MAC • Prepped for Glamour • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 12/1/2010 4:24:00 PM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this from MAC's "Good-byes" online. I don't know why I overlooked this when the collection was in store but I love this shadow and I've only had it for 2 or 3 days. People say it's similar to Satin Taupe and it is, but it's more grey/brown without the trace of plum that is in Satin Taupe (which is one of my all time favourite shadows, by the way). Prepped for Glamour, according to the label, is a Frost but it isn't really frosty at all - it's more like one of the Veluxe Pearl or Starflash finishes - it has a sheen or a glow rather than an outright frost. It's a lovely finish and the shadow blends beautifully. It works as a lid colour or a crease colour or as both, with something like Shroom, Orb or Dazzlelight to highlight. It is such a pretty colour and just different enough from Satin Taupe that I feel it has a place in anyone's collection who has and uses the latter shadow and even for some who find Satin Taupe isn't exactly right for them. A shame it was LE - this is one they should make permanent!

Edit: I've been using this shadow almost daily for a little more than a month now and I have to say, it has become one of my very favourite shadows, even pushing Satin Taupe out of top ranking. Prepped for Glamour is even more wearable than Satin Taupe (or Coquette, Copperplate, Mulch - my usual "go to" shadows) and looks so flattering and complex even worn on its own on the lid and up into the crease. It only takes a minute and a swipe on both eyes with a brush like MAC's 217 to achieve a nice every-day look for work or running errands around town. If you have a chance to get your hands on this shadow, don't hesitate. I think it is universally flattering and EASY. (for reference, I'm an NW20 in MAC foundations)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jenja536 on 9/25/2010 11:11:00 PM more reviews by jenja536

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The color shows up very similar to satin taupe on my skintone without the sheen. This is a great shadow to use during the daytime and is work appropriate. Today I wore this on my lid with soft brown along my crease.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 9/25/2010 more reviews by starrysim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Prepped for Glamour is a heavenly crease colour for me. It's a rather cool brown, with a very slight plummy tone. It has the best texture IMO - not too soft, not hard, no fall-out and blends very nicely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 valskuiken on 7/31/2010 6:43:00 PM more reviews by valskuiken

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Oh boy this is pretty on my grey eyes and with my medium-olive skin! In the box it doesn't look too impressive, but it really works out with my eyes; makes them look a bit more blue/green than grey. I use this all over my eyelid and go to work with it. I add a dark color (100 strokes) in the corner when I go out. I think this color might be a bit dark if you have fair / light skin tone. Recommended for medium / dark skin and grey / blue / green eyes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 6/5/2010 8:25:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I originally did not purchase Prepped for Glamour because others indicated it was a dupe for Satin Taupe; however, I find that Prepped for Glamour is a much more wearable shade on me. It does not have that high sheen to it like ST does, which makes it more appropriate for day wear on me. It is also more pigmented on me. Loves it!! If satin taupe is too frosty for you be sure to pick this one up before it's sold out since it's LE. I'm wearing it all over the lid w/ no crease color; however, it can be paired with twinks, bronze, mulch, etc in the crease.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aligirl on 5/3/2010 10:23:00 AM more reviews by Aligirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I wanted to try and not to rehash everything that's already been said. Just my quick 2 cents. In comparing Prepped for Glamour with Style Snob and Satin Taupe on my NC15 complexion, ST has more of a silver sheen(which is why I think most reviews say it pulls "grey") & mauvey undertones, Style Snob is more pink based minus the silver sheen, and PfG is more brown based with satin finish.The texture of PfG is more like a Veluxe Pearl IMO. It applies so smoothly and blends perfectly& it's very pigmented. Dare I say it, but I think I may prefer it to ST.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliastyle on 4/27/2010 4:47:00 PM more reviews by maliastyle

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

No, this isn't exactly like Satin Taupe, and when swatched, a taupe-obsessed girl (like me) would come to the decision she needed both. However, the differences once on the eye are so marginal it doesn't make PfG a necessity in my arsenal.




Satin Taupe does pull more gray, while PfG has a touch more brown. Both are frosts, but ST is frostier. PfG is also ever so slightly deeper.
I'm not rushing for a back up of PfG, but the minute I run out of Satin Taupe, I'm out the door for a replacement.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sockknitter on 4/19/2010 3:38:00 PM more reviews by Sockknitter

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this b/c I read it was a less-shimmery dupe for Satin Taupe and that ST looks awesome with Patina. I've been looking for a great crease color to go with Patina so I purchased this. While I really like it with Patina, I LOVE it with Style Snob. The combo, along with BB Black Mauve liner, makes my green eyes POP! This will last forever and when it's gone the way of every other MAC LE shade, I'll purchase ST in it's place.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CarlaN on 4/17/2010 12:19:00 PM more reviews by CarlaN

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I almost didn't buy Prepped For Glamour, because I kept hearing that it's *exactly* like Satin Taupe, which I already own.

But, after seeing some swatches online, I decided to break down and order Prepped For Glamour, and I'm very glad I did.

I compared Satin Taupe and Prepped For Glamour side by side, and while I love them both, I must say that I think I actually prefer Prepped For Glamour by a small margin.

The two shades are indeed very similar, but at least on my NW15 skin, Prepped For Glamour looks brown, while Satin Taupe looks more gray.

Prepped For Glamour comes fairly close to being a slightly darker and less shimmery pressed powder version of the revered Coco pigment.

I'm wearing Prepped For Glamour today in my creases, with Style Snob on the lids, and the combination makes for a terrific plummy brown design.

There's no need for me to back up Prepped For Glamour, but I like it a lot, and would be glad to buy it again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 calicatattack on 4/17/2010 11:58:00 AM more reviews by calicatattack

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this last week. I agree with the others that it is similar to ST. On my skin, this has more brown and less purple-y/silvery frost than ST, and makes it more wearable for me. I have to wear neutrals at work and this e/s fits the bill. I like both a lot. I am light/med beige skin slightly yellow with ruddy cheeks, brown hair and eyes.
I purchased Hey e/s at the same time. Hey on the lid with PFG in the crease is a really nice neutral combo.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products