Garden of Wisdom • Skin Buffet Oxygen Rich Anti-oxidant Gel • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.1(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 mllryjo on 1/24/2013 4:57:00 PM more reviews by mllryjo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff. My acne isn't bad enough to use benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid, and they both dry my skin out horribly and make everything worse. This makes my skin smooth, clear and my blackheads non-existant. I started using this with the Simply Clean Tea Tree Cleanser from GoW and my skin has been flawless ever since. I still use my Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel as a final step.

It might not be strong enough for someone with severe acne, but for someone with light to moderate acne, it is a great product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 iceboi on 8/8/2012 12:14:00 AM more reviews by iceboi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Let me say that this has great potential and great things about oxygen, but this just didnt work at all for me. I bought 2 bottles of this and the supercharged version. Went thru them and at first i thought worked great as i didnt break out after usage but after 2 weeks my skin broke out. the only thing i added in was this so i have to name this as culprit. I continued usage as my skin may have been purging and just left this aside to use as a primer. Let me say it works great as a makeup primer not so much for use as an acne product. Well till this day i still have more left and its a waste to just let this sit around so i continue to use and my skin still breakouts and has Acne so this is a no go for me at all!! Also its very PRICEY!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hanmu on 2/27/2012 6:00:00 AM more reviews by hanmu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Unfortunately this didn't work for me as a preventative or as a spot treatment. In fact, when applied to existing spots it actually seemed to make them much worse unlike benzoyl peroxide which dries them up overnight. My quest for a gentle acne treatment continues...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mystryder on 11/9/2011 8:38:00 AM more reviews by mystryder

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

not a bad product, but my skin seems to like the tea tree or anti-pop up a lot more. (or it could just be that my fingers like applying the latter more). i like the fact that if i want to attack my skin with some good O2, there isn't a chance i'm going to bleach my clothes or sheets or dry out/age my skin like w/ BP--so that's a definite plus. so far, though, my skin seems to prefer some other GoW products at the moment, so that's the only reason why it's not a repurchase at the moment. i didn't have any adverse reactions. perhaps if i my skin had been more BP-dependent prior to trying out GoW would i need the O2 rich gel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 yellowjello on 11/1/2011 8:01:00 PM more reviews by yellowjello

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I generally use Neutrogena BP mask to spot treat hormonal cystic acne and it kills the spot before it gets a chance to emerge. Since the Oxygen Rich gel was meant to be a replacement for bp, I figured it would work on hormonal cysts, but it didn't do anything. I tried it out on regular bumps and still nothing! I still like GoW, but this product really didn't do anything for me. Also, the bottle didn't work and I actually had to disinfect a pin and jab it through the opening to get any product out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* renyun on 7/8/2011 9:18:00 PM more reviews by renyun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had high expectations for this product when I got the smaller, trial sized version. I'm looking for a good alternative to BP so when I came upon this I was really excited.

However, this was not an effective product for my skin. I usually put on this gel after a facial exfoliation so that my skin can fully absorb the effects of this product however, the results were less to be desired. I have very oily, acne prone t zone and when I applied the product and left it overnight, I woke up with small pimples on my forehead.

This product did not work for me. I don't think it's potent enough alone to combat those with moderate to severe, oily facial acne problems. Would not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lokid on 5/29/2011 11:31:00 AM more reviews by lokid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This didn't seem to help my acne, but it didn't cause any issues either. It did soften my skin and lessen the look of fine lines.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DDGattina on 4/14/2011 10:35:00 PM more reviews by DDGattina

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I began using this at about the same time I began using GoWs Tea tree Serum. Thus it was hard to tell which was working. Turns out the combo of both is exactly what my skin needs. The O2 gel is clear, light, unfragranced. Used alone it is very slightly drying, but with the Simply TT Serum on top it fine, no other moisturizer needed. Seems to calm redness too. But you do need to use this for a while to see the difference because it does not dry out blemishes that have already emerged. Instead it concentrates on preventing the development of new ones. It is now a staple, and with the Simply Tea Tree Serum has really kept breakouts at bay.

UPDATE: When I ran out of the oxygen gel, I really had a chance to see how good it was for my skin. No O2 gel was the only change in my routine, and I began to see a few more breakouts. Added it back in to the routine-- gone!

It is kind of a sleeper, because the effect isn't instant (like Tea Tree Serum or the newer BHA Azelaic Acid Serum, but continued use defiinitely calms my reddish rosacea prone skin and defeats breakouts. Can't be without it now.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mml2145 on 2/7/2011 4:33:00 PM more reviews by mml2145

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

One word: AMAZING!!!!

I will continue to buy this product over and over and over again. If GoW ever stops making this I will be absolutely devastated!! I do not normally write reviews but I just wanted to share my experience with this product in hopes of helping someone.

I have been on Benzaclin (prescription BP) for about 10 years. I finally got fed up with the Benzaclin drying out my skin so I started doing research. The lovely MUAers on the skin board pointed me towards GoW and I started reading the forum on their website. I took their advice and slowly started to wean myself off BP ( and yes, I was nervous about doing so!). When I was finally off BP, I started applying the oxygen rich gel every morning at the same step I would normally apply BP. The oxygen rich gel just sinks right into the skin and does not leave any residue. I was so thrilled that day after day my skin started to look better, feel less dry, be less flakey and best of all: no new breakouts!

I've been using this product for over a month and have had only had one pimple, ONE! I was amazed! I've struggled with acne since I was 16 (I'm now 26) And (TMI) but I credit that pimple to my cycle :\ Also, my one pimple was tiny and was gone within 2 days. Simply amazing!

If you are looking for something other than BP for acne give this a try!! You will not be dissappointed!!!

UPDATE- 7/8/11

I went through the first bottle of this stuff and happily ordered a second. I don't know what happened but halfway through the second bottle this product just stopped working! I constantly had huge pimples on my chin, sides of my face and between my eyes.

I recently went to back to my prescribed Benzaclin. I would rather combat the dryness than constant pimples and scarring.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cali on 11/13/2010 11:39:00 AM more reviews by cali

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Great product! It definitely helps soothe my slight redness and blotchiness and it helps limit breakouts. I only put this on my trouble spots to conserve the product and I don't really think I need it all over. If you're looking to get away from BP or salicylic acid type products and/or you just have sensitive skin that breakouts then you should def give this a try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garden of Wisdom products

More Treatments (Face) products