Paula's Choice • RESIST Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.6(79 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 maiitaii on 7/16/2014 7:42:00 PM more reviews by maiitaii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This stuff is just plain awful. As soon as I applied it my face turned lobster red. I freaked out and washed it off immediately and the redness quickly disappeared. For the short amount of time that it was on my face it felt heavy, thick, and greasy. Threw it in the trash without thinking twice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 missiwi1970 on 6/25/2014 10:20:00 AM more reviews by missiwi1970

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I use it everday for a year now.
It doesn't help for wrinkles.I noticed in that period that my skin on the upper eyelid is sagging .That's ok,i'm 40 and i don't believe any cream or serum will avoid or reverse that,but i wear it under my eyecream and facecream.It feels comfortable and soft.So for me it's pleasant because it doesn't irritate my sensitive skin,but that's about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dreamspice on 5/16/2014 1:46:00 AM more reviews by dreamspice

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

So this was the first Retinol product I've bought that I've actually used up. I always have problems with irritation or fragrance. But this one had no fragrance, was so moisturizing my dry skin sometimes didn't even not moisturizer and definitely improved the look of my skin. I may not buy it again because I want to try a few other retinol products in the Paula's Choice line before deciding on a favorite but I'd definitely come back to it. i will say, though, that it might feel a bit oily on oily skin. I don't mind it because my skin gets hyper dry, especially in winter, but when I first put it on, it does feel almost greasy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eyegu on 4/20/2014 2:38:00 PM more reviews by eyegu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Ya, it's a very good product in a very good price range (looking at its ingredients).
I definitely don't agree with all the ingredients in all her products, so I had to be super careful and look at all the ingredients, (my skin doesn't agree with alcohol, and i don't want to use parabens).
This is one of her few products that fits the bill. Though with all its great ingredients, i wonder if the silicones are, like plastic wrap, keeping them from affecting my skin to great lengths? this isn't a scientific assessment, just wondering out loud, for this serum doesn't make my skin amazing or bright or really anything. i just add it to my oils that i moisturize with at night and it makes them easier to apply. it's also too thick as a serum so i apply it after a hyaluronic acid serum with salicylic acid to keep acne away. i dunno. it was worth the cost so I'd repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kieramai on 3/19/2014 12:27:00 AM more reviews by kieramai

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm torn between giving this a 4 and a 5, but there's really no reason for me not to give it a 5 other than that it's not a particularly exciting product. It definitely won't instantly change your skin. But it's good at what it does.

I've been using Nivea cream in the winter as a night time moisturizer. It's super moisturizing, simple, and heavy. That's fine in the winter, but it's warming up and I don't need such an intense moisturizer anymore. It isn't absorbing as well and my skin is greasy, which shouldn't be a huge problem since I use it at night, but it's annoying none the less. Especially when my hair sticks to my face. So not wanting to use a heavy product, but also not wanting to spend money looking for something new, I fished this out of my stash. I tried it previously but didn't like on my winter-dry skin alone, and I like to keep my skin care routine really simple. I've been using it as my sole night moisturizer lately, and I really like it! The texture is heavy and silicone-full, and it feels like slippery goo on your face at first, but after you rub it in it actually dries matte, at least for me, and leaves your skin silky smooth. It's not super hydrating at all, but it seems to be enough for me. The one major advantage this has is that it really does leave my skin looking radiant. Normally after I wash my face at night my skin gets some redness, I don't know why, but that's always been the case. When I use this, that's not the case. My skin looks just as good as it does in the morning, if not better. I've only been using it at night so far, but I might try it in the morning under my moisturizer because of the matte but glowy effect it has on my skin. I haven't been using it long enough to see any major benefits on my skin, and I'm too young for wrinkles, but perhaps it'll help with some of the sun discoloration I have? I have freckles which I don't mind, but also a few sunspots which I hate! I'll update this review after I use up my tube, and right now I'm saying I'll probably repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wjp on 3/3/2014 4:01:00 PM more reviews by wjp

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for at least 2 years now, and it's by far my favorite skin care product ever. I'm turning 50 in a few years and my skin looks better overall than it ever did in the past. I love the silky texture and how it soaks right in and leaves my skin soft and smooth without being greasy. My skin is sensitive and this serum causes no issues for me. My skin is clear, smooth and bright with very few lines for my age, and I find that I no longer need to wear any foundation or concealer.

Bottom line - if I accidently run out of this product I panic.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ginnymat2 on 2/20/2014 10:22:00 AM more reviews by ginnymat2

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I had been using the ultra light version of this in the summer so thought the regular version would be ok in the winter. I find it to be so thick and was leaving my face feel heavy. I've played around with it a bit and if I put a few drops on my fingers and fub them together, then pat it on my face it is lighter. I am ordering a few samples of other serums and would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gia_milano on 2/18/2014 2:59:00 AM more reviews by Gia_milano

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The ingredients in this are amazing. It does however make me break out. I even tried using it at an eye serum only to break out around the eye area as well. If you are not prone to break outs do your skin a favour and please give this one a try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Burma76 on 2/15/2014 5:49:00 AM more reviews by Burma76

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Great ingredients but for me a horrid texture. Way too heavy on the silicone for me. There is no way I could have worn this serum during the day. Even when I wore it at night with only a few drops mixed with a moisturiser my skin was hideously greasy in the morning. I much prefer the ultra light version.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 prowl2000 on 2/14/2014 9:50:00 AM more reviews by prowl2000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

This is one of the two products of PC that don't dry me out. Well actually this one does dry me out too but since I mix it with Clinique's Moisture Surge Intense, it helps me not to have to throw this tube away. I have to admit that apart from drying me out, another thing I hate about this product is its consistency. It is so thick and when I apply it on my face it just sits there. Not sure if it is intentional or not but I am not convinced that it really penetrates into my skin.

Having negatively said hat, I found it is quite good squeezing a few small drops into my night Tim moisturizer. I do that a few times a week with the belief that the a-class antioxidants in the serum would do me good. So far, I think it is hard to tell if it is because of the serum or my skincare regimen that helps my healthy skin. So, I would rather maintain my skincare routine and this serum has already been one of it. So, I guess I will buy another tube if this one ran out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments (Face) products