Clinique • Acne Solutions Liquid Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.8(312 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 littlejbird on 4/12/2014 11:58:00 PM more reviews by littlejbird

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Hands down this is my absolute favorite foundation. I used to apply it with a regular foundation brush, but it dries very fast, so I would be left with splotchy, streaky skin. So I just use clean fingers instead! This really keeps my skin clear, and I really appreciate a foundation that can help keep your skin clear. The packaging is not great, I don't care for tube/bottle hybrids because you'll be squeezing and get a huge splatter due to an air bubble! Not fun :( and I also don't think that the price justifies the size, its not a large bottle. The shade also oxidizes to a shade or two darker than what it is in the package. Overall I really love this product. If you're hesitant, Clinique will provide a seven day sample on any product :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 theteenrunway on 3/22/2014 3:16:00 AM more reviews by theteenrunway

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation! It's hands down the best foundation I've ever used! I've used $40-45 foundations in the past, but I like this one the best. This foundation does help my acne get better and reduces most of the oil. The T-zone areas still get relatively oily, but I dab it, and it's gone for the rest of the day. I set this with 2 kinds of setting powders to make sure it doesn't come off at all. Even if I don't use them, because I want to do my makeup quickly, this foundation still dries matte! I recommend this product to acne-prone teens!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* topnotch_babydoll on 3/13/2014 1:32:00 AM more reviews by topnotch_babydoll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Ive been using Revlon Colorstay liquid and creme mixed together for awhile now,but its been clogging my pores.Im always on the hunt for a new foundation that doesn't break me out.I bought this in 02 fresh ivory,and Im about nw15/nc20..I have been loving it so far.I have dry skin and need to moisturize well otherwise it can get flaky during the day.Its definitely helped to clear out some whiteheads and acne a bit,I set it with my smash box halo powder or chanel double perfection and it looks flawless all day.It also photographs great.It does oxidize a little bit,which is the only downside.This is my new goto foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HelloBrittney on 2/24/2014 4:21:00 PM more reviews by HelloBrittney

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've been buying this makeup for years and it's completely worth it! I have a very hard time finding quality liquid makeup in my shade because my skin is so fair and sensitive and 01-Fresh Alabaster is the by far the best dor me. It smells terrific, and goes on nice and smooth. It covers evenly (I use my fingers, not a sponge.) My skin can get oily though, so I swipe on a little bit of the Clinique Stay Matte powder in the same shade and the two do so well. I hardly ever have to touch up my make up with this, and I've even used it as a primer for eyeshadow when I've run out and as a concealer for under-eye shadows instead of using it all over. Highly recommend! (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 basilhea on 2/16/2014 2:54:00 PM more reviews by basilhea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is great! its pretty sheer in coverage but it does not make me break out at all. I have sever acne which has actually calmed down alot. i usually just use my fingers to apply this light foundation. In the future if my acne scars fade a bit more i will continue to use this foundation but if not i will purchase another clinique foundation that is a bit more coverage. For added coverage to this foundation i also use the clinique stay matte powder .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jaaanet2 on 1/18/2014 10:34:00 PM more reviews by jaaanet2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So I suffer from terrible acne, which is super annoying since I am in my college years which are suppose to be the best time of my life. Despite that, when it comes to my face and make-up I have no problem spending a few bucks on higher end products in order to not destroy my face even more. Now this product is pretty good, I am currently in love with their Oil-Free Matte foundation so that's why I am like eh about this product. It really is good though. It provides good coverage which is what most acne sufferers need! And with some concealer this foundation can be golden. For the most part it didn't make my skin oily, which was great because I have really oily skin. It also didn't cause me any breakouts I believe, but I wouldn't say it prevented any. i tend to get a few spots during my time of the month, but this foundation really is great, i think I might go back to this foundation after I finish the matte one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mpaolicc on 1/12/2014 10:33:00 PM more reviews by mpaolicc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I like this product a lot. I have mild hormonal acne on my chin and jawline that flares up 2 out of 4 weeks a month. I use this during the day when I'm feeling self conscious about my skin, and it has great coverage. I definitely always moisturize before putting it on, as it is drying with the salicylic acid. It's helpful to exfoliate and add rosehip seed oil to your moisturizer in the winter if you have dry patches. I have very dry skin in the winter and I am still able to use this make up without it looking flaky. I apply it using #55 sephora pro airbrush and do the 'stippling' method to apply it. Before that I was using #56 foundation brush and 'painting' it on (as so to speak), but I feel the stippling method provides a better finish. I always clean my brush after using so there is no bacteria and brushes work better when they are clean.

My only gripe is that it dries quickly (I am guessing this is because of the salicylic acid) so you have to be quick applying it and you have to 'build' the layers quickly. Once it dries, if you try to add more on top, it just looks bad. I've also tried to add a finishing translucent powder, but whenever I do, I can see it sitting on my skin because the foundation has dried.

Besides that, I feel like it does help my skin when wearing it. It has never broken me out, and I feel that my skin looks better after I take it off. Can anyone recommend a good makeup remover for this? I use cold cream, but I find it takes me several passes to get everything off my skin. I don't find it to be the easiest makeup to remove. I like the bottle with the nozzle, the only thing I don't like is that it's hard to tell how much is left in the bottle. I'd say 1 bottle lasts 3-4 months if you are only applying occasionally.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carlablack on 11/7/2013 4:44:00 AM more reviews by carlablack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

When i feel my skin's starting to act up, this is the foundation i reach for. It's very light and still gives a good coverage; though i must add that i don't have a severe acne problem, just a few blemishes once a month. It's perfect for everyday look, not visible under sunlight.

Formula has salicylic acid and caffeine in it. It didn't cure my blemishes but also didn't cause a breakout. It smells like some kind of tonic. That alcohol-ish smell which is nice, makes you feel like you're applying some acne medication on your face. When applied it dries down to a matte finish but does not control oil (nothing can/should control oil IMO, just blot your face every two hours and you'll be fine)

It doesn't provide any sun protection.

I use MUFE 108 large foundation brush to apply this and it goes on soooo smooth! (check that out it's an awesome brush :) )

I wish clinique would redesign foundation packaging. These squeeze bottles are very messy and not fit for a high quality makeup product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 geekinpink on 11/6/2013 5:31:00 PM more reviews by geekinpink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This was recommended to me by a Shoppers DM Beautician. I don't think the salicylic acid in it does anything. However, It doesn't break me out (everything breaks me out!!), light coverage, blends well. It does not control oil, normal lasting power. I wouldn't call it HG however anything that doesn't break me out is a good find. I wear the lightest colour, normally in other brands I wear the second lightest colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Fromdaylight on 10/23/2013 4:34:00 PM more reviews by Fromdaylight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Does not cause breakouts and feels super light, as if you are not wearing any foundation at all. However, coverage is light, though it is buildable and dries to a natural, glowy finish.

My main problem is that this stuff turns super red/pink after an hour or so of wear. I was matched to the color 03 and could not believe it when I saw my face in the mirror an hour after wearing it - it looked liked I had a sunburn! I ended up exchanging it for a shade lighter, so that it can darken to a shade more similar to my skin tone.

It looks like this is a common problem with others as well, so make sure to try a sample before your purchase just in case.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products