LUSH • Charlotte Island Body Tint • Bronzers

rated 3.7(23 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 oxfordjrr on 9/21/2011 8:25:00 PM more reviews by oxfordjrr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I can't believe Lush is discontinuing this product! I was given a free sample of it not so long ago, but how mean of Lush to make me fall in love with an ending product! I am really not into self tan, it's too much hassle and can smell nasty but this is so easy as I put lotion on everyday anyway so I just swapped my regular lotion with this and I've got a healthy glow to my usually albino-like skin and my skin is allot softer than when I use any other lotion. The violet and banana fragrance smells lovely and exotic and it really does look perfectly natural on my skin. Really cannot praise this enough, my only criticism is the fact that Lush is taking it off the shelves!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mentalelley on 9/20/2011 3:36:00 PM more reviews by Mentalelley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this product. No it does not streak and yes it does dry fast. It's fabulous, does not stink. It's such a natural tanned colour. I don't understand the bad reviews :S This product is fabulous. Makes your skin feel soooooooo soft too! I can't stop touching myself! Definitely recommend this. For reference I am fair skin, Chinese.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pocco on 9/9/2011 4:07:00 PM more reviews by Pocco

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this product!!!! I got the small bottle at first to see if I liked it, and I will definitely be going back to get the larger one soon.

I like to put this lotion on my face and body as soon as I get out of the shower. It gives me such an amazing glow under my foundation. It smells great also!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CarolinaMidwife on 8/21/2011 10:23:00 PM more reviews by CarolinaMidwife

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't understand a lot of these reviews.


This product does not streak, I'm actually not even sure it can streak. You apply it like a lotion and it the consistency of a liquidy lotion. If you have applied self tanner even once in your streaking won't be a problem for you. I would not deign to use this on my face, I use bronzers specifically made for the face for that.


Also, it does smell like bananas but that isn't a secret, it's in the description. However, the smell fades quickly. Again, if you have ever used self tanners you know how much they can reek; this doesn't have any such odor. It's not a self tanner, after all. As for the patchouli complaint.... there's no patchouli in this product so I'm not sure how it could smell like it.


A for it's tint ability... It is slight but it's also build able, just let it dry and apply another coat. It also dries fairly quickly. The color is a little more chocolatey than you might be used to if you use self tanners or body bronzers that tend more towards golden. I like the color, it's almost like you just have a naturally darker skin tone than you really do.
It's almost a slightly pink shade.


Now, all of that said, I am Italian and have olive skin tones. I'm not entirely sure this would be appropriate for an extremely fair skinned person although the sale woman at the store was a red head and she was wearing it and it looked fine.



So, to summarize my ramblings: is it like am airbrush tan? No. Its not even a mystic tan. But it will turn you 1-2 shades darker. If you hate the smell of bananas it might not be for you but honestly it really isn't all that fragrant once it dries. It does not streak or transfer to clothes.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 naturallyfab on 7/26/2011 2:21:00 PM more reviews by naturallyfab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This is my favorite self-tanner! I hate gradual tanners where you feel like you have to stay on top of an application regime otherwise the product will go streaky. Since this is a washable formula, I don't have to worry about keeping up with a regime, and I have instant color. I haven't had any problems with this product streaking, but even if it did you could easily wash it off. The scent of this product is amazing - much better than the average self tanner. I will definitely repurchase this when I run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Zeenat89 on 7/13/2011 4:55:00 PM more reviews by Zeenat89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is OK. It gives a natural-looking tint to the skin but it smells absolutely terrible to me --like rotting fruit. I like that you can wash it off daily but I just can't stand the smell. I also used it on my face and it made me break out :( so for the ladies and gents out there with sensitive skin, please keep it off your face! Looks good on my chest/legs/arms until I start sweating, then it gets streaky. Don't wear it if you plan on perspiring haha. I love lush products but my gawsh do some of them smell nasty!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kaylymachado on 7/6/2011 12:36:00 PM more reviews by kaylymachado

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this product because I liked the cocoa-banana scent, what I didn't know at the the time was that smell quickly fades away and leaves you smelling like patchouli!!!! I did NOT sign up to walk around smelling like a hippy. What a waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missymarissa on 6/14/2011 10:29:00 PM more reviews by missymarissa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Pros: Suprisingly good color. I think it 'tints' your skin the color of a true tan. Little to no shimmer (if you like less this may be for you) Goes on sheer. Not greasy. Reasonably priced. All natural ingredients except for parabens :/
Now for the big Con: smells like an herbal infused rotting banana peel! I was kind of hoping it would smell more like lemon like it claims it does. I do happen to have a very sensitive nose and this may smell more powerful to me than it would to others. Unfortunetly, though, the smell does not go away quickly. It does fade into something less obnoxious than rotting banana..dies down to kind of a cocoabutter scent. Smell is pretty huge to me because i don't like anything that conflicts with my perfume. I almost feel like writing them to tell them they should change the scent because it is a good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 saracc on 5/20/2011 7:12:00 AM more reviews by saracc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this in theory but it just isn't for me. The idea of giving your arms or legs a little bronzy gloss is nice but the colour didn't show on me. I'd say i'm NC25 on my body and this dissapeared right into my skin. Shame as I think the colour looked promising and the smell is really really nice.
I also think it's a pain the way Lush only lasts a year. Yes it's all fresh but that's a lot to use up in a year!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xoxRoyalxox on 5/18/2011 12:36:00 AM more reviews by xoxRoyalxox

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product. I hate bananas with a passion, so I was hesitant to buy this. Luckly, after it has applied, I can't smell it at all. It gives me a subtle bronze glow, and because my skin does not tan easily, this was such a good find. It also evens the color of my skin out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Bronzers products