Avalon Organics Botanicals Olive & Grape Seed Moisturizing Shampoo - Fragrance Free

3.4

15 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice(1), Aqua (Water), Decyl Glucoside, Sodium Coco-Sulfate, Coco-Glucoside, Sorbitol, Babassu Oil Polyglyceryl-4 Esters, Xanthan Gum, Avena Sativa (Oat) Bran(1), Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract(1), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract(1), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil(1), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil(1), Beta-Glucan(1), Bisabolol, Citric Acid, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Inulin(1), Sodium Suflate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Alcohol(1), Benzyl Alcohol, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate.


on 4/18/2014 6:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I hated it the first time I used it. Dry and makes my hair feel like hay during the shampoo process. But then the next time I used it, I lather it on my palms first and gently massage my scalp. Used the conditioner and left it to condition for about 1-2 minutes. I assure you it felt different and my hair feels softer and less drier than before :)



on 1/16/2014 10:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this was on sale for 5 bucks at whole foods. i prefer using organic hair products and i needed a shampoo, so i thought i'd give it a try at that price.

for reference, i have fine strands, high density, highly textured, kinky hair. basically, it's a big afro if i let it dry unstyled.

the first time i used it, i did a moisturizer treatment before hand so it wasn't that stripping. the second time, i shampooed normally and my hair was just like "what is this WHAT ARE YOU DOING? NO." i tried it a third time to give it one last chance and it still sucked.

this shampoo has no slip, it made my hair feel like straw, and it wasn't cleansing enough for my finicky scalp.

only good thing is that it's organic and fragrance free. other than that, nah. will not buy again. i ended up using it as a shower gel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/5/2013 11:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

- shampoo is nice with lots of suds.
- very little scent (perfect, because I live in a very buggy area and they are attracted to sweet scents)
- I didn't use any conditioner because recently my hair has been super oily and is very short. Just this stuff. Then I blow-dried as-is.
- It doesn't feel like there was any build-up, and my hair is nice and soft.


on 5/31/2013 10:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok here's the thing. I used this a few days ago and it lathered good, my hair seemed moisturised and full so I was pleased with it. It didn't dry my scalp or leave my skin too dry as some shampoos do as well herbal organic ones. My hair once dried looked soft and sat well but the only thing was it irritated my eyes to no end and gradually got worse and made my eyes blood shot. which was noticeable by work colleagues and friends so I had to cut this one out totally.
I have short dark color treated hair and combo skin so I would reccomend this to people who don't have any sensitive allergies to shampoo ingredients such as the ones in this. It isn't worth the price I paid, I've always found Avalon shampoos to Be overpriced here in australia and wouldn't pay more then 9 bucks for somethig like this.

cheers


on 3/24/2013 4:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have long, virgin, slightly wavy hair, normal texture, prone to some frizziness and dryness. I avoid silicones and harsh detergents. The surfactant used in this shampoo is gentle and won't strip or dry out hair. The shampoo itself is a thick, clear gel. It lathers up reasonably well, though I personally need to use more shampoo than normal to get a good lather going. It rinses cleanly. It is a straightforward, basic shampoo. The price is reasonable. I have zero complaints.



on 2/17/2013 11:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Other

I'm not sure how this product gets lots of compliments, cause on my dry and tangly hair, it's pretty damn drying.
Perhaps I'm expecting too much. I was expecting this to be a very moisturizing shampoo, as claimed by the company.

In terms of smell, I can smell a weak hint of olive, but that's all.

This shampoo lathers very well, unlike any other sulfate free shampoo I tried - which produces a creamy lather: Aubrey Organics white camelia shampoo, Mastey repair, Mastey moisturee, Miessence desert flower.
It reminds me a little bit of those sulfate shampoo.
Out of all the sulfate free shampoo I tried, I find Miessence's desert flower shampoo to be the most moisturizing, in case anyone is interested to know.

Will I buy this again? Nope, it's too drying for my hair.

As a reference, I have a dry hair with thick strands


on 9/26/2012 1:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

My skin and scalp have become very sensitive the past few years. I can't use salon or drugstore haircare products because of irritating fragrance and preservatives like methylisothiazolinone. AND I can't use most organic products because of the fragrant essential oils and their components like limonene, linalool, eugenol, etc. (Aveda products make my scalp itch terribly.) Of the many fragrance-free shampoos I've tried, this one is the best.

This is the only shampoo that completely stopped my scalp itchiness. Friends have commented that my hair looks brighter (perhaps due to the chamomile & calendula extracts?). My complaints are that it needs to be more moisturizing -- a creamier formula instead of a gel. And I wish it contained a chelator (EDTA) since my city has hard water. But overall this is an effective, healthy, and affordable product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/16/2012 10:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I loved this shampoo. It lathered easily, cleaned effectively, rinsed completely, and left my fine hair manageable without weighing it down. I thought that the fact that it was fragrance free (though it does have a distinct olive oil scent) would make it perfect for my sensitive scalp. But alas, the oils in it triggered the seborrheic dermatitis that I occasionally get, giving me terrible dandruff.

Ingredients: Water, Organic Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Laurylglucosides Hydroxypropylsulfonate, Glycerin, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Stearic Acid, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Borago Officinalis Seed Oil, Organic Sunflower Seed Oil, Linseed Seed Oil, Organic Olive Fruit Oil, Organic Grape Seed Oil, Allantoin, Bisabolol, Sodium Citrate, Sodium PCA, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Benzyl Alcohol, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate.


on 12/2/2011 4:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Breakage!!! Ahhh!!! This was the worst shampoo for my 2b-ish curly, fine-textured, frizzy hair. This shampoo has no slip to begin with and left a film that made my hair feel sticky, which made it come out in clumps whenever I shampooed or ran my hands through it. After using it and the matching conditioner for about a week, I noticed a significant increase in frizz, much of which came from all the partial strands leftover from the breakage. It also left my hair weighed down yet crispy/fried looking after air drying. I will say that the bottles are pretty. I wish I had had the good luck that other MUAers did, but this one's not for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2011 6:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Only reason I wouldn't repurchuse this is because I prefer another shampoo in their line, but this would be amazing for dry to normal hair. Its definately not stripping and its actually quite moisturizing. Overall very good and it wasn't hard at all for my hair to adjust to organic shampoo.


Back to Top