Sugarpill Pressed Shadow - Tako

4.3

15 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/9/2015 12:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Sugarpill pressed shadows work for me exactly as intended; "Richly pigmented, velvety smooth, luxury pressed eyeshadows for all-night party wear." Tako is a "pure matte white" that looks and applies, well, pure matte white. I use this often as a brow highlight and nose highlighter for matte skin looks. This works as a nice base color for some loose shadows that are just too intense for a look.

The color is perfect. The texture of the pressed cake lends well to medium to stiff bristle brushes without breaking or disintegrating to the touch. Product applies smoothly but I feel it requires a good base primer product to hold onto the eyelids for a true opaque coverage. Tako blends beautifully with a stiff brush otherwise. I don't find it fading on the inner corners or browbone one bit, even after 8 hours of partying. It's a great matte highlighter for my super-pale skin!



on 6/24/2013 9:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I don't know about you, but there is something about a bright inner eye that makes me drool... okay, not literally, but I think you get the idea. Whether I'm rocking a shimmery, peachy eye or even just throwing on some black, winged liner, I almost always want a bright inner tear duct, and Sugarpill's Tako is what I always reach for.
First, I'll put down a good primer for longevity - my trusty Mac Painterly paint pot does the trick. Then, I'll layer on a milky white base - Nyx's Jumbo pencil in yep, you guessed it, Milk, works perfectly. Using my pinky, I'll blend Milk a little so it doesn't cake up. Then, using a small pencil brush or my pinky again, I'll tap into Tako and pop that right on top. And there you have it - the perfect, inner corner highlight.
I don't quite know how to describe the effect of this shadow, perhaps its matte texture is what makes it so flattering. The softness of matte shadows, to me, makes your eyes appear bigger, and draws more light in than shimmery shadows (at least I think so). Don't get me wrong, a shimmery inner eye is sometimes what I want, but if the majority of my shadows have shimmer (lid and crease, say), then Tako is my best friend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2013 2:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm extremely pale so even with a primer, it really doesn't show up that much. I'm a die-hard Sugarpill fan though so it's tough for me to say bad things however, this just isn't a product I'll be spending money on again once I run out.


on 2/19/2013 5:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was a big disappointment for me. After reading so many good reviews on Sugarpill eyeshadows, I decided to buy Tako. (along with Acidberry) The price is way too expensive for a single shadow. Tako is very chalky and it can be experienced in any other cheap shadow. What disappointed me the most is how easy it falls in only two hours. With or without an eye primer, it just won't stay. It always creases and falls down to my lashes.

I honestly can't see what people see in Sugarpill. This was a big waste of money. :(


on 1/27/2013 3:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am always on the fence about matte whites. I eyed this one for about a year before my husband bought it for me for christmas. I do like the color pay off and the blendability. It is great for a highlight or just as a white lid color. It is a bit soft and chalky in a way but being matte and white that is to be expected.

The only reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 is I got this as a single shadow and though the packaging is cute, I dropped it maybe a foot and a half onto my floor and the top lid cracked. For 12 bucks a pop I would expect the packaging to be a little more sturdy like the Mac containers.


on 9/3/2012 3:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm actually torn on whether or not I'd buy this. I received this in a swap from a MUA member. I really do love the colour. It's a great matte white especially for the inner corner as a highlight. My issue is that, and I don't know if it's just mine and it happened to be a bad one, it's very chalky and you can tell when it's applied.


on 5/28/2012 9:12:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Best white in the freaking world, seriously. I refuse to buy any other matte white ever! There are lots of reviews on how opaque this is, so you don't need to hear more about that, though it really is. What I want to talk about is how its also really blendable, and can be sheered out if you need it. Just use a light hand and a fluffy brush and the possibilities are endless! I love this so much, thank you sugarpill!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the BEST white eyeshadow you will ever buy!Kinda pricey,but you will get over that once you try this!I use this all the time,and love it!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2011 11:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

The absolute best opaque white eyeshadow ever. Beats MAC, Lancome, and literally every other high end brand I've ever used, hands down. Blend-able, rich, and easy to apply. I will use it up and buy it over and over again, no doubt.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/26/2011 9:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

The perfect matte white eyeshadow! That ends the search. Lovely and soft, blendable, buildable, highly pigmented and never chalky. The big pan means I can easily use it when I want a matte highlighter elsewhere too (I'm super duper ghostly pale, conventional biege highlighters are useless). When people look at the price you have to consider the amount of product you get - a whole 5g, that'll last forvever! Which, although that may not be much of plus for Sugarpill's brighter colours, for frequently used basics like black and white, it's great. On top of that, the packaging is beautiful & feels sturdy and the customer service is friendly & faultless.




Back to Top