Shiseido • Pureness Mattifying Moisturizer (Oil Free) • Moisturizers

rated 3.5(193 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* composure on 3/17/2014 9:13:00 PM more reviews by composure

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I picked this moisturizer up at a warehouse sale for approximately $20. I was drawn to this product as it is made for oily/combination skin and it provides a matte finish.

It has a light fresh scent with a watery consistency. It absorbs quickly into the skin, actually, it absorbs a little too quickly where I feel that it doesn't moisturize enough. I started using this during Autumn, and the colder it got the more flakes I saw around my nose and cheeks. It doesn't break me out.

I will have to come back to this once summer rolls around, I have hope that it works!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 roziebabe on 2/5/2014 11:43:00 PM more reviews by roziebabe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

One thing I have always sucked at is moisturising. I have not started moisturising until this year. I have never liked the sticky feeling I got after using most moisturisers. I went to my local Shiseido counter to buy a BB cream, and I ending up walking away with a bottle of this! I was really attracted to how light weight this serum is. I works well under all of my make up too! I think this is good product for young skin, and for people like me who suck at following a moisturising routine because it is not too heavy. I have been using this product every day for the last three weeks and I don't really have any complaints apart from that fact that it makes my skin feel a little bit rubbery after use, but I normally put primer on top of it, so that feeling does go away.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Yuccazz on 1/22/2014 3:49:00 AM more reviews by Yuccazz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have been using this moisturizer for many years. I like its mattifying feature, which counters the oil on my T zone. However, now that I'm older, I need something more moisturizing and its time to move on. I would highly recommend this for people below 25. The only thing to complain about is that the bottle's suction pump sometimes doesn't work that well when the moisturizer is down to about 10% remaining. Not sure how that happened.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NicoleM96 on 1/20/2014 10:46:00 PM more reviews by NicoleM96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

So I have very oily skin and I really wanted to try matifying products. I saw some good reviews on this, but after seeing it was 33 dollars I thought I wouldnt buy it. But amazingly enough I was at Marshalls and I saw this exact moisturizer there for 24 dollars!(Go to Marshalls if you want hidden great hair and skin care deals!) So I decided to try it. Honeslty it made my face matte for like an hour and the smell was alittle, for lack of a better term, grandmothery to me. So not really worth even the discounted price, but maybe itll work better for someone with not as oily skin as me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 grace5e on 1/10/2014 8:24:00 AM more reviews by grace5e

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Okay... I purchased this about a year ago in Japan when my face was in really bad condition. My forehead was broken out and I think it was more of a hormonal change in my body rather than something I had done differently in my skin care regimen and diet. So when I tried this, it didn't really work for me. I was also addicted to picking my pimples, and I think applying this to bleeding broken out skin was a horrible idea. Because it was a mattifying product, it had some white stuff in it that I think was blocking my pores. But since I paid quite a bit of money on this (I'm really cheap), I decided to just keep it in my dresser. I moved to Korea a couple of months after that, and then the summer came. It was such a humid summer. At this time, I was still experimenting on using different skin care products, and I was breaking out because of them, but not as worse as when I was in Japan. One day, I was just cleaning out my drawers and found this. I figured I could give it another try since nothing was working for me. My whole intention was just to finish the bottle so I wouldn't waste it. Because of that, I wasn't going to switch easily to a new moisturizer. It didn't feel greasy on my face as it did when I used before and continued using it. After about a week, the pimples on my cheeks started healing. It was a miracle for me because I had not seen any moisturizer have that effect on my skin. It was drastic! I ran out of this moisturizer last week, and because I had other moisturizers in my dresser that I want to finish, I didn't purchase another bottle of this. Now, I feel like I'm starting to break out again, so I'm thinking about going to the store tomorrow and buying another bottle. Hurray for this moisturizer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Julie18 on 12/31/2013 7:52:00 PM more reviews by Julie18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This has a strong perfume scent and tons of alcohol in it. This product caused white tiny water filled bumps to appear above my upper lip, so I discontinued use after a day. Also very drying, so I wouldn't recommend for dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kbono23 on 11/13/2013 12:16:00 AM more reviews by kbono23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

works! this product replaces my Clinique moisturizing gel due to its ability to keep my oily skin under control! lasts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AmyN24 on 10/30/2013 11:59:00 PM more reviews by AmyN24

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Its quite a good product. It definitely gives your skin a very matified and sheer look. The only thing i don't like about this product is that it doesn't deliver a lot of moisture but overall, great!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NeverFull on 10/27/2013 11:23:00 PM more reviews by NeverFull

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I like this moisturiser. When I used it initially, I felt that it wasn't hydrating enough and my skin would feel a little taut and dry through the day. But after using it for a week or so, my skin found its balance, and now this moisturiser feels just perfect. So I'd advise anyone who is trying this product to give it some time and be patient with it. Don't believe everything the salespeople tell you about a little going a long way- I tent to use three pumps on my face before I feel satisfied. Different people will use different amounts of this product, given that it is not your typical thick and rich moisturiser. This is a great base for makeup- liquid and powder. I use it with the Pureness powder and it really does keep my face from getting oily through the day. Before using the Pureness range I would get oily within half an hour of washing my face and putting on my makeup. But now I find that I can go at least 4 hours or so before I need to touch up with a blotting paper and some powder. It hasn't made my acne any worse and it feels light and easy on the skin. I'd recommend it to anyone with acne prone and oily skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rgliponeo on 9/5/2013 10:18:00 AM more reviews by rgliponeo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE LOVE LOVE. I just need to say again, that I love everything in the Pureness range - it has saved my skin which only recently started becoming problematic (I'm in my early 20's)!! It's a lightweight, almost water-like moisturiser. You only need a tiny bit for it to cover your face and yet again a little goes a long way! Definitely would buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shiseido products

More Moisturizers products