Unlisted Brand • Laurence Dumont - Tendre Madeleine • Fragrances

rated 3.9(9 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pennypencil on 6/11/2013 6:30:00 AM more reviews by pennypencil

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Tendre Madeleine, along with a whole host of its sisters, can now be bought from some Marks and Spencer stores in the UK, and online. Good work sourcing rare, value-for-money brands, M&S. It's a pity the mainstream aren't likely to discover Laurence Dumont's Senteurs Gourmandes creations any time soon, because at around 22 quid, they are a real steal.

This is my favourite of the line - reminiscent of two fantastic perfumes, Musc Ravageur and Lolita L. Somehow Tendre Madeleine encapsulates the warm fuzziness of the former, with the sweetness of the latter, and adds a sparkling translucency that makes the scent amiable in the way its two relatives aren't, quite. Delicious orange and cinnamon are balanced perfectly with a biscotti base. Oriental, grown-up enough, and perfect for every season, Tendre Madeleine is a must for gourmand-lovers.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 2ksmom on 11/9/2012 8:27:00 AM more reviews by 2ksmom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am just not sure about this. I love Laurence Dumont Vanille Bourbon, so when I saw the scent description for this on Hautelook I thought it sounded interesting and picked up a 1.7 oz bottle for a great price (13.50, I think.) It was certainly a worthwhile purchase, but I donít think I like it enough to repurchase (and I donít see myself using it often enough to even use up the bottle I have).


I love this at initial spray- a sweet & tangy burst of lemon, sugar, and vanilla. But after about 10 minutes it settles into something a little more spicy and masculine, yet powdery (if that makes any sense at all!), and this is the scent that stays with me throughout the day. I apply about 5 sprays to bare skin in the morning after my shower, and while it fades in intensity throughout the day, I can still smell it at the end of the day. I quite honestly donít know if I like it or not. Iíd say Iíve worn it a dozen times or so. I generally prefer a more prominent vanilla note, I guess. My husband likes it on me, so Iím willing to keep trying it. There are certainly other scents that fall into that somewhat Ďunisexí category that took quite a while to grow on me, yet made an immediate impression (Tom Ford Black Orchid and Clinique Simply are two that come to mind). So while this isnít Ďlove at first sniffí, there is something intriguing about Tendre Madeleine and thatís what keeps me coming back to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 productjunkieee on 3/16/2011 7:21:00 PM more reviews by productjunkieee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i thought this would smell more foody but it is nothing like it. it is more of a unisex spice scent. i could barely detect vanilla or any other food element. it's definitely something different but not for my personal taste. the staying power is pretty decent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lepin on 11/3/2010 5:53:00 PM more reviews by Lepin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

On me this smells nothing like Lolita Lempicka which on others smells cloyingly strong and far too sweet to be attractive. That said on me this opens with a burst of orangey citrus laced with vanilla and a touch of spice. I know this is considered a foody gourmand scent which is one of the reasons I purchased this unsniffed. My DH is getting a bit tired of all my complex spice incense fragrances which this is a radical departure from. I like brooding mysterious scents this is happy sweet delicious and edible. I find myself spraying this on before going to bed and during the day I have to reapply as the staying power isn't great. Yet when I open my closet my cashmere scarf and coat collar smell lovely. If your looking for a scent that resembles a confectionary without being juvenile look no further. This is very adult not matronly and definately not a scent that I've ever smelled before. I won't repurchase because I plan on trying other LD scents in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JenniStarBrite on 5/9/2010 9:43:00 PM more reviews by JenniStarBrite

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

At first sniff I thought this was IDENTICAL to L by Lolita Lempicka. However putting them side by side (L on one arm, Madelien on the other) I can smell subtle nuances. The L is more powdery on me. Similar base notes and initial openings but the dry downs are different. Madeline stays fresh and bright and the L mellows.

Very expensive which is why I say BOO! Especially because these used to be $19.00 a bottle and are now $50 for the same size! OBSCENE. But my husband likes this and dislikes L so that works out for me-similar enough that I can enjoy it too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valentina555 on 4/21/2010 more reviews by valentina555

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

this doesnt smell as creamy or vanilla-cookie as i expected, but i really like it nonetheless. it has a strong cinnamon element to it, and it is slightly masculine. doesnt have the childish sugar/candy element that some vanilla/foody scents sadly fall victim to. you can wear this and still feel sophisticated.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ranksubjugation on 4/16/2010 2:51:00 PM more reviews by ranksubjugation

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this scent. There are few perfumes I can wear without getting a headache, and my bf flat-out hates most perfume. I put this on and sat down next to him and, within 20 minutes, he stopped what he was doing and whisked me away to the boudoir!

ANYWAY, the opening reminds me of Angel, but it quickly changes to something a little more subtle. If Angel is a serving of Greek loukoumades (like honey and pepper, to my nose), then Tendre Madeleine is a cinnamon roll... or a bag of fresh, cinnamon almonds. I sprayed some on this morning at 6am. I could still smell on myself easily at 10:30. It is now almost noon, and I can still detect if I sniff myself... this isn't to say it's overpowering, though.

I wish this wasn't so expensive, because I would like to try all the scents in this series!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hesperia on 4/5/2010 11:31:00 PM more reviews by hesperia

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Sigh. I remember when I used to buy Laurence Dumont scents at Sephora for $19.00 a 100 ml bottle. I had about 3. Now, the same bottle goes for $50. God, I hate it when that happens.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettykitty1 on 4/5/2010 8:38:00 PM more reviews by prettykitty1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

If you like L by Lolita Lempicka, you'll love Tendre Madeleine by Laurence Dumont. They are about 95% identical to my nose.

Given a choice, though, I greatly prefer Tendre Madeleine. I'm actually not a fan of L because the salty, tangy note has been known to make my nostrils flare and mouth water in an unpleasant way, as if I've sucked on a lemon. This is not happening with Tendre Madeleine at all, thank goodness.

To put it another way, imagine you've baked a batch of cookies that came out a little too sour or salty for your taste. Now imagine making the recipe again, this time with more butter or margarine to take the edge off and stop your mouth from puckering with every bite.

I can't comment on the price or packaging quality, as I am currently enjoying a small decant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Unlisted Brand products

More Fragrances products