product. I use this product after BB cream but before powder and my oily face remains oil free throughout the day (I still need to blot once but comparing it to when I don't wear this product).
I would be repurchasing this product again for sure!


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
531 Reviews
Sudocrem
137 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Nerium AD
73 Reviews
Back to Top