Tarte • EmphasEYES Aqua-Gel Eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 3.1(56 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Caxap on 4/7/2014 5:57:00 PM more reviews by Caxap

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know how this got past Tarte's testing stages. It is HORRIBLE!!!!! Should have never been released into the market! It is very soft, and will crumble and break off as you're putting it on. Impossible to work with. Impossible to get a thin line. I've tried it over the course of several months and have finally given up. The longevity is fine, assuming you get past the application phase (good luck with that). Luckily I didn't pay for this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 reddbone on 8/30/2013 7:34:00 PM more reviews by reddbone

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this eyeliner as a freebie with a pallet I ordered from Tarte. I was really excited to try this out because I thought it was going to be really long lasting. I applied this to my waterline of my left eye and within seconds it was all over my contact lens. Then the whole white of my eye turned brown because the eye liner just ran into my eye. My eye started burning so bad. I had to take my lense out and clean it, Then clean my eye out with cotton swaps so I wouldn't mess up my carefully applied eye makeup. I really don't like this product because it is pretty expensive and is crap. It was like putting liquid liner on my water line. Another thing I noticed is that, I had a swatch of this on the back of my hand, and when I went to go run an apple under water, the eyeliner came off. I didn't rub my hand or use soap or anything. I just ran it quickly underwater. Also a piece broke off while I was applying it. I really don't recommend this at all and it would be better to get the Maybelline master drama for a great liner. It didn't feel very creamy and almost wet when I applied it so that may be where the name aqua comes in. But besides that it is GARBAGE!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misanders on 3/28/2013 12:15:00 PM more reviews by misanders

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is not a great product. I have this in a teal color ( the name isn't on it). What I do like is that it is a thin twist up eye liner...that's about it on the positives. The negatives are...I tried this on my water line and it stung like crazy. My eyes were watering until all traces of this were gone from there. I tried using this just under my eyes and the formula was dry and tugged. I also put it on my hand next to a MUFE in a similar color, waited 5 minutes. When I rubbed this came off immediately and the MUFE one didn't budge. So I wouldn't say this is long-wearing like the packaging claims. I have sensitive eyes so I won't be purchasing anymore of these.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JayCollins on 3/27/2013 11:57:00 AM more reviews by JayCollins

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this on sale at Sephora, and am reminded One More Time to read the reviews on MUA before buying something. Even something as tempting as eyeliner.

I have a major in black eyeliner with a minor in black mascara. I have been wearing black eyeliner for ten thousand years, and have been around the eyeliner block, so to speak.

This is black, make no mistake. A very tempting, dark black. But it slid, slipped, slopped and skipped all over my eyelids until I gave up and attempted to fix it with another product. I powdered it to set it in place, and it smeared all over the poof and, subsequently, the rest of my eye.

Boo! Hiss! Cry! Whimper! I shall console myself by buying more makeup. This will go onto the "bad makeup choices" pile as a reminder to all who travel this path. Which is no one, really, I'm just being dramatic. That's how I feel about black eyeliner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 2/2/2013 9:13:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this in a Sephora 500 point bonus pack and am pretty pleased with it. The one I have is a green that goes on a dark forest green with a hint of green shimmer that is really pretty. The formula is very smooth and creamy but doesn't smear or wear off. Would recommend overall.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VegetaFanGirl on 2/2/2013 6:47:00 PM more reviews by VegetaFanGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I will never have a clear comprehension of why this product was made. It is extremely cumbersome and stubborn to work with! When I first bought it, it looked like your regular twist-top pencil eyeliner. I have the purple one, by the way, which is actually a nice color. I tried applying it several times and it just came out like, as someone else below me said, butter in a stick. It tends to break A LOT, so don't dispense much. It also looks very watered down and is not very pigmented. What you can do, though, is apply it in small clumps and redistribute them with a liner brush. Also, apply two layers. It won't make the eyeliner any less stubborn, but it can make it look less horrible. Since it breaks a lot, you probably won't have it for long- or you'll throw it away instead. I have had flaking issues with it too. Either way. It is pretty pricey, around $19, which you should not give up for an 11.5cm liner!!! What is good about it is the staying power- waterproof indeed. Still, I would absolutely not recommend this eyeliner! Save yourself a good $20!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissBrittanyM on 2/1/2013 9:52:00 PM more reviews by MissBrittanyM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is an EXACT duplicate of Avon's LiquiGlide eyeliner ( or that is a dupe of this). The big difference is the price, since you can buy half a dozen from Avon for the price of 1 from Tarte. Anyhow, this is essentially a gel eyeliner in pencil form... very soft and very wet. It does take a bit of learning to use but the color pay off is incredible. Very little product in the tube so go for Avon's.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Decobalgal on 1/3/2013 2:56:00 PM more reviews by Decobalgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is a joke. It is not, and I mean NOT NOT NOT an eyeliner. It's called an eyeliner. It's packaged as an eyeliner. It's marketed and sold to the unwitting masses as eyeliner. But the one thing it cannot do to save its life is line the eyes. Or "line" anything, for that matter.

What it is: lovely, creamy, soft, pigmented runny melted ice cream. How they got it to take the shape of a long thin cylinder/tube inside the packaging is beyond me. Because it doesn't hold its shape if you blow on it, much less try to apply it to your eyes.

Boy, did I learn this the hard, painful, blinding way. Straight out of the tube, I tried to apply it to my tightline/upper waterline. It immediately melted into a pool of pudding and ran down my eye. No trace of color on my tightline, but a hazy film of liquidy goo blurred my vision right away, and the pudding puddled somewhere down in the inner corner of my eye. I strained to look through the blurred glaze left on my eye and saw that the entire few millimeters of "liner" I had advanced out of the tube to line my eyes was gone. There was no liner or pigment on my upper lid or tightlight, but I did have a puddle of goo in the corner of my eye and a thin, blurring glaze over my iris/pupil to show for it.

Shame on you, Tarte. I'm crazy about Tarte and own just about everything they put out. Yes, companies can make products that are a miss and are soon discontinued. But what makes this shameful is that when I complained to Tarte about it, they had the unaccountable gall to tell me "yeah, it's supposed to be soft". Really? So soft that the slightest pressure will collapse the tip down on itself, make it ooze out from all sides and settle into a melted puddle in the one place makeup is never intended to go, namely, in your eye????

I own lip gloss out of a squeeze tube with more body and firmness than these aqua-liners. Run, run for your lives.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rhody on 11/18/2012 4:18:00 PM more reviews by rhody

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

How do I hate this product? Let me count the ways...

1. The trip broke off FOUR TIMES during one attempted application.

2. It's like they put colored butter in a stick. It caught in every single one of my eyelashes, causing chunks to form all along the rim of my lashes. Absolutely unwearable.

3. Pieces of the glitter went into my eyeball and stung like hell.

I got this in a Sephora insider kit, and I can honestly say this is the only product I've ever thrown in the garbage after one use. It's just abysmal. If I had paid full price for this you can bet I'd be sending an angry message to Tarte. As it is I'm bummed that I wasted my beauty insider points on this. Tarte should really be ashamed that they're selling this at the price they are. It's insulting to the customer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkharbour on 9/14/2012 11:04:00 AM more reviews by darkharbour

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Lovely shades, but the product is soft and the tip breaks easily. It also applies unevenly and thickly. Unless you are going for smudge and smoke, pass this one up. Too bad. The deep olive green shade I got was lovely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Eyeliner products