MAC • Greasepaint Stick Below Ground • Eyes

rated 4.0(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mladkins on 4/22/2012 9:52:00 AM more reviews by mladkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I only recently discovered greasepaint sticks and have since collected 4 or 5 colors. They are great for a fast polished look! I like to draw a thick line along the lashes and smudge upward on the lid. Done! And it actually looks like I was trying, LOL! That being said, Below Ground is my favorite because it's light enough to be an everyday look. As far as neutrals go, I also have Dirty and French Quarter but they are darker taupes and not as forgiving. Below Ground on the other hand is a golden bronze and works wonderfully on my blue eyes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* technopixie on 2/12/2011 5:49:00 PM more reviews by technopixie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great liner, it's really easy to do a thick, smoky line. The lasting power is up there with the best gels but this is effortlessly smoldering. I don't care for it as amshadow base though, it sets too quickly to sheer out and I just end up smearing it into dark patches, and full strength it's darker than I care to wear except once in a full moon. Pick this up if you want a no-fuss chubby liner; otherwise pass.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chester99 on 10/3/2010 11:28:00 AM more reviews by Chester99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a nice bronze color that works well as a base for bronze and light brown colors, i.e. Modelette (Warm & Cozy). Just one note, work fast because these GPS set very quickly. Works well as a liner as well.
Other than that it's very creamy, applies well and stays well.

I bought this with the Art Supplies collection which means it is LE and there is no chance of buying it again (unless MAC repromotes).

One note, you really have to get used to the smell. It smells kinda industrial, reminds me of a factory building were they assemble cars. It goes away quickly. It doesn't bother me but I thought I'd mention it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vittoriak on 5/1/2010 4:36:00 PM more reviews by Vittoriak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a wonderful product. The colour is somewhat of a darker golden bronze colour. It makes gold eyeshadow shows up even more brilliantly. The texture is extremely creamy and glides on my lids like butter. The pigment is intense. The eyeshadow is long-lasting (But I always put a primer first) and does not transfer at all. I love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* insanity89 on 4/25/2010 1:26:00 AM more reviews by insanity89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

i can't stand using these. i bought the black, blue and violet with the previous collections and have hardly used them since i got them. i bought below ground because it was a lighter colour and it looked nice when i swatched it. I must say that when i put this on my eyes it just made my eyes look dirty.hated it. probably will return it if i can find it in a few days (misplaced it already)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cyclops68 on 4/24/2010 7:36:00 PM more reviews by cyclops68

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So we were first introduced to Greasepaint Sticks back in October 2009 and they turned out to be wildly popular and in April 2010, they were back with a vengeance in the Art Supplies collection that boasted 8 different colours. Firstly, I noticed that the texture of these Greasepaint Sticks is slightly smoother than the black one that was released with the Style Black collection, which tends to skip on my eyelids. Also, in comparison to Shadesticks, Greasepaint Sticks are more pigmented and feel more buttery. Shadesticks tend to skip on my skin as well, but the newer ones, such as those released with the Warm and Cozy collection are smoother, but they still tug a little on the skin and aren't as smooth as Greasepaint Sticks are.

In terms of colour, Below Ground is very close to Relaxed, a brown Shadestick from Warm and Cozy. In fact, I swatched them next to each other in the store and was debating if I should purchase Below Ground. Obviously I did, even though my boyfriend thought it was a decadent waste of money buying something you already own. Relaxed is a golden cocoa colour that resembles Tempting eyeshadow, and it is a more subdued version of Below Ground, which is a darker, richer and more pigmented version. In short, a more sinful Relaxed. If Relaxed is what a 9 to 5 appropriately-dressed office-worker would wear, Below Ground is what she wears on Friday nights with a cleavage-revealing black corset. Below Ground just smolders sexiness and is a lot more sophisticated than Relaxed is, which looks flat in comparison. Don't get me wrong, I loved Relaxed when I bought it because it was the perfect shade of brown (not too red but not too cool) for me (NC30), but I didn't know that Below Ground would have so much more character. It is what I had wished Gilt by Association MES (from Style Black) would look like on the eyes- a black based eyeshadow with bronze pearl that I had lusted over for a long time but eventually swapped away because it simply wasn't popping on my eyes. If I had kept it and worn it over Below Ground, the colour would have come to life, but Below Ground worn on its own as an eyeshadow is just as vibrant. It's almost like a ready-made brownish gold smokey eye if you blended it in the inner corner with a light shadow.

So if this wasn't obvious enough, I'm in love with Below Ground and I find the swatch on MAC's website absolutely unjustified (they've made it out to resemble the colour of baby poo). This is what Tempting eyeshadow is if you put it in a saucepan, reduced it, then distilled it down to its essence- a sinfully rich cocoa condensed in a stick.

I have uploaded a picture comparing the two products. It isn't the most colour accurate since it was taken indoors but it gives a rough idea of what I'm talking about. In daylight, the colours are more similar due to the golden shimmer.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 elwoods10 on 4/22/2010 1:13:00 AM more reviews by elwoods10

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this thinking the greasepaints would stay on longer than just the regular shadesticks. WRONG! It is a pretty bronze color but it came off three hours after wear! I am taking it back and going to try MAC Paint Pot in Constructivist.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Spikesmom110 on 4/21/2010 1:02:00 PM more reviews by Spikesmom110

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this! The color, the application, the staying power, everything is awesome. I wish it was a tiny bit more goldish in color though. It is described as a bronze, but it's a little flat to me. I still think it's a great color, just not the color I had pictured.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JustLikeHollywood on 4/21/2010 12:57:00 PM more reviews by JustLikeHollywood

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this all round! I can use it in lots and lots of ways! It's a great base all over the lid for a smokey eye or used in the outer v or crease but it's also brilliant as a liner! this is creamy and easy to work with but once it's set, that's it! on all day. I bought 4 of these and I LOVE them. Would I buy them again? YES! any day, I just wish they did them in colours a bit like painterly or bare study too, as these are brilliant last all day crease free bases for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msdi2u on 4/13/2010 5:12:00 PM more reviews by msdi2u

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this MUCH better than those tug-your-eyelids-till-they-bleed Shadesticks MAC carries! This is a gorgeous, golden brown and I like to use this as eyeliner. It applies like butter- but despite it's creaminess- it lasts all day on me. Usually, I find the creamier the pencil, the more it smudges and fades as the day goes on; but not so with this pencil. I like this Greasepaint Stick so much- and yet I didn't expect to. I'm probably going to wind up buying another one in a different color, now.... =P

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyes products