Jane Iredale Pure Pressed Base


640 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Not tested on animals


CTIVE INGREDIENTS: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891) 14%, Zinc Oxide (CI 77947) 3% INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Mica (CI 77019), Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, Hydrated Silica, Stearic Acid, Plankton Extract, Algae Extract, Pinus Strobus (Pine) Bark Extract, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract. [ /- Iron Oxides (CI 77489, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Carmine (CI 75470)]

on 9/25/2015 11:22:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

For reference: combination skin, slightly oily tzone, sensitive skin, broken capillaries cheeks, light to medium skin tone, neutral to warm skin tone. Approximately NC/NW25

My skin use to be very dry,with the exception of my tzone. I avoided powder foundations because they cling to dry patches. Yes I exfoliate, moisturizer etc. With the humidity of summer my skin is more supple and I needed a new foundation. My hair salon sells JI and I decided to try it. I was matched with Golden Glow. My skin tone is neutral with some yellow although not strong yellow. They suggested a try a warm tone foundation to help cover up any redness and capillaries.

She applied the foundation with the JI sponge. At first I wasn't thrilled. Although it covered and evened out my skin, I found it looked cakey. I didn't purchase the sponge.

I found the perfect way for applying this. After moisturizing, I apply my Lise Watier green primer to red areas. Next I use my elf kabuki brush to buff the JI product in circular downward motion. If some areas need a little more, I add a light layer. For my tzone I aply a light dusting of setting powder.

The only thing I notice is my t zone does become shiny after a few hours. However I find this occurs with any foundation I've tried. I've experienced no irritation or reactions from this product.

I purchased Golden Glow because I was more tanned in the summer. I may be able to get away with this colour for autumn and winter because I add self tanner to my face moisturizer and body lotion. If it ends up too dark I will buy one shade lighter.

Now that it's near the end of September, somewhat cooler, my cheeks are becoming slightly more dry, this product still works great.

You can purchase a separate compact to house the powder. I just keep mine in the plastic container it came in.

I paid approximately $50.00 Canadian. I would repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 9/25/2015 9:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love JI powder foundations! and much prefer them to actually everything else i EVER used. Several other mineral foundations i tried needed buffing in which is too harsh a treatment for my extremely sensitive skin (tho I haven't tried the Tarte one). Several mineralized powders either irritated the skin (EsteeLauder sumptuous) and oxydized (Vichy, tho otherwize it was very good, shame it was discontinued). Between the two JI powders, I in any case prefer the loose Amazing Base, for reasons:
- AB gives very buildable sheer to rather full coverage - and looks good all in the skin-but-better way for solid 6-8 hours even without blotting. The PurePressed looks good only when worn sheer to light coverage but gets makeup-y visible when built up to medium and unacceptably so in medium-plus; full coverage is out of the question; gets oily muuch sooner than the AB, so wears without blotting 4-6 hours tops
- AB can be used as a concealer, just as they promise (use damp brush, i find synthetic Sigma E55-like work best), PP can't. However, for setting a creme/liquid concealer the PP works better (my guess it's due to it's being more sheer and kinda more finely milled)
- the PP packaging is surely more portable and less messy, no argument here, however the powder is quite soft, so I hit pan in the middle (hate the look:(- soo inelegant) with my kabuki brush after only about a month of daily use, and it took me another 3 months to finish it off, totaling in a little less than 4 months of use. Whereas the AB lasts me for 5-6 months - definitely longer than the PP, and never looks half-used up :P. And I manage the messy loose powder packaging with a transparent plastic protective insert (like those they give with many other powder products, incl. the PP, but not the AB!) and a simple sponge about the size of the AB case - makes it totally portable!
So, if choosing between Amazing Base and PurePressed (ie not buying both): the PP is for very good skin which never needs even medium coverage, just a little tone and texture perfecting (guess then it'l last longer than 4 months, too), and with a nice portable case. The AB is very a universal product.
Both give a nice healthy healthy skin glow. But you could overbuff the PP and get shiny face, esp if you try to build it up. Neither irritates in the least bit or breaks out; however, the AB seems to be more soothing, perhaps because of a little more zinc oxide in it. Neither needs buffing in (you know, the circular motions), so no irritation. Very good ingredients! Don't ever oxidize and go orange, altho there is naturally some very littly shade darkening when it blends with the skin natural oils (or your moisturiser). Blend in very very well, no ashy powdery look.
The shade selection is alright (the PP runs lighter that the AB in the same shade) - i use Bisque (in AB it's a bit darker than my face skin tone, still good). However, there is a very limited choice for the fair skinned - basically, you only have Bisque and Ivory that you could mix to customize the shade, but that is only possible with the loose AB. There's also Light Beige marketed as cool fair-light, but it runs SO pinkish when on the whole face - when I swatched it, it actually looked quite exactly like my cheek, so I first got that one instead of Bisque. So, when I applied it all over, it boosted my neutral/cool complexion up to the point of a pink piglet. So, when in there Shade Selector they say to steer away from their cool range if you are prone to reddness of any origin - they do speak the truth. (Had to give the Light Beige to my friend, who wanted to lighten and neutralize her yellow light-medium complexion, never heard from her about any sort of success with that :))).
I also own a La Prairie cellular pressed foundation, which is very demanding to the condition of the skin, or it will accentuate dry flakes, and quite tricky to use if you need to conceal little smth as you can't really layer it, incl. on top of a concealer, or it will stand out from the rest of the face never blending. And can look powdery if you go heavy handed. But it is very-very densely pressed, and I barely scratched the surface and I used it like 20 times - by that time the PP would be already approaching pan!
I bought the PurePressed only once for a try and I don't think I'll repurchase, as i find the Amazing Base so good and versatile (went already thru like 4 of them in the last two years).

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 9/18/2015 7:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely would die without this product. I use the JI BB cream to start with foundation and I set it with this powder in Ivory. By itself it has a light to medium coverage, but it's the perfect finish to my full coverage BB. It's really nice because it doesn't feel like you're suffocating in makeup. The regular price is a bit pricey, but it's lasted me so long that it's so worth it! I get a discounted pro price, which is absolutely the way to go if you qualify. Praise Naime's! I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a colored finish or just a light makeup! <3 <3 <3

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This mineral foundation is gorgeous. It is light/medium coverage that is buildable to medium/full. I've been using this for over a year as it replaced my Mac Studio Fix Powder Foundation. I have combo/oily to oily skin and used the Mac powder for 10 years but wanted to use something that gave a more skin-like appearance.

The finish is like satin and I feel there is a very subtle luminosity to it. After my skincare routine I apply it with the JI Handi brush which is a flat top kabuki like brush but looser than a kabuki. The brush is high quality and super soft. Nothing like the Brillo pad Bare Minerals brushes. JI says that the foundation should be applied with downward strokes but I buff it in circular motions first and finish with downward strokes. I set it with my Mac Fix+ spray or my UB All Nighter if I'm going out at night. This makeup lasts all day and even though I have to blot once at some point, my skin looks healthy and glowing. I would highly recommend this to everyone as an everyday makeup. The only con I can think of is the price but it still won't deter me.

For color reference I am an NC25 and I use Warm Sienna. For summertime and my sun kissed skin I use Golden Glow.

on 8/18/2015 8:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I was really excited to try this brand because it is Leaping Bunny certified. I do like the texture, and how it doesn't emphasize fine lines. However, after several hours, I get the same heavy feel I get from Bare Minerals, which doesn't make this my favorite product for summer. My skin is combination to oily, and this just isn't the right thing for my skin type. Also, getting the right color match in this was almost impossible.

The manager of the store where I bought this was very understanding through a few exchanges. But there was an employee who liked to make lots of pronouncements that were balderdash and pretend that stuff she'd read in brochures were scientific facts instead of marketing. This made the process of color-matching much more painful than it should have been.

My advice is this:

If your skin is combination to oily, please be careful about selecting a shade in this foundation and be willing to put up with the uncomfortable return process as I did, because this foundation is $40 for the cake and $12 for the compact, and for $52, the brand should be able to offer you a good color match. All the base colors I tried did shift. In my case, this didn't work out.

If I were slightly darker-complected, Warm Silk would have been perfect, but because the powder turns darker after it's been on my face for half an hour or so, it didn't look right, in spite of the fact that it looked perfect in the store. Radiant is initially a nice color that looks sort of peachy, and then it turns orange on the skin after about 45 minutes. "Light Beige" is very pink and was a complete disaster. It looked ruddy as if I had a sunburn and was obviously the wrong color. Ivory looks pink in the pan, and did shift pinker. So the only color that might have worked was the lightest yellow shade, Bisque, but it shifts even more yellow after it sits on the skin. All the colors become more intense as they are worn. So if they look slightly "off," they look more "off" as the day wears on.

What I really wanted was a lighter version of Warm Silk. By the third return, I was really getting sour on this foundation, which is too bad, because I think the texture is nice.

One of the salespeople loved to spew hype. This was a turn-off. The advertising claims for cosmetics that are supposedly all-organic or all-natural aren't exactly true because most of them have to contain a few chemical ingredients. The chemicals they have are not toxic or harmful, but there have to be some ingredients there for texture, to preserve the product, and you might have noticed that they're all encased in plastic containers, which don't exactly grow on trees. So the product isn't all-organic and I don't need it to be.

I was there purely to avoid animal testing. One of the salespeople tried to tell me that mineral foundations don't oxidize - she meant they don't change color on your skin - but that is obviously not true because every color I tried DID shift. I had to exchange this product several times, because half an hour after you put it on, it looks different. All the pink ones turn more pink. The yellow ones tend to darken and look more yellow, etc. This line is really crying out for some neutrals. They should have a variety of beige, neutral beige, including some pale beiges, because what they have is skewed heavily "cool" or "warm" and even the "neutrals" look either pink or yellow. The color they call "beige" is really pink. I have primers that correct for color and texture, but when I have to use products from other brands to make something work, the product I am trying to fix is at fault. I have foundations at home that are cheaper with colors that stay truer.

When this product was developed in the 90s, some people were afraid of talc, and some of the mineral brands including Jane Iredale were avoiding talc on purpose. Since then, nobody's really proven that talc is bad, and technically, talc is a mineral, so having it in "mineral foundation" seems okay.

I finally realized there was no perfect match for me in this line, unless I get slightly tan, in which case Warm Silk would work. That one really looked the best but I was slightly too pale. But since I'm trying to protect my skin from skin cancer, I'd rather that Jane Iredale give us some more neutral colors to work with that don't turn pink or orange or yellow, instead of damaging my skin to make it dark enough for the one good color in the line, if that's not too much to ask.

I did find a really great neutral in the Jane Iredale Disappear concealer. "Light" is what I wanted the Ivory foundation to look like, but it doesn't. I might at some point go back and get the $30 concealer. But I think I've lost my faith in the powder foundation.


Active: Titanium Dioxide (14%), Zinc Oxide (3%) Other: Mica, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, Stearic Acid, Plankton Extract, Algae Extract, Pine Bark Extract, Pomegranate Extract. May Contain: Iron Oxides, Ultramarines, Chromium Oxide Greens

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Tried this out after a long search for a new foundation for my more "mature" skin. The issues I was having was fine lines under my eyes and pores that looked HUGE with my old friend , Everyday minerals and any liquid foundation I've tried. It's pretty easy to some up:

Pros: Great powder with build-able coverage. Very fine milled so does not crease in those lines and pores. I use Golden Glow shade and love it. It really "lightens/softens" my face and has taken away that older haggard look. I've had lots of compliments since switching from all my old friends when they did not know I made the switch. No breakouts either.

Cons: SO pricey. Compact case is crazy pricey for what you get. Did I say how pricey this powder is? I would say that you will need to do touch ups since it's a powder but it's not anything major. Sometimes if I don't do a touch up my under eye concealor starts to look more noticeable since the powder is fading.

I've tried a few times to find something more price friendly but ALWAYS come back to this. For me it's worth it. It's really a great foundation!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 6/29/2015 3:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is so expensive at $52, but it's absolutely the best pressed powder I've ever used. I'm not rich by any means; I am a hair stylist and part of my job is looking put together for an entire shift. I am extremely picky about face products such as foundations and powders. I expect them to provide a natural semi-matte finish, excellent coverage for acne scars and rosacea, and longevity for long work hours with the blowdryer in my face. That being said, this is the best of the best.

I have extremely oily and acne prone skin, and Jane Iredale's products do not irritate or break me out. The powder lasts me about 1 year with consistent use. I use it to mattify my t-zone, provide extra coverage along my jawline where I break out, and to tie together all of the concealers and foundations I've used.

The reason why I recommend this stuff so highly is because it surpasses all of my expectations of a powder foundation. This is the most natural looking powder I've ever put on my face and I don't feel it on my face. The coverage is light-medium buildable and I often build it up by stippling it on my acne scars. With other powders, they would often emphasize dry patches and make acne appear even worse. Pure pressed base has never done that; I can confidently build it up as much as I want on cystic acne and it doesn't look cakey. The shade Bisque is also a perfect match to my pale nc15 skin.

If I find something cheaper and as effective I'll update this for sure, but for right now this powder is what makes my make up look cohesive, mattified, and flawless without sacrificing a natural finish. HG of pressed powders.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

on 6/10/2015 3:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is the best powder I've used to date (and I've used a LOT of them). I initially bought a starter kit on a splurge after a beauty store saleswoman did a quick in-store makeover. The kit was awesome (though a little on the spendy side), but it did come with about a month's worth of the pressed powder, loose powder, a mini foundation brush, primer, and setting spray. Everything was great, but above all I'm now addicted to and use the Smooth Affair primer and pressed powder every day. It actually make me feel like I have different (better & more even) skin, but still MY skin, which has always been my goal. I have come to hate all liquid foundations, and even BB creams can be too rich especially in the hot summer, so the pressed powder is exactly on point. Weird to think of a pressed powder as creamy, but somehow that is how it feels and looks. Not drying and not heavy or oily, just perfect. I also have to mention the brush is pretty legit. I still use the trial size one from the kit but I covet the bigger one. I've tried applying with other brushes (the Bare Minerals Kabuki and various EcoTools), but the Jane one is very noticeably better. It is flat across the top and distributes the pressed powder really evenly.

There's no product that works for everyone, but if you have mostly clear skin and want to even out tone, hide imperfections, and basically look flawless while staying natural, it's the best. I'm finally really happy with my makeup routine (after a lot of trial and error), so I'm sharing my current recipe: after your moisturizer dries (I like Paula's Best Moisture Boost), apply Smooth Affair primer and let set for about a minute. Use a little bit of creamy concealer (I like Marc Jacobs) under eyes or wherever needed and blend well. Apply the pressed powder using downward brush stokes then buff a little with the brush so it blends into skin. You can spray on the hydrating mist or not (I haven't noticed much different with or without). Use a little bronzing powder on cheekbones or for contouring, blush if that's your thing. And voila.

(Oh one last thing. A recent weekend visit with my sister inevitably led to us rummaging through each other's makeup bags. She had kept asking me what makeup I was wearing, and asking about everything I've been using. I did her makeup using all the stuff I mentioned above and she couldn't get over how much she loved it, and bought the powder later that week.)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

on 6/6/2015 7:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This stuff blew me away. I never believe a powder could be a foundation but man they have come a long whey since bare minerals started out years ago. It is a bit tricky learning how to use it. At first it caked under my eyes and accentuated my fine lines which was horrible, but then I found out if I used one of those beauty blender sponges and just dabbed it super lightly under my eyes without swiping or rubbing, it turned out great. I use the DuWop The One brush to apply the rest of it all over my face and if I need a tiny bit more coverage for under eye circles I pat it on with a concealer brush. I can't believe this stuff works and actually stays on throughout the day, and it's healthy and non-toxic. Perfect!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 6/4/2015 3:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

No, this one didn't work for me at all. It looked nice and even right after application (good match for my skin tone), but made me really oily. That's a deal breaker!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top