John Masters • Shine On • Styling Products

rated 3.7(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 goldrauschengel on 11/1/2013 7:41:00 PM more reviews by goldrauschengel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Doesn't do much for my coarse, shoulder-length, thick and curly hair. More specifically, it doesn't add any shine, nor does it help to defrizz. Perhaps hair is a little softer, but since there are no visible results fo me, I wouldn't purchase. Especially not at this price level. Fortunately the sales rep filled a little sample pot for me to try, otherwise I would have wasted 35€ on this...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luineumaiel on 12/4/2012 10:51:00 PM more reviews by luineumaiel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this product. I have very dark, dry and frizzy south asian hair. I applied this to partly wet hair right after a shower, blow dried it and it left an extremely natural shine on my hair AND kept it soft, smooth and tangle-free for the rest of the day.

The packaging works for me because if it came in some squeeze tube version, you wouldn't be able to get a lot of the product out because of it's thick, gel-like consistency. This way, you can scoop every last bit out of the tub, AND reuse the tub for any homemade face masks/scrubs.

It's expensive, but if you'll use it occasionally only, it's a great buy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 klairi1 on 4/8/2012 6:46:00 AM more reviews by klairi1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used this product only once but i was so overwhelmed that i had to write a review! My hair is long wavy,super- dry and frizzy.
I applied shine on , on towel dried conditioned hair and then blow dried it and ....WOW!!! It was not only shiny and smooth ( the effect i get from Morrocanoil or kerastase elixir ultime) but also had a lot of volume and looked alive like never before! I got compliments from everybody "what did you do to your hair?????" and keep on mind that i am someone who always has well styled hair ( which explains the damage- dryness).Now if this product is in the long run going to improve the overall condition of my hair, then it will be my no1 hair product of all times. Looking gorgeous and at the same time improving hair quality. What else can anyone expect from a hair product?

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 josie13 on 3/30/2012 10:43:00 AM more reviews by josie13

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product made my hair stiff, dry and not shiny at all and left it with a very unpleasant texture. I used it according to the instructions. It is probably one of the worst products I ever used. On the plus side it has a lovely smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Starsfellon on 10/14/2011 1:13:00 AM more reviews by Starsfellon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I bought this product as I am trying to go silicone free and had previously been using the Frizz Ease Serum. I like this much, much better as it doesn't build up the way the Frizz Ease sometimes did, and if I stretch a little between shampoos my hair doesn't go slick. I love the glass jar, but I always avoid plastic like the plague. Why spend money on chemical free products packaged in chemical laden plastic? Anyway, I just very lightly dab two fingers into the jar after showering and apply. I wouldn't say that it really helps a lot with manageability while wet, it's not sticky but leans a little that way. After drying it leaves my hair soft, shiny, smoothed and very light and bouncy feeling. Overall, great for hair that needs a little shine and health.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joules6 on 9/7/2011 5:40:00 PM more reviews by joules6

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Amazing product. I apply to towel-dried wet hair, after shampooing.
I sometimes use plain aloe vera gel in the same way, but this product is even better.
Lovely clean, slightly green scent. I enjoy many products from the John Masters Organics line, and albeit pricey, they deliver great results without harmful ingredients.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yvesrocher on 6/12/2011 11:15:00 PM more reviews by yvesrocher

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So, I know everyone says this is more of a treatment but I used it as a styling product. I have dry, thick, curly hair. I am trying to go silicone free so I ordered this online.
I like this best to use after I have shampooed and conditioned my hair. I put a little in my towel dried hair and then use some Kiss My Face gel and I am all set.
My waves are defined, smooth, and shiney. If I don't want to wear my hair down. I just put a little of this in my hair and put it in a pony tail and my hair looks nice and shiney. I do like that I can use this on dry hair when it looks a little blah. I think I will try the Shea Moisture collection before I drop another thirty buck on this jar. I think this jar should last me for a while anyhow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* simi531 on 4/25/2011 10:20:00 PM more reviews by simi531

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is so expensive, but I was able to buy it on clearance at a local natural food store. It really does work well as a treatment and a styler for me. Whenever i forget to use it, I wonder why my hair does not look as good and then I remember this stuff! I try to alternate products (I have so many to go though), but i do return to this frequently. I feel like this is helping my hair get healthy while I am styling it. No risky ingredients like other gels or leave-ins. Just real stuff that actually works. I am going to try and make this last as long as possible b/c the price of this is outrageous!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 theamethyst on 4/23/2011 8:46:00 PM more reviews by theamethyst

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Let me start by saying that this review is in the wrong category.
John Masters Organics' Shine On is a TREATMENT, not a styling product. Like the other person who gave this a five-star said, if you use it as a styling product prepare for disappointment.
I'll also say that after getting the worst cut possible on my hair, I hoped that a moisturising, strengthening shampoo would help me grow it out.
No luck there. My hair just stayed the same length and became even more unruly and dull, plus no matter how "in" matte hair is at the moment, I still wanted my shine. I looked like I could fit right in with the Wild Things in Maurice Sendak's book.
Enter my lovely prized pot of Shine On. The pot read that this was a leave-on treatment for shine and softness, exactly what I was looking for.
It looks like a hair gel, probably why MUA dropped this into the styling category, but again, it's a treatment.
It is a thick gel, which you are allowed to apply liberally, but you actually only need a small amount. I was a bit intimidated at first because the lump that I scooped out from the jar looked hard and unmoving so I was scared that it WAS going to gel my hair. However, when I rubbed the treatment between my hands the lump crumbled and turned into what looked like a hydrating oil. It was easy getting this to coat my hair and I combed it through and went to sleep.

The next morning I almost screamed.

My hair was the softest and shiniest it had ever been since kindy. Oh. My. God. I brushed my hair through and couldn't find a single tangle. My hair looked remotely GOOD and was soft to the touch and shone even when the light wasn't on it.

After a month of use my hair now looks like the CGI-ed hair from the commercials -- the silky, shiny, bouncy hair that everyone craves. And it's mostly because of this!

It is damn pricey, at 55SGD for a 4oz jar but I will repurchase if my hair stays like this. Also, if they put this in a pump I would love it even more, because the pot can be unhygienic if you're scooping with wet hands and if you have hair fall it may end up in the pot.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chloepoodle on 2/13/2011 11:17:00 PM more reviews by chloepoodle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this, even with the somewhat high price. This is NOT a styling product, but a treatment. If you expect to use this as a styling aid you wil most likely be disappointed. It makes my medium, processed hair lush and soft.You don't need much or your hair may feel flat, but WOW! No nasty smell, either. I use it with the JM unscented shampoo and conditioner.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Masters products

More Styling Products products