Jane Iredale • Pure Pressed Base • Powder

rated 4.0(619 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 HollyIvy on 8/30/2014 4:15:00 PM more reviews by HollyIvy

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this, great range of colors, does feel nice and clean throughout the day, doesn't cake up in pores or lines. If you are unsure of the color, call JI, they have fabulous customer service, and if you tell them your skin tone, they will send you at no charge great size samples. After them sending me 6 to try, I finally settled on Riviera, but really, all of the shades are so nice, it's hard to choose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rideout24 on 8/19/2014 10:32:00 PM more reviews by rideout24

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

Aside from the high price... I found the product lacked lustre. It doesn't provide very good coverage or staying power. I also found that u wasted more product because u whirl the brush around and the powder goes everywhere and barely any of it makes it to your face. It felt fine on my face - it actually felt nice. I was just disappointed with coverage and how most product was wasted. You go through it fast. There's much nicer powders out there that do a better job for the price or less.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LadyLaineE on 8/3/2014 12:54:00 PM more reviews by LadyLaineE

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this off and on for about a year and I really like it. I have hyperpigmentation from breakouts so I use the flocked sponge ($7) instead of the brush because it provides more coverage.

I was worried about how powder foundation would look because my skin is very dry for most of the year but I've worked out an application process that works for me.

1. Mist MAC Fix+ all over my face
2. Apply Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer
3. Concealer
4. Press in foundation with sponge in a rocking motion
5. Mist again with MAC Fix+ to provide a natural finish

If I need extra coverage in some areas, I will repeat steps 4 and 5. I think using the misting spray helps prevent it from appearing cakey.




    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* auburngal on 7/17/2014 3:03:00 PM more reviews by auburngal

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm impressed by this powder foundation. I like the sheer finish and the way it lasts on me. Even on a steamy new York City day in the mid-90's with sky-high humidity, the foundation stayed put. I have a Handi-Brush, but I like using a soft sponge (I have a bunch from Stila) even more. I use the brush to even it out before applying blush.

I called Jane Iredale for advice in picking a color, and they sent me a couple of samples for free; that helped me choose the best match, Ivory in my case. When I put it on at first, it looks a but light. By the time I finish, the color matches my skin quite well. The darker shade made my face look dirty. If you don't have a counter near you to try colors (I don 't), I suggest doing this for the best match.

I think for an initial outlay it is a bit expensive, but I have mine for about a year and still have plenty left. I'm glad I only have to buy a refill. Over time, the price will even out to about what I'd pay for any other line I'd use, like Laura Mericer, Shiseido, or Lancome.

My sensitive skin does not have any issues with this at all. I will say I tend to use it in the summertime as foundation, and in winter applied with a fluffy brush as finishing powder (I use a tinted moisturizer in winter). Also, I put it over my moisturizing SPF50 sunscreen (Bioderma). I don't always mist my face as the JI video suggests you do.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Bridget55 on 6/15/2014 2:54:00 AM more reviews by Bridget55

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I don't really understand the hoopla over this mineral makeup. It doesn't cover well and it makes my complexion really shiny and not in a good way. It wears off very quickly and I had to reapply every couple of hours. In addition, it's supposed to be formulated for sensitive skin but I found it really irritating. The color palette is extensive but I couldn't find a good match. I tried two colors and ended up giving them both to my daughter who has a drier complexion than I do and is less sensitive to mineral makeup than I am. I'm using Lancome Dual Finish in Rose Clair II instead. Would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Muzby555 on 5/30/2014 8:59:00 PM more reviews by Muzby555

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Wow! What a great product for acne prone skin. My skin looks amazing after only a few days, and I've struggled with mild to moderate acne for 10years.
Much kinder to skin than bare minerals. Though I must say I've just used Nars Sheer Glow for years thinking that wasn't the cause of my breakouts. It certainly did clog my pores.
Get the hydrating spray as a must! I use the spray before and after and it's really made a difference to my skin.
Takes awhile to apply, but seems to last.
I have squeezed or had any new bumps in days and I'm confident to leave the house feeling great with fresh skin.
Great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MsFashionista on 5/6/2014 5:16:00 PM more reviews by MsFashionista

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product is a must in my make-up drawer. I use it by itself or, when I go out, as a finishing powder. I'm Filipino so my skin is a warm tone and medium to dark complexion, so I opted for the Golden Glow. It seems to be the closest match to my skin - maybe even a tad bit lighter. As a general rule, I always pick a shade lighter than my exact shade because I have oily skin. When you have oily skin, foundations and powders that you put on your skin will darken and look dull as you go along the day because of oxidation. Just make sure that you pick something that's not too light because your face might just end up looking uneven.

This product is great for a mineral powder. It gives you a smooth finish, hiding minor imperfections, big pores and redness. Although big zits or scabs that come from popping will require a concealer (I use Jane Iredale Glow Time #7), the Pure Pressed becomes my finishing powder. It also gives you sun protection which comes in handy if you're concerned about wrinkles and such. Just remember to re-apply when you sweat or every few hours so your face looks fresh.

PS if the sales lady tells you that you need to purchase a hydration spray to control the oil. I would suggest that you say that you will think about it first because I found the hydration spray does nothing for me in terms of oil control. If anything, I found that it just adds more glow to my face which I don't need because I'm already so oily.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sara_1987 on 5/4/2014 4:26:00 AM more reviews by Sara_1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Finally found a perfect mineral foundation! I used Vichy Aera Teint (discontinued) before, and for the longest time I used La Roche Posay Toleriane Teint Mineral powder. The last one was nice, but it wore off easily and my face got very oily by the end of the day.

I got color-matched for this Jane Iredale foundation at the beauty salon where I bought it. I wear it in Satin.
I also purchased the Handi brush to apply it, which I definitely recommend (the only problem I have with it is that some of the hairs are loose and end up on my face during application. But now that I've washed the brush I feel like this problem has stopped and the loose hairs have been removed).

The foundation covers imperfections nicely, but it is not a heavy coverage. For me this is fine, because I don't have too much to cover - I don't have active acne - just some acne-scarring and large pores I like to cover.
The coverage is very natural and I love how it doesn't feel like I'm wearing make-up.
The best thing is that by the end of the day my make-up is still in place and my skin isn't oily at all. The foundation also doesn't break me out.

EDIT: Lately I felt like this foundation was too heavy on my skin and was breaking me out (no sure if it was because of this foundation though), so I stopped using it. I'm not sure how I feel about it now as I'm scared to start using again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zoepaquin on 4/9/2014 7:59:00 PM more reviews by zoepaquin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've used this for six months now as my main foundation. I am happy to have FINALLY found a foundation that works for me and I will be repurchasing when I run out.

My problem with other foundations : I have oily skin on my nose and cheeks. Loose or pressed powder foundations are the only foundation I can wear, otherwise my face turns into an oily mess and I've seen liquid foundations disappear or slide off in a matter of hours (!). I also have redness and huge pores on the aforementioned areas. As you guys might already know, most mineral powders only highlight the pore problem. And, unless I cake powders on to the point where they look, well cakey, powders do not cover up redness completely.

The Iredale pressed powder is a success because it manages to provide some coverage without visually enlarging my gaping pores. It actually reduces their appearance! I wonder if it's due to the dimethicone in it. Regardless, it's the only powder I've tried that achieves this. It also holds very evenly onto my oily skin, provides some oil control (do not expect miracles, but having to blot oil less often sure is nice!), has never irritated my skin, does not make me look made-up and, miraculously, is color-perfect. (I wear it in Satin). Bonus : it's SPF 20, which I like because in the winter here in Canada I forego sunscreen.

If, like me, you are looking for a natural, no-foundation foundation, then you will probably like this. Even after six months of use, I sometimes still marvel mid-application, when it's only on one side of my face, at how the side that it's on looks like bare skin, only better. The inevitable tradeoff is coverage. It's medium coverage at most, can be light to translucent depending on application. It will even out your skin tone but if, like me, you have noticeable red nose/cheeks, they will still seem redder than the rest of your face after using this foundation. But, the level of redness is toned down to a point where I don't think anyone but me notices it.

For everyday use, I've come to accept that I will not look like a cover girl and I am not willing to spend time every morning to put on the necessary primers and concealers to achieve a flawless face. The Iredale pressed powder makes me look loads better with minimal time investment and that's the balance I am looking for.

I use a Lise Watier big round Kabuki brush to apply it. I've also tried a flat foundation brush, like Jane Iredale recommends, but I found it picked up too much product; I had to tap off the excess or else look cakey and this was causing me to loose a lot of this expensive product. The round Kabuki picks up the right amount, provides buildable coverage without loss and, because it's so big, I can do my foundation in a minute or less.

My latest application trick with this : when I want to go extra-polished, I put on just a bit more than I should, and then I use a clean big powder brush to lightly dust off my face until it no longer looks powdery. It's just a few seconds more in my routine and it makes the overall result nicer.

The price is high, sure, compared to other foundations out there, but I feel that spending 60$ for having a really nice face for the better part of the year is actually a bargain. I use it four to six times a week and I believe it will last me nine or ten months. Plus, I hear the refill only costs 40$ since we don't have to repurchase the rather nice, solid-feeling mirror holder it's packaged in.

PS : Wash your powder brushes once in a while! Otherwise all powders will be harder to apply, and oil on the brush might transfer to the powder, which will cause bits of its surface to harden and become unusable.

Bottom line : I love it! I absolutely recommend it, especially if, like me, despite best intentions, you sometimes sleep in your makeup. I do this, even though it's bad, and my skin is sensitive, but with this all-natural mineral foundation I've never had even a single spot as a result of my carelessness.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pookiedoll80 on 3/30/2014 5:47:00 PM more reviews by pookiedoll80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have extremely acne prone skin and everything makes my face break out. This has not caused any breakouts AT ALL. It has very good coverage, keeps me matte and has good staying power. The only reason I gave it 4 stars rather then 5 is because I'm not sure if this gives me glowing skin. But for everyday use for acne prone skin I would higly recommend this. Has no acne/irritant ingredients if you do a check on cosdna.com.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jane Iredale products

More Powder products