Hawaiian Tropic • Sheer Touch SPF 50 • Sunscreen

rated 4.2(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hwnpunch on 7/9/2013 7:26:00 PM more reviews by hwnpunch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this for free and It sat in my trunk for a month before I tried it since I'm not a big fan of sunscreen without any physical ingredients. I have to say though that for the body this is a decent product and absorbs just like a lotion. The scent is nice and not so strong that people smell you coming. I have this in spf 50 and while it does keep me from burning in the FL sun I still tan with it on so for those of you looking for more complete protection look elsewhere for something with a physical ingredient in the mix. This leaves no white cast and works well in place of moisturizer when I get out of the shower. I make sure not to accidentally get this anywhere above my chest though.Chemical sunscreens with similar ingredients and texture in other brands do bad things to the skin on my face and neck and burn like hell when I sweat or hit salt water. I don't have that problem elsewhere on my body so this is a nice alternative to some of the heavier sunscreens.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sterlingK on 5/3/2013 2:25:00 PM more reviews by sterlingK

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Other    

Ended up using this (in an SPF 45) when my regular trusted sunscreen (L'oreal Ombrelle) was reformulated and was not cutting it anymore. This is a lovely sunscreen, not very greasy, absorbs quick, smells amazing and protected my extremely fair, sun burnt prone skin even when I spent the entire day on the beach in the sun. Would definitely repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 callarox on 8/31/2012 4:46:00 PM more reviews by callarox

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this sunscreen. It smells so great and I love that for the protection factor, it isn't thick and white. I hate sunscreen (usually at SPF 30 or higher) that is thick and turns my skin a whitish-purple. This definitely does not. I just took a trip to Hawaii and used this the whole time. I only slightly tanned and didn't burn at all.

Don't forget--you can't just put on sunscreen and jump in a pool or the ocean--you HAVE to apply a good 15 minutes before doing so otherwise it won't be effective.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EscalatorKid on 8/20/2012 9:09:00 PM more reviews by EscalatorKid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I loooove this product. I tried the SPF 30 and loved that I could find the SPF 50.

It smells lovely, having a nice tropical scent, as opposed to the usual, stinky plastic chemical smell.

I have very oily skin, so even the SLIGHTEST bit of oil/grease in sunscreen makes me look like I've bathed in a vat of oil. I look THAT bad. Add heat, sun, and sweat to the mix, and I look awful.

This doesn't do that to me. I've worn it in cool weather and hot, blistering sun, and it feels like I haven't put much on at all. I've put it through repeated tests and I've been great. I get none of the burning.

I have literally tried every brand of sunscreen, from generic, house brand to Neutrogena, and THIS is the best. (I can't afford the super expensive stuff at Ulta or Sephora, so I never tried that... But with this, I don't need to.)

I usually hate cream sunscreens, but this is a winner for sure. I will not need to try anything else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 6/7/2012 3:23:00 AM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have this in spf 30, since there's isn't even a 10% protection difference between 30 and higher spf. You still have to apply them throughout the day, and they say at least a golf ball sized amount for your whole body. The average family should use two bottles in one day. That's kind of shocking... I cannot stand the chemical scent of sunscreens or the greasy feeling, so this is HG for me. It has the old school HT scent, but it's nowhere near as strong as it used to be back in the day. This absorbs and is nicely scented. I don't feel like I need to take a shower after using it, and it doesn't leave that film-feeling like most do. If you have dry skin, then go for the new lotion/spf formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jglam on 12/30/2011 1:40:00 AM more reviews by jglam

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I put this on before I went to the pool and it burned the heck out of my skin. I tried to get it to stop burning but the only relief was to jump in to the pool... :'(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cindy604 on 12/28/2011 8:04:00 PM more reviews by cindy604

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Edit: Hawaiian Tropic does indeed test on animals. They belong to the Energizer Group who also distributes Banana Boat.


I am saddened by this, and won't repurchase, but still stand by my original review of the product itself with the exception of one more thing: in recent days the harsh Canadian winters have left my face a little more sensitive than usual. I'm finding that this sunscreen (which I'm using up) stings and turns my face a little red upon application. It goes away within 5 minutes, and I have not noticed breakouts, but maybe something to keep in mind for people in similar environments. I've removed 2 lippies for this.


-----------------


This is my HG sunscreen for face and body. I have this in SPF 45, but have tried every SPF from 30 to 50 to even 70. None of them are heavy or greasy beyond reason.


I regularly use the SPF 45 one as I find it more than sufficient. I am terrified of tanning as I am already naturally fairly dark. The lotion itself is white and goes on perfectly colourless. I put a layer on after moisturizing and before foundation every morning. It takes one minute or so to sink in and then my face is primed for foundation. Its smooth finish is part of the reason as to why I love this so much! Makeup applies better and looks more polished when I use this sunscreen. I have never had problems with breakouts or burns in the summer. It's fairly waterproof as I have found less of a need for re-application during beach days. And as others have already mentioned, the smell (coconut) is absolutely delicious!


The price is higher than some drugstore sunscreen brands at about $14 for a 240mL bottle. However, it lasts forever since it spreads so easily, and its dependability cannot be disputed. I have been on the same bottle for over a year now. Also, Hawaiian Tropic does not test on animals, just another plus!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kissjacksparrow on 9/24/2011 2:48:00 AM more reviews by kissjacksparrow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

We're kinda picky about sunscreen in my household, and this & the Neutrogena dry touch are probably my 2 favorite sunscreens, ever!

Mine is called "Lotion Sunscreen" and said is has " skin nourishing antioxidants, exotic island botanicals sooth & pamper & is very water resistant"

Here is why I love this sunscreen: first of all, it goes on super easily. Its not super greasy and does not ball up. It absorbs quickly so I'm not waddling around for an hour waiting for it to soak in before I put my clothes on. I like the smell, it's nice and tropical and it does not have that typical sunscreen smell. And best of all, I love the way it makes my skin feel! It is like a lotion, it makes my skin soft and smooth and I just love love love that it is not greasy/oily feeling. Why do so many sunscreens feel so nasty and oily!?

oh, and did I mention it's SPF 50!?! A RELIABLE SPF 50!

I use this anywhere that I will see the sun. In the summer, it pretty much goes everywhere, but the rest of the year I will still wear this on my arms if I'm wearing a Tshirt and on my hands before I go driving. I just dont use it on my face, just because I am super careful about not using fragrances and stuff on my face, but Hawaiian Tropic makes a bomb-diggity oil free, fragrance free facial sunscreen for sensitive skin that I also REALLY like.

The only bad thing I can think of to say about this is that the smell is pretty strong, and I could see why some people wouldn't like it. It can also compete with other scents (perfume, deodorizer, body lotion,etc) that you might also want to use. Other then that, I HIGHLY recommend this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xxxoxoxo on 8/20/2011 5:32:00 PM more reviews by xxxoxoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

hg sunscreen.
and i'm happy to say that when i say it's my favorite sunscreen that it's not begrudgingly at all. it's no holds barred - especially as it comes to the drugstore sunscreen aisle. it will be the best there. it has tougher contenders in the higher-end brand products but even then it holds its ground. i love it.

please keep in mind the "older" formulation (to me, this is the one without the little green banner graphic that says "lightweight feel!" at the top of the bottle) does happen to be "harder to spread" but i find it dries more matte. the newer one i am also deeply in love with - maybe more so than the "older" formulation because it spreads much more easily (read: faster and more conveniently making sunscreen application much less painful of a process, haha).

* used on the face, i find it wears well, even under makeup. especially the older formulation that seems to dry more matte, i found it provided a more than acceptable base for foundation. (i use revlon colorstay liquid foundation.)
* smells so good! coconut and maybe slightly banana. i think hawaiian tropic hit the jackpot with their scents - i love them and feel it makes the application process much more enjoyable!
* definitely the BEST of all sunscreens in the drugstore sunscreen aisle. i like it a lot better than any coppertone, banana boat, or even l'oreal ombrelle ones i have tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shadowphoenix on 5/26/2011 7:49:00 AM more reviews by shadowphoenix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in SPF 45. I love it, so far. I picked this up because the Coppertone I use on my son was making my hands break out something awful. This gives me no issues whatsoever.

It goes on smoothly, for me there is no stinging or unpleasant feeling, it absorbs nicely and does not feel greasy or heavy. It has a really nice smell too. Like another reviewer before me, I was impressed at how I could apply it to my neck (and face) without my hair line looking gross. (The Coppertone was really bad for that)

I haven't gotten any burns yet, nor has my son, but I'm always diligent and re-apply every two hours.

Will most likely buy again. Will update if I decide I no longer like it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hawaiian Tropic products

More Sunscreen products