Bourjois • Volume Glamour Ultra Care • Mascara

rated 4.2(38 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 LilyJ on 10/8/2014 7:53:00 AM more reviews by LilyJ

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best mascara for me, although it would be perfect if it was waterproof, I can live with that. It keeps the curl nicely, is a natural looking black, doesn't clump and gives great, natural looking volume. I have tried loads of other mascaras but always come back to this one. I tried the Bourjois 1 Second Volume and found it too unnatural looking and it clumps badly. Plus, Volume Glamour is cheaper.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tattoogirl00 on 9/2/2014 12:30:00 PM more reviews by tattoogirl00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

PROS:
- looks natural, gives me decent volume and a little length
- doesn't make my lashes crunchy
- doesn't clup, flake or smudge
- holds curl
- doesn't irritate sensitive eyes !
- one coat is enough, but it layeres well
- easily removable
- conditiones lashes (cotton and almond oil)
- great formula, not too dry or too wet
- very black
- beautiful, chic packaging

CONS:
- sometimes the brush picks up too much product
- very non water-resistent, it slides of immediately when my eyes get watery
- a little pricy (12$ where I live)

My experience:
I really like this mascara. It's great everyday mascara, looks natural and doesn't make lashes crunchy. It gives me nice natural volume, lengthens a bit, but nothing over the top. I like that the colour is very black and it can be layered easily for more dramatic lashes. On me it holds curl very well (I curl my lashes only before I put mascara on), doesn't smudge, doesn't flake and overall holds up great during the day. The brush is big but very manageable, nothing extreme. It doesn't clump and I hate mascaras that stick lashes together and make you look like you have three fat lashes. I take it off easily using Garnier micellar water or Bourjois makeup remover. I love the black&white packaging, it looks so chic and elegant. And really important thing for me: I have very sensitive eyes; I wear glasses and read every day at least 8 hours and this mascara doesn't irritate my eyes at all. Never. It didn't dry my lashes out and they are long and strong when I use this mascara. On tube it says that it contains cotton and sweet almond oils. The formula is great and creamy, not too dry, not too wet.
What bothered me was that sometimes the brush picks up too much product, but that is better after one week of use, when the formula becomes a little drier. But anyway you can scrape off the excess easily, it's no big deal for me. Another thing is that this mascara is very non-waterproof. It starts sliding off right away when it gets in contact with water. It isn't marked as waterproof so I can't really say it is a con but I would personally like that is just a little bit more water-resistant so that I don't have to wipe off mascara immediately if my eyes water a little.
It is a little pricy, it costs about 12$ where I live. I can often buy it on sale for 8 or 9 bucks so it's ok, but still it would be great if it was cheaper.
All in all, 5/5 and I would definitely buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sjess on 3/2/2014 4:42:00 PM more reviews by Sjess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Good basic mascara. Perfect for a natural look. I use this on days when I wear eyeshadow, when I don't need over the top volume. It's very black and it doesn't clump, making it the perfect mascara for when you have full eye look going on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Linamakeup on 1/15/2014 1:43:00 PM more reviews by Linamakeup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This became my favorite mascara after Maybelline full and soft discontinued. The brush has the softest bristles I have ever used. The formula is smooth, but not watery. I find it is very easy to apply this mascara. I used to apply two or three coats of Maybelline full and soft to get the look I want, but now I only need to apply one coat of Bourjois Volume Glamour Ultra Care. It gives me soft, full, and natural looking lashes that's perfectly thickened and darkened, no smudging, no clumping. Perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tushky on 11/19/2013 11:02:00 AM more reviews by Tushky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a good mascara...I have been trying so many, every time one finishes I buy a new one to try. Until now, just this one and MaxFactor 2000 calories satisfied me.

Pros:
- buildable
- nice volume without clumps, it even looks good in one layer(is the first mascara i use just in one layer sometimes)
- it can be removed easily
- doesn't irritate my eyes

Cons:
- it summer can smudge a little, but for winter is perfeeeect!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 HotPozzum on 6/19/2013 9:18:00 PM more reviews by HotPozzum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Great idea but reacted badly with my eyes. Had terrible itchy watery eyes for weeks before I finally realised this was the problem! Stopped using it and immeditely the irritation was gone. Strange as I love the other Bourjois mascaras and have no problems with them. Would not recommend to those with sensitive eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dori86 on 4/26/2013 10:07:00 AM more reviews by dori86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

My best mascara ever! It's really black, easy to use, dries quickly, but it's very buildable. I recommend for everyone ! I'm on my 6th tube now, but I'm still very happy with it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yangme on 3/15/2013 5:40:00 AM more reviews by yangme

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my second tube I have experiemented with other mascaras hi end and drugstore but I came back to this one, I have curly lashes and with other mascaras my eyelashes feel loaded, this is comparable to the more expensive lashes but cheaper and it its really pigmented black, cares for my lashes and it doesnt smudge on me and I wash it off with soap and water, the plus is it cares for your lashes, I think that Bourjois owns Chanel cosmetics so thats a good indication of the quality.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Colorlicious on 1/31/2013 1:06:00 PM more reviews by Colorlicious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using it for 3 years and I love it! My eyelashes are very long and curled, so anything looks ok. But this one truly gives them volume and body, my eyes look much better. It's the first one on my list, together with Maybelline Volume Express the Colosal.
Now, it's true that it differs from country to country: it doesn't have the same texture or intensity. I checked it myself and I was very surprised. I don't know if they change the formula or what's going on...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 frickinradical on 12/25/2012 1:32:00 PM more reviews by frickinradical

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i bought this after reading all the fab reviews on here about how it never smudged, and how good at volumising it was.
how disappointed i am with it now i've bought it, 8 down the drain :(
-------------------------------------------------------
- it smudges all the time, i only get an hours wear before the little black smudges appear, and after i wore it on a night out to see a comedian (after a good laugh) I was HORRIFIED with the appalling heavy dark smudges under my eyes (trust me it looked horrendous!)

- far too much product comes out with brush, it would give lovely volume if bourjois had designed the neck of the tube properly! (no excuses bourjois, that is a fault you should have spotted in development!)

- i'll admit that it does look after my lashes, and they've definitely grown and look healthier, and they do curl my upper lashes quite good as well.
--------------------------------------------------------
i really am disappointed with it, not about that it smudges, but because this is such a good mascara in the making, but in the making only. if bourjois could just fix the application so that the brush isn't over saturated, and fix the formula so it doesn't smudge then i would definitely buy it again, but till then i won't be repurchasing.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bourjois products

More Mascara products